Kings Creek RV Campground

 
4.3 (100)
172231 2 22 3 111

User reviews

100 reviews
 
59%
 
29%
 
8%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(100)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(100)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(100)
Value
 
4.4(100)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(100)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
100 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
May 2012
(Updated: August 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed in the new section for 3 nights. Concrete pads are level and very wide. New fire pits with the grill top are awesome and I think we were probably the first to use at the site. Area is gorgeous! Close to everything! Spaces are huge! Bathhouse design had handicapped patrons in mind -- I appreciated the wide showers and private facility. Only suggestion I would make is WiFi and a playground located IN the new section. Kudos for a home run with this FamCamp! We are already planning our next trip!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
S.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV sites. Only thing that would make it better would be a wi-fi capability.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18-20 June 2012
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.M. left this review using the Directory software: - Enjoyed the "old" sites. Lot of trees, right next to the golf course. So convenient to the historical triangle. Just out the gate is the Colonial Parkway. People are friendly and easy to work with. When I made the reservation I told the lady I had a big rig. So she puts me into the hardest site to back into. Had to go back to the office get another site and then move 3 days later.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6 - 9 July 2012
(Updated: July 11, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed for three nights in the new section. It has about 50 new spots with full hookup, concrete pads (not particularly level, though) and what may be excessive lighting for the area. The base doesn't have a great deal to offer in and of itself, but the location is great for Williamsburg, Jamestown and the other attractions in the area. The base is a logistics base with warehouses taking up most of the base. The base has made an effort to facilitate vacation getaway for everyone; they have the RV parks and cabins all over the base. There is just the one gate into and out of the base so it does require maneuvering around the barricades with your rig, but it is doable. There is WiFi at the transit quarters office and at a eatery just down the street from the transit quarters. The transit quarters has a general purpose room at the rear with some tables and chairs to set up your lap top. The RV park has washers and dryers, plus the Exchange has one and that is open 24 hours. Those machines are a bit older but get less use. One bonus, the Exchange has a gas pump out front available 24 hours and they sell diesel. A thunderstorm moved through our last night and knocked out the power. Generators fired up and the power came back on at about 3:30 AM. All in all, a great place in a very convenient location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29 June 2012
(Updated: July 05, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed are stay by the golf course with a few exceptions. The water had a horrible smell like onions. I will need to clean my water systems out. The pool did not appear to be open the water was green. It was close to all the attractions around Williamsburg. We would definitely go back if they can do something about the water. It was extremely hot while we were there with temperatures above 100. Each night we had severe thunderstorms which made it interesting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
24-27 May 2012
(Updated: June 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for Memorial Day also. It is a great park and the staff was outstanding. Brand new sites with everything you need and very close to water country USA and Busch Gardens along with Williamsburg and of course the Williamsburg Pottery and Outlet Stores. Easy access from I-64. Would highly recommend this park to anyone. I will be back often.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-31 May 2012
(Updated: June 07, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for the Memorial Day holiday weekend the CG was full and very peaceful and very spacefull between sites. You have Full Hookups plus Cable, Water Country, Busch Gardens and Colonial Wiliamsburg is within 5 miles from the base, Easy access to I-64 and shopping. I made a 360 degree view of the campground on our You Tube channel Max1Chase1 and look for Cheatam Annex New Campground In Williamsburg, Va., also see other videos of Key West and other CGs we have visited and leave us a note if they help you in your travels. We stayed here in a 36 foot 5th Wheel and a Volvo Super Hauler with plenty of room, we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2 June 2012
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Completed overnight stay in the NEW campground area. Concrete pads, pedestal utilities and plenty of room between sites. Directions to the outdoor recreation office (check in) are a bit confusing and signage is minimal. From Sanda dr. go to "D" street and turn left. Continue on D to sign for cabins and bear right to office. No playground at new facility. Convenient location to Williamsburg and all it's amenities. Will stay again. Camped in 34' fifth wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 24 - 27, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
