JBSA - Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (165)
163547 2 19 2 127

User reviews

98 reviews with 5 stars
165 reviews
 
62%
 
28%
 
9%
2 stars
 
0%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.5(165)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(165)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(165)
Value
 
4.6(165)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(165)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
May 4-6, 2022
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Lack of campground-wide wi-fi made amenities a 4. Very nice campground. Will stay again if it fits our itinerary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2/26/22 until 3/2/22 and 3/24/22 until 3/30/22
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Amenities only 4 stars because there is no wifi in the park. We really like this RV Park. The staff is excellent. Back in November of 2021 a young man driving their riding lawn mower (with roll bars) ran into 1 of our bedroom slide outs and scrapped up the pain, (the roll bars hit the slide out). The staff filled out an incident report and paid the body shop directly for the repairs that were needed when we got back to our home town. I could not have been more please with how it was handled! Both our stays in February and March were excellent. I was able to play golf a few times (brown grass, but that's ok). As mentioned in other posts, Ft. Sam is in the center of the city. The city expanded around the base, so for the most part you're very close to most attractions. The exception being Sea World which is west of the city center (much closer to Lackland AFB). Since we're desert rats from NM, whenever we're close to the Gulf or on the east or west coast we indulge in eating seafood. We found a little Mom & Pop restaurant (Bayseas Seafood Restaurant) that has outstanding food: seafood, soul food, and basic American food! They have gumbo and even have gator tails! We love that stuff. If you do, too, google them. They are about 10 miles north of Ft Sam about 2 miles west of I-35. Our phones again worked as modems for Netflix and prime. Xfinity signal was good. The wind was much less in SA than Corpus Christi. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
January 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed for 31 days in January, 2022. The price is right and the location is close to the center of San Antonio. You get all the best of base facilities (Exchange, Commissary, Gas Stations, Mini-marts). The park was spacious with plenty of room between sites. Ample room for strolls within the RV facility and certainly, ample room on the huge base! The staff was wonderful. The bathrooms could use a little touchup, but they were certainly adequate. I would certainly stay at this facility again if visiting San Antonio in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very nice RV Park. Wide spaces, trees, grass, level concrete pads, wide access roads, and quiet. Straight shot through the post main gate, no barriers to wiggle around. Was a bit of challenge making way back to RV park, some roads have no signage. Post has a new Exchange and large Commissary. There is a wi-fi hotspot at back of the park office but not through out the park. We liked this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 25, 2021 through November 2, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time using FSH Camp site - we stayed for 8 nights while visiting family in San Antonio. The site is in the back part of FSH - near Softball fields, Golf Course and Cemetery - Can see BAMC from the camp site. The "Winans" gate is the one to use during the week -- they close around 8-9pm and not open on the weekend, then you have to use the Harry Wurzbach main gate. (Confusing to travel from HW gate as many of the streets don't have street signs -- but basically two quick lefts and follow the road to the camp site). The FSH camp requires to wear mask when checking in, but was easy if having a reservations (which I called about a month before). They do limit to 30 days, and several were leaving and arriving each day -- that was nice for that so you don't have a "trashy" permanent RV park like you might see off a military post. The camp sites are all concrete pads and have room for a car parked behind the RV (I have a 34 foot motorhome). They had no wi-fi, but we just used a hot-spot for internet with no issues. There are two bathroom/shower facilities and are cleaned each day. They mowed and trimmed around the grounds while there. Commissary is within 10 minute drive if that. Will be coming back next Spring!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed 2X, once on our way to Corpus Christi and then on our way back towards our NM home. Both stays we’re fine, On our way back we had a nice shaded site. We could only stay for 2 days as the camp was totally booked. I was shocked, it’s summer in SA, a 100 degrees! Moral of the story: you have to have advanced reservations!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 12-22, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
