Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (130)
88542   0   18   1   44

User reviews

54 reviews with 4 stars

130 reviews

 
(43)
 
(51)
 
(23)
 
(6)
 
(7)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.2  (130)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (130)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (130)
Value 
 
4.0  (130)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (130)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
54 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
22-23 September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have been to Hill’s FamCamp several times and have always enjoyed our stay and this time was no exception. After an easy check in through the south gate (the SP guard asked us to turn off our dash cam) and getting registered in at the office, we got parked in space #33 with no problems. We had called several days ago to shorten our stay by one day. Debbie told us that if she rented the site for that day she would refund all our deposit for that day minus $10. When checking in the manager he actually refunded $15 keeping only a $5 processing fee. One thing we noticed that we didn’t experience the last few times here was the weak Verizon cell service. Sometimes we got two bars of 4g, sometime 1 bar and then sometimes we couldn’t connect at all. Our MiFi device dropped the signal several times during the busy times of the day. There is no WiFi except in or near the office. If you want to go out for something to eat in the area we highly recommend Goodwood Barbecue up in Riverdale. Best b-b-q we have had this side of Texas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
19-24 July 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very busy park! We stayed for 5 days. All utilities worked well and satellite reception was good. The camp hosts were very pleasant. We had a pull through spot that faced the track. It was kinda fun to watch the young GI's get their daily PT, bless their hearts!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Apr 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice clean place, bathrooms are very nice. Close to major road off base so it's a bit noisy. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 30, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed there 4 times now. It's frequently on our route from A to B and just convenient. The base is great and easy to get on and off (well - you have to get the gate guards to move the anti-tank barriers so you can get off the base with a large rig- but they are nice and do it pretty quickly. It's the folks that pile up behind you who get grumpy) First - a site with full hook-ups is $20/night. Can't beat that at all. Nice paved walking/running trails that run right by the Fam Camp and that's wonderful. 15 minutes to Costco and In-N-Out Burger. What more could you want? Goat Heads galore. Your dogs, shoes and carpet will be full of them. It appears that they are beginning to think about getting them under control. Twice now, someone else has been in our reserved site. They reluctantly and slowly moved to their appropriate site, but this appears to be a clerical problem. The office staff is nice and the camp host are very nice, but the office staff is frequently not around to fix the problems - such as someone being in your site. The paved pull through sites are a little close together, but not a big deal. We usually only stay a night or maybe 2. The camp is slowly but surely being kept up, put back in order, updated - hard to say. It really is fine. There's a new manager and I think he is trying to get things squared away. The laundry is clean and spacious. Internet only in the office area. (But really, we should not expect to be provided internet). We will continue to use this Fam Camp and are very glad it's available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept 29 - Oct 1 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First visit to the campground and overall experience was excellent. The only reason for an overall 4 star review was the proximity of the campground to a major road with lots of traffic noise well into the evening. We had a late arrival (after dark). Our campsite was blocked off by road cones to prevent someone from taking our reserved site. The camp hose greeted us within 10 minutes of arrival to make sure we were the one's who had reserved the site. He also offered to stay in his four wheeler with his lights on to aid in us hooking up, but we respectfully declined as we had plenty of trailer lights for hookup. The campground has undergone recent renovations and is in really nice shape. There are both back-in and pull through sites. All sites are paved and level and appear to have plenty of room for both trailer and pull vehicle. Some sites have shade, others do not. There are grassy areas between sections of campsites, along with a nice fenced dog run area. I was not able to get a WIFI signal at my campsite, but did not try it at the campground office area. Additionally, I did not try any of the other amenities such as the bathrooms or laundry, but there were several people using these amenities throughout the day. Overall, this is a great campsite to