Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (130)
88542   0   18   1   44

User reviews

38 reviews with 5 stars

130 reviews

 
(43)
 
(51)
 
(23)
 
(6)
 
(7)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.2  (130)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (130)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (130)
Value 
 
4.0  (130)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (130)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
38 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
14 August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We needed an overnight spot in the Salt Lake area and the reviews suggested Hill would be a good one. They were right. What a nice Famcamp. They were very accommodating. The host that checked us in was so nice and helpful. They gave us our site number when we made the reservation and told us to just go to the site and hook up then check in. We had a pull through site. Some of them had shade, but all were long enough for both out 35’ motorhome and outer toad. There was a lot of lateral space between sites as well. The campground and facility were very clean and maintained. The fame amp is not large, so be sure and call and reserve a site, it seems pretty popular and ended up as almost full the night we were there. The only WiFi is in the office right now, but they are working on it. Bathrooms were clean and well kept, but a little dated. The gym is across the street if you are so inclined. The directions are great. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14 August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I arrived a little late. But, the host still came by and gave me the information for the laundry and showers. Hook up was easy on a very level pad. Just stayed one night. But, I will return next time I am near Hill AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
17-24 July 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived via the Roy gate early afternoon. We made reservations well in advance. Check-in was quick and informative. Utilized their USPS mail delivery service at the Base Post Office building, it worked well you can drop off prepaid UPS and Fedex parcels there as well. Nice Exchange and Commissary, car wash, bowling alley, all within easy walking distance of the FamCamp. Excellent Art & Crafts Shop across the street. Very much enjoyed our stay and visit to the Salt Lake City area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9-16 Jun 18
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We did not plan to stay at the base as we were going north. Maintenance issues required we seek RV repair (Tips is very good only about 1.5 miles away). Anyhow we stayed 7 days moved a couple of times but thats what the M in mobil/motor home stands for right? The camp hosts were very nice and considerate and worked to keep everything right. Bad part was that the WIFI system only works IN the rec room. Base itself is confusing in that nothing (streets, some buildings) are identified so its a game of hunt and seek until you become familiarized. Small BX/PX and commissary. Camp is set close to South gate and makes for easy entry exit to local area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Super hosts in Larry and Debbie! Nice, clean park with nice laundry, nice bathrooms except the showers need a private dressing area, convenient to base amenities...superior fitness center across the road, splash park for kids, clean grassy dog park, level parking sites although a little hard to understand where to park...rigs need to park close to utility side. We were unable to hook up sewer dt the rig behind us being dead center. It would also be nice if they had a separate tent area. Kids set their tent up next to us on the gravel! Ouch! It would be nice if they updated the WiFi access. Convenient to Salt Lake and the city. Fun watching the F-? Flying overhead...super loud but we are proud of them so what the heck?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Convenient location near Ogden UT. We only needed one night on two passes through the area and this did the trick, just one thing to consider: I made reservations for both stays and was given my site numbers ahead on the same call. I was told to go ahead and pull into those sites when I arrive. On both occasions, the site assignments had changed. Just be sure to call on your way in to make sure you don’t set up in someone else’s spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived a day early, park was full, they let us stay near the office and was able to run our generator. I must say this park has had a ton of upgrades from when i visited 6 years ago. Sites are great but they use every bit of space by allowing tent campers right behind your rv. I just wish all the famcamps would get with the times and put wifi throughout the parks. All in all, great stay, would come back again! Great value!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a very nice Fam Camp and well maintained. Easy access from the South Gate.The laundry and bathrooms are spotless.$1 a load for washer or dryer.Very friendly host and office workers. Only reason I didn't give it 5* across the board is because of no internet except near the office.We have now traveled 46 states and stayed in Fam Camps whenever possible.Most all Navy Fam Camps have internet access. Feeling in 2018 WiFi should be available almost everywhere, including AFBs Fam Camps.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 18-20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time at the Hill AFB FamCamp. Overall I am impressed. Nice little dog break area. Level spots. Nice Shade. Well maintained and camp hosts are always out doing their jobs. Close to all major highways. Wifi available in the Rec Room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Aug 3--Aug 15, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I've been staying at this Fam Camp many times over the years. I never had a problem with Howard. The young lady currently running the Camp is doing a great job, always available. The Camp Hosts Terry and Debbie were great and helped me get a two day extension when the day I was to leave I experienced problems with my MH. Terry directed me to a retired Marine in the Camp who works on RV's. After having Scott check over my MH we found that the 4 6 volt house batteries were in real bad shape. I drove down the road and bought 4 new batteries from Sam's club and Scott installed them for me. After checking everything we found that I was good to go the next day. Love the improvements in the old area. Too bad there is a 14 day stay limit. Scott really needs to be able to