Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (152)
112706 1 19 1 70

User reviews

61 reviews with 4 stars
152 reviews
 
36%
 
38%
 
16%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.3(152)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(152)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(152)
Value
 
4.1(152)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(152)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
September 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty nice place but some of the hook up are in bad locations so make sure you have plenty of water, sewer and electrical extensions. Right by the main gate and next to a huge park and running track. We have a video review above as well.
Military Camping near the Great Salt Lakes!  Hill AFB FamCamp Drive Through
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 26 - May 3, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed twice this year. April on October. Nice park. Wish that the utilities were a bit closer. Had to use the extra hose and nearly 40' to the sewer hook-up We carry 30' of sewer hose, first time we weren't able to hook-up). We used the dump station on the way out (Not a big deal, just an added step). They have concrete pads with gravel between the rigs, The back-in sites have an angle boundary at the back so both rigs get the same amount of space (just pay attention when you set-up so you don't encroach!). We had an "Air Show every day (9ish, noon 1ish and 4ish) F35s are noisy (after they are past you). While lot's of activity on the base the area near the BX and Commissary were quiet until near closing time. Plenty of shopping, sightseeing and outdoor recreation in the area. We enjoyed our time there and will return next time we're in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 7-11, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The facility at Hill is in a great location and the new pull through sites are set up really nice with utilities back to back. Its nice walking out your door and not stepping on your neighbors stinky slinky. The shaded, back in sites seem to be crammed together and I actually saw one that had the picnic table over the top of the neighbors stinky slinky. I would be pissed if I was put in one of these sites. The one complaint with the new pull throughs is that they are right next to the running track and the lights for the track get turned on and off at all hours of the night. The reservation process was easy to navigate and the people we worked with were helpful and friendly. Upon arrival however our experience changed. The person who checked us in was abrupt, bordering on rude. Despite our best attempts to be positive, and friendly, we left the office with the hopes that we would not ever have to speak with this guy again. Other than this “host” our stay went very well. I found it interesting that the campground information included information about a pool table, games and access to videos but it is only open during the limited “office hours”. One nice thing is that in the park next to the FamCamp, there is a splash pad that is lots of fun for the kids or even the kids are heart. There is an OUTSTANDING military aviation museum just off base that is a MUST see in the area. I suppose you could go through in a couple hours but we spent a couple hours one day and then spent the entire next day exploring all of the exhibits and reading all of the history. Overall, if I am back in the area again, I would try to stay here. I’m sure the curmudgeon will be gone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-24 May 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Site 18 was our spot for the entire reservation. The site was level and wide; however, the site hookups (water, electric, and sewer) were all very far away. This seems to be true for back-to-back sites. Some sites are not back-to-back (Site 19, Site 21, Site 1, Sites 32-45) and seem to have closer access to the hookups. We have a 36' motorhome and lacked about three feet to reach the sewer. Keep that in mind when traveling here! The dog park is large enough and convenient. The laundry is nice with ice available. The campground is next to the base running track,5K, and 2.5K walking paths. We enjoyed the 5K path which takes you around three different fishing ponds! The campground is quiet but is also near the flight line. The Commissary, BX, and gas/diesel station are all close to the campground (within a mile or so).
Hill AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FamCamp was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a back-in site which was blacktop and level. The site was deep but not very wide so we had plenty of room to park our tow vehicle in front of the TT. Bring your extensions for sewer, electrical, and water as the utilities are at the very rear of the site. I noticed some campers had to use 3 sewer hoses to reach the connection. The way the sites are arranged, you will be sitting under your awing and you will be looking at the front door of a rig near you. Also, being a fighter base, the jet noise is quite loud. The price was right at $22 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17 -19 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is our second stay at Hill AFB FamCamp. We came from the north on I-15, and took exit 334, which puts you on Hwy 193. This will bring you to the base entrance at Hill Field Rd - S Gate Ave. When you enter the base, you want to be in the left hand lane--the turnoff for the campground is immediately after the gate entry. Overall, a nice campground. There are basically two sections to the campground. One section is newer pull thru sites with utilities centered in the site location. The other section (which has the most sites) has back-in sites with the sites back to back. Utility placement is horrible--shared water connection, and power, water and sewer access located at the rear end of the site. Several sections of sewer hose were needed to reach the sewer drain. We have a 35 ft fifth wheel, and our power cord wasn't long enough to reach the pedestal without backing up all the way to the back of the site behind us. Thankfully we had a good neighbor who understood our situation and helped us get right up to the back of his rig so we could reach the power pedestal. We enjoyed our stay, and hope that our next visit will be on a pull-thru site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8-10 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Thank you for updating the directions to the Famcamp. Please UPDATE the cost for full hook-ups, they are $22. now, overflow is still $15. The showers, bathroom and laundry is very clean, better than most famcamps. Debbie in the office was very helpful and got us into FHU after 1 night dry camping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