use as a base to explore the Salt Lake City/Wasatch Front area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 20 -24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As stated below, the FamCamp is open for business. We arrived on the 20th and departed on the 24th. Howard is no longer the campground host, but still works for the base/FSS and is supposed to take care of things like the bathhouse – we’ll be watching! A new host is hired, but was not yet on duty while we were there. The young lady in the office is, unfortunately about to PCS, so it remains to be seen what will happen once she departs. Again, as stated below, the rest of the Famcamp was clean and well maintained – trees were being trimmed along the back of the back-in sites while we were there. New washers and dryers. $1.00 per load. Internet was very poor – a common trait among most FamCamps we have visited. John
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The camp opened for the season on June 1, 2017. We arrive on the 2nd and departed on the 8th. It was Friday night and the after-hours check-in had maps and site assignments, but no code for the bathrooms or laundry. Sign says to seen the office on Monday to get these. Better hope you have some nice neighbors willing to give out the numbers or it could be a long weekend. Same thing with the internet. The flyers have the wrong password printed on them. Again Monday at the office. The bathroom and showers never got cleaned. The Lady in the office was very nice and knew of the situation. She said she knew it hadn't been cleaned and was wondering just how bad it was. It was bad! Other than that the rest of the Famcamp was clean and well maintained. New washers and dryers. $1.00 per load. Internet was very poor. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept. 11-25, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
You can't beat the price of any famcamp and the location is usually pretty good - Hill offers all that. The campground, however, is overgrown with goatheads (thorn-like weeds) and an interesting configuration of slots. The newer area is on paved ground, but the sites are sister sites, which means you may be seeing your neighbor more than you would like (but you don't have to look at their hoses). The older section is on gravel and made up of back-in and forward facing in every different direction. Amenities are great: there is a full size track right next to the campground, a park, a splash park and soccer field also adjacent on opposite side of campground. Laundry and dryer is $1.50 per load. A beautiful gym facility is across the street, it has free classes and an indoor pool. The commissary and exchange are standard; there is a Firestone Car Service at the gas station, so if you need to get your car serviced while at the camp, it's an easy walk back to wait. Also, and this is pretty big (I think), the library allows you to check out materials with your ID card! There is a mall close by, Super Target, Costco, and tons of places to eat and drink. Cleanliness of the camp is OK. The laundry area was clean and has an ice machine, but the bathroom was so-so. The goatheads were really terrible - there are so many that we had to have 4 bike tires replaced. You want to use the SOUTH GATE ENTRANCE off Exit 334. This will put you right at the famcamp. The west gate is too small! Finally, if your RV needs service while in the area, go to Charlie's Service in Sunset. It's only 10 mins away and they do amazing work. (We drove through the west gate, hit our awning, dented the body and were there an additional week getting work done at Charlie's!). 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10 Seo 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here in 2012 and not much has changed. This time however, Eddie was in the office and all too happy to take care of our needs. The In-check process seemed a bit extensive but perhaps that will ease the pain next time we stay. Another change was the use of orange road cones that were marked as either available or reserved. I'm certain that helps with people arriving after hours. We were only there overnight and did not use any of the available amenities. There seemed to be a lot of spaces available. We did notice what appeared to be a few homesteaders but not too bad. Great place for an overnight stop or even an extended stay to take in the local attractions. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Opinions will depend on site. We were next to the track and had a very small towable for a neighbor so it was more open. A big rig next door would have made it very cramped. No privacy between sites alternating door-to-door and 6-foot gravel divider. Very nice office staff. Convenient to I-15 and base facilities. Laundry was clean and inexpensive (although dryers are too hot). Antenna-TV worked very well. Utilities were good. NOTE: directions are wrong! Do not use GPS coordinates for RV Gate - they're 30 miles off! (Editors note - gate coordinates have been corrected.) Installation coordinates are right. Coming from I-15, gate is 1.5 miles (not 3) and the turn is the 4th light only if you count the light at the off ramp. It's the only 2-lanes-turning-left turn, easy to spot. Stay to left, turn left at light onto Balmer (about 40 feet from gate, not 150). Park rigs in gravel lot next to office while registering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My first time to Hill. I showed up without a reservation and the place was booked solid. But they put me in overflow with water and 30 amp service . I needed an extension on the electric, which they provided at no charge. I was glad for the spot and everyone was very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