JBSA is one of our "places to go to." We enjoy the RV park and the staff managing it, The staff has always been pleasant to work with. We always have a good time here. The easy access to San Antonio and the surrounding area is excellent. Canyon Lake Dam, River Road drive. New Braunfels, Groene (pronounced Green) are only a few on our list of places to visit. Don't forget to tour The Missions, starting with the Alamo. BE WARNED: The WINANS gate is now closed on weekends. Once you start out of the base you would have to go into the housing area to try and turn around to go out the Stanley gate or Wurzbach gate, We drove through the Benz Engleman Rd gate today and would advise against using it. Going out is a straight shot but the road is bad. Coming in a large RV may not be able to negotiate the barriers. Rittiman, Winans and Nursary Road have been repaired (Yeah), so entry/exit Mon-Fri is easy. The Winans gate is now at the bottom of the hill before the turn to Nurserery Rd. Gate hours: www.jbsa.mil/Gate-Hours/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
16 Mar- 16 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Got here right before the Corona Virus Lockdown started. That put all our plans on hold. Was planning on a 1 week stay and ended up here for 2 months. Hosts and management were extremely helpful. Nice B.X. and commissary that was well stocked throughout and didn’t impose any undo limits on when retirees could shop. They opened this campground up on the 1st of May with standard social distance precautions. I’ll stay here again whenever I’m in San Antonio.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Feb. 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our very first “military campground" and it was great. It was clean, well taken care of and orderly. The grounds were in great shape. Our dogs liked running free in the dog run. We will use this park again should our travels take us in that direction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
September 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This review left using the Directory software by T.M. - The RV Park is fantastic. Large, very clean and well maintained. The park staff were always helpful and courteous. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The base is huge and can be confusing. Your GPS does not know which gate is permanently closed and which ones close at 2200 so don't rely on it. I found the main gate (Walter's St. Gate) and marked it on my iPhone GPS so we could enter and exit at the same place during our excursions. It is only 2 blocks from I-35 (Fort Sam Houston/Walter's St. exit). Otherwise the GPS brought us in at gates that were closed and recovering was very difficult. The PX and Commissary are only a block from the main gate also. Both are very large and there are several satellites around the base. Unfortunately none convenient to the RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 4-9, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here many times. I will agree the roads on post (nursery and Winans) are in terrible condition. I suspect now that the new bridge is open, that they will get redone. easiest way to get to the fam camp is to exit off 410 onto Rittiman road and turn right. follow to harry wurzback and take a left, then go about 1 mile to winans road (just before the national cemetery ) turn left. enter through security, turn right on nursery and follow it around and veer to the left at the school and take nursery to petroleum drive, turn left and follow down about 1 mile to the camp on the right We arrived just before a serious rain storm and just got set up when the flood from above occurred. a few days later we got hit with a serious severe thunderstorm that re arranged several rvs and tore big branches from lots of trees. Within ten minutes of the storm subsiding, men arrived with tractors to clear the roads and remove downed tree limbs and ASSIST anyone needing help. my only complaint about the whole trip was the site (61) faced us dead into the west sun and it was HOT as hades blasting the sun in through the big front window. Baker was her normal friendly and helpful self, and the hosts were awfully efficient and kept he park clean and tidy after hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful campground with wide spacing and trees. All pull through sites. Laundry on site. All nice. Yes, there are trains, but not that close (and it is a Federal Law trains must blow their whistle before every train crossing). San Antonio is a great city to visit and many Veterans have history here. We will visit often. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
stayed for 4 days and did the local tourist spots. made reso over the phone with no issues and received spot-on directions with no issues at the nursery gate(which is the one to use), plenty of room to pass thru and roads are ok, few potholes but just maneuver correctly and you will be ok. sites are level and easy set-up(strong water press), both sides have a bath/laundry house for use, bath house could use a pressure washing(seems hosts just dont use facilities maint like they should/could?) no fire pit but big pic table at site. you are allowed to wash camper/veh which is nice. there are a lot of students/transition military folks staying and most u/s not to keep ALL their possessions outside but as always there are the 10% who thing an rv spot is their garage, this is fault of host to inform folks of the rules since it looks awful!? main side base is very easy to get to for the exchange/comm/food/fuel/etc, there is also a smaller exchange right down the road from the rv park with minimal goodies. all in all a very good place to stay if you are in the area, we would stay again!