Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (129)
85406   0   18   1   44

User reviews

23 reviews with 3 stars

129 reviews

 
(42)
 
(51)
 
(23)
 
(6)
 
(7)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (129)
 
3.7  (129)
 
3.6  (129)
 
4.0  (129)
 
3.8  (129)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 4-6 2018

Deb is wonderful as a camphost the rest of them leave a lot to be desired..... Steve doesn't have a clue as to which end is up.... Debs husband is seriously lacking in any ability to help at all. They need to stop with the hopscotch and and leave people who are already in place and reshuffle the ones coming in. There's lots to do in and around famcamp....kids have a great park,splash pad and play ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2018

Second time staying here. Office staff are nice and hosts spend a lot of time keeping the place clean. The sound of freedom is alive and well at Hill, especially during the week. Closed windows don't make a difference. Seems like a lot of AT/FP money has been spent at Hill, particularly at the gates; multiple speed bumps/tables at each gate, plus the other barriers make any gate other than the Roy gate (exit 338) a slow go in an RV. If you enter via the Hill Road gate (closest to the FamCamp), be aware the Defenders could put the steel barriers a bit tight. Same with exiting the gate, too. Not all dog owners are considerate and pick up after their pets, despite bags and scoopers being available at the fenced dog run. Kind of surprised wifi still isn't available throughout the park. Plenty of other bases (AF and other services) have it, so it can be done. Park's interior roads are pretty easy to navigate. Would stay here again if in the SLC area. Not many other options for RV parks, especially at the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2016

I've been coming to this camp for over 12 years, and each time I am more and more disappointed. I use to love coming here where it was well maintained, and groomed with pride. Now it is over run with weeds that haven't been trimmed. Sewer line back ups, and a very sketchy at best wifi connections. Almost all base recreational facilities have cut back hours. I will next time pay the extra amount for a commercial campground that has wifi, cable, a lounge and a pool.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

July 26, 2014

This is my first review as I have never felt a need to leave one, even though we use this site to read what others have written. We have stayed at Hill AFB several times before in our camper and never had any issues. It always seems to be crowded in the Spring/Summer. Until recently all staff members have been friendly, and courteous. Our stay this weekend was in a tent and a first for us at Hill. We had planned to stay 2 nights, but due to the actions of the host left early. When we came in on Saturday the office was closed. The host Barbara (who is new and I was told a volunteer), informed of us of the locations of facilities and ice machine. She stated we could get ice & as much as we needed for our cooler in the laundry facility. With a toddler we had milk to keep cool. She was gruff in her welcome, but we passed it off as being her nature. On Saturday we went to the local water park. Upon our return we needed ice and went to the ice machine. As the ice in our cooler had melted I took everything out and turned it upside down by our vehicle to drain. I went inside the laundry facility, & filled a half bag of ice. In the process of tying it off Barbra entered. She was upset and started yelling I couldn't fill my cooler with ice, and take it all. The signs states one bag of ice per customer, and you can pay for any extra. At that point I only had a half bag. I tried to explain that I had no intentions of filing my (almost empty cooler). She seemed to not understand, and continued to yell. Another camper stepped in and tried to explain, and calm her, but she would not listen. I stated I would pay for the ice if it had her that upset. From the laundry facility, while I re-packed our cooler, until we got in our vehicle she was yelling about the ice. We drove across the lot to Howard’s office to pay for our half-bag of ice. We explained the situation to Howard, & tried to pay for the ice. Howard said not worry about it, and get as much as we needed. When we went to get into our vehicle Barbra was parked beside us in the golf cart. She started yelling again, about not taking the ice. I told her she had great customer service and I would be sure to share my experience with those online. She then proceeded to yell how the site sucks. I closed the door as I sat in our vehicle waiting for my husband to come out of the office. Once he did Barbra attacked him verbally about the ice, and resumed yelling. He again tried to explain, but she wouldn't listen. After I rolled the window down to tell him it was a waste of time to try to reason with her, to get in and ignore her she approached our vehicle and begin to yell at me again. My husband asked her several times to please move so he could get into our vehicle.. As I tried to roll the window up she put her hand on it to block it while shaking her finger in my face. We left and went to a hotel immediately! The next morning we went to the outdoor recreation office and reported all of this to Steve. From what both of us gathered there seems to be some confusion as to who is in charge and a battle for that job. Barbra had nothing but bad things to say about Howard, the Famcamp, and the area in her yelling escapade. We are PCSing in a couple of months and had planned to stay in the Famcamp as we passed through. We will find other arrangements if she is still there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2013