31OCT2015
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Only stayed one night after not making it to Boise due to windstorms in Wyoming. Called ahead and got reservation set up with the gentleman at the MWR office got everything set up for us, including access codes for laundry, bathrooms and wifi. (We never used the site facilities, but everything around the FamCamp looked clean and tidy.) After arriving in the rain I can understand the confusion with how the sites are numbered. Site 8 sits next to site 24, as they are configured like zipper-teeth. Your utilities between sites mean you have to do a bit of maneuvering to get your rig positioned, but it wasn't inconvenient even when flat-towing because all sites are pull-thru. Water pressure was very good, OTA TV picked up the usual suspects, including BYUtv sport channel, so I didn't bother with the dish. Sprint & AT&T both had great reception, but we used the base wifi instead. As noted there was no shade trees on our loop, and my wife thought the spaces were a bit narrow, although I felt they were average for a full concrete pad site. We look forward to staying here again when we head to Vegas and Phoenix.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
25-29 Jul 15
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had a spot in the new section (westside of famcamp). Nice large paved, pull-thru. However, you want to make sure your pull-thru faces west--that might provide you some shade if you have an awning. We faced southeast and could never get any shade and it was very HOT during our stay. There are no trees in the new section. The older section of the camp had trees but it appeared the spots were confusing--never could figure out where the spots were. Famcamp nicely located right next to base gym, walking trail and a track with soft surface. Also next to a large picnic area that had a small water park for kids. Never used the bathroom/shower facilities. Laundry was in good condition (4 washers/4 dryers). Wifi only available at the office but they had a nice large room with tables/desks, sofa chairs where you could use the wifi. Nice golf course--in good shape. Heard lots of F-16s--some night flying going on. No problem for us--it is an Air Force base after all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug.7, 2015-Aug.15,2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are no signs directing you to the famcamp. I mean none at all. When arriving at the camp there are no signs directing you to the building to register and then the host is only available at certain times 0900-1100AM and 1:00-3:00PM. If you arrive between those times you just wait. They tell you a site when you register but in my case they changed the # of the site so if I would have set up then I would have had to move. They tell you they don't change the site #'s but they do. A lot of the campground was not designed for big rigs and the water hoses and sewer hoses run under around and over everywhere. The host is not helpful and don't get out and talk with the campers. We didn't use the restrooms or the washer areas so we won't rate that. The new part of the campground is great. It is level and very big spaces.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 10-12, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground, very friendly and helpful host. Definitely recommend reservations. The sites are long and level. Only complaint, there does not seem to be any speed limit posted in the FamCamp. Don't think anyone did under 20 mph. There are children and pets to consider. Know that most do not follow the limit signs, but it would help. Was told upon check-in, Wifi only worked at camp office. This was really inconvenient and we were forced to use our "hotspot". Not sure if this is a permanent problem or temporary. Tip: When entering the base on Southgate, first left, then take first drive past the park. Camp office is located at the end of the drive. Second drive takes you directly in the camp, but you still must register at the office.