Elliott Lake Recreation Area

Elliott Lake Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.3 (29)
96042 0 19 1 28

User reviews

12 reviews with 5 stars
29 reviews
 
41%
 
52%
 
3%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0(29)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(29)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(29)
Value
 
4.5(29)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(29)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Aug 7, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Got there on 08/06, left 08/08; Haven't been there in 18 months or so. Army gate guard told me I needed additional forms to gain entrance and was told I needed to go to the adjacent building to get it. Have never had this happen befoe. I had my dog in the car and can't have her in the heat of the car while I'm away. Opened windows for the dog, went in the building. Civilian there told me to get a new ID card without my SSN on it. I told her , "Aw come on!! I have my dog in the Jeep". Let me slide. Gave me a form to give to the guard so I could have access. I was in Texarkana on business and the next day I returned to the base. Another Army MP looked at my ID and told me I need a new ID because my picture is like 20 years old. I mean really?!!! KMA. The people at the campgrounds were great, as always though. Cabin cost $75/night. Can't beat that for lakeside views. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
3 ~ 5 August 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Awesome Rec Area, Teesa was wonderful, the tent sites were well laid out, the trails were nicely maintained, the water feature was an absolute joy... oh yeah My singular gripe is absence of somewhere comfy to go sit and get lost in a good book... but hey I can live with that. I will SO go back to this FamCamp, first 5.0 I've given, ever! Ummmmm yeah, ya gotta get a pass at the gate but the office staff were wonderful and delightfully knowledgeable as to where to 'go/see/do' in the area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Loved this campground. Great place, beautiful tall pine trees, large sites. They have a beautiful lake. WiFi is bad, but with a campground this beautiful who needs wifi. Staff was very friendly. Laundry and bathrooms are clean and we'll taken care of. We would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is a hidden treasure! You have everything here. Swimming, boating (small craft) horse shoes, cabins, RV parking, movies on Saturday night outside, small store, Quiet, Quiet, off the beaten path for sure. There is a shoppette about 9 miles away with package store. This is a dry county. They have a gym, emergency medical. Great pizza right off the depot! No limit on your stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice Park, well kept and support personnel are super friendly. Had a fun time with pass and ID, great folks, easy to work with, very cordial, as with alot of military camp grounds lately, this campground has lots of extended stay people, but had room for a few travelers. Seems to be the norm now. Great place to stay and unwind.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 19-23, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
J.N. left this review using the Directory Software: - Great fishing lake. Limited short time spaces. Need a vehicle pass requires proof of insurance, registration and drivers license. Only two permanent military, Cmdr and CSM.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
March 2012
(Updated: March 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Directions into this facility and to the Main Gate (for trucks and heavy vehicles) were super. Getting stickers for our vehicles (something we had intended to do) was made easy by the efficient folks in the office just outside the Main Gate. We even had room to park and not unhook our tow vehicle! Our GPS read the streets, which are rather busy with lots of vehicle movement, and helped us find our way. The campground is really nice, with the older sites currently being upgraded to full hook-ups. There is great access to the lake, wonderful equipment for rent at terrifically reasonable prices. The staff could not have been nicer. This is a wonderful place for families, with really lovely cabins for those without camping vehicles. We rented a pontoon boat for an entire day's fishing (awesome), took kayaks out on the lake, rode our bicycles, walked and enjoyed the quiet. The laundry and shower facilities were very clean. We will definitely keep this on the list for a return visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
30 Sep 2011
(Updated: October 02, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is just an outstanding campground! Signage is great but it would be difficult to see at night as its awfully dark. Even though they don't take reservations, I called the morning we were coming and the man on the phone told me he'd place a cone in the campsite for us. Sure enough, we got here and we got the last full hook up site. He even told us someone else came before us and he told him the site was taken. We really appreciated that! Everyone at the camp store was so friendly and accommodating. The price of $10 with access pass is just GREAT and about as low as we ever pay as fulltimers. The campsites were far enough apart to suit us and the pine tree setting is just beautiful. We have a 39 foot unit and didn't have too much problem backing into our site but you do have to have long hoses for sewage and water (which we do). We managed to get at least 10 stations on our TV with just the antenna. Verizon wireless worked beautifully here. Yes, getting the MWR badge was a new experience for us, but it was quick and painless and the people were friendly and professional. Nobody told us there were any binocular exclusions so I don't know what that's all about. The gate guards were really great too. Two weeks is the limit to stay here and we're paying day by day as we are waiting for an appointment to get warranty repairs done in Houston on our 5th wheel. We will certainly be back here again. It is really beautiful and the smell of the pines is so relaxing. The free movies and popcorn are on Saturday night and they're new movies, outside, shown on a big screen. OH and we had 50 amp on our site so I don't know about the comment made in 2007.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
April 5th - April 7, 2011
(Updated: April 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The directions were excellent. The campgrounds are right 7 miles from the main gate. During our stay all of the full hooks at the country store area were being used. We stayed at a new location, which I believe had 12 sites. This new location is about 1/8 of a mile from the country store. It was excellent. Very clean with very flat pads. (Easy to level the trailer) The restrooms and showers were very clean, however most of the showers were hard to turn on or off. The country store only had limited supplies, but the ladies that worked there were very polite and helpful. Starting in May they will begin the outdoor movies at sundown. The lake was low so they were not renting any of their boats until the lake returns to normal levels. There are signs stating 14 day limits, but it appeared some campers have been there much longer. We will most likely stay here again. In a travel trailer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 2009
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second visit here. This time I took a refresher sailing course from Doug White with MWR. He is an excellent instructor. They offer free use of the 4 different sailboats, 18ft Precision, 15ft Precision, 17ft Big Fish, and a cat. If you ever have wanted to learn to sail or even wanted to try it, Doug is your man. Sailing brings a wonderful peace to your soul. Boat and motor rentals are $25 a day or $10 an hour and you need to bring your own anchor unless drifting around while you fish is your thing. They just got some kayaks and they will be able to be used in the near future. I do not know if there will be a rental fee or not. The canoes are $10 a day. Our cabin had two sets of french doors that opened out to the deck which of course overlooked the lake. As usual Teesa, Ricky, and the rest of the staff at the campground were more than wonderful. They are the kind of people that you would want as neighbors. Anyway, if you want peace and quiet in a great setting, this is the place to visit.
T
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 8-11, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WOW. This was our first time to visit RRAD and I am sorry that I haven't visited earlier. We rented a cabin. All cabins are on the water, have decks, completely shaded with trees and are nicely furnished. Boat rentals are priced right and the sailboats (3) are free to use if you are ASA certified. The lake itself is large and because it is on a military installation it is like having your own private lake as very few people are boating/fishing. At dusk, the fire flies light up the grounds. Yes it was a hassle getting the MWR badges however the people in Security were friendly and did give fast service. But since when has anything with the government been hassle free? The drive to the lake once inside the gate takes about 10 minutes but you are back in the woods, like campgrounds ought to be. I tip my hat to the MWR staff there. EVERYONE of them treated you like a good neighbor, like a guest in their home. Bring whatever bait you want to use for fishing as they have a small selection of bait in the country store.
We will be back at least once a quarter.
T
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
February 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We decided to stop for 7 days traveling from Michigan weather. Rather difficult finding the campground at night, we pulled into the boat launch area and had to unhook our dinghy so that we could turn-around. At the gate we were asked to turn in our binoculars, after doing so the guards did not know what to do with them so they gave them back to me and told me not to use them on-site (which I had no intention of doing). We enjoyed our stay once we settled in and we are planning on stopping again on our way SouthWest. Very peaceful and quiet setting and worth what we paid. Don't forget your badge!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12