Kings Creek RV Campground

 
4.3 (100)
172231 2 22 3 112

User reviews

100 reviews
 
59%
 
29%
 
8%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.6(100)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(100)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(100)
Value
 
4.4(100)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(100)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
100 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
22-28 May 14
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been staying at Kings Creek for about three years now and loved each time we stayed. The quietness and trees with a few spots overlooking the river makes for a wonderful stay. It is also within walking distance to the golf course which provides a sight of deer and fox in the late afternoon/evening. Unfortunately, on this trip we were given horrible news. The Kings Creek campgrounds were going to be closed permanently. We were told that the spots were going to be converted to tent camping and that part of the sites were going to be given to the golf course; not sure what is true. This totally upset us as we had already made our 4th of July reservations. Due to the short notice, we transferred our reservations to the new sites which we absolutely hate. After this visit we will be looking elsewhere for our future camping trips. We just don't understand the reasoning behind closing these sites. We had made reservations in Mar for May for a spot in the old campgrounds which we were late making and there were only 2 spots to pick from. During our May stay, there were only 12 occupied spots for Memorial Day weekend. Kings Creek is usually packed over the holidays. The new sites are ok if you like camping as though you were in a trailer park setting, no scenic views, far from the golf course, river, pier. Looks as though short walking distance to lake though but can't see from RV spots due to cabins. We will miss our little paradise in heaven.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 12-16, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a great spot to stay while taking advantage of all the Williamsburg area has to offer! Easy access to the I-64 but still quiet. Water Country is just down the road and Busch Gardens about 10 min away. The base itself is mostly used for storage, we didn't hear any noise from training exercises but just a little from the small arms range. We enjoyed the solitude and the beautiful views from the old campground, but nothing over 30' is going to be able to park there. The new campground and cabins looked all very nicely done, just the sites are stacked in like cordwood but that's pretty standard. We enjoyed sunset walks on the extremely long pier, but there is no other water access and the pool looked ridiculously tiny. Water access is pretty limited in the whole triangle area, but then, chances are good there are jellyfish in the water anyway. There is so much to do in the area that you won't miss it. We found the staff to be very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 4-6, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the RV site off of "B" Street. This was great for a short weekend trip. The grounds was well maintained and provided concrete back-in pads. The site provides 50 amp hookup with water and cable. It was very quiet and a lot of vacant lots. However, this location is near water country, busch gardens, target and other stores close by. It took us about 10 minutes to drive to Ft. Eustis. The rental office and grounds keeper was very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again for a weekend getaway. The price was excellent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 25-29, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Kings Creek RV Campground is top notch!! The park is every bit as advertised and more. It is located very near to the historic triangle of Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown. In addition Busch Gardens and Water Country USA are within 5 miles. The park wifi was good during our stay. Staff is excellent. My wife and I look forward to our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
14-27 Sep 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This review is of the new B street campground. I was informed that the old campground by the golf course may be redone in the future. The old campground has nice wooded spots and decent views of the water, but there is no WIFI and little satellite reception there. The new campground has few shaded spots, but lots of young trees planted throughout that will provide nice shade in the future. The WIFI here is provided free, but it disconnects and freezes frequently. It has some kind of filtering on it so you can't use your WIFI-as-WAN router here. AT&T Cellular reception is poor to non-existent throughout the entire installation. You can make a phone call if you stand in the street, but it will disconnect eventually. The grounds are well maintained. There are quiet hours here, but the camp host does NOT enforce them. We had some partiers right behind us last weekend hootin' & hollerin' until midnight only two spots away from the camp host. Cheatham Annex itself doesn't consist of much... the main thing here is the NEX Express which is a convenience store and single pump station that actually sells diesel at a fair price. There is a laundromat there with four washers and driers that charges only $.75 each. In contrast, the washers at the campground charge $1.50 but they are front loaders. I prefer the less expensive ones for my family of four :) Fort Eustis is about 15 minutes down the highway and they have all the usual expectations of an installation (BX, commissary, library, etc...). Cleanliness/Hospitality was marked down due to the camp host trying to send us all the way back to the camp because we weren't on her list for our arrival day. We stopped on B street and called the office who told us to back and just park in the spot we were given when the reservation was made. After this, we never saw the host again. Amenities/Facilities marked down due to WIFI issues and lack of cellular reception (I know... it's not the campground fault.) This is a great place to stay to see Colonial Williamsburg! Remember to buy your tickets at Fort Eustis ITT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