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Bad first - Only thing that is really poor is the wifi. Getting bumped off 8 times in an hr is ridiculous especially when I'm sitting 10 feet from the comm equipment. It is so bad, having no wifi would be better, IMO. At least then you would know you have to use a fast food joint (or something else) for connectivity. Now to the good; really nice grassy/shady/fenced off leash dog area. I just wish everyone would use the provided items to clean up after their dogs. At least most people do. Good water pressure. Wide loop road. My site was concrete, some are gravel. Good antenna tv reception. There are a couple sites that are drive in/back out, so you are nose to nose with the coach opposite you, but I saw only 4 sites like that. My site was well away from the road, so no road noise. Those closer to the road may have a different experience. As for getting here, if you're on I-15, I strongly suggest using Exit 331, then head east. That exit is Hill Field Rd. When you head east, it takes you straight to the South Gate. No muss, no fuss, no turns, no counting traffic lights. I would stay here again if in the newer section. No shade, but I like the concrete pads better than gravel. I had no problems maneuvering my 40' fifth wheel and long bed dually. It was a little tight parking the truck on the pad with the coach, but I made it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 1 & 2, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here 1 & 2 May 2015. For the most part everything is as stated except for two important items. Wi-Fi only exists in the camp club house and then it is spotty at best. They say they are working with a new company who placed the antenna in a closet. The other thing, and this is a big one. The necessity to use the Roy gate at Hill AFB no longer exists. The South Gate is the one preferred and recommended by the FamCamp management. Here are directions word for word as they were given to me at the FamCamp office. *Southbound on I-15: Come South on I-15 to the 700 S exit#334. Take a left, onto highway 193, heading East to the South Gate approximately 3 miles or the fourth stoplight. Turn Left. *Westbound on I-80: Coming out of Wyoming on I-80 into Utah, proceed to the I-80/I-84 split. Take I-84 West towards Ogden to the Salt Lake exit# 87B for Highway 89. This will be a “B” exit heading South on Highway 89 approximately 3 miles. As the road merges right you want to merge with it to the top of the incline and the Highway 193 Westbound exit. There is a sign stating Hill AFB exit. Stay on 193 Westbound to the fourth stoplight and take a right turn to the South Gate. *Northbound on I-15: Come up I-15 to the 700 S exit#334. Take a right onto highway 193, heading East to the South Gate approximately 3 miles or the fourth stoplight. Turn Left. *Eastbound on I-80: Coming East on I-80 into Salt Lake City, you will take the exit for Ogden/I-215 bypass. Get on I-215 towards Ogden and eventually it will merge into I-15 Northbound to Ogden. Proceed Northbound on I-15 to the 700 S exit#334. Take a right onto highway 193, heading East to the South Gate approximately 3 miles or the fourth stoplight. Turn Left. *South Gate: “All Traffic” After you make the turn towards the South Gate stay I or immediately merge into the far left lane. After you go through the gate you will take an immediate left approximately 150 feet after going through the gate. This is street is Balmer and you will stay on Balmer for one block and then take your first left onto Park Lane. This will bring you back to the FamCamp office. Rush Hour: Rush hour traffic for the base is from 0600 to 0800 and 1500 to 1700 Monday through Friday. For Salt Lake City it is 0500 to 0900 and 1500 to 1900 Monday through Friday. Please plan your trips accordingly as these time are very hectic to travel. Check in is after 1300 hours daily. Questions? Call 801-775-3250
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5-9 October 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had another great stay at Hill. Howard gave us a through briefing, providing info on the base and local area and the amenities of the Famcamp. We have never had a bad experience dealing with Howard. He has always treated us with respect and has been very accommodating. We didn't use any of the facilities but when we poked in to look, they were clean and stocked. We had to have some work done on our coach while we were there. I highly recommend Ray Citie RV which is less than five miles from the base. During our stay we did find some folks don't pick up after their dogs, hence the four star rating. Several times I witnessed guests letting their dogs do do their business and then the folks just walked off. I even saw one woman walking two dogs let them do that in the middle of the street. Disgusting!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 23, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Another great visit at HILL AFB FamCamp. We visit just about every year during are summer trip. The grass was green, mowed and well kept. Facilities were very well maintained. All washers and dryers were operational. Howard was more visible this time and it was good to see him around camp. Good job, Howard!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
V.S. left this review using your Directory software: - Very nice campground and an excellent value. Remember that famcamps are now pretty much required to be self-supporting. Staff were friendly and courteous. The fellow that had problems with being a tenter should head for the hills and use state and national parks. The busy road didn't bother us and listening to the jet fighters reminded me of my younger days being an Air Force brat. Would stay here again without question.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
54 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3