stay, he's helped a lot of folks with RV problems. I had to force him to take money for helping me out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 2016 and Dec 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here twice as we passed through. First time someone was in our spot. So they moved us. Then they decided that was a bad idea and made us wait while they made the guy in our original spot move out. (He knew he was supposed to leave but opted not to...got mad....it was awkward to say the least and the clerk was not terribly good at making it right). Second time we arrived in Dec. to snow on the ground. They plowed the roads in the park but not the sites. Ice under snow made set up difficult and walking in the site was hazardous. (Yes, they had time to plow the roads and the sites that had folks coming in that night). It's very clean. It's cheap. Great commissary and BX. Easy to get to, but the entrance to the base is a BEAR unless you can get in the South gate. Fitness center right across the street. We'll go back.... Just be aware that the staff is not always attentive to what needs to be done. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed for 7 days could not ask for better camping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 19, 2015 - June 7, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our fourth (4th) consecutive year staying here and I must say we have been extremely pleased with everything and everyone at the Hill AFB FamCamp. They have made some minor mistakes and so have we, but we have been able to work through these minor (I'm even reluctant to call them problems) 'glitches' agreeably. IF a problem arises, I recommend talking to the Manager or Camp Host IMMEDIATELY. DON't let things drag out, because doing that just gets you madder, and the FamCamp staff has no idea there is a problem. It's simple COMMUNICATION - talk to them, be willing to give them a little, and I guarantee they will give you a lot in return. I'm not talking money here, they can't change the prices, but it's just as simple as 'If I treat you with respect, I expect to treated the same way in return'. No 'back-scratching', just as simple as the Golden Rule. Admiral Jack and the AZ KC Crew.
LJ
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 4, 2014 - June 8, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Hill AFB and would return again if in the area. Howard was very helpful and filled us in on some great sight-seeing places that we would never have even thought of seeing. It is priced right and close to everything you need. Laundry room was clean and everything worked. Free ice machine in the laundry room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
1-6 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Not to much to add with all fives. The campgound has gravel and concrete pads. The directions that are posted are spot on!! Upon arriving Howard was in the office and had us set up with a large concrete site that was big enough to handle our rig. He took into consideration that my Dad uses a mobility scooter to ensure we had access to the area. The area is kept at a high standard. Salt Lake City is about 25 minutes away and Antilope Island is a great place to ride bikes and enjoy the Buffalo and antilope. I do wish that they would update and upgrade the entire area with concrete pads. I would return here if I was traveling through here again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 23 - Sept 2, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.M. left this review using the Directory software: - Arrived noon and waited till 1300 till office opened for registration. Thomas drove me around on the cart looking at several sites. Howard back from lunch got us an excellent spot for the eleven day stay. Howard and Thomas were both professional and helpful during our check in. Stationed here 38 years ago and feels like we're back home again. Great FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
17 & 31 August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped here as an overnight on a trip from Colorado to Oregon. It was easy to make reservations while enroute as we weren't sure we'd make it that far at first. $20 for an overnight stay with full hookups etc was well worth it. Very easy to find from the interstate. Even arriving "after hours" we were met by a volunteer camper who had all our reservation information and took us right to our site. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 12-18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Big base..Good golf...nice commissary and BX. Played the base Golf Course and enjoyed the walk. Pretty good value considering the views of mountains, track right next to the campground for exercise and plenty to do in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had intended to stay at Hill fampcamp for just 4 nights but ended up staying for nearly two weeks because I had SO MUCH FUN there! The camp hosts (not Howard but the wonderful couple whose names are out of my head, sorry!) were there to help me get settled and are truly HOSTS...they enjoy people and gatherings and invited me over and we had a great time on more than one occasion just yacking away. I made other friends there I will undoubtedly visit again in the future. The gym and track are right next door, the BX and commissary are outstanding, and as someone said, SLC has lots of things to do. The town outside the base, Roy...I think...also has restaurants and such that make it very nice to be at Hill. As for Howard, I can tell you that he and his assistant Tom were very kind and helpful to me. I really didn't want to leave, but I couldn't extend because of the other campers with reservations and because I needed to get back to Oregon. BUT, I'd have stayed for the season if I could...it's a fun, clean, safe place...thanks Howard and crazy fun camp hosts! :o)
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
March 22, 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Having read all of the reviews I felt like I needed to submit this review. I have been at the famcamp for 11 months. I too have had my difficulties with the management, and had a meeting with upper management to address a lot of the issues that have been posted over the past few years. It is my opinion that the issues have been addressed and from this date forward you shouldn’t have any more problems. I feel very optimistic that your experience here will be a great one. Management now reviews these comments and values your opinions. Have fun, and stop by and say hi.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
38 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2