Hill AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (152)
112706 1 19 1 70

User reviews

152 reviews
 
36%
 
38%
 
16%
 
5%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.3(152)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(152)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(152)
Value
 
4.1(152)
Overall Experience
 
3.8(152)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
152 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
March 10-12, 2022
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Second time here as the location is great. Easy access from the South Gate but zero signage to help you find your site. In the new section, Jack and Jill parking but with awkwardly spaced utilities. Drive through site but if you position such that the hookups are accessible, either your tow vehicle or toad is in the roadway. Plus the signs identifying the site are on the wrong end so you can only see your site number as you leave the site, not as you enter. Club house with pool table, Wi-Fi, tv, etc sounds good but locked unless the office is open which seems to be closed most of the time. In all, nice enough place that could be great with a little management. FYI, while here, take time to visit the Hill AFB museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty nice place but some of the hook up are in bad locations so make sure you have plenty of water, sewer and electrical extensions. Right by the main gate and next to a huge park and running track. We have a video review above as well.
Military Camping near the Great Salt Lakes!  Hill AFB FamCamp Drive Through
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 26 - May 3, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed twice this year. April on October. Nice park. Wish that the utilities were a bit closer. Had to use the extra hose and nearly 40' to the sewer hook-up We carry 30' of sewer hose, first time we weren't able to hook-up). We used the dump station on the way out (Not a big deal, just an added step). They have concrete pads with gravel between the rigs, The back-in sites have an angle boundary at the back so both rigs get the same amount of space (just pay attention when you set-up so you don't encroach!). We had an "Air Show every day (9ish, noon 1ish and 4ish) F35s are noisy (after they are past you). While lot's of activity on the base the area near the BX and Commissary were quiet until near closing time. Plenty of shopping, sightseeing and outdoor recreation in the area. We enjoyed our time there and will return next time we're in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 7-11, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The facility at Hill is in a great location and the new pull through sites are set up really nice with utilities back to back. Its nice walking out your door and not stepping on your neighbors stinky slinky. The shaded, back in sites seem to be crammed together and I actually saw one that had the picnic table over the top of the neighbors stinky slinky. I would be pissed if I was put in one of these sites. The one complaint with the new pull throughs is that they are right next to the running track and the lights for the track get turned on and off at all hours of the night. The reservation process was easy to navigate and the people we worked with were helpful and friendly. Upon arrival however our experience changed. The person who checked us in was abrupt, bordering on rude. Despite our best attempts to be positive, and friendly, we left the office with the hopes that we would not ever have to speak with this guy again. Other than this “host” our stay went very well. I found it interesting that the campground information included information about a pool table, games and access to videos but it is only open during the limited “office hours”. One nice thing is that in the park next to the FamCamp, there is a splash pad that is lots of fun for the kids or even the kids are heart. There is an OUTSTANDING military aviation museum just off base that is a MUST see in the area. I suppose you could go through in a couple hours but we spent a couple hours one day and then spent the entire next day exploring all of the exhibits and reading all of the history. Overall, if I am back in the area again, I would try to stay here. I’m sure the curmudgeon will be gone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Wednesday, July 14, 2021
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
The facility itself is a great location and very nice. The thing I found disheartening was the current camp ground host who apparently just took over. He is not a nice man and has no compassion and was arrogant when I spoke with him. We aren’t use to this when dealing with the military and in my opinion, there should be no place for people like this who serve our men and women in the armed forces. We had booked 2 nights at Hill Family Camp. The night before we were scheduled to arrive, our engine died in 117 degree weather and we were stranded in the middle of the dessert for 7 hours. After 3 hours of waiting for Good Sam to find us someone who would come out that far, both our AC went out so we had to sit in our tow car for 4 more hours. Our smallest dog almost died in the heat. It was terrifying! The next day we were fortunate enough to stay in billeting on Barstow Marine Corp Base. They were AMAZING. The lady at the front desk even waited beyond her work day to check us in. She even went into the unit and turned on the AC so it would be cool for us. We called Hill Family Camp at 8am our time to let them know what happened. They not only still charged us claiming they weren’t able to resell the spot (people there told us it was FULL that night) but when we arrived the next day they charged us again for DRY CAMPING since the campground was supposedly full again. Site 22 was empty even when we went to bed. Since we had paid for a spot that we never used and we had proof of the nightmare in the dessert you would THINK a little compassion could have been extended. Also, we literally just camped there with no electricity water or sewer. I hope they replace this man with someone who is actually just nice. Our military members deserve nice.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
