JBSA - Fort Sam Houston RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (165)
163547 2 19 2 127

User reviews

165 reviews
 
62%
 
28%
 
9%
2 stars
 
0%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.5(165)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(165)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(165)
Value
 
4.6(165)
Overall Experience
 
4.4(165)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
165 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
Feb. 28, 2019
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
We stayed the entire month of February 2019. The low monthly rate is the only plus for this place. It’s unkept, dirty, overgrown, noisey, and the staff (not the camp hosts) were rude and unhelpful. As regular FamCamp users, we understand there is going to be plane or train or gun fire or other noises that come with life on a military base, but this place was the worst we have experienced. The train tracks are just behind the park, and the train comes through from10pm to 10am (yep, you read that right) with horns blowing constantly. The base roads are worse than a lot of dirt roads we have camped on. The gates are a mess and under weird schedules. They are building a new commissary, and it’s a mess around construction. The camp staff were rude and unhelpful for anything we brought to their attention, from broken washing machines to unkept landscaping to need for mail. They play favorites and keep spots for their friends, kicking military families out of their spots (this was confirmed by a camp host). We couldn’t wait to leave, but took advantage of all San Antonio has to offer while there. We will not return to this base. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 3
October 25, 2021 through November 2, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time using FSH Camp site - we stayed for 8 nights while visiting family in San Antonio. The site is in the back part of FSH - near Softball fields, Golf Course and Cemetery - Can see BAMC from the camp site. The "Winans" gate is the one to use during the week -- they close around 8-9pm and not open on the weekend, then you have to use the Harry Wurzbach main gate. (Confusing to travel from HW gate as many of the streets don't have street signs -- but basically two quick lefts and follow the road to the camp site). The FSH camp requires to wear mask when checking in, but was easy if having a reservations (which I called about a month before). They do limit to 30 days, and several were leaving and arriving each day -- that was nice for that so you don't have a "trashy" permanent RV park like you might see off a military post. The camp sites are all concrete pads and have room for a car parked behind the RV (I have a 34 foot motorhome). They had no wi-fi, but we just used a hot-spot for internet with no issues. There are two bathroom/shower facilities and are cleaned each day. They mowed and trimmed around the grounds while there. Commissary is within 10 minute drive if that. Will be coming back next Spring!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Jan 12 - Feb 7, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice park with level concrete pads, good utilities, staff are friendly enough. We like to go for walks in the evening and this is a great park for that. Everyone we've met at the park has been very friendly. The laundry facilities are very small, but work great, and we've never not been able to wash a load or two when we wanted. There's not much of a view, but it's nice and quiet. Each site has a nice concrete patio area with a picnic table. There are train tracks close by and you'll hear trains come through, but we use a white noise machine at night to sleep and never heard the trains over the noise machine. This might be a concern for someone else though if they are a light sleeper and don't have a noise machine. The only complaint we have has nothing to do with the park itself, but the base. It is a pain in the rear to get to the RV park. The closest gate to the park, the one listed in the directions on this website, is only open Mon-Fri during the day. So, although it works fine for getting the RV into the park, for day trips out to see the sights, you'll often have to use the main gate, which is much further from here and the roads over that way aren't very good. The pavement is in good shape, but it's kind of a roller coaster ride. You're also driving through a school zone and NCO Academy area, so lots of 20mph zones as well. We've gotten used to it though, having been here several weeks, and it's not a big complaint just a little frustrating. On a plus side, once you get to the front gate you are only minutes away from the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We've spent many afternoons enjoying the Riverwalk area and all there is to do down that way. The gas station, package store, PX, and commissary are all over by the main gate and have had everything we've gone to get find. All in all, a nice place to stay and we will definitely stay here again if we come through San Antonio. Note - when we paid for our stay the rate was $440 per month and it went up to $550 per month while we were here. It was a great bargain at $440 given the location, and I still believe it is at $550.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
December 2019
