Kings Creek RV Campground

 
4.3 (100)
172231 2 22 3 112

User reviews

100 reviews
 
59%
 
29%
 
8%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(100)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(100)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(100)
Value
 
4.4(100)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(100)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
100 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
August 7-12, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were assigned spot 18. The spot was level and fairly easy to back into although my 39 foot motor coach barely fit on the concrete pad. The only problem we had was the low voltage. Several times a day it would register 102-103 on my meter and this made it difficult for my air conditioner to keep up with the 99 degree temps encountered during our stay. Otherwise a great bargain for the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 26-30, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were in spot 10. The shade of the spot was great but the two trees that I had to navigate the Travel Trailer in was a little nerve racking. If you have an option when booking your reservation I would pick either site 5 or 6 as you have a beautiful view of the lake. However, if you want to be by the playground you would want to be in the higher number spots. The location is great for touring the Williamsburg area, Water Country USA is less than 5 minutes down the road, Busch Gardens about 15 and the Colonial Village of Williamsburg is right down the colonial parkway. There is a community fire area and the campground provides the firewood which is nice. The playground is sufficient. Lastly, the cleanliness of the bathhouse is iffy because it is infested with spiders and gnats. There are 100s of dead gnats surrounding the sink area and the live ones were flying around the shower. Other than the bathroom, the location and safety is top notch plus the grounds are well maintained therefore I would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 16 - 26, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Now our 8th year here. Still a great location but seems MWR has forgotten that this campground is here. Full up during the holiday weekend but no service. The dumpster was not emptied for the entire time we were there - got pretty ripe! Also bath house not touched from Friday until Monday. No toilet paper, and floors very dirty. MWR staff are very nice but need more help to service the campground better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Please tell me your kidding about this campground. My husband and I are from this area and decided to check out this campground, In the past we have stayed at some great campgrounds, mostly state (they don't try to pack everyone on top of each other) anyway.. we decided to check this campground out, wasn't sure if this was a trailer park or what... the only thing it might have going for it is the price and the golf course, that's it, no trails, swimming pool not in walking distance, nothing around but Williamsburg, Bush gardens, and we have been to both. If you don't plan on staying around during the day, fine, but I don't think I would call this a campground, more of a trailer park. I like places with woods, trees, trails, camp fires... this is not it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
26-29 April 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first time here. Great for visiting the historical sites of Williamsburg, Jamestown & Yorktown. 15 mins. from Colonial Williamsburg and 10 mins. to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. Found this CG right of the interstate easy enough, right on the York River. Stopped at the small NEX annex, it’s a typical limited selection, gas, bread, soda and cigarettes, so it’s best to stock up before arriving. We tried to fit our 35ft rig into site 6, but moved over to site 15. The loops are a little narrow and we had to do some jinking to get in, (most are back in sites). Sites11-19 are best for big rigs and at least all pads are cement pads and are level. Bring 50 ft. of cable if you want cable TV. H20 pressure is VERY high, I measured 80 PSI on hook-up, bring your pressure controller! Only complaint was the power went out a couple of times at the pedestal, breakers and 30A connections etc. are in very bad shape.
GJ
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
16-28 Apr 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Had made reservations 6 months out for a specific site for 1 week. During this time, plans changed and I requested an additional week on the front side of my original reservation. Was given it, but it was for another site, which was ok. 3 hrs. into the start of our trip, I got a voice msg. stating that there had been a canx and I would be placed on the 1st week site for the entire time. Since I did not have the number to the base, I could not call them. Upon arrival the next day there were no additional sites to be had as they had already assigned my 2nd week site to someone else. This whole thing would not have been a problem IF the assigned site had not been a MUD HOLE!!! Another thing that made things less tolerable was the fact that the bathhouse was only cleaned TWICE the entire time we were there. We had a great time last year, but I guess that we will write this one off as DO NOT COME BACK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 24 - Mar. 2, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I were down visiting my parents and this was the first time that we used the facility. Fort Eustis did not have any available spaces. The check in is easy, unlike Eustis it is manned 7 days a week. We were given a spot along the lake that was very pretty. We have a 30 foot trailer that we tow behind a Crew Cab 8' bed pick up. This makes the length close to that of a tractor trailer. The loop that we had to pull in was very narrow and we had to do some maneuvering to get set up. Once in everything worked great. (Water, Sewer, Cable TV, Electric). One night there was night fire on the range until midnight other than that it was very quite. The county park charges 32.00 per night so this is a great value at $20.00 per night. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 19 - 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first time here. 18ft travel trailer, concrete pads, full hookups, right on the York River. Most are back in sites. Bring up to 75 ft. of cable if you want to hookup to cable TV. Small BX annex has limited selection, no bread today or cereal, stock up before arriving. Very nice and close to Williamsburg, it is a keeper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 Aug - 1 Sep 08
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a wonderful experience! This was our first time visiting Cheatham Annex and will go back. We had site #6 and it overlooked a bay off the York River. We were able to witness an Osprey family and their clutch in a huge nest in a tree behind site #5. The other campers were great; all Navy retirees who took pity on an Army family and made us feel right at home. Great people at MWR check in, NEX shoppette, gas station had gas and diesel, pool for kids and adults, I should have brought my golf clubs. 10-15 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and less time to Busch Gardens. Water Country USA right outside the gate. You can get reduced price tickets at the MWR store. They are planning on expanding the number of RV sites and cabins. This place is the place to stay while in Williamsburg.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