There is something about a first impression that colors the whole experience. We interrupted Howard when we checked in and were promptly told that we were early for check-in. After taking a looking and finding our assigned campsite empty, we finished the paper work. The campground office also serves as a library that was pretty unkempt. It was not the least bit inviting and have an overflow of books on the shelves that could be circulated if the room was organized better and cleaned up. After the first impression experience, we stayed five days and enjoyed our time using the gym, laundry room. The other facilities on base we not too far away. We played golf at the base course which was in great shape. I also used the gym and took a couple of rides around the perimeter of the base which was a good ride. We would camp here again. Something is wrong when most campground reviews call out the camp ground host and he is an issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

21 Aug 2012

The base needs to replace the manager. We could not contact by phone. Used email and got a reservation. Emailed in the am (knowing that he did not work very long hours) that we would arrive during lunch and please let us know our site in advance. No response. No note on locked famcamp office. Cannot believe a manager only works 0800 to 1000 then 1300 to ?. This place needs to join the real world.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15 Jul 2012

Only one big complaint regarding our stay. The baths/laundry room are being rebuilt. We don't use them anyway. However, when the site next to ours was vacated, campers (6 so far) started using it as the dump station which has no problems according to the camp host. The dump station is on a curve and the camp host thought that it may be dangerous, but the speed limit is 10 mph and if a dumping rig blocks the road it only takes a few minutes or you can take another road. Told the host that the site needed to be sanitized before renting it again and he did. We saw lots of water on the pad of what kind who knows and black water tank blasters were connected to the site's faucet which has a splitter which was for our site. Saw one person touch the faucet outlet with their sewer hose. One always needs to sanitize their faucet; who knows what the previous occupant(s) did. There are some RVers who don't know sanitary practices or don't care about the next camper. With the remodel of the bathrooms, a new, better located dump station should be installed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 10, 2012

I don't see how you can make a reservation with a campground that employs a manager 4 days a week and 4 hours a day. The laundry, showers and toilets are replaced with ports potties while a complete overhaul is being made. Seems to be several long termers there. IF you get in half of the campground is VERY adequate but just a parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 21st 2011

Very mediocre CG run on a shoestring with only temporary management. Management is not particularly friendly or helpful either with making reservations or during check in. To say there are extended stays is an understatement. Some folks have multiple vehicles, four wheelers, and a host of junk under and around their 5th Wheel. There are no rules and pet owners do whatever they want to include leaving their parking dogs leashed to picnic tables all day long - inhumane. Others were outside caged in 90 degree heat. I would not stay here again until they get serious in managing the CG and enforcing a modicum of rules.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 04, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 20 - 23, 2010

We were very confused when we entered. We called ahead of time to check on the availability, no one was in the office so we left a message but the manager never called us back. The Manager was out from 10:00 until 13:00 when we arrived so we had to just wait until he returned! Then the office closes at 15:00. The office is also closed for several days on the weekend, not a very good way of operating the FamCamp. The FamCamp was an OK but nothing to brag about. Most of the time the manager is not in the office to answer any questions. We was there for three days and the rest rooms were never cleaned, even a dead cock-roach on the floor along with dirt and paper. We will pay more to go to a private campground rather than this place. Sorry, but something needs to done to make this place more like a FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2009

I frequent this RV park as often as possible. The host tries to accommodate all guest. The base and RV park is centrally located, and has a lot to offer for the price. The PROBLEMS with this FAMCAMP is that for the last 5 years I have been coming here Outdoor Recreation has been taking in $750,000 and the only thing to show for it is a recently added fence area for pets (~$2,000??), that 80% of the pet owners don't use, and 50% that do, don't pick up after their dogs. They also need to get with the times and get WiFi at the RV Park like the rest of the FAMCAMPS, I am sure everybody would be willing to pay a $1 or $2 a day for this. They need to relocate (other side of the air field?) or expand the RV park that is in high demand (100+ spaces).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

June 2009

Have been trying to get reservations for over two weeks with out success. Seems Howard went on emergency leave so the Outdoor Recreation folks stop taking reservations, answering the phone, or returning voice messages. Can't believe one person could shut down the whole operation. Still can't get in touch with Howard even though he is back. Guess we will have to camp somewhere else. This operation is a joke!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Trying to get reservation - June 2009