22 July - 25 August 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We've stayed at the old and new RV parks at Cheatham Annex. The new section is outstanding as related to the facilities and infrastructure. The appearance (grounds maintenance) is not up to the standards we have seen at other Navy FamCamps. Pads are overgrown with grass/weeds, trees planted at the time of construction are in dire need of care; I had to call the office twice on the dumpster overflowing with trash (trash was piled up outside the dumpster), the overall maintenance of the grounds on the installation is poor. As an annex of Yorktown Naval Base, there is no comparison between the two -- Yorktown is clean and well maintained. Cheatham Annex rates an "F" in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 9, 2013
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
What a disappointment! We tried to stay here based on the location, right on the water. It is just up the coast from Yorktown Beach, which is beautiful. We have two boys, 5 and 3, and stayed during July. The base felt deserted. They advertise three ponds and waterfront location, yet the only place to swim is at the base pool, which was the only crowded place on post. What a shame that such a beautiful location has 3 unswimmable ponds (I guess you can fish them) and no access to the waterfront! If you have been to Virginia in July, you know that you need a place to cool off. We would not go here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jun 24 - 29, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second time here. About 2 yrs ago we stayed in the old area. This time in the new section. The site pads are concrete and roads are asphalt. The sites are fairly level( nothing too bad). There is no shade at this time however there will be in about 2-5 years. There are plenty of trees (just small ones). It is very nice, clean and well maintained. Full hook-ups 20,30,50 Amp, Cable, WiFi and the hook-up area is lighted on each site by D2D light. Very quiet and peaceful and not very many RVers only about 15-20 of 69 sites filled. There are trails and fishing areas. You can rent bikes, kayaks and canoes at the office. The staff was outstanding. There is a small shoppette with limited items and it closed at 1730. Just outside the gate is a Target Store and about 2 miles back towards Williamsburg there is a Harris Teter Grocery Store. There are plenty of things to do in the Historic Triangle. There is plenty to do on or off base. The price is very reasonable, 30% cheaper than the local campgrounds and better amenities. We usually go on short(within 1-1.5 hrs) stays for the weekend. This one is perfect. Will be back a lot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed 2 weeks in the old campground. We prefer it to the new because of the trees and view of the river. Notably it does not have cable tv and the wifi was not working while we were there. We have a digital TV antenna that picked up a lot of the Norfolk channels, and we use a Verizon Jetpak which provides very good internet access so the limitations were not a problem. We were also completely alone on our little circle for 6 of the 14 days we were there. The staff at any park seems to make the difference between a good and bad experience. The staff here is superb. If you have questions or a problem they will find solutions for you in a hurry. I noted we prefer the old section over the new. It's a question of utility or beauty. The new section has got everything when it comes to convenience, but it's out in the open with few trees. The older section is right in the trees along Kings Creek and the Yorktown River. The Deer Cove Golf course also surrounds it. It's aptly named. We saw many deer every day. This base is a sleepy one. We have been on a bunch of bases and this is the quietest one we have ever seen. It's a warehousing operation for the Navy and most activity is evidently in the buildings. There is not much here in the way of support. There is a small Exchange and gas station and that's it. The Army's Ft Eustis is only abt 12 miles away and Langley AFB about 20. Both of them are very large and have a full range of support facilities. I mentioned the golf course. You can walk on at any time. It is not used much by the locals. It's a pretty course, but has no sand or water hazards. The Navy pier which is close to the old campground is open to for your use after 4pm every day and all weekend long as long as there isn't a ship being serviced. If a ship is there security prevents your usage. The old campground has a shower facility with a single washer and dryer. When we were there the washer was 50 cents and the dryer was free. We used Cheatham as a base for exploring Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown. It's perfect for that. The Colonial Parkway runs right by the entrance to the base and provides super easy access to all three places. Traffic here on the interstates and other highways is heavy and fast almost all the time. The one exception is the parkway. It flows at either 35 or 45 mph and is uncrowded no matter when you use it. Would we come back? You bet. This is one of the nicest RV parks we have stayed in, and there is a lot more to see in the Norfolk area. Our rig is a 25ft Bigfoot travel trailer. Your rig up to 38 ft should fit in the old park. There were two Bounders here with us for a few days and they fit just fine. The new park should be able to handle anything.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2013
(Updated: June 25, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The new section is great. Solid power, good water pressure and.. strangely, nice concrete pads that are not level. Resources on base are limited but there's shopping near by. Important! The MWR office NOT accept any mail or UPS / FedX packages. We were lucky to get one package from them because we didn't know.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 12-16, 2013
(Updated: June 17, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in the newer 50 site section. Sites are large concrete pads with full hook-ups and well maintained. This section looks more like a commercial campground than a military one. The post has a small shopette. Fort Eustis is not too far away with a full commissary and exchange. There is a small shopping center outside the post with a Target. Our Wi-Fi connection was good, did notice the antennas are on both ends of the sites so probably bad signal in the center. There is a lake and hiking trail walking around, remember bug spray, got multiple mosquitoes bites and ticks crawling on legs while on the trail. There is a pool but was only open on the weekend. The MWR office was very helpful and has plenty of things to rent like kayaks, bikes, etc.. The best thing is the location. This is only a few minutes away from Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 13, 2013
(Updated: May 20, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There is Wi-Fi, but it is a little weak as is the cell service in that area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 3
