Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.8 (129)
85406   0   18   1   44

User reviews

8 reviews with 2 stars

129 reviews

 
(42)
 
(51)
 
(23)
 
(6)
 
(7)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
4.2  (129)
 
3.7  (129)
 
3.6  (129)
 
4.0  (129)
 
3.8  (129)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

19-23 May 2015

We called and asked for 7 nights w/full hookups. We were asked about drive through or back-in and chose back-in (it was 5 dollars cheaper). When we got here they had us in a back-in with no sewer. Stayed one night there and moved to a pull through for 3 nights (they had a last minute cancellation for 3 nights). Then the manager came over on the 22 of May and said we were suppose to be out that day. The lady at the office put the wrong date down and no record of are free night coupon made. The point being double check and triple check the info they put down. They made a lot of mistakes on our reservation and we had to cut are stay short and find a place to stay for 3 more days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 2014

Location is good. New bath house and office at the Fam Camp. We call it new because was not there last time we stopped in years ago. ****** is still there and still being RUDE to campers. He should have been fired years ago. Got me how this guy gets away with treating people the way he does. The Fam Camp is in a good location for a cross country trip in RV. Clean Fam Camp. Improved some what over the years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

September 2013

First off, TENTER's BEWARE!!!!!! Hill AFB only has a few tent sites and they look as though they were added as an after-thought. They are right in the median between two rows of RV'ers, under a bunch of pine trees with multiple veins of roots sticking up for your torturous sleeping displeasure. Then, there is the highway 50 yards away, plus the Rec hall and the rest of the RV crowd to keep you awake at night. Granted, it's a convenient rest stop for RV'ers, the Bx/Commissary, and Mini-Mart are very close, and the scenery is beautiful, but that's about where the accolades end. I think there are far too many people who just arbitrarily give this campground 5 stars because of its proximity to civilization, instead of taking into account what CAMPING is all about. We drove through, walked around, scouted it all out, and promptly left. In my estimation, this was a poor site selection for a CAMP-GROUND (right next to a busy highway? Come on!)!!! I did give 3 stars for the location because of the scenery, but it is a lousy location for a CAMPGROUND! And, the amenities offered were close by and the facilities looked well cared for, but if it weren't for those factors, I give this place negative numbers, if I could!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

June 4, 2013

This is a squatters paradise. I think that the manager forgot to read the 14 day limit part. When they have wood built stairs to their rig, storage sheds or storage trailers you know they have been there for awhile. I was between two, I assume DOD personnel. I shared the electric and water with one of them. I had to park across the street because they both had two cars parked the their space. I was going to stay 3 days but changed my mind after seeing the accommodations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 2011

G.M. left this review using the Directory software: We recently stayed at this fam camp. Having been at several military campgrounds we were quite disappointed with the appearance and lack of motivation by the manager. There were weeds all over the sites and stickers everywhere. This could be a nice park with some motivation. Too many full time rv's staying in the park. For as nice and big a base as Hill is this park was a disappointment. We had a hard time trying to make a reservation as the manager does not return calls and is very slow to answer emails. But other reviewers have also mentioned this and nothing is done apparently. Would not stay here again. We camped in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

1-28 August 2008

Got stuck in site 29 which is nothing but stickers and tracked them in the carpet on the pets what a terrible site. Would have told the host but he is like the shadow no one sees him or hears him - Howard the ghost. And the gentleman in site 1 was and probably still is kept in the dark by Howard (job security) and they can't deviate from their list they get daily. RV park was nice except for the site we were stuck in. Hopefully if we ever return someone who works a couple hours will be running it and it will be a nice pleasant visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Sep 2006

Nice campground, but very busy and a little difficult to get to. Agree with previous comment that the camp host appeared as Sanford and Son -- the unit appears to be permanent party; tires going flat, unkempt, rv does not appear to be roadworthy. Base commander needs to invest some maintenance money in the FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jun 2006

This campground has got some major management problems. We arrived 1 hour before posted closing time but no one was around, there was a posted list of people with reservations, we had reservations but were not listed, rode around park and couldn't find anybody that had any idea as to the where abouts of the manager or camp host.We finally just found an open site. After 4 days didn't get a receipt for our credit card payment, went into unsecured office and found ours and others credit card information laying in full view. The office doesn't have the capability to run credit cards, they had to be run off site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8