Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (152)
112706 1 19 1 70

User reviews

49 reviews with 5 stars
152 reviews
 
36%
 
38%
 
16%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.3(152)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(152)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(152)
Value
 
4.1(152)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(152)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
49 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
10-11 Jul 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another good experience with this campground. Stayed a year ago and that visit good also. Although both stops were just for overnighters. Seems like the back-to-back sites were designed by someone without experience or input from RV'ers. Concur with other comments concerning the location of sewer. Thankfully our RV has utility connections behind the rear wheels and a little closer to connection. I observed several rigs with sewer hoses of 30 - 40ft in length. That is excessive and more opportunity to leakage...yuck. One option for short stays is to use the dump station on the way out. It looked well kept. We aren't dog owners but did notice the sign concerning not allowed breeds...seemed a bit odd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug/Sep 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We actually stayed here twice during this time frame. We were traveling to Rapid City area for a 9 day vacation after being evacuated from our home in California due to a wild fire. On our way east, we stayed overnight only, using only the electric hook up in our site. On our way home, we had scheduled a two night stay, but asked for and received approval for a third night, When we checked in to our site, since we were staying multiple nights, we chose to take advantage of the full hookups. The only issue we had was the water pressure was so high, it tripped the hose end pressure regulator I had. We went to Camping World in Kaysville to purchase an adjustable water pressure regulator (which we did) but we also traded in our 2 year old Jayco hybrid for a 2021 Keystone Cougar. When we arrived back at the gate, the Security Forces personnel were very considerate in moving the metal stars so we could get the trailer in without difficulty. Parked at the Famcamp with the new trailer, I found out I could not hook up to the sewer connections due to only having a single ten foot sewer hose, The sewer drain was at the rear of the site and on the new trailer the drains are forward of the axles. All in all, the facility more than exceeded my expectations, staff at the Famcamp were incredibly understanding, helpful and willing to work with me as we weren't sure we were going to be able to get out of our home town due to the fire. We will be back to this one, highly recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-18 June 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time we've stayed here, Hill AFB is very convenient, has lots of amenities on the base and off. Priced Very reasonably, Amy was very helpful while making reservation. Visited Golden Spike national park and Bonneville Salt flats. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 12-13, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice FamCamp. Only about 10 minutes off of the Interstate 15. Entry was a little difficult; the Air Force Military Police have barricades at the Main Gate and I needed to twist my truck and travel trailer around these to get to the guard for the ID check. But the camp is level, asphalt parking spaces for the RV. Showers/Restrooms clean and nice. There is a big grassy/shaded dog run area. We arrived on a Sunday and the office was closed, but they had our name and reserved space posted on the wall so we had no trouble settling in. $22/night; great bargain. Stayed 2 nights to rest. We went to the Base Exchange and Commissary for some needed things, and got Diesel fuel at the base gas station for a good price. Staff are all very friendly and base staff family members (ours was the spouse of a F35 Fighter pilot assigned to Hill AFB). We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camped in an elect and water only site. This site is gravel and has a significant slope to the rear of it. However, if pull rig close up to the one-way U drive then can get pretty level. A bit close to the neighbors but quiet enough. I elected to face north which put connections on wrong side of coach. With an extension cord and longer hose made it work. Check-in was easy and office staff was very pleasant, came over to the site and offered assistance. Being near the edge of the base get a fair amount of road noise from major road on other side of fence. Worked out just fine for the single night I had planned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2 - 3, 2020
(Updated: July 03, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
July 2-3, 2020 Pull-Through site #33. We paid $22/day. We called and made reservations on June 30th, 2 days before arrival and were able to reserve a Pull-Through site. We arrived at 1945 after the office closed, the host family pulled up on a quad next to office as soon as they saw us drive in, they arrived before we got the Motor Home into park and the brakes set, checked the reservation list, handed us our map and off to our pull-through site. Nice looking FamCamp. Easy access from I15, turn on 232 and take it straight to the gate. Through gate immediate far left lane for turn down Balmer street, first left into FamCamp straight in to office. The directions on this website are accurate and helpful. The FamCamp looks very well kept. In the morning we did notice there was a lot of traffic noise on our side of the Fam Camp, since highway 193 is about 100 yards (if that much) from where we are parked...didn't notice it last night as there was no traffic, but this morning the traffic on the bedroom slide side of our coach served as a bit of an alarm clock. They might consider a noise brake or concrete wall on the highway side of the FamCamp to enhance the experience. I think a site closer to Balmer Street is probably a more preferred location and is probably the reason the two on the highway side were available. The running/walking track on our side of the FamCamp is impressive. We only stayed one night, but from what we saw it is an Excellent FamCamp, only negative was the traffic noise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We got in just days after the Famcamp opened after CV-19. Stayed for 7 days and would have stayed longer, but where on our way to Yellowstone and they oped up on the 1st of June. We had plenty of space. Scott, gave us our spot over the phone, so we just drove to the spot and set-up and then checked in. Scott told us that the wifi was weak and you had to be next to the office to use. I have a wifi ranger Denali and had no issues with wifi. Also AT&T cell came in very strong with 5G. Dog Park was ok with good shade. They had a great kids park next to the RV park. The running track next to the park was first rate along with all the work equipment. I don't think the famcamp had anything to do with it, but the "air show" that the F35's put on every day (except Sat. and Sun.) was out standing, and LOUD!! (sound hit 94 on my Apple watch) It wasn't really an airshow ,but... The ONLY neg. I had was the beer on base was only 4%. I enjoyed our stay and will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for 5 days with your bumper pull TT. Pros: Great dog park. The camp is right in the mix of the base...walking distance to the gym (very nice gym), close to the commissary/BX, and next to a very large kid park. Sites were clean and level. Small study area/library/movie rental station behind the office. Cheap washers/drivers ($1.00). Cons: No wifi. They did have wifi in the study area but it didn't reach our campsite. We enjoyed it and would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6/4/2019 to 6/18/2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great RV Park, one of the best we have stayed in for military parks. Directions were great and hospitality was fantastic. Nice level sites with plenty of room. We stayed in a 40 ft class A motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