22-23 September 2018
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been to Hill’s FamCamp several times and have always enjoyed our stay and this time was no exception. After an easy check in through the south gate (the SP guard asked us to turn off our dash cam) and getting registered in at the office, we got parked in space #33 with no problems. We had called several days ago to shorten our stay by one day. Debbie told us that if she rented the site for that day she would refund all our deposit for that day minus $10. When checking in the manager he actually refunded $15 keeping only a $5 processing fee. One thing we noticed that we didn’t experience the last few times here was the weak Verizon cell service. Sometimes we got two bars of 4g, sometime 1 bar and then sometimes we couldn’t connect at all. Our MiFi device dropped the signal several times during the busy times of the day. There is no WiFi except in or near the office. If you want to go out for something to eat in the area we highly recommend Goodwood Barbecue up in Riverdale. Best b-b-q we have had this side of Texas.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
19-24 July 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A very busy park! We stayed for 5 days. All utilities worked well and satellite reception was good. The camp hosts were very pleasant. We had a pull through spot that faced the track. It was kinda fun to watch the young GI's get their daily PT, bless their hearts!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 30, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice clean place, bathrooms are very nice. Close to major road off base so it's a bit noisy. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept. 30, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have stayed there 4 times now. It's frequently on our route from A to B and just convenient. The base is great and easy to get on and off (well - you have to get the gate guards to move the anti-tank barriers so you can get off the base with a large rig- but they are nice and do it pretty quickly. It's the folks that pile up behind you who get grumpy) First - a site with full hook-ups is $20/night. Can't beat that at all. Nice paved walking/running trails that run right by the Fam Camp and that's wonderful. 15 minutes to Costco and In-N-Out Burger. What more could you want? Goat Heads galore. Your dogs, shoes and carpet will be full of them. It appears that they are beginning to think about getting them under control. Twice now, someone else has been in our reserved site. They reluctantly and slowly moved to their appropriate site, but this appears to be a clerical problem. The office staff is nice and the camp host are very nice, but the office staff is frequently not around to fix the problems - such as someone being in your site. The paved pull through sites are a little close together, but not a big deal. We usually only stay a night or maybe 2. The camp is slowly but surely being kept up, put back in order, updated - hard to say. It really is fine. There's a new manager and I think he is trying to get things squared away. The laundry is clean and spacious. Internet only in the office area. (But really, we should not expect to be provided internet). We will continue to use this Fam Camp and are very glad it's available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 29 - Oct 1 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First visit to the campground and overall experience was excellent. The only reason for an overall 4 star review was the proximity of the campground to a major road with lots of traffic noise well into the evening. We had a late arrival (after dark). Our campsite was blocked off by road cones to prevent someone from taking our reserved site. The camp hose greeted us within 10 minutes of arrival to make sure we were the one's who had reserved the site. He also offered to stay in his four wheeler with his lights on to aid in us hooking up, but we respectfully declined as we had plenty of trailer lights for hookup. The campground has undergone recent renovations and is in really nice shape. There are both back-in and pull through sites. All sites are paved and level and appear to have plenty of room for both trailer and pull vehicle. Some sites have shade, others do not. There are grassy areas between sections of campsites, along with a nice fenced dog run area. I was not able to get a WIFI signal at my campsite, but did not try it at the campground office area. Additionally, I did not try any of the other amenities such as the bathrooms or laundry, but there were several people using these amenities throughout the day. Overall, this is a great campsite to use as a base to explore the Salt Lake City/Wasatch Front area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 20 -24, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As stated below, the FamCamp is open for business. We arrived on the 20th and departed on the 24th. Howard is no longer the campground host, but still works for the base/FSS and is supposed to take care of things like the bathhouse – we’ll be watching! A new host is hired, but was not yet on duty while we were there. The young lady in the office is, unfortunately about to PCS, so it remains to be seen what will happen once she departs. Again, as stated below, the rest of the Famcamp was clean and well maintained – trees were being trimmed along the back of the back-in sites while we were there. New washers and dryers. $1.00 per load. Internet was very poor – a common trait among most FamCamps we have visited. John
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The camp opened for the season on June 1, 2017. We arrive on the 2nd and departed on the 8th. It was Friday night and the after-hours check-in had maps and site assignments, but no code for the bathrooms or laundry. Sign says to seen the office on Monday to get these. Better hope you have some nice neighbors willing to give out the numbers or it could be a long weekend. Same thing with the internet. The flyers have the wrong password printed on them. Again Monday at the office. The bathroom and showers never got cleaned. The Lady in the office was very nice and knew of the situation. She said she knew it hadn't been cleaned and was wondering just how bad it was. It was bad! Other than that the rest of the Famcamp was clean and well maintained. New washers and dryers. $1.00 per load. Internet was very poor. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 11-25, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