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-18 March 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a nice park. Well laid out, easy parking, good roads. The only thing that is a drawback to this park is the road construction around the base. It makes it a little difficult to get to the park. The on duty host tried to call me and tell me the best way to get in, but I was driving and did not know I had gotten a call. Kudos to him for that, but I do not talk on the phone while driving, especially in city traffic! All utilities worked very well and satellite reception was good. We will use this park again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 20-23, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Absolutely one of our favorite military campgrounds. Sites are extra long, concrete and level with plenty of space between sites. Patio and picnic table, great dog park, nice play ground, shade trees. Good size commissary and exchange less than 2 miles from park. Roads on base going into park are pretty bad and the Nursery Gate is a mess, but they are working on a new gate. No cable but we picked up over 30 channels with the antenna and our satellite worked great. Love Baker in the office, she is wonderful. Watch carefully highways leading to base, there’s lots of construction and some exits are not correct. Just a great place to stay to visit San Antonio and surrounding areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 JAN - 04 FEB 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice facility overall. The RV Park is out away from the rest of the base, but is a convenient drive to everything you need on base. The Park was not full which was a surprise to me. There was plenty of room to maneuver even the biggest vehicles. Pads are concrete and long. There is nice grass (if you call it grass) space in between every pad. Each pad had a picnic table and grill. Each side of the park had a building with laundry room and restroom/showers. The laundry room was very small and not the cleanest, but the machine were newer HE front load machines and worked well. They were $1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry. The restroom (mens anway) was three stalls and three shower stalls. The showers stalls were tile. Overall cleanness of the showers was acceptable, but the tile needed a good cleaning. Soap scum has built up over time. The park did have a dog run which was nice and long. They also had propane refill on-site but I never learned how it all worked. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It appeared to me (just a guess) that about 30% of the users were Active Duty, but none of the sites looked bad (with clutter around the RV). Our two week stay was $240 which is a great price in my opinion. I would certainly stay at this facility again!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
3-8 and 18-22 Dec 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Once again Baker and her hosts were outstanding. We had to extend a day on both trips due to weather. zero issues, just smiles and great service. only down thumb is the crazy road construction, the nursery gate at the cemetery is still in work so you have to navigate the base on some small tight turns.. the road is scheduled to be finished Dec 2017...as of 23 Dec is was not. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug-Sep 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place in San Antonio. Stayed a month in Aug 2017 in a 37' motorhome. Friendly and helpful staff (shout out to Baker). Basic supplies in office (toilet paper, sewer packs, hose connections, etc.). All pull through sites and large enough for motorhome and toad. Picnic table and grill at all sites. WiFi only available on back porch of office. Train noise at all hours but you get use to it or use earplugs. They take reservations which is a plus for a military RV site. Great access to San Antonio attractions. The Rittiman road access was closed for road work when were here so we entered through the N Walters St gate with no problems. No concrete weave through barriers at this gate. Call to get updated access directions. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 24-30 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time at Ft. Sam to stay in RV area. We were there for a week and would have liked to stay longer. You may wind around a little bit to get there, but when you drive in you find an open, spacious park with all pull-thru sites. The folks in the office will bend over to make you feel welcome. This park is a great value! From Ft. Sam you are only minutes from downtown San Antonio, the Alamo, RiverWalk, virtually anything of tourist value in the town. The lovely Texas Hill Country with places like Fredericksburg, Kerrville, Bandera and New Braunfels with Schlitterbahn water park are only a short drive away. We will be returning, and probably more than once.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1 Mar- 1 Apr 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ft Sam still tops the list for Texas FAmCamps in my opinion. No Wi-Fi but other than that, it's about as nice as can be. The wife wants to say that the laundry rooms have brand new front loader washers and dryers ($1.50 per). A real nice upgrade since our last visit. I read several problems (below) about arriving, gates, entrance, signs, etc. If one follows the directions above, its a snap. Follow them exactly and you'll have no problems. I tried to explore Brooks Base to see if the old FamCamp there was truly closed. Yep, it is. Don't bother looking-this website has the correct info. Great place, good folks and clean, well maintained facilities.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5