10-11 Jul 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another good experience with this campground. Stayed a year ago and that visit good also. Although both stops were just for overnighters. Seems like the back-to-back sites were designed by someone without experience or input from RV'ers. Concur with other comments concerning the location of sewer. Thankfully our RV has utility connections behind the rear wheels and a little closer to connection. I observed several rigs with sewer hoses of 30 - 40ft in length. That is excessive and more opportunity to leakage...yuck. One option for short stays is to use the dump station on the way out. It looked well kept. We aren't dog owners but did notice the sign concerning not allowed breeds...seemed a bit odd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 5, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
This fam camp restricts pets based on their race. After searching other fam camps this is the only one I can find that practices racism. We and most other military people with earned right to use fam camps are responsible pet owners and take care of and protect our pets and are insulted by this rule.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 9
16-24 May 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Site 18 was our spot for the entire reservation. The site was level and wide; however, the site hookups (water, electric, and sewer) were all very far away. This seems to be true for back-to-back sites. Some sites are not back-to-back (Site 19, Site 21, Site 1, Sites 32-45) and seem to have closer access to the hookups. We have a 36' motorhome and lacked about three feet to reach the sewer. Keep that in mind when traveling here! The dog park is large enough and convenient. The laundry is nice with ice available. The campground is next to the base running track,5K, and 2.5K walking paths. We enjoyed the 5K path which takes you around three different fishing ponds! The campground is quiet but is also near the flight line. The Commissary, BX, and gas/diesel station are all close to the campground (within a mile or so).
Hill AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug/Sep 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We actually stayed here twice during this time frame. We were traveling to Rapid City area for a 9 day vacation after being evacuated from our home in California due to a wild fire. On our way east, we stayed overnight only, using only the electric hook up in our site. On our way home, we had scheduled a two night stay, but asked for and received approval for a third night, When we checked in to our site, since we were staying multiple nights, we chose to take advantage of the full hookups. The only issue we had was the water pressure was so high, it tripped the hose end pressure regulator I had. We went to Camping World in Kaysville to purchase an adjustable water pressure regulator (which we did) but we also traded in our 2 year old Jayco hybrid for a 2021 Keystone Cougar. When we arrived back at the gate, the Security Forces personnel were very considerate in moving the metal stars so we could get the trailer in without difficulty. Parked at the Famcamp with the new trailer, I found out I could not hook up to the sewer connections due to only having a single ten foot sewer hose, The sewer drain was at the rear of the site and on the new trailer the drains are forward of the axles. All in all, the facility more than exceeded my expectations, staff at the Famcamp were incredibly understanding, helpful and willing to work with me as we weren't sure we were going to be able to get out of our home town due to the fire. We will be back to this one, highly recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-18 June 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time we've stayed here, Hill AFB is very convenient, has lots of amenities on the base and off. Priced Very reasonably, Amy was very helpful while making reservation. Visited Golden Spike national park and Bonneville Salt flats. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FamCamp was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a back-in site which was blacktop and level. The site was deep but not very wide so we had plenty of room to park our tow vehicle in front of the TT. Bring your extensions for sewer, electrical, and water as the utilities are at the very rear of the site. I noticed some campers had to use 3 sewer hoses to reach the connection. The way the sites are arranged, you will be sitting under your awing and you will be looking at the front door of a rig near you. Also, being a fighter base, the jet noise is quite loud. The price was right at $22 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 12-13, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice FamCamp. Only about 10 minutes off of the Interstate 15. Entry was a little difficult; the Air Force Military Police have barricades at the Main Gate and I needed to twist my truck and travel trailer around these to get to the guard for the ID check. But the camp is level, asphalt parking spaces for the RV. Showers/Restrooms clean and nice. There is a big grassy/shaded dog run area. We arrived on a Sunday and the office was closed, but they had our name and reserved space posted on the wall so we had no trouble settling in. $22/night; great bargain. Stayed 2 nights to rest. We went to the Base Exchange and Commissary for some needed things, and got Diesel fuel at the base gas station for a good price. Staff are all very friendly and base staff family members (ours was the spouse of a F35 Fighter pilot assigned to Hill AFB). We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camped in an elect and water only site. This site is gravel and has a significant slope to the rear of it. However, if pull rig close up to the one-way U drive then can get pretty level. A bit close to the neighbors but quiet enough. I elected to face north which put connections on wrong side of coach. With an extension cord and longer hose made it work. Check-in was easy and office staff was very pleasant, came over to the site and offered assistance. Being near the edge of the base get a fair amount of road noise from major road on other side of fence. Worked out just fine for the single night I had planned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2 - 3, 2020
(Updated: July 03, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