You can't beat the price of any famcamp and the location is usually pretty good - Hill offers all that. The campground, however, is overgrown with goatheads (thorn-like weeds) and an interesting configuration of slots. The newer area is on paved ground, but the sites are sister sites, which means you may be seeing your neighbor more than you would like (but you don't have to look at their hoses). The older section is on gravel and made up of back-in and forward facing in every different direction. Amenities are great: there is a full size track right next to the campground, a park, a splash park and soccer field also adjacent on opposite side of campground. Laundry and dryer is $1.50 per load. A beautiful gym facility is across the street, it has free classes and an indoor pool. The commissary and exchange are standard; there is a Firestone Car Service at the gas station, so if you need to get your car serviced while at the camp, it's an easy walk back to wait. Also, and this is pretty big (I think), the library allows you to check out materials with your ID card! There is a mall close by, Super Target, Costco, and tons of places to eat and drink. Cleanliness of the camp is OK. The laundry area was clean and has an ice machine, but the bathroom was so-so. The goatheads were really terrible - there are so many that we had to have 4 bike tires replaced. You want to use the SOUTH GATE ENTRANCE off Exit 334. This will put you right at the famcamp. The west gate is too small! Finally, if your RV needs service while in the area, go to Charlie's Service in Sunset. It's only 10 mins away and they do amazing work. (We drove through the west gate, hit our awning, dented the body and were there an additional week getting work done at Charlie's!). 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 Seo 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here in 2012 and not much has changed. This time however, Eddie was in the office and all too happy to take care of our needs. The In-check process seemed a bit extensive but perhaps that will ease the pain next time we stay. Another change was the use of orange road cones that were marked as either available or reserved. I'm certain that helps with people arriving after hours. We were only there overnight and did not use any of the available amenities. There seemed to be a lot of spaces available. We did notice what appeared to be a few homesteaders but not too bad. Great place for an overnight stop or even an extended stay to take in the local attractions. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Opinions will depend on site. We were next to the track and had a very small towable for a neighbor so it was more open. A big rig next door would have made it very cramped. No privacy between sites alternating door-to-door and 6-foot gravel divider. Very nice office staff. Convenient to I-15 and base facilities. Laundry was clean and inexpensive (although dryers are too hot). Antenna-TV worked very well. Utilities were good. NOTE: directions are wrong! Do not use GPS coordinates for RV Gate - they're 30 miles off! (Editors note - gate coordinates have been corrected.) Installation coordinates are right. Coming from I-15, gate is 1.5 miles (not 3) and the turn is the 4th light only if you count the light at the off ramp. It's the only 2-lanes-turning-left turn, easy to spot. Stay to left, turn left at light onto Balmer (about 40 feet from gate, not 150). Park rigs in gravel lot next to office while registering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My first time to Hill. I showed up without a reservation and the place was booked solid. But they put me in overflow with water and 30 amp service . I needed an extension on the electric, which they provided at no charge. I was glad for the spot and everyone was very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
31OCT2015
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Only stayed one night after not making it to Boise due to windstorms in Wyoming. Called ahead and got reservation set up with the gentleman at the MWR office got everything set up for us, including access codes for laundry, bathrooms and wifi. (We never used the site facilities, but everything around the FamCamp looked clean and tidy.) After arriving in the rain I can understand the confusion with how the sites are numbered. Site 8 sits next to site 24, as they are configured like zipper-teeth. Your utilities between sites mean you have to do a bit of maneuvering to get your rig positioned, but it wasn't inconvenient even when flat-towing because all sites are pull-thru. Water pressure was very good, OTA TV picked up the usual suspects, including BYUtv sport channel, so I didn't bother with the dish. Sprint & AT&T both had great reception, but we used the base wifi instead. As noted there was no shade trees on our loop, and my wife thought the spaces were a bit narrow, although I felt they were average for a full concrete pad site. We look forward to staying here again when we head to Vegas and Phoenix.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
25-29 Jul 15
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Had a spot in the new section (westside of famcamp). Nice large paved, pull-thru. However, you want to make sure your pull-thru faces west--that might provide you some shade if you have an awning. We faced southeast and could never get any shade and it was very HOT during our stay. There are no trees in the new section. The older section of the camp had trees but it appeared the spots were confusing--never could figure out where the spots were. Famcamp nicely located right next to base gym, walking trail and a track with soft surface. Also next to a large picnic area that had a small water park for kids. Never used the bathroom/shower facilities. Laundry was in good condition (4 washers/4 dryers). Wifi only available at the office but they had a nice large room with tables/desks, sofa chairs where you could use the wifi. Nice golf course--in good shape. Heard lots of F-16s--some night flying going on. No problem for us--it is an Air Force base after all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
61 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4