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Pretty nice RV Park located fairly close to major downtown attractions like the Riverwalk, Sea World, the zoo, and of course, the Alamo. The park has 74 relatively level, 86-ft long pull-thru sites, each with a 62-ft concrete pad and FHU 50-amp service. The sites are all plenty long enough for even the biggest rigs, tow vehicles, and trailers, and they’re spread apart about 50 feet with lots of grassy space and trees between them. Despite the trees, most sites are satellite-friendly. The pedestals are located mid-site, reachable without the need for extension cords or hoses. We had 122 volts on both L1 & L2, and 80 psi water pressure at the tap. Be sure to use a regulator! There’s a fenced dog park and a playground for kids. Showers and laundry rooms are clean. Coin-operated machines take $1.50 per load (that’s $3 to wash and dry). The staff is friendly and helpful. That being said, there are some detractors. The RV park is 1.5 miles from the nearest gate, and about 3 miles from the exchange, commissary, and main gate. The speed limit is only 20 mph in many areas, but you’ll want to drive that slow anyway so your teeth won’t rattle due to the horribly bumpy roads in desperate need of repair all over the base. There is no WiFi at your site, and only limited WiFi in the club house. And did I mention the train? You can hear the whistle and feel the rumble at all hours of the day and night. And for those staying for an extended length of time and wanting to get mail, that ain’t happening. You can get UPS and FedEx packages delivered to the office, but not US postal mail. And the post office on base does not accept general delivery mail. That can only be done at the main USPS hub on Perrin Beitel Road several miles north of the base. Use zip code 78265-9999 for general delivery (not the post office street address at zip code 78284). Would I stay here again? Well, that depends. If you want a safe harbor for an extended stay, perhaps avoiding colder weather up north, or just killing time between other destinations, then yes, I might stay here again. The price is right (less than $20 per day at the weekly rate). But if you’re going to be in San Antonio for just a short while and still want to see the sights, you might consider somewhere else, perhaps the KOA, with walking distance to public transportation or on-site pick-up by city tours. Traffic and parking downtown can be a nightmare.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
November 12-22, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
JBSA is one of our "places to go to." We enjoy the RV park and the staff managing it, The staff has always been pleasant to work with. We always have a good time here. The easy access to San Antonio and the surrounding area is excellent. Canyon Lake Dam, River Road drive. New Braunfels, Groene (pronounced Green) are only a few on our list of places to visit. Don't forget to tour The Missions, starting with the Alamo. BE WARNED: The WINANS gate is now closed on weekends. Once you start out of the base you would have to go into the housing area to try and turn around to go out the Stanley gate or Wurzbach gate, We drove through the Benz Engleman Rd gate today and would advise against using it. Going out is a straight shot but the road is bad. Coming in a large RV may not be able to negotiate the barriers. Rittiman, Winans and Nursary Road have been repaired (Yeah), so entry/exit Mon-Fri is easy. The Winans gate is now at the bottom of the hill before the turn to Nurserery Rd. Gate hours: www.jbsa.mil/Gate-Hours/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Feb. 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our very first “military campground" and it was great. It was clean, well taken care of and orderly. The grounds were in great shape. Our dogs liked running free in the dog run. We will use this park again should our travels take us in that direction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
16 Mar- 16 May 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Got here right before the Corona Virus Lockdown started. That put all our plans on hold. Was planning on a 1 week stay and ended up here for 2 months. Hosts and management were extremely helpful. Nice B.X. and commissary that was well stocked throughout and didn’t impose any undo limits on when retirees could shop. They opened this campground up on the 1st of May with standard social distance precautions. I’ll stay here again whenever I’m in San Antonio.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
January 2022
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed for 31 days in January, 2022. The price is right and the location is close to the center of San Antonio. You get all the best of base facilities (Exchange, Commissary, Gas Stations, Mini-marts). The park was spacious with plenty of room between sites. Ample room for strolls within the RV facility and certainly, ample room on the huge base! The staff was wonderful. The bathrooms could use a little touchup, but they were certainly adequate. I would certainly stay at this facility again if visiting San Antonio in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
October 2013
