Champs Camp RV Park

 
3.3 (39)
61051 0 10 0 23

User reviews

39 reviews
 
10%
 
38%
 
26%
 
23%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.1(39)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(39)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.9(39)
Value
 
3.3(39)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(39)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
Oct 1-7 2011
(Updated: December 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here with acorns falling all around. Laundry and shower building was clean, well-kept up. Excellent facility w TV and lounge. Will definitely return to CG. Agree that layout of sites is "backward" but met friendly people who helped pick the best way to set up our MH. Lots of room for my dogs to walk/play. Town nearby w everything you need to resupply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
1.8
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We stayed one night, in transit. Host was on site in #19. They had a few pull throughs so it was good for us because we were towing a vehicle. No stores on base or in the area so ensure you stock up on food, etc. It appears as though the site was designed by a non RV person. Hook ups are on the wrong sides of sites and scattered.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 2010
Overall rating
 
1.7
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Taking care of the place seems to be a last minute thing the buildings are kept clean but facilities not repaired. Mens shower taped off has been for long time. New washer doesn't work. Found out some lots have electrical issues and have had for a long, long time. The ones who take care of it seems to have it thrust upon them so doesn't seem to be a sense of ownership or pride in it. If you get there after Game Check closes you are at the mercy of some Full-timers who live there if you need info, directions or other needs. Mostly 30 amp service, there is wireless internet but it does not reach out far.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I would like to respond about the campground hosts and the campground. The host do work on A.P. Hill as well as host the campground and are not normally available till sometime in the afternoon. For what I've seen their door is always opened for all campers. I'm sure they miss a camper or two, but they do meet and greet arriving campers. They maintain the flower beds and other needs for the campground. Their job is to help out the campers after duty hours of the Outdoor Rec. I feel they are doing a fine job. The RV Center is normally spotless, yes you do have to wait sometimes for the washers/dryers but this is a small campground. This is a campground not a RESORT! Quiet place if you are looking to get away.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 7
May 2010
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The RV Center is kept very clean by the staff at Outdoor Rec. There are a lot of nice people that stay at the Park and I find them very friendly and helpful to all that come to stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
May 09
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The recent, previous posters are correct. Champs used to be a real value at $13 a day with Golden Access/Age. Going to $21 makes it "competitive" with area commercial parks price-wise but not even close to competitive when it comes to true value. Getting a full hook-up site at Champs is almost impossible with all the contractors and civilian employees taking up most of the "good" sites. Plus, they've got 4 of the 30 amp sites tied up with those FEMA trailers. The camp host couple both work on A.P. Hill. I have no clue what their host duties are. We were there three weeks and never saw them do anything. I couldn't pick the wife out of a police lineup - never saw her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 2009 Memorial Week
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We stayed at the campground for Memorial Week 2009. We were very disappointed. We made a reservation because we are active duty and had been told that we could have a 50 amp service space with full hookup. They gave us the space number before we got there since we would be arriving late. When we got there the space was taken by a popup trailer that was being stored there. We had to find another space that was un-level short pad and very tight. The camp host was wonderful as was the man that worked in the office. They tried to explain it was a mixup but we were overall disappointed. Hopefully if they can get someone in there to level out the sites and redo them it will be better in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 29 - June 7, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This park has gone steadily downhill since we started stopping here 3 years ago. Beginning in July 2009 the daily rate is $21 and the monthly rate is $480, and they no longer will honor Golden Age or Golden Access passes. This increase makes the park ridiculously expensive for what you get. Only a few sites are big rig and 5th wheel accessible. There are only 9 50 AMP sites, with 1 used by the camp hosts (who both work full time somewhere else), 3-5 are used by contract or civil service employees at AP Hill, which makes it a real crap shoot for the RVer hoping for 50 AMP service. Many of the 30 AMP sites don't have power at all, so you really are taking your chances. There are no posted rules, so your camp site is also used as a dog walk for those too lazy to pick up after their pets. This will be our last visit AP Hill. There are a couple of other commercial campgrounds in this area that actually work out to be cheaper, and much better managed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 4 - Jun 4, 2009
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I have to agree with other postings. The utilities are misplaced and not effectively utilized. I wanted to go into a site but there was no electricity. The unit in back used my while the ones on each site were using electric from adjacent sites. Black lines were criss-crossing all over. Checked with the host, Chuck, he didn’t want bothered and told me to find another site. The check in people are very nice and very helpful but they gave me the opinion they were trying but the settlers that occupied the campground were in charge. Some had been here for over two years and didn’t appear to be leaving soon. This could be a nice camp if they had a host that did his/her job and they would put a limit on the number of days a person could stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 2 & 3, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground could be really great. There are too many spaces so they are very close together. As stated before, hookups are a little strange. I was in space 20 and I had the choice of a sewer hookup by my neighbors front door or one behind me about 40 feet away. The electric and water were on the wrong side, but then I discovered a small electric hookup behind me, but that was only 30 amp. Only some sites had picnic tables. The place was more like a hunter's campground while I was here. I gave a 3 rating for cleanliness/hospitality because, although the office staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the camp host was two spaces from me and never came over to see if I needed anything or have any questions. RV center was very clean and all washer/dryers appeared to be in good condition. BX was closed both days so can't comment on that. Verizon cell and wireless broadband worked very well as did Dish Network. The base is large and reminds me of a state/national park more than a military base. Saw very few military personnel when I rode to BX. Looked like a lot of empty barracks. I think this is a good overnite stop, but not a destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22 Oct 08
