Elliott Lake Recreation Area

Elliott Lake Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.3 (30)
96042 0 19 1 32

User reviews

15 reviews with 4 stars
30 reviews
 
40%
 
53%
 
3%
 
3%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0(30)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(30)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(30)
Value
 
4.5(30)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(30)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15
Ordering
Oct 22, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This Army base is just off I-30 (Exit 207) with the famcamp on the back side of the base. The civilian guards did ask to search the motorhome and about any weapons (none) but just took a quick look inside. The famcamp staff was very helpful, told me to pick a site, setup and then come and register our site. There are no registrations with a first come first serve for the camping but reservations are taken for the rental cabins. The prices went up this year $20 a night or $17 a night monthly rate and $15 a night or $14 a night monthly rate with the Golden Age/Senior NP Pass. Extra water hose is a must but all campsites are full hookups. Our site # 34 is on a point with Elliott Lake on three sides and a wide concrete slab for parking with grill and picnic table. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19 December 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We arrived at the base at night - 2030. We transport firearms in our RV, and the gate guard asked, so we told. Were turned around, and fortunately the entrance was big enough to get our 45 foot fifth wheel turned around. Pulled out of the gate, onto the side lane, turned hazards on and began looking for a place to stay. After a little bit, security pulled up and checked us out, then told us policy is that you can lock up firearms for 5 days. So we ended up being able to stay - security forces were awesome and helped out. The campground is way in the back of the base - altogether, not the most convenient for an overnight, but would be a great place for true camping. Nice campground with lots of trees and pull thru sites. It's dark and the trees are close to the pad, so try to arrive in the light or a tree may jump out and get you. We were close a couple times. Bring at least 50 feet of water hose, the water spigots are oddly placed. Some sites may even require 75-100 feet. Other utilities are good. The pull thru sites are designed to hold two units, but we were able to get one to ourselves. Look up - there is one low wire that concerned me on one of the cut thru's at the entrance, so we avoided it. We had no issues with ID at the gate, so as far as the other reviews are concerned, it wasn't an issue. LTE coverage for ATT and Verizon seemed sketchy last night. We didn't hook up any external antennas, so that may have helped. This morning it seems to be ok, so maybe nighttime atmospherics killed it last night. Lot's of forest management trails in the area - I was able to take our German Short Haired Pointer for a long bike ride this morning, off leash in the woods. This would be a great place to spend a week or two camping, may come back just to get away for a bit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
June 9, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I've been told that this is a partially closed Army Post, if so why civilian security guards? First you have to turn right before proceeding to the Gate and present your proof of insurance, vehicle registration and military ID to civilian personnel. Be very careful the parking area is very tight, my 39' plus tow was extremely tight. Turn right out of the parking lot and proceed to the Gate. They will then have you pull over and inspect your motorhome while you and your family stand outside. If they are happy with the way it looks you can proceed to the campground. I will not come here again. They performed a "search" not an "inspection". An inspection requires the owner's participation and to be accompanied, a "search" the owner stands by and watches.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 2
Aug 2016
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
well where to begin?? let me preface with this, ALL the NEGATIVE associated with this place/review is due to the front gate/admin personnel and not the lake personnel... upon arriving we went to the pass/id office for our passes, as soon as i pulled out my older non-barcoded id card i was told that either i would have to go next door to get a new one or i would not be able to enter? i asked the clerk why he could not manually enter my info into the temporary pass system like they do at ALL the installations we visit in the united states? he said it would not allow him to do that? i told him that i was not going to go next door and get a new card as my card is VALID at ALL military installations in the good ol us of a!! he said this was the problem, this depot is civilian run and the rules were different, then he asked me if my wife was a us citizen(because she only had her drivers license with her in the office) i asked him if the provost marshal was a military member and if he/she was that he better make a phone call asap cause i was gettin mighty mad at this point!! the pm called back and after the clerk explained what he had told me the pm said to issue us a pass and let me get on my way, so after an hour of interrogation we were finally headed to the lake.... we went to the lake office to check in and was told to go find a spot, get set up and come back when settled, so i asked what spots were open, i was told this info was not avail so i would have to just go find an open spot? so we drove to the sites back towards the gate which you first pass on the way to the office, this is the newest location which has concrete pads, the others are dirt. so we grabbed the only open spot outta 15 and got set up(rest were full timers). all spots are very close to the lake and only take about 1 min to walk to the water. we went back to the office the next day to settle up and was told the registration system was going to be down for the rest of the week so i manually filled out a ticket and was on my way, after telling my gate experience to the camp office gal she gave me the contact info to the person in charge of those civilians so i could express my concerns, she then gave me a run down on the area attractions and we grabbed the fishin poles to relax and forget about things for a bit(even though i was still very agitated at the whole ordeal) so like i said once you get past the front gate and actually arrive at the lake to begin your camp vacation all is very very nice and relaxing, there are many items to rent at mwr for the lake and plenty of space for walking/running/biking/hiking or just relaxing!!! make sure you bring enough food so that you do not have to go off post, but if you need to there is a walmart in new boston 5 miles down the road for whatever you need including fuel. if it was not for the civilian personnel at the front who immediately ruin your vacation mood i would come back, but i just don't feel like returning because next time i will not be able to hold my tongue/temper at a staff who is ignorant to the meaning of an id card with no barcode and who forgets WHO this recreation area was made for!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 20 4