This will be our second visit to Hill - we liked the camp but found trying to deal with Mr. Bebout very difficult - We called for weeks (prior to our arrival for our first visit 2 years ago) to get reservations and no return calls. This time we have been calling for over a week and still no return - When he is not there, there is never anyone available to run the camp, to answer the phone or take reservations. I like the camp but agree that Outdoor Recreation should make some management changes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 28,29,30, 2009

After numerous attempts, I did finally get "Howard". After reservations were made, I called to tell him I would be arriving a day early and would let him know if there were any changes. I arrived on a Saturday when the office should have been open. No Howard. Talked to another person that had arrived and made reservations, but his site was not posted. He said he had stayed there before and had problems like this. Sunday, again no Howard even though the office is supposed to be open. Office hours are 0800-1000 and 1300-1500 Wednesday through Sunday. Closed Monday and Tuesday. Sunday, did see a van at the office and went to check it out. Office still closed. Otherwise, stay was not that bad. Good exchange, but did not use commissary. Nice day trip to Golden Spike National Site. Not a lot there, but interesting. Sites are level, concrete pads but I feel too close together. I think some of the newer sites in campgrounds are being put closer to get more campers in. Quiet campground. It was cold and snowy, so didn't see other campers out. The one next to me was never there. Overall, not a bad place to visit and good base of operations to visit the area attractions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 30-31, 2008

We changed our arrival date a few days previously so had to park on a gravel lot instead of having the concrete pad we had expected. Lots of stickers that annoyed our dogs a good bit. The bathrooms were not very clean and needed some maintnenace--shower walls were moldy/filthy in the men's showers, and some of the FamCamp's tenants were dumping their trash in the bathroom instead of using the dumpster that was located a few steps away. Some discipline is needed here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 19, 2007

We arrived after duty hours with no reservations, and found the self-registration setup to be straightforward. It was enclosed in a glass booth (like some bank ATMs use) for shelter against the weather. The available sites were listed on an info sheet in the booth. The full-hookup sites were all taken due to some big event at the base, so we only had the choice of four overflow sites, one of which had electric-only access so we took that one. We could find no camp host, so I asked one of our neighbors about the men's room combination. As is often the case with fellow travelers, he gave me that info and much more, including a base map to help us find our way around. Previous reviewers' negative comments about the cleanliness/upkeep of the bath house, sadly, are STILL true at this writing. Apparently the manager is not a reader of militarycampgrounds.us...or maybe he is, and just doesn't care. The door to the women's half of the bath house has no knob (inside or out) and no cipher lock like the men's half. The hole in the door where the knob should be is stuffed with paper towels to keep out the cold air. Away from the campground, the base facilities are quite nice. From what I saw, and from previous reviews, I'd say MWR needs to spend a little money on upgrading this campground and perhaps finding a new manager who has some sense of pride in his/her work and place. Side Note: For Sprint cell and broadband card users, there's a strong signal here with EVDO.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

13 - 30 July 2007

I have found the previous reviews to be accurate. The Roy gate is the way to arrive. It is an average campground and adeguate for the area. No internet but the Library is a short drive away. The host has seems to have found a nice job with little effort. There is great potential for this FamCamp if the effort was to be put in instead of excuses as to why nothing can be done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 9 2007

Campground host/manager is a rock-so don't expect anything and you won't be disappointed! Dumb 'office' hours and even though he lives on site you wouldn't know it. Got more help from neighbors as to parking, and directions etc. No diesel on base. Recycling on base but not at campground. Big commissary/exchange. Didn't find out about dining hall priviliges for retirees. Views of mountains are pretty but main road is close to part of sites. Great gym across the street as well as track next to campground and walking paths for dogs and people

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr 23, 2007

As others have said this one is difficult to rate. Appears clean and well maintained, but reservations STRONGLY recommended and try to call at least a week or 2 in advance as it can be difficult to make contact. Office rarely open as scheduled and there is no camp host that I could find (hence the 2 in hospitality.) Manager Howard does work hard to accomodate everyone. Many sites taken by permanent residents - one RV even has the underside completely enclosed with a wood structure! Regular sites are pretty nice, but Overflow is very cramped and close - $10 is too much for these sites, even with electric or water hookups. Excellent laundry facilities in the CG and base services are very good. Fantastic views of snow covered mountains and Great Salt Lake.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 March 2007

The camp grounds were open; some stay there all year around. During our visit it was cold with snow. We did have full hook-up; no problem. Because it was cold and snowy we did not wonder far; it was only a quick stay as we were heading to California. We were greeted by one of the campers and given instructions. Facility manager did not live there. It is difficult to give it a "proper" rating. I would return. The country side is beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2