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pulled in yesterday with no reservations and no problems getting a site. Lots open and community services very helpful getting me in. No assigned spots, you just grab what is open. Rec center is nice but only rated 3 for the amenities as the wifi in the rec center did not work nor did the TV. Over all a nice place but a bit removed from the freeway. Small town of "bowling green" has McDonalds with wifi connection for 1 dollar for 1 hour. Would stay again but will probably not be through this way again at least for the foreseeable future. The wifi is now fixed in the rec room. Nice little camp ground but as mentioned, no reservations and the sewer hookups are a bit removed from the camp site. Better have a long hose. Very quiet at night. Would stay here again if ever in this area again. But expensive for no cable TV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8-9 Aug 2008
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Gate guard was very helpful and friendly. You are to check in at the CAC office and then you can go pick your site. CAC office staff is very friendly and helpful. The information packet they give you is a real plus--it isn't often that you get that (we're full-timers). They have a pool adjacent to the CAC office but we didn't use it--we would have if we were staying more than one night. (The pool is closed on Wednesdays.) They give you a map of the campground circling the sites that have 50 amp but unfortunately, other campers don't follow it and sites that are supposed to be limited to 20 or 30 amp, use the 50 amp that's meant for another site so there were no 50 amps available for us even though the site we picked was designated as a 50 amp site. Yes, you do have to have long water and septic hoses just as others have pointed out and some of the sites are very short, but you can park partly on the grass on the short sites. The laundry room (which is called the RV center) is large, clean and air conditioned and has a TV, foosball table and two large round tables with comfortable chairs AND two couches. The washers and dryers are $1 each. There is also a microwave and a book and magazine exchange, restrooms and showers which are kept up very nicely. I didn't think the laundry room was far away at all, from the campground. I've seen them much FARTHER away at other campgrounds. We used our access pass so $13 a night was a real bargain. Lots of nice shade trees and well lit at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 8-11, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
VERY poor layout in this CG, E/W/S in strange places! Very narrow and short pads, trash and showers/laundry at far end of CG - not an easy/quick walk (but clean). There is a small community room with a fooseball table, computer hookups, and magazines, but that's about it. No playground, no recycling, no commissary. However, this is a fast overnighter off I95, (although expensive for what's available), and nearby are George Washington's BirthPlace NHS, and Fredericksburg NB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 3, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
H.L. left this review using the Directory software: Campsites are generally small and poorly laid out. Some sewer connections are distant or not available. For Garmin users insert the intersection of 301 and A P Hill and select 301 (SW) & A P Hill Dr to locate the main gate on 301.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19 December 2007
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We came through Ft. AP Hill on our way to New York and stopped again on our way back. Winter is a bad time to visit Champs as the people who check in and out don't seem to have it together. We got in at 5pm and they were closed! No key to the Community Bldg was issued to us, however someone left the door unlocked and we got in to use the showers, and wi-fi. Our little Casita trailer fit fine in the site we chose, however the electric was not working. Many of the smaller sites were not working at the time. The showers in the Community Bldg. were very new looking and very nice! Soap dispensers were full and there was enough room to manuever around esp. in the handicapped shower. We enjoyed the wi-fi connection although it was a tad slow, and the tv since we do not have one in our trailer. It looked like there were 10 full-time parked rigs in the campground. Only saw one person both times we camped. It's a good place to overnight, but lacks quite a bit for a longer stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 September 2007
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We use this facility as a convenient overnight stop on our trips to the northeast. The small community building that containes a laundromat and bathrooms is clean and well kept. They do have WiFi and full hookups, however the sites are for the most part very short and the hookups are not positioned in very logical places. In some cases on the wrong side of the site or at a long distance away from the site. Saw many rigs with doubled sewer hoses to reach the sewer connection. They have a very nice location for the campground with easy paved access, but it is a bit pricey at $21 for the poor hookup placements and extremely short sites that seem to have been designed for rigs no larger than 17 feet. Lots of lightly travelled streets on base to walk, jog or bike. This is one place definitely in need of modernization to make it a very nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Campground is in a nice rustic location. Marginal for big rigs. Nice shower/laundry facilities. Electrical hook-up look like something out of Rube Goldberg. Would take very little to improve this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Having been full-timers for three years, I'd have to say that this campground is below average compared to most of the other DoD campgrounds we've been in. That said, it still is a darn good value for the area if you don't mind a few inconveniences. This park is not "Big Rig Friendly", "Rustic" is appropriate though. We barely wiggled our 40' 5th wheel trailer into the only open 50 amp site left. (Motorhomes would have an easier time getting into a site, or rather two sites back-to-back since none of them are pull through and none were built to accommodate 40 footers.) It's the only park we've been in where two sewer hoses weren't enough, and there is no central dump. (Some of the sewer hookups are okay.) There are very few 50 amp hookups and plan on most of them being "hogged" by the "permanent" residents in the park, which is okay. We've been here twice now and found the park to never be over 50% full. The PX is stocked to take care of soldiers in training and not us retired old poops -- lots of beer and beef jerky; but no tofu or quiche! Bring your tree trimming equipment with you and plan on ground-mounting your dish. Good place to sit down to explore Civil War battlefields and pretty close to Williamsburg.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Nice, quiet and had full hookups. However, some are 30 amp. There were only 3 sites that could take 36 + RV's and still be on the paved site. You could use other sites but would be partially on grass. About 50 sites and campground had only 15 RV;s at this time. Checkin is at Recreation office about 2 miles from campground. Very nice laundry and shower house at the sites. We liked this campground as we were only staying a day as we passed through the area. This is not a good place if you want services such as PX, Commisary etc. Excellent if you want quiet time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2