M.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Concur with previous statements about the new RV sites. The new sites look very nice and are definitely suitable for big rigs (overkill for a tent or pop-up). We stayed in Campground RVK recently for 3 days and the rate was $25/nt. (New rates = Primitive Tent [TJP or TB] sites @ $10/nt; RVK (old campground) sites 1 - 19 @ $25/nt and RVB (new campground) @ $25/nt (after they open); Cottages start at $69/nt and go to $200/nt, depending on which one and what time of week). The new computer system caused the management to double charge us but one of the charges was deducted two days later. Our 27' TT was very tight in site #4, but doable. The sites are close to the pavilion & fire pits, which is very convenient. The comfort station was heated and clean. People at the Outdoor Recreation office were very nice to deal with on the phone and in person. There is a small playground in the 11 - 19 loop, which was enjoyed by our 5 year-old. The base is basically a few minutes to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, and Yorktown, which was very convenient. Will definitely return :-0)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18 Dec 2011
(Updated: December 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I was taking a day trip to Colonial Williamsburg and stopped by to check on the status of the new campsites. First, there is still no signage at "B" street to direct you to the new campground. The campsites are essentially complete and the bath-house/community center is complete with the exception of the laundry room. It still needs to be hooked-up, the appliances are still in the boxes. We were told that cable will be available in the sites too. A very nice facility that has been LEED rated. I've attached some pictures. We were in the camping area for about an hour and never saw security. The person I spoke to at the recreation center said that the decision to open the new section was still pending. He suspected that decision was based on a lack of MWR budget which has not been finalized because of the inaction in Washington. He also said the rates were going up to $25 a night for the RV sites. He told us that they were also implementing a new computer reservation system that would be linked to other Navy sites in the area. It was too new to see how well it worked. He said that they would be looking for a camp host once the new section opened. He mentioned that homesteading is being monitored very closely. I did notice that a longtime resident (2+ years) in the small loop at the older park was gone. Those sites are small, anything over 25 feet will be very tight getting in there. All said, this hidden gem will be a very popular spot for those wanting to check out the historical sites in the area. I know I'll keep checking on it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
16--21--OCT--2011
(Updated: October 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great campground. It is close to Williamsburg and Fort Eustis. The new campground on B street is still not open as of Oct. 2011. Did a drive through to check it out. It is wide open with no shade. Large concrete pads with full hookups. Bring some leveling blocks because the sites on the outer edges are not level. Satellite reception is possible. The other campground is by the golf course. Nice wooded sites but be sure to tell them the size of your unit because some sites are small. Stayed at site 14 and it was tight to get my 32 foot 5th wheel in because of the fence around the play area. Satellite reception is blocked by the trees except for a few sites. (5 and 6) Cable TV is shared by 3 sites so bring a long cable wire. Small NEX store gas station close by. Cafe behind NEX serves breakfast and lunch and is a short bike ride from the campsites. Commissary and US Army Transportation Museum is at Fort Eustis 15 miles away. Due to the location and size of the lot at the CAX Outdoor Rec Registration office on D street that is not big rig friendly I would recommend to call and find out what site you are in park your rig in the site then go register.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-31 Jul 2011
(Updated: August 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I love this place. This is truly a hidden gem. Easy to get to and centrally located to most of the local attractions, as well as offering splendid fishing and recreational opportunities directly at the campground. The RV bathhouse was spotless, and cleaned daily. I was particularly grateful for the AC in the day-room at the bathhouse, both as a place to wait for laundry, and for the family to shelter from the freak 60 MPH winds and sever rainstorm that struck the area during our stay. The grounds are immaculate, and you can tell that the staff at Cheatham really take pride in their base. All that being said; for me, there are a few drawbacks. A few of the sites, namely 18 and 19 have no shade at all, and under the 100+ degree Virginia sunshine, the AC unit was working overtime to keep my 23' travel trailer cool. Forget staying outside at these sites due to the angle of the sun unless it's early morning or after sunset. As for the new campsites: I am very torn. To me , there are two types of campers: retirees in class A's and large Fifth wheel trailers that sort of mosey from one base to the other to homestead. And there is nothing wrong with that: they have earned that right. Then there are those campers that bring their kids and families and enjoy spending time outside, especially at night. If you are in the first group, then the new campsite is right up your alley and perfect. The pads are huge, with new modern full hookups. I do not care for the fact that they clear cut the woods to put the sites in, and then planted four foot trees. There is absolutely no shade in the new campgrounds. If you enjoy sitting outside on concrete, then this is for you. If you enjoy sitting around and telling lies at a campfire, then not so much. It's kinda like camping in a parking lot, only with shrubbery. There will also be primitive sites available, (the area was not cleared yet) and assume that they will allow travel trailers and pop-ups in them, although according to MWR, there will be no water or electric hookups. At least they are putting in a dump station at the new CG. I would sincerely hope that MWR does not close down the old campgrounds, but rather limit them to smaller travel trailers