Midway RV Park

FeaturedNew
 
4.2 (97)
83496 1 16 0 33

User reviews

42 reviews with 5 stars

97 reviews

 
(44)
 
(41)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (97)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (97)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (97)
Value 
 
4.2  (97)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (97)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
August 21, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I really like this campground. The sites are large and easy to get into, however all backends no pull thru's. Very clean and the campground host Roxi is super nice. The rates have gone up a couple of dollars to $23.00 a night. The south gate is open and it is the closest to the campground. One drawback for large rigs are the barriers going in and out of the gate. Go VERY slow and watch yourself this is not an easy base to enter or exit. New phone number for the RV office (MWR ticket office) 901-874-5652.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 18-21, 2019
(Updated: June 20, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived at the campground and was met by Roxi, who told me to pick a vacant site and get set up. She was very polite and helpful, explaining the check in process and things to see in the area. During duty hours, you have to go to the MWR Recreation Center to complete the check in process. The sites are long level concrete and easy to back in to. The tall trees kept me from getting a satellite signal, but a good choice of channels on antenna. The deer that came out of the woods kept my grandson entertained. If you enter the base from the south gate, don't pull into the commercial truck lane. The civilian security guards will speak to you harshly and let you know that is for commercial trucks only. RV's have to work their way thru the serpentine.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 15-29, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent 14 nights in a motorhome with W/S/E-50 Amp. Our site was a back-in with a concrete pad, patio, sidewalk and metal picnic table. The connections were conveniently located enabling easy hook-up. We were able to use our DISH Tailgater and also received numerous TV channels via antenna. The Wi-Fi was very good and we had no problem getting our AT&T phone signal. The laundry facilities are clean with two washers and dryers that can be used free of charge. Downtown Memphis is about 17 miles away with many touring and eating options. We also recommend visiting the Alex Haley Museum and Boyhood Home in Henning just 30 miles north. Overall, we give this campground an “Excellent” rating and would definitely stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
17 - 24 Oct 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed a week in our 36' motorhome. Sites are very level, plenty long & wide. W/E/S all worked fine. Camp host can be a little "gruff" at first, but he warmed up quickly. We spent the week getting our new rig winterized & ready for storage, but did do a bit of touring around Memphis (Gibson Guitar factory, Civil Rights Museum, Bass Pro shop store.) All in all, a pleasant visit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 9-12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Chose this park because if its' proximity to Memphis. We had made reservations for September 10 & 11, but we had made good travel time and got there a day early. They were able to accommodate us on such short notice. Picked our spot (15) which is near the back of the park. Plenty of room for our 36' Motor Home and our Jeep. Concrