JBSA - Lackland FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (79)
134808 1 7 1 33

User reviews

34 reviews with 5 stars
79 reviews
 
47%
 
38%
 
8%
 
6%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.4(79)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(79)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(79)
Value
 
4.1(79)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(79)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 21 - 34
1 2
Ordering
January 2012
(Updated: February 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here about five days in late January. Very accommodating. Sites were large. We arrived after hours and were able to pull right into a pull thru site. Didn't need a full hookup site since we were only staying a few days but probably could have gotten one had we stayed longer. Showers were small and quite warm but clean. Laundry was free. Had a great area next to sites that you could walk your dog or run them without bothering anyone. Very pet friendly. All in all a very nice FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 2010 - May 2011
(Updated: May 12, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this FamCamp. The manager is such a nice guy and so very helpful. The rates might be a little higher compared to some other FamCamps, BUT, it includes wi-fi, cable and laundry. The spaces are nice and roomy. A very pleasant place and I definitely recommend it! Very pet-friendly. There are even doggie bag posts throughout.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
February 5 - 13, 2011
(Updated: March 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great FAMCamp. Sites are well spaced. Staff rotates partial hookups to full hookups efficiently. Glad the 30-day limit keeps snowbirds from occupying all the spaces in the winter unlike other southern FAMCamps. Views of Kelly AFB and downtown San Antonio are spectacular at night. Laundry is free with new machines. Proximity to San Antonio is great. Base facilities are wonderful. Will stay here again when we visit San Antonio or pass through Texas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Nov. 8-13, 2010
(Updated: November 12, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Was able to get a full hookup. Easy to back in, level site, good location of hookups and plenty of room to park the coach and toad. The laundry facilities and bathroom were clean. Free cable and laundry was a plus. I would return again. Note; I asked the manager to put some maps at the Gowen Gate so that it would be easy to find the FamCamp. The gate guard did his best to give us directions but there are lots of turns and no signage. The manager didn't seem excited to do that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 15-22, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were visiting relatives that were scattered all over the San Antonio area. Lackland was a handy location since it was the closest FAMCAMP to our 2 year old Grandaughter. We did not have reservations, but it seems there were at least 6 empty full hookup sites available the whole week, plus all the W&E and overflow sites were available. The washroom was clean and had free front loading washers and dryers. It was also air conditioned, had a TV to watch, and books to read while waiting for your wash. The bathrooms were kept clean, and the showers were similar to what you would have in a house, two handles and good flow. They were always clean so they stay on top of the cleaning. This is a major base, so you have a large BX and Commissary a block away from your route to the FAMCAMP, across from the main chapel. There is an outdoor aircraft display within a few blocks walk, and the clubs are handy for eating, although there are plenty of restaurants just outside the gate. You can catch a city bus a few blocks away that will take you downtown so you don't need to use your own car if you don't want the hassle of driving in the downtown area. This was a great place to stop over for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 24-June 27, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Fam Camp for our son's BMT graduation. It is a nice RV park, very clean. It has free cable and the wifi worked at the end of the park. The restrooms/showers were clean. The laundry room was very nice, air conditioned and a nice looking place overall. I was traveling with my 2 year old granddaughter and liked the cleanliness of the park. The grass was well kept and I felt very comfortable taking her anywhere in the park. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 24-26, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I am a civilian who attended the BMT graduation of a family member and was sponsored by him. Greg the Fam Camp Manager was very helpful and great to work with. I called ahead to see if there were big rig spaces available with full hook-ups and Greg told me that they do not take reservations but he had availability. Since I did not have a current military id I had to go through the commercial inspection process adjacent to the Growden Gate. This did not take long. The back-in spaces at the park all had 50 amp full hookups with level concrete pads, picnic table, grill and full hook-ups. Everyone at the base was very helpful with directions and nice. The battery on my tow vehicle went dead near the fire station parking lot at Godfathers Pizza. The firefighters and officers came out and tried to jump the battery to no avail. The base Firestone store personnel came out and replaced my battery in the parking lot at a reasonable cost. The AFB and RV Park was very convenient, clean and great. We were extremely impressed with everything including the graduation ceremony. I am a US Navy veteran that did not retire from the military. This was an outstanding experience for entire family! Dave Raffa, Granbury, Texas
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3-7 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great Campsite for military. Took advantage for my brothers BMT Graduation. Good level spots didn't take much to level the camper. Spots included a picnic table and a grill. There was a thunderstorm that knocked out power at campsite and the was no one to call for any help, but power was restored fairly quickly. Close to TLF and The Parade grounds, so very easy to get to BMT graduation ceremony. WiFi worked great was very quick was able to watch shows on the internet with no problems. There are good facilities for clothes washing, there where 4 washers and 4 dryers (FREE) so made it easy. Have soap available in main office. Other facilities include two showers for each male and female. Nearby dumpster for ease of disposing of trash. Overall a good stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
6 Jun--6 July 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I think this park was a good place to stay, though I sure wish they would revise the 30-day stay limit, especially for active duty military on orders. When I arrived at the Base, I came in the Foster Rd gate, and I had no problems negotiating the barriers at the gate; I was in an F250 towing a 29 ft fifth wheel. I guess the price of $405/month was acceptable, given that the laundry was included. I had my own internet service, Sprint Mobile Broadband, and I got pretty good coverage; I stayed in space #11. I did only stay 30 days, as since I was on active duty orders, I did not have time to be constantly hooking up and moving out for 24 hours, just to wait to see if I could get another space. I moved to an off-base place, and saved myself $100/month. For a short-term stay, I would stay here again, as it is clean, quiet, convenient, and very helpful and friendly folks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 Jun 09--present until 30 Sep 09
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm a newcomer to RV'ing, but Lackland FamCamp is just fine with me! I cannot see how one customer calls it a trailer park; the park is clean, quiet, and everyone is quite friendly. I am in the ANG and here TDY to train dogs, so I only wish that they would do away with or waive that 30 day rule; I don't have much time to be hooking up and moving, just to move back into another open space in 24 hours. Anyway, I'm happy with this park; clean, quiet and friendly folks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
January 13-21, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for a week. The kids really loved the Youth Center and Teen Center. MWR has a wonderful facility and lots of scheduled activities to include paintball. There is also a skatepark here for those skateboarding fans. This is a large base with everythig you need. The FamCamp is small, but the base makes up for it. They are adding additional spaces, construction underway. This is a great place to take kids, just all activities outside of FamCamp. Will return, per kids request!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Overall we were very pleased with our stay. We came to see our daughter graduate from AF BMT and stayed for 8 nights. Could not have asked for anything better. Large paved sites with concrete patios and picnic tables. Some sites have better shade than others. $17.00 a night or $105.00 a week cannot be beat with the WI-FI, Cable TV and laundry included. If you are here for graduation and are not towing, you will need to rent a car. The Parade grounds are within walking distance but the BMT reception center and most convenient drop-off/pick up points are on the other side of the base. Close proximity to BX, Commissary and Class VI. All of which can be reached quickly on Lackland's shuttle bus. The NCO/Officers Club, Fisher House and Wilford Hall are all within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again if we have the chance!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Feb. 18 to Mar. 03 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great park. They could do with more sites but they run it well. The max stay in FHU is 30 days then rotate to overflow if there is a list. There are plenty of things to do in the area. We will be back. I've added a map that should help finding the right gate and getting to the FamCamp. We kinda had trouble with the directions and finding the Growden Gate. Hope it helps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There was a slight problem with gate enterance but we had checked it out the day before we tried to get the MH in the gate. We consider this to be one of the best famcamps we have been in and offer congrats to the maintenance personnel. The only thing that was not good was the camp host. When he decided to work he was not very plesent. The women that filled in for him was terrific. Nice large concrete pads with full 50amp hookups.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
34 results - showing 21 - 34
1 2