January 29, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped over for one night at Elliott Lake on a trip to Virginia. We arrived late - around 2100 - and had a little bit of difficulty finding an open spot. They don't accept reservations and even though they have around forty or so spaces, many of them are filled with long-term residents. Most of the open spaces were reserved for 14-day or more camping only. Lighting is pretty poor so be careful as you negotiate the area at night. Signage is also pretty scarce and the layout of the park is not easily navigated (there are really three separate campsite areas, two of which are connected). For our purposes, the park was not convenient - located on the far southern edge of the post, about seven miles south of the main gate. Having said all that, Elliott lake is a hidden gem in the East Texas pineywoods! It's beautiful and remote and the perfect place to take the family for very inexpensive outdoor fun. As a late-night stopover on a trip, it's not ideal, but as a vacation spot, it's perfect. We can't wait to re-visit and stay for a longer time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 10, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a great place to stay. I was living here for a few months when we first moved to Texarkana and I loved living here at the lake. The trip into town was the hardest part of the stay, but there are oppurtunites to see nature everywhere. Be careful about your speed on base, even though the streets seem deserted at night there are security cops everywhere. A ticket on base requires an appearance in federal court in Texarkana.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
19 Dec 2013
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
E.K. left this review using the Directory software: - First time at this campground. The GPS kept trying to take me off road to get to GPS coordinates. Called to contact number and received great directions to main gate and on to the campground. Found the host very friendly and helpful. Campground clean and well kept. Will come back for an extended visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 Apr - 6 May 2013
(Updated: May 01, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I got here 10 Apr 2013. You have to register all your vehicles either with a permanent or temp pass, It's a ways into the base there is a new exit 207 on I-30 it leads you right into the main gate. There is an AAFES exchange about 2 miles west on US 82 it's a small one since this county is dry you have to get beer and liquor here or go into Arkansas. They have a new section with full hook ups so they don't have rest rooms or shore, if you want to use them you will have to go to the office building, they are not planning on putting any in the new section. Fire wood is plentyfull it's laying all over in the woods. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are WalMart's on east or west directions on US 82 in New Boston or Texarkana. I enjoed my stay and recomend it and I will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 20, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped for only one night, but wish we had time for a longer stay. This time of the year, it was real quiet, although the RV sites were about 75% occupied. Located in a quiet corner of the depot, this is pure recreation. LOTS of recreational activities to do here. I bet it's a jumping place during the summer! Lots of trees, so satellite coverage may be difficult to get. Staff was helpful and friendly. The cabins looked pretty neat and would be fun to rent for a week or weekend. I liked how the cabins were spread out on the lake with good views. Some renters even had their bot pulled right up to the shore near them. Prices are PERFECT for a military benefit. This is how ALL military campgrounds should be priced!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
8-31-08 through 9-2-08
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I came to this camp ground to get away from Hurricane Gustav. We were looking for a camp that had cabins along with camping spots. I brought my family and some of my wife's family to this campground. This was one of the better camps we have visited. The staff was very helpful, the facility was clean, and the children had plenty to do. The cabins are great. They had two bedrooms and satellite TV for the children. Between swimming, fishing, and playing on the play ground we didn't have to entertain them. My thanks to the staff for helping us during the time of evacuation. We did however get lucky to get a full hookup. A camper left two hours before I pulled in. He had been their for five months. My only negative I have is the dryer didn't dry very well. It had to go through four cycles to get our clothes dry.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 16, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
P.R. left this review using the Directory software: Beautiful. peaceful spot along the way. It is a small hassle getting in the gate but the park i worth the hassle. Good road for the 10 or so miles to get to park and abeautiful drive through the trees. People on duty are very courtesy, helpful and a joy to meet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
23-25 March 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I really enjoyed the campground. It is quite a distance from the Interstate but when you arrive you find a beautiful lake. There are boats and associated accessories available. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The 16 camp sites with sewer are crowded having 2 rv's per pull through. Sewer and water are a little displaced from the parking spots. I had to get out my extra long water hose and the sewer dumps are greater than 20 feet from the camping spot. No 50 amp service. At the time of my visit most spots were filled with full timers. There is a community center that is fabulous if a small group decided to use the site for a rally.
DW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A nice quiet campground removed from everything. A very pretty, large lake. A great place to bicycle (don't forget the badge) with miles of roads and zero traffic except at quitting time. About 50 total spaces, many used by long term residents. A great campground on a lake with pontoon boats, rental cabins, paddle boats, playgrounds, conference center. Many are full hookups, but satellite tv is impossible without a portable dish due to heavy pine tree coverage.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just spent one night, so have a limited opinion. Gate security and campground personnel were very pleasant to work with. Had no trouble finding a full hook-up site very close to the lake (which is entirely on government property). I did not fish, but was told by several people the crappie fishing is outstanding. Only downside was some pockets of the campground were miniature ghettos, with permanent base-workers living there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2003
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very pretty campground with trees and some pull thru sites. Right on a lake. Attendants were very helpful and pleasant. Quite a long drive through the base to get to the campground. Base was on closure list so don't know if the campground is still operating at this time. (Editors note: Barney since verified the campground is NOT closed and is in full operation.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 results - showing 1 - 15