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed in October 2013 and enjoyed the actual campground. It was very neat and clean and the sites spacious. We did not use the laundry or shower room so we can't comment on that. The only issue we had was the woman that ran the front desk. On two separate occasions we asked simple questions and she was extremely rude and smart mouthed to us. First question was, Is there a site with a tree that we could move to (the one we were in, was in the direct sun until about 6 in the evening, our awning wouldn't even block it, with my husband's heart trouble we could not sit outside much). Her response was "don't you have an awning? put it out." Next question was, what address would we have my husband's medication sent to. My husband was having a hard time hearing her on the phone and asked her to wait so that he could hand it to me. When I answered, she said "Well, for anyone who is listening, I will tell you what to do." I remained friendly and mentioned that the address she gave me was not the one listed on their website. She told me that if I had bothered to continue reading that it says that you can not have mail delivered to that address. The web site does not say this, but I decided not to argue with her, for fear of saying something that I might later regret. Too, bad because the place itself is very nice. Just don't want to ever have to deal with that woman again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
7 mar-14 mar 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Same ole' Ft. Sam Fam camp- great. No problems getting into the park. Directions are correct. 1 of the mail base gas stations has diesel, the other doesn't. Don't know the names or streets of either, sorry. A 2009 review said TV reception was bad over the air. Not that way any more. We got 15 (english) stations easily. Bathrooms were spotless. $.75 per washer load- great deal too. Still no wi-fi. I will blog later about a "secret" wi-fi hot spot I found on Ft. Sam. otherwise use the base library for email/internet (closed Mondays).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 4-9, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have stayed here many times. I will agree the roads on post (nursery and Winans) are in terrible condition. I suspect now that the new bridge is open, that they will get redone. easiest way to get to the fam camp is to exit off 410 onto Rittiman road and turn right. follow to harry wurzback and take a left, then go about 1 mile to winans road (just before the national cemetery ) turn left. enter through security, turn right on nursery and follow it around and veer to the left at the school and take nursery to petroleum drive, turn left and follow down about 1 mile to the camp on the right We arrived just before a serious rain storm and just got set up when the flood from above occurred. a few days later we got hit with a serious severe thunderstorm that re arranged several rvs and tore big branches from lots of trees. Within ten minutes of the storm subsiding, men arrived with tractors to clear the roads and remove downed tree limbs and ASSIST anyone needing help. my only complaint about the whole trip was the site (61) faced us dead into the west sun and it was HOT as hades blasting the sun in through the big front window. Baker was her normal friendly and helpful self, and the hosts were awfully efficient and kept he park clean and tidy after hours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 26 2015 - Jan 2 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
While starting out on a 2 1/2 month trip from Arkansas to Southern California, Winter Storm Goliath was stirring up when we were in Lubbock, TX.  Weather outlook for that area as well as our planned travels down to I-10 was a BLIZZARD WARNING. Ft Bliss TX was included in the bad weather area.  So we headed down towards San Antonio, TX. We called and spoke with Howard who told us that he could fit us in for a day or two.  We thought that it was okay and we could find another campground locally for a few more days.  We arrived after the office closed, but Howard had a site assigned to us for two nights.  The next morning, after talking with Howard in the office, he was able to get us into another site for two nights.  However, he mentioned that I needed to speak with Marty on Monday, before confirming the additional days.  In talking with Marty, she was able to rearrange sites and give us a full week, at the same site.  Howard and Marty went above & beyond to rearrange sites against reservations to get us a site for the week.  By the end of our stay, the roads going through TX & NM should be clear.  If it wasn't for these 2 great people, who are truly customer service oriented, we would have been camped at one of those KOA type of campgrounds.  The sites are VERY LEVEL, plenty of elbow room, clean, has a dog run and everything else one could want.  Close to San Antonio.  AGAIN, THANKS HOWARD & MARTY,,,,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jan 2022
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a very nice RV Park. Wide spaces, trees, grass, level concrete pads, wide access roads, and quiet. Straight shot through the post main gate, no barriers to wiggle around. Was a bit of challenge making way back to RV park, some roads have no signage. Post has a new Exchange and large Commissary. There is a wi-fi hotspot at back of the park office but not through out the park. We liked this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug-Sep 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place in San Antonio. Stayed a month in Aug 2017 in a 37' motorhome. Friendly and helpful staff (shout out to Baker). Basic supplies in office (toilet paper, sewer packs, hose connections, etc.). All pull through sites and large enough for motorhome and toad. Picnic table and grill at all sites. WiFi only available on back porch of office. Train noise at all hours but you get use to it or use earplugs. They take reservations which is a plus for a military RV site. Great access to San Antonio attractions. The Rittiman road access was closed