July 2-3, 2020 Pull-Through site #33. We paid $22/day. We called and made reservations on June 30th, 2 days before arrival and were able to reserve a Pull-Through site. We arrived at 1945 after the office closed, the host family pulled up on a quad next to office as soon as they saw us drive in, they arrived before we got the Motor Home into park and the brakes set, checked the reservation list, handed us our map and off to our pull-through site. Nice looking FamCamp. Easy access from I15, turn on 232 and take it straight to the gate. Through gate immediate far left lane for turn down Balmer street, first left into FamCamp straight in to office. The directions on this website are accurate and helpful. The FamCamp looks very well kept. In the morning we did notice there was a lot of traffic noise on our side of the Fam Camp, since highway 193 is about 100 yards (if that much) from where we are parked...didn't notice it last night as there was no traffic, but this morning the traffic on the bedroom slide side of our coach served as a bit of an alarm clock. They might consider a noise brake or concrete wall on the highway side of the FamCamp to enhance the experience. I think a site closer to Balmer Street is probably a more preferred location and is probably the reason the two on the highway side were available. The running/walking track on our side of the FamCamp is impressive. We only stayed one night, but from what we saw it is an Excellent FamCamp, only negative was the traffic noise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We got in just days after the Famcamp opened after CV-19. Stayed for 7 days and would have stayed longer, but where on our way to Yellowstone and they oped up on the 1st of June. We had plenty of space. Scott, gave us our spot over the phone, so we just drove to the spot and set-up and then checked in. Scott told us that the wifi was weak and you had to be next to the office to use. I have a wifi ranger Denali and had no issues with wifi. Also AT&T cell came in very strong with 5G. Dog Park was ok with good shade. They had a great kids park next to the RV park. The running track next to the park was first rate along with all the work equipment. I don't think the famcamp had anything to do with it, but the "air show" that the F35's put on every day (except Sat. and Sun.) was out standing, and LOUD!! (sound hit 94 on my Apple watch) It wasn't really an airshow ,but... The ONLY neg. I had was the beer on base was only 4%. I enjoyed our stay and will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17 -19 Sep 2019
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is our second stay at Hill AFB FamCamp. We came from the north on I-15, and took exit 334, which puts you on Hwy 193. This will bring you to the base entrance at Hill Field Rd - S Gate Ave. When you enter the base, you want to be in the left hand lane--the turnoff for the campground is immediately after the gate entry. Overall, a nice campground. There are basically two sections to the campground. One section is newer pull thru sites with utilities centered in the site location. The other section (which has the most sites) has back-in sites with the sites back to back. Utility placement is horrible--shared water connection, and power, water and sewer access located at the rear end of the site. Several sections of sewer hose were needed to reach the sewer drain. We have a 35 ft fifth wheel, and our power cord wasn't long enough to reach the pedestal without backing up all the way to the back of the site behind us. Thankfully we had a good neighbor who understood our situation and helped us get right up to the back of his rig so we could reach the power pedestal. We enjoyed our stay, and hope that our next visit will be on a pull-thru site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for 5 days with your bumper pull TT. Pros: Great dog park. The camp is right in the mix of the base...walking distance to the gym (very nice gym), close to the commissary/BX, and next to a very large kid park. Sites were clean and level. Small study area/library/movie rental station behind the office. Cheap washers/drivers ($1.00). Cons: No wifi. They did have wifi in the study area but it didn't reach our campsite. We enjoyed it and would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6/4/2019 to 6/18/2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great RV Park, one of the best we have stayed in for military parks. Directions were great and hospitality was fantastic. Nice level sites with plenty of room. We stayed in a 40 ft class A motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 3, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
i don't usually do these kind of reviews, but this is something important you all need to be aware of. we made reservations for the 3rd of june going and the 8th of june coming back. i was half way there on my motorcycle when we were hammered by rain and hail, anyone who rides can understand how dangerous that can be. i had to turn back and return to colorado but i stopped and called the family camp to tell them we were prevented from coming by hail. i got an answering machine so i left a message, this was a bit before 10AM. whe i returned home i again called and talked to debbie who advised me that the air force didn't care how bad the weather was, if i didn't show up i had to surrender 20 dollars of the fee. i tried to make her understand that it was not my fault but the weather. no good, she quoted the rules as written in her website. so ! they have another website besides this one, too bad cause this one is way above hers in quality. it made no difference that my info came from this website, apparently ignorance of their rules was no excuse, and the fact that she chose not to warn me about this policy also made no difference. so just bear this in mind when you decide to stay there larry, you should post this policy so no one else gets blindsided. in my opinion the military screwed up when they allowed civilians to run things. we certainly won't be back.
DC
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 9
6 May 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Large level sites with easy access to the utility connections. Wide sites. We didn't use the bath house but they were very clean. We did use the laundry and there are plenty of machines and the room was clean. We stayed in a 40 foot motorhome with a Jeep in tow. We were told we could wash vehicles if we wanted. I only washed the Jeep off since rain was forecast the next day and I didn't see any sense in washing the motorhome. Access to the base and Famcamp was easy through the South Gate. We will stay there again on our return to the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
152 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8