Fort Belvoir Travel Camp

 
3.7 (36)
69395 3 12 2 48

User reviews

11 reviews with 5 stars
36 reviews
 
33%
 
22%
 
28%
 
14%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.4(36)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(36)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.7(36)
Value
 
2.7(36)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
March 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first ever RV camping as a shakedown to our new camper as we live nearby. And of course as a first timer pulling a 5th wheel camper no pull through site is available at the time. But I got lucky and able to back-in properly after 20 minutes. :-0 ) . This location is beautiful, very clean and well maintained! Small campground compared to Private or Public RV Parks but I think it's a norm to all military RV campgrounds. We enjoyed our stay here, there is a fishing pier inside and outside the campground, also there is short walking trail if you like to stretch your legs. Community fire pit, laundry and bathroom is available as others have mentioned. Full size PX and Commissary is only few miles away but gas station is pricey compared to most outside gas stations. Didn't use WiFi but our Winegard antenna picked up a lot of local stations. We will definitely comeback to this place although it's a bit pricey compared to 3 other military RV campgrounds we have been into since then. The only cons I will put here is the check-in process as a first time visitor. We were not told clearly that the MWR office is away from the campground and you have to keep an eye for the very small sign on your right as soon as you come down the steep hill, then you have to turn (10 point u-turn for me) around from the parking lot to go in the campground about 600 yards away. And of course I have to make a u-turn from the entrance gate first after I found out all of these. lol Other than that, we love this place.
Fort Belvoir Travel Camp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a BEAUTIFUL campground! Close to all DC attractions. Back in Sites on the waterfront are just gorgeous! Pull Throughs in the middle sites are spacious and the back in wooded are very nice also. Level concrete and utilities are top notch. Clean bathroom and great $1.50 laundry. I feel $50 a night is more than fair for a beautiful quality site and close to DC. Try and pay that any closer to DC. You won’t double it at least and you will also have way more of a drive. The employees are nice and try hard to please. Now....For the NOT So Good... HARD TO GET RESERVATIONS ...There is so many long term active duty and DOD living here. Active duty is mostly waiting on housing. There is on going renovating of housing there is a long wait. So they camp...DOD lives here as they don’t want to drive I95 and sit in horrid traffic most live about an hour away. So most nights they stay here and other nights their camper sit on sites unoccupied as they chose to go home. IF YOU GET A RESERVATION YOU MAY HAVE TO PLAY “CAMP SITE SHUFFLE”......You May have to move several time if you choose to stay more than a couple of days. I think the reservation program may need revamping. After staying here for 2 separate occasions this month I was required to do the “Shuffle” only to see other sites not occupied for 2 or 3 days continuously. I as well as others told there was no sites available and noted several sites empty for 2 or 3 days straight. There has got to be a better way of keeping track of reservations. NEED LARGER LAUNDRY FACILITIES.....There are 3 washers and 3 dryers. They run non stop during the day and into the late evening. There are many! Many families living here full time so you can imagine the laundry needs. Also DOD employees are doing their laundry here even if they are staying elsewhere! They come after work with their laundry and use the facilities. Way cheaper and better company than downtown! I am concerned with the opening of the MWR facilities to more Non Retired vets and caretakers MWR facilities are going to be harder to access. I hope there will be expansion in all military RECREATION facilities. Safe travels All!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
7 - 11 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location, close to DC. Didn't need to drive into DC. Took bus from the base to the metro. Metro into DC. Family friendly, large sites, great bathhouse, Wi-Fi intermittent, minimum amount of cable channels. Easy on and off base. Very nice commissary, I didn't go to the PX. Price a little high for a military campground but guess it's because of the location to DC. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 15, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful experience here at Ft. Belvoir travel camp. On the Potomac with amazing views. Lots of wildlife. Fox did steal one of my sandles I left out at night. Musical campsite was biggest issue as we have had to move a few times. Great local for DC. People that stay here are very nice and helpful. Storing RV on the Fort for $5 per day. Service is A+.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great campground to see the sights of DC. Bathrooms are clean and new and the sites are cement and level. The ones on the outer sides afford more privacy but you can’t go wrong either way. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jun 29 - Jul 3, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great RV park located on the shores of the Potomac River. Easy to get to and great location for visiting DC and the northern Virginia area. Somewhat expensive. Everything was clean and shiny and we really enjoyed our stay. We were in a 28' class A motohome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
On our annual trip south to the Outer Banks, we spent 2 days on our southern ride and 2 days on our northern one. Really enjoyed our stay. On our southern trip we were lucky to have been placed on the sites overlooking the Potomac River. It was spectacular. On our ride back up north we were at the bottom of the hill near the entry gate. The sites were clean with new outdoor furniture on them. Nice fire pits. The base was awesome. One of the bests PX's I've been too. Very nice commissary too. We are going to come back here next year and stay a little longer on the way down. Staff at the rec center were very nice and helpful. Just a couple issues, this is a review site, right? Both sites were newly cemented pads. Neither was level. Kind of strange I thought. The one at the bottom of the hill was way off. Entering and exiting the base there were a couple exits off of 95. When we were leaving the way down, navigation took us out the southern gate. When we left, there were warning signs of a low bridge. It looked like if you were taking the 95 south exit you were ok, but if you continued on you were going to hit the bridge. Well, the bridge was before the 95 south exit. It said 13'4"'s. Our 5th wheel is 13'6". I was lucky enough to have my son behind me and we crawled under the bridge and made it. But I won't come back through there again. It's exit 161. Overall a great campground. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Summer/Fall 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for 3 months. We absolutely loved the campground. It is clean and on the water. Lots of hiking, kayaking, fishing opportunities. Very dog friendly. We have a 43' Class A and had no problems getting in or out or parking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
2014, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground and very clean. In the summer, there are so many ospreys flying about. Their nests are about right outside your door. Prices are comparable to other local campgrounds but with easy access to amenities such as indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, commissary store, PX, etc. Depending on which site you select, Fort Belvoir campground can be cheaper than the local area campgrounds. The only suggestion I have for the camp-store is to have base maps with amenities identified. This is a great place to stay for a DC visit. Overall we are very happy with this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14-17 July 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We live in the Greater DC Metro Area (Virginia side) and are familiar with Ft. Belvoir. We have visited the Gunston Cove area numerous times before (birding, kayaking, hiking) and when we noticed the Travel Camp was now completed...decided to pull the trailer down for a stay. Enjoyed ourselves tremendously - the trailer spot was excellent, park staff were friendly and helpful, the "shore line" amenities are just about all one could ask for, and the price per day was in-line with just about everything else in the DC Metro Area (this area is expensive). The camp is quiet, clean, and well maintained...and we plan to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 - 29 May 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our first visit to this campground. The location is great for visiting the DC area. There is a ITT office on base. They have limited local tickets. We bought the Big Bus tickets at a discount. The park is very well maintained. The showers and laundry facilities are very good. We are pretty independent, so our communication with the staff was minimal. I agree that the price ($40/night) is high when compared to other military camps, however this is DC and you won't find any other campground as nice or as cheap as this one. The electrical hookups are forward of the site, but I had no problem reaching them with my standard cord. There are fire circles on each site and there is plenty of firewood available (in its natural state). You just need to go get it.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11