for road work when were here so we entered through the N Walters St gate with no problems. No concrete weave through barriers at this gate. Call to get updated access directions. Would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 18-22, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Really enjoyed Sam Houston RV Park. The person’s review before me should not deter you for staying at this park. Granted it isn’t the Hilton with soundproof windows, but noise is a fact when you’re 7 miles from downtown. Trains, construction and troops training, all part of the experience. Beautiful base, very active. Use the advice of the staff, do not use your GPS to get here. Coming in the back was fairl easy, but the road is in bad shape. Check in a breeze but be patience, the phone rings a lot. Lots are nice and wide, hookups all worked and no trash and very little dog poop around. Propane service in the park. Get out and explore. Great city. If the RV doesn’t suit you, visitor lodging is available. I’ll come back 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
9-23 May 2018
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We booked our site with "Baker" via the telephone in October 2017 for a May 2018 - 2 week stay. We arrived in San Antonio from the south east via I-10 and with Baker's help over the telephone with the co-pilot, we eventually maneuvered our way onto post via the Walters Street gate. Once on post, there is absolutely no signage for the campground. Much of this is due to major road construction both on and off post. Consequentially many of the temporary roads are in bad shape, and it is a busy large post. We eventually found our way to the campground and we checked into our site. A good map emailed ahead of time with the available entrances and recommended approach would be a great help. We visited the Army Medical Department (AMEDD) and the Ft Sam Museum, both on post, both free and well worth a visit. Although we do not utilize them, we visited the restroom/shower/laundry facilities (2ea), they are in need of a good deep cleaning. Cobwebs abound, evidence of the lack of cleaning. And in the two weeks we were there, the grass was never mowed. The grass was about a foot high when we pulled out. The trains are about one or two an hour, and love to use their horn... otherwise the area is quiet. We enjoyed our stay in San Antonio, we'd return to this campground, however, the management needs to give up on the apparent hands-off, sit in the office, approach and perform daily inspections of the facilities and campsites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 12, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This review left using the Directory software by T.M. - The RV Park is fantastic. Large, very clean and well maintained. The park staff were always helpful and courteous. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The base is huge and can be confusing. Your GPS does not know which gate is permanently closed and which ones close at 2200 so don't rely on it. I found the main gate (Walter's St. Gate) and marked it on my iPhone GPS so we could enter and exit at the same place during our excursions. It is only 2 blocks from I-35 (Fort Sam Houston/Walter's St. exit). Otherwise the GPS brought us in at gates that were closed and recovering was very difficult. The PX and Commissary are only a block from the main gate also. Both are very large and there are several satellites around the base. Unfortunately none convenient to the RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived today and the bridge is complete. Following the original directions, once you enter the Nursery Road Gate, keep left. Take the very first left after the elementary school. There will be a sign there pointing to Army RV Camp. This is the new road across the bridge. We called on a Sunday and the Camp Host answered the phone. He was most pleasant and very helpful. On arrival, the office person was also most helpful. As previously posted, this is a great campground to spend a few days or a month. It even has a fenced in doggy run. We always enjoy San Antonio, and our return trip will most likely include this campground. Long pull through, level, cement, patio, with lots of space between sits. The way a campground should be laid out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed 2X, once on our way to Corpus Christi and then on our way back towards our NM home. Both stays we’re fine, On our way back we had a nice shaded site. We could only stay for 2 days as the camp was totally booked. I was shocked, it’s summer in SA, a 100 degrees! Moral of the story: you have to have advanced reservations!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Dec 9 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Although only for a 1 night stay, the RV park is very nice. The only problem was getting there. We followed the instructions in the posting which is good info but not this trip. There is major construction on I-35/I-410 exactly where you want to get off. It was no problem just very slow and rough. After we got to the RV park I asked about an alternate route and there is one. No matter which way you want to go, I recommend after exiting the base use Harry Wurzbach Rd North to I-410. This turned out to be very good road all the way. A lot less congestion and no construction. Best info is to call the office to make sure the construction is still ongoing and ask for recommendations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
165 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9