Joint Base San Antonio Canyon Lake Recreation Park

Hot
 
4.0 (31)
273311 0 16 2 95

User reviews

10 reviews with 4 stars
31 reviews
 
42%
 
29%
 
19%
 
10%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.3(31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(31)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(31)
Value
 
4.2(31)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
February 2022
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time visiting JBSA Canyon Lake. I am impressed with the overall size of the combined facility (Sunnyside and Hancock Cove). I think I'd have preferred to be on Sunnyside for its spaciousness. Lots of wildlife... deer, especially! The daily price is a great value. The only drawback to an otherwise wonderful recreation facility is the state of disrepair and cleanliness of the main bathroom in the RV section of Hancock Cove; shower stalls are filthy with poor drainage and ripped shower curtains and privacy curtains. The only means to dry one's hands, the electric blower is non-functional. One of two toilets was covered with black plastic and could not be used. And, the entire men's room needed a thorough cleanout and pressure wash. Really, a pitiful bathroom facility for a park that includes spaces that don't provide water or sewage. If not for the bathroom, this park would have gotten a rave review. All that said and having learned from experience, I'd come back but only with a reservation for a full hookup site and preferably on the Sunnyside of the facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 0
May 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here for a week. This place is a little gem. It's a little old, yet well maintained. We were on the "dry side" just up the hill from the lake. We actually liked this side much better. Very quiet and well spaced sites. The staff was great and extremely helpful. Directions provided were spot on. No issues with cell service on ATT or Sprint. The only negative was the laundry room on this side was down and needed repairs; I assume some pipes may have broke/burst from the freeze.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
June 12 - 15, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We rented a bunkhouse without a bathroom so we had to use the community toilets and showers. I never expected them to be spotless but I did expect for them to be cleaner than they were ESPECIALLY during this COVID pandemic. We stayed for 3 nights Thursday through Monday and not once were the showers or toilets cleaned. I know this because the same trash was in the cans the entire time we were there and the toilet seats were dirty. Nobody came in to clean until Monday morning when we were leaving. This was very disappointing. I would have thought they would have been cleaned daily if not several times a day with everything going on especially on the weekends when it is the most crowded. We will go back because everything else was great BUT will never use the public restrooms again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 17 5
27 Jan-27 Feb 2020
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Surprised how far off I-35, twisting, hilly roads for 16 miles. Central Texas Hill Country at its purest. Called ahead to ask specifics to reach the gates, great descriptive directions helped us get to the gate with no problems. Got checked in and proceeded to our assigned spot. Would have helped a great deal if the young man would have told me to take a certain road in instead of the one he had me take. Backing in a 43 ft 5th wheel from the opposite angle wasn't enjoyable. Some pull-thru's where you only have one angle to go in, but check which back in spot they assign you. Some are straight in, but others (we had spot 27, angled towards us as we drove in), will require you to loop around the park to get the right angle. If you have a short rig, no problems at all. The area is very remote, they have a ton of boat rentals, and the wild game was abundant. Some of the deer came right up to the edge of our pad. My wife and I walked the trails and crossed paths with a Bobcat, a Grey Fox and too many deer to count (no exaggeration). Laundry facility/fitness room was the cleanest anywhere you might go. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only issue is the closest Walmart is about 15-20 miles in either direction. Other local groceries and small restaurants, but if you are looking for your favorite chain store/restaurant, its a bit of a drive. Night time on those roads almost always provides an opportunity to hit game in the road. Be careful driving at night!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 0
Jan 8-10, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This park is the consolidation of the Army Rec area (still called Hancock Cove) and the AF Rec area (still called Sunnyside) on either side of the road. Both parks have about the same facilities - RV sites, cabins, marina, etc. and common management. The Hancock Cove side has a small store. Both are gated and require a code to enter after hours. We get good 4G coverage on Verizon or Tmobile and we don't have any trouble streaming at any time of the day or evening. The location is about halfway between San Antonio and Austin so OTA TV coverage is a little spotty. There's a small town five minutes down the road - great grocery store with good bakery and deli and there's a good Italian restaurant across the road. New Braunfels is fifteen miles the other way and has everything. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 18 1
20 May 13
(Updated: May 20, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Here for a week. It is busy place on the weekend but very nice and peaceful during the week. We did hear that they are having some issues with stabilizing the rules, due to the Joint Base I suppose, but it was not a problem for us. There was an obvious presence of park staff during our stay. There were lots of deer in and around the RV camp site on the Randolph side. The facilities were neat and clean. Only real drawback is the lack of Wi-Fi on the Air Force side. Cost was very reasonable and a good value. Major shopping is in New Braunfels about 17 miles away on what has become a very busy road. Local small stores in Canyon Lake nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
April 2010
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My family and I camped at one of the tent sites next to the water a few months ago. The facilities were clean and marina was great. Looking forward to going back this weekend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
26 March 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We're staying across the street at Ft. Sam's RV park rec area. Went over to talk to these folks, inspect the facilities & talk w/ some campers. 1st off-directions are good & correct to this RV park & Ft. Sam's. Same turn off of FM 306, however. That turn is very dangerous. As you get to the 15.5 mile pt. from I-35 you'll see a flashing light at the top of a hill. You'll be thinking that this is your turn but it isn't. As soon as you brake & realize that it is not Jacob's Creek/park rd & begin to accelerate you see another flashing light about 50 yds farther. The brown Military RV park info sign is here on the right, but it is located at your turning place. No advance notice. Problem- it is at the top of a hill. Traffic coming up the same hil on the opposite side can't see you turning til they're almost on top of you. So look for the 1st flashing light,get ready to turn AFTER it at the 2nd flashing light. If it's clear-really go for it. Don't delay that turn to the military RV park rd (Jacob's Creek Park rd). Laundry is still closed. Campers say that they are NOT charged the $5 per day entrance fee (Ft. Sam's does hit ya' for this). Park employees say 01 Oct. `10 is the date for the new combo management (Air Force will be in charge) for this RV park & Ft. Sam's across the street. The RV park had half the sites open while Ft. Sam has been full for a week. Bath-house was clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
Nov 18 - Dec 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice little campground. If you like watching deer, this is the place to be. At any time of day, you will see them in the campground. The campground itself is very nice. Level concrete pads for your RV, full hookups. The areas between the sites are somewhat grassy. It did rain while I was there, and this all turns to mud. Each site has a large security light. If I did not have foam in my skylight, it would have been very bright in my bedroom. There is also a big fire ring and a picnic table at each site. The staff was very nice. Laundry facility was old, could use a little cleaning, but not that bad overall. There are two washers and two dryers. $1 each. One of the washers was out of order all the time I was there. Talking to staff, it has been reported but problems getting service under warranty. The rates listed are not truly accurate. It is $15 per night and $300 per month, but there is no weekly rate. Also, they fail to tell you that you can only stay 30 days then you must leave for 2 days before coming back in. Staff said most just go across the road to the Fort Sam Houston Campground. Overall, a nice place and if you don't mind the move every 30 days, a nice place to stay for an extended time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
March 15, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It wasn't a good start that the entry gate lady wasn't very friendly. But the bad feelings stopped there. This is a nice recreation area with plenty of water sports. Unfortunately, the FHU RV sites aren't too close to the water, but the partial RV hookup sites, the cabins, tent sites, and picnic areas are. The partial (W/E) RV sites are lined up in a parking lot on a slight slope. They're not made for anything larger than 25'. The cabins and tent sites looked pretty good, spread out along the lake. This would be a fun place to stay with kids and for the water sports. The houseboat also looked appealing to us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10