October 19 thru Nov 2, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.D. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed during Hurricane Sandy, and things were uninterrupted. Close to Colonial Williamsburg, and local attractions. WiFi is available at the 4th street grill, and also at the Navy Gateway Lodge. Everyone was very helpful during our stay. Previous comment incorrect, sites 44, and 49 are level on "B" street. Fuel was available at the Navex 24-7.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Nov 1 - 4, 2012
(Updated: November 04, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Took our new fifth wheeler on its "shakedown cruise". Stayed in the new rv area. This area is equipped with both 50/30 amp power head, water, cable and sewer hook-ups. There is no Internet at the park, but was told by staff of two areas on base where free wireless could be accessed. Bath house is new and clean. Diesel and gasoline is available at NEX convenience store on base, but is more expensive than at regular stations in the Williamsburg area. Both annual and temporary pier fishing permits are available at the MWR check-in. Short section of road to check-in is narrow, wouldn't want to meet another rv on it. Plenty of shopping & sightseeing in Williamsburg/Yorktown area, close to both. Great staff at the MWR office. Very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
October 11, 2012 - October 30, 2012
(Updated: October 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently camping in the new section on B street. There are 50 sites here that are well spaced with concrete pads (not level). All are back in sites. I must comment on the previous reviewer: We have water, electric, SEWER, and cable. Don't know why other reviewer did not believe there is sewer here. There is no WiFi, but we are told it is coming. There is a lovely, large, clean laundry right at the campground. We are close to Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 14, 2012
(Updated: October 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The coordinates to the campground are incorrect in that they lead you to one of the fairways on the 9 hole golf course. It is NEAR the 19 site (older) section campground. The correct coordinates for the check-in is 37.29751, -76.61015 on the north end of "D" Street where you will be assigned to either the older 19 site or the new 50 site CG. We stayed in site #5 of the older CG overlooking Kings Creek. The new 50 site and the 11-19 site section seemed to be more popular so we had it all to our self. Another reason for low usage is that 1-10 are extremely small. #5 used to be the camp host. #4 was good size as well. Shower and toilet for that area was clean and adequate. Sites 1-19 are FULL hook-up while 1-50 (new section) are W/E with a dump station. CAX is a great location for visiting Williamsburg. I viewed the newer 50 site section and I think the "uneven pads" is a bit picky, but then I own a TT and have stayed in MUCH worse CG's.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 12, 2012
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Directions on the web takes one to the old RV park area with 19 sites. It does not mention that there are TWO RV areas. Make sure you know which area you are assigned to since both sites are numbered starting at #1. The new area (on B street) has 50 sites and was just opened this year and is very nice and big rig friendly. However, MANY of the sites are EXTREMELY unlevel, particularly the ones to the west side towards the water. I was going to set up in site 43, the only site with shade trees, but moved over to site 16 in the old RV area since site 43 was so unlevel that I couldn't level my coach (HR Neptune 2009 diesel pusher). The left rear wheel was off the ground about two inches and it looks like I would have needed blocks under BOTH rear jacks to put both wheels off the ground to level it. The site slants to the side better than 4+" and also to the rear. Several of the sites on the side seemed to be about the same. The ones in the center looked fairly level. The new RV site is on the end of B street with warehouses and a storage area for boats and RVs to one side and water and trees to the other. Very well laid out with nice a nice bath house. The only negative I saw was the unlevel concrete pads. Even a 5th wheel or TT would have some trouble getting level in some sites (9 years with a HR Presidential 36'). Diesel available on base and easy to get in and out with a big rig. The MWR admin office is on D street to check in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sep 1, 2012
(Updated: September 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We went over early to check out the new section and WOW, this is what a FAMCAMP should look like. Forget the comments about the WiFi and just kick back and enjoy. Place is just great. We will be in there Labor Day weekend and look forward to the stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
4-7 Aug 2012
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We should all appreciate the military's efforts to create these improved facilities. They seem to realize our rigs have outgrown the old campgrounds. Give the trees time to grow and the grass to take hold! The bathrooms, laundry and meeting room facility is top notch. Grass cutting here was on Wednesdays so it was pretty long during our stay but as we were pulling out the mowers were pulling in. It would be nice with all that's invested in trees and landscaping if it was better maintained. The trees needed pruning and weeding, in some cases straightening up. We were given good directions to B street when we reserved but our GPS wanted to go to the old RVK camp. So if you're told to turn on B street, do so. We were told to go to our assigned site, unhook and then drive to the outdoor rec office on D street to check in. We chose to use express check in and everything was easy. There were probably 1/4 of the new sites occupied but the old area was almost full. We didn't find the old campground very attractive but it is closer to the golf course, pool and river. Another plus was reasonably priced diesel. We'd definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
JUL 2012
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at the new RV park at Cheatham Annex (Yorktown Naval Weapons Station). Absolutely great place--spacious and tranquil. Only drawback--very difficult to find off the Colonial Pkwy. Didn't quite understand the MWR guy giving us directions (after 4 calls) on how to get there. But we enjoyed driving on the parkway for over 30 minutes until we found it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
100 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5