and pop-ups. I know I am going to catch alot of flack for this: but maybe they should have a family campground, and a homesteading campground. There are many more class A's and Fifth wheel trailers than little travel trailers like mine at the majority of military campgrounds that I have visited, and it seems that they are catered to. And that's fine. But please don't forget the smaller travel trailers with kids and families that enjoy camping. Apart from the above diatribe; this is a beautiful campground, in a beautiful location. You will not be disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 23 - July 6, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: This is a super nice campground but A BRAND NEW CAMPGROUND with 55 very nice sites and 14 new cabins will open ANY DAY NOW. They are just waiting for the contractor to tie up some loose ends. Tiny NEX (with a gas station) but no commissary either here at at the nearby Yorktown NWS. Good laundry facility by the NEX. It has a super-wonderful location with the gate just a 1/2 mile from Water Country USA, just 6 miles driving distance from Busch Gardens and easy access to Colonial Williamsburg via Colonial Parkway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6 July 2011
(Updated: July 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We visited the new RV park on Cheatham Annex and all I can saw is "Wow"! This is going to be one very nice RV park, cabins, office/store when it is finished. Entering Cheatham Annex, turn left on B Street and continue to the end -- contractor is still working on the infrastructure and the office building and the cabin area. Very nice concrete pads and wide paved roads. The grass and landscaping has not matured and its very muddy/dirty at this time. Included three pictures of the new facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
23 June 2011
(Updated: June 23, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We did not visit the FamCamp but I did confirm with an individual in the office on 23 June 2011 that a new FamCamp is opening soon. Details are sketchy, other than it's in a different location and will have 50 sites. More questions than answers???? The rating I assigned is based on our last visit in 2010.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20 June 2011
(Updated: June 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Am I the only one that has trouble getting people to answer phones when you call for a reservation....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 - 21 February 2011
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Plenty of space between the sites. We were assigned site 15 and had no problem getting our 40' 5er backed onto the pad. Right next to the golf course. Plenty of space for the kids to bike. There's a pool around the corner in the summertime. I think MWR is looking into expanding the RV park into another section of the base. The restrooms needed a little maintenance, but they were clean. Someone mentioned extra RF cable for the CATV. We used nearly all of our 100'. Definitely bring a water pressure regulator too. Very convenient for Willamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. We all enjoyed walking around and talking to folks in period costume. If you're into our nation's history, buy a ticket in Williamstown or Jamestown that gets you into all the attractions; it's worth it. Overall it's a nice place. If we're back in the area we'll definitely call for another reservation. Well worth the $20/night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 21 - 27, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: As someone stated earlier, we stayed in site #10 and because of the two trees, it was VERY difficult to get into. The park was quiet, secluded, and peaceful and very central to Williamsburg and Jamestown. Yorktown was doable but about 13 miles away. Some sites (#9) were definitely not big rig friendly. Our 26 ft 5'ver would not have fit. The turns were tight and the grave over by site #5 something we had never seen in a RV park before. Admitted the lady died in 1915, but its still something you don't expect to see outside your front door. The mens shower could use some TLC and the only dryer needed two cycles to dry our sheets. The staff was very good but I recommend reservations, dropping your rig, and then signing in at the office. The office is across the base from the RV Park, which is in 2 wings of 10 sites each.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 9 - 13, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I forgot all about Cheatham having a RV Park and and I Retired from Cheatham in 1994. We were assigned Site 6 and I have NO COMPLAINTS about the services offered at Cheatham. If one wishes to access the Hiking, Fishing, canoeing you have to go to the Outdoor Office and check-in. The Bath House in the RV Park was the cleanest I seen in RV Parks in 2 years and compared to other RV Parks. The Outdoor REC staff was very professional and always friendly. I am not sure why anyone could complain about Cheatham when there is so much you can do around the area. I have and did make Reservations to return to the base and use the RV part again. You CANNOT beat the price. Randall Quick, ABHCS, USN-Ret
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 3 - 7, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Having stayed at this campground before and noting the same problems, our most recent visit found little had changed. The dumpster stunk to high heaven and the flies were horrible. The bath house was at least clean but very smelly. The bathhouse is advertised in their brochure as having a TV lounge but there has been no TV there for years. There were 3 pieces of fire wood when we arrived and no more was delivered during our stay. This campground seems to be the poor orphan child of the Greater Tidewater MWR campgrounds. Too bad, it has so much potential with its beautiful location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
100 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5