6 May 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Large level sites with easy access to the utility connections. Wide sites. We didn't use the bath house but they were very clean. We did use the laundry and there are plenty of machines and the room was clean. We stayed in a 40 foot motorhome with a Jeep in tow. We were told we could wash vehicles if we wanted. I only washed the Jeep off since rain was forecast the next day and I didn't see any sense in washing the motorhome. Access to the base and Famcamp was easy through the South Gate. We will stay there again on our return to the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2018 - February 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have been here since November 2018 and have found this site recently. I called and asked the fam camp why are we paying 20.00 a day instead of 500.00 a month. Was told they only charge by the day. So you guys might want to change the pricing on here. (Editors note: Will do! - Thanks!)
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
14 August 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We needed an overnight spot in the Salt Lake area and the reviews suggested Hill would be a good one. They were right. What a nice Famcamp. They were very accommodating. The host that checked us in was so nice and helpful. They gave us our site number when we made the reservation and told us to just go to the site and hook up then check in. We had a pull through site. Some of them had shade, but all were long enough for both out 35’ motorhome and outer toad. There was a lot of lateral space between sites as well. The campground and facility were very clean and maintained. The fame amp is not large, so be sure and call and reserve a site, it seems pretty popular and ended up as almost full the night we were there. The only WiFi is in the office right now, but they are working on it. Bathrooms were clean and well kept, but a little dated. The gym is across the street if you are so inclined. The directions are great. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
14 August 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I arrived a little late. But, the host still came by and gave me the information for the laundry and showers. Hook up was easy on a very level pad. Just stayed one night. But, I will return next time I am near Hill AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
17-24 July 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived via the Roy gate early afternoon. We made reservations well in advance. Check-in was quick and informative. Utilized their USPS mail delivery service at the Base Post Office building, it worked well you can drop off prepaid UPS and Fedex parcels there as well. Nice Exchange and Commissary, car wash, bowling alley, all within easy walking distance of the FamCamp. Excellent Art & Crafts Shop across the street. Very much enjoyed our stay and visit to the Salt Lake City area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9-16 Jun 18
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We did not plan to stay at the base as we were going north. Maintenance issues required we seek RV repair (Tips is very good only about 1.5 miles away). Anyhow we stayed 7 days moved a couple of times but thats what the M in mobil/motor home stands for right? The camp hosts were very nice and considerate and worked to keep everything right. Bad part was that the WIFI system only works IN the rec room. Base itself is confusing in that nothing (streets, some buildings) are identified so its a game of hunt and seek until you become familiarized. Small BX/PX and commissary. Camp is set close to South gate and makes for easy entry exit to local area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Super hosts in Larry and Debbie! Nice, clean park with nice laundry, nice bathrooms except the showers need a private dressing area, convenient to base amenities...superior fitness center across the road, splash park for kids, clean grassy dog park, level parking sites although a little hard to understand where to park...rigs need to park close to utility side. We were unable to hook up sewer dt the rig behind us being dead center. It would also be nice if they had a separate tent area. Kids set their tent up next to us on the gravel! Ouch! It would be nice if they updated the WiFi access. Convenient to Salt Lake and the city. Fun watching the F-? Flying overhead...super loud but we are proud of them so what the heck?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Convenient location near Ogden UT. We only needed one night on two passes through the area and this did the trick, just one thing to consider: I made reservations for both stays and was given my site numbers ahead on the same call. I was told to go ahead and pull into those sites when I arrive. On both occasions, the site assignments had changed. Just be sure to call on your way in to make sure you don’t set up in someone else’s spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 25, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived a day early, park was full, they let us stay near the office and was able to run our generator. I must say this park has had a ton of upgrades from when i visited 6 years ago. Sites are great but they use every bit of space by allowing tent campers right behind your rv. I just wish all the famcamps would get with the times and put wifi throughout the parks. All in all, great stay, would come back again! Great value!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very nice Fam Camp and well maintained. Easy access from the South Gate.The laundry and bathrooms are spotless.$1 a load for washer or dryer.Very friendly host and office workers. Only reason I didn't give it 5* across the board is because of no internet except near the office.We have now traveled 46 states and stayed in Fam Camps whenever possible.Most all Navy Fam Camps have internet access. Feeling in 2018 WiFi should be available almost everywhere, including AFBs Fam Camps.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 18-20, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time at the Hill AFB FamCamp. Overall I am impressed. Nice little dog break area. Level spots. Nice Shade. Well maintained and camp hosts are always out doing their jobs. Close to all major highways. Wifi available in the Rec Room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
49 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3