21-25 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our visit to Cheatham Annex just put the icing on our vacation. We spent 5 days there, had Spot #01. Perfect for my 35ft Winnebago Sightseer. The CG itself is very quiet. The small exchange onbase has the basics. There is an 18 hole golf course within walking distance of the CG. They also have a pool open Wednesday through Sunday. The MWR team were just great while checking in. Perfect place for a family reunion, they have cabins (former government housing) for rent at a very reasonable price, but they go fast so you can reserve 6 months in advance. Also the have a Navy Gateway onbase (former Navy Lodge) another great deal. You are within 3 miles of Water Country USA (right outside the gate) no turning, about 15 minutes from Busch Gardens and about 20 minutes to Williamsburg Pottery. This was a great place and we will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 18, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Great location and closeness to golf course is a plus. But facilities are lacking. No wifi although cable is there. The shower/laundry area was remosedeld 2 years ago and there is now an open area with only 2 couches, no tables and the TV has not been replaced. The bathrooms are usually dirty as no one comes and cleans over the weekend. There is no camp host. The manager is located on the other side of the base and although a nice guy, is not a good manager. On our last day, maintenace came to mow around the camp sites kicking up dirt into our RV as there is very little grass. Took 3 phone calls to get him to stop. Small exchange ran out of milk days before the holiday weekend with no plans to restock.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 11 - 15, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in this quiet, well-kept park. The location was great for visiting Yorktown Battlefield, Jamestown, and Williamsburg. As golfers, we enjoyed having the course right across the street, and at $10 each, the price could not be beat. The base itself is small, with a very little Exchange and not much else. But Ft. Eustis is only about 20 minutes away. We will stay again, next time we are in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 12, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great for doing Williamsburg, Jamestown & Yorktown. Easy to get to from interstate. 11-19 for big rigs except 13 because of the play ground fence, all cement pads are short my 40 footer din't fit but level sites. Only 1 washer and dryer at CG, they removed the TV and furniture from the the rec room because the security use to hang out there. Some long term stayers, but no problem. Power goes off every once in a while or should I say at least once every few days, not the base problem but the local power company. Make sure your systems are on auto switch over. H20 pressure high runs around 80-95 PSI, they have LP at the MWR office but pricey over 4.00 a gal. Golf is priced right with cart can't afford not to play. Ft. Eutis is just down the road for large BX and Commissary. Use the IT & T office there to buy tickets for local attractions, since CAX MWR office doesn't have them always. I would stay again for long term or short term even over night if traveling up or down I-64.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
16 Mar 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived yesterday, excellant, small px/bx/nex, fuel on base with diesal. Tried the golf course, short but a day of golf is better then no golf. Close to everything. Recommend it
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
30 Oct - 5 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We really enjoyed it here. The CG itself is just OK, but everything else about this base is super. Great location for Yorktown, Jamestown, Williamsburg and all else in area. On base golf, gym, gas/diesel, laundry, fishing (fresh and salt water), excellent 6 mile hiking/biking trail around lake, lots of wildlife make this a special place. Cabins look great. Pool for summer. Quiet. Everyone we met was friendly. Agree with 11-19 for bigger rigs. Stayed at #17, pad was a little short for our 36' 5th wheel but OK; received satellite with stationary dish.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sept 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We visited this campground and recreation area to check out all the options in the area for future visits. The location of this campground and all the cabin options makes it an excellent central place to stay while visiting the Williamsburg area. There are two sections of the campground and sites 11-19 are the best option for bigger rigs. Be sure to have extra cable wire (50 ft or so) as you may need to go to an adjacent site to connect. Satellite access may be challenging due to all the trees. The golf course is a bonus for those who enjoy the links. There are many recreation options - biking, boating, fishing, canoeing, etc here. Check out the cabin prices as they are very reasonable and may be a better option for people visiting. The check in location for the campground is quite a ways from the sites. You may do best to unhook and take your vehicle to check in rather than driving your RV down to the MWR/Outdoor Recreation Office. They prefer you to check in with the office before selecting a site and settling in. The office staff was very pleasant and helpful while we were inquiring about all the accomodations and prices. Well worth a visit to stay here while in the area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
August 28 thru 31, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I agree that sites 11 - 19 are better for bigger rigs and since we had the grandkids with us having the playground right there was a plus. Great location right off the Colonial Parkway which was a direct route to Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. Discount tickets available on base for these too. Would definitely go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
22 - 24 August 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Golfers will love this place -- right on the golf course. Good cable but hook-ups are a bit far. Sites 11-19 are the best for the larger rigs as sites 1-10 were more appropriate for smaller campers that can handle tight corners and quarters. Staff was very friendly. Very quiet location. Nice facility with bathrooms and small laundry. A Saltwater fishing pier a short walk away, but only open late evening and night as it is an active dock during duty hours. When I'm in the area I will stop again. If you plan to see all the sights in the area plan on staying awhile, there is alot to see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 26, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Adjacent to the golf course and quite a distance from the famcamp office. Diesel fuel was available on base at the NEX for those that have that requirement. Sites were level and on cement pads but noticed that our site #14 had a grill stand that was unusable for those that might want to use one. Also noticed that the water pressure at the site was very high hence having a pressure reducer would be recommended. Cable hook-up was greater than fifty feet from my fifth wheel but the TV antenna picked up a lot of local stations. WiFi was published as being available but no one that I spoke with could pick it up. Terrific location for being able to see Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown and Ft. Monroe.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sites 11 - 19 are concrete pads with full hookups and cable TV. Sites back into woods so satellite reception is not the best. Plenty of room between sites and playground, laundry, shower room are nearby. Golf course is across a parking lot. Easy access to Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, etc. Staff very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 0
100 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5