Southwinds Marina on Lake Amistad

FeaturedNew
 
3.8 (27)
83070 0 22 1 23

User reviews

10 reviews with 5 stars
27 reviews
 
37%
 
26%
 
33%
2 stars
 
0%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.8
Location
 
4.2(27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(27)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(27)
Value
 
4.1(27)
Overall Experience
 
3.9(27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
June 7, /2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is so great! We had rented an awning that had I think 7 tables for our little graduation party but it had come included with a big 4 square, a basketball, and a corn hole set that the whole family can play with..they were very well kept. The rules were very direct and easy to follow. The guy, John, came over to just chat with us. He was so great! We had a festive decoration that hung across the awning and John asked us to keep it because it was a fun decoration and he would take it down when it faded which we thought was sweet. He persuaded us to kayak for the remainder of our time and I'm so glad he did. The whole family was able to partake. There was a paddle board too that was rented. He gave good instruction for us to feel comfortable on them as it was our first time. We all were like children. People in their 40s and 30s, teens and children all just having a blast. He made it such an experience! Definitely going back. Highly recommend this place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11 March- 25 Apr 2020
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Cons: 1. Besides the Lake there is nothing here. 2. The latrine owned by the park service is generally dirty. This gave myself and my boys something to do. Pros: 1. There is nothing to distract you from the Lake. 2. Mr Waters runs a tight ship here. He is an excellent manager and had a great supporting staff. He is currently in the process of rebuilding the campground with amenities. 3. Quiet besides the numerous birds. 4. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets! 5. Campsites were awesome with a shade at the perfect height. Use caution in the spring time regarding your awning, it is always breezy. Had a 104 degree day on 24 April and many 90 degree days during our stay. Two significant hail damaging storms. Absolutely Will stay here again! Perfect place for a large family with a few nearby trails, good people, and the Lake! My family voted this place as the best we stayed at during our journey. I’d say it’s tied with Mid-Bay Shores for location and facilities. Thanks Mr. Waters and staff for making our “stranded” stay comfortable. Second to none!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
March 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed a month. How could you get tired of the view? Endless sky and a different sunset every night. It was very peaceful. You have the low moan of the train now and again but it was interesting to watch it cross the bridge. There are roads to hike or drive if you have a 4x4 truck. The flowering trees and grasses of spring added a delicious smell to the air. The bathrooms were ok. Not the worst and the water was hot. 1-5 elec/water and smaller sites. I wouldn't park more than a 30ft there. 6-20 in a straight line full hookup and spacious! No fire pits, but a nice grill. Do not use your awning! Breezy to very gusty most days. Just park close enough to the shelter. Maintenance very friendly and helpful. We had a great time and would definitely come back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Oct 15, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stopped for one night on way from Carlsbad Caverns to San Antonio. Watch the directions carefully and follow the signs or you might end up in Mexico where the dam is. Marina was open for check-in. We kayaked for about 3 hours from the boat ramp. Large metal patio cover to help with the sun. Gorgeous sunsets. Wish all campers would keep their sites clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a most awe inspiring place to camp. Coming from northern Minnesota to Lake Amistad was like in another world. The views and sunset were magnificent. The campsite was nice. Very quiet during the winter months. I could not imagine how it would be I the summer. A true hidden gem. We stayed at Laughlin for 1 night. Won't do that again. FamCamp is located to close to the flight line. Noisy and all you can smell is jet fumes. If you come to Del Rio, you have to stay at Southwinds Marina. A little TLC in area in front of the RV park and general area would be a great improvement. The area looks like a catch all dumping area. Campers don't need to look at that. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Would return again and again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 8, 2010 - Feb 18, 2011
(Updated: February 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay here it is very quiet and peaceful. You have a beautiful view of the lake, and the campsites are level, with covered patio's and grills. As for the laundry, they have placed 2 stackable units that are unsat for the number of full timers in the park. (Just to small). Any supplies you may need means a trip to Del Rio, about 10 miles down the road. Had a few days of the dreaded Texas wind blowing, but had plenty of days to hike the shoreline, watching the deers and other critters. This is a great place to enjoy the quiet. Sprint Broadband card users, excellent 3G signal for internet access. Will come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 1 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I love the place i don't know why people post up bad reviews of the place. Everything is kept clean and maintenance does a great job around here. The manager is a good guy and the camp hosts are very friendly to everyone. If there is ever anything you need ask for Lyle he works here and is the best help you can find. The boats are in real good conditions and are very affordable fishing is great here everyone should try. I stayed at one of the cabins and they are really nice. They got a fridge microwave showers dining table kitchen utensils pans and a nice master bedroom. The only thing I had to bring was my linen and dish soap to clean up after. Has a basketball court volleyball court and a pavilion to have parties or barbecues. They provide free washers dryers and showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Jan 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
You have a beautiful view of the lake. Staff is very helpful and the camp hosts are superb. You have free washers and dryers. The grounds are well kept. Walmart super center is only 8 miles from the Marina. Boats are available for rent and the fishing is great. CHECK IT OUT!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June - July, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: Previous comments pretty much cover it. Easy in & out. Camp hosts very friendly & helpful. Quiet, peaceful during the week. More traffic on weekends. The speed bumps keep most of the traffic slow. Winds more a breeze most of my stay. A nice, relaxed environment. Water activities available. Other activities not so much. Del Rio with WalMart, Home Depot, shops & stores about 12 miles south on great roads. Lake (reservoir) Amistad is jointly owned by US & Mexico. The middle of the dam is the border. Side note: I have stayed at 3 famcamps in the last few months and mil permanent party/DOD/border patrol are being allowed on more sites for extended stay. Maybe a trend?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 11-13 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We loved it here. The sunsets over the water are spectacular and seem to go on forever. We had some wind the second day along with rain that night but we expected it as a front approached. The sites were clean and the host very friendly and helpful. The store was closed all but the last day we were there so I can't speak to that. The facilities were very clean as were the grounds. The new canopies over the picnic tables were extremely nice. We are already planning on taking our boat back for a week sometime soon. The lake was full (about a foot over normal pool elevation). We loved the laid back atmosphere and the concrete pads, cable tv and wifi made our stay a good one. Lots of walking areas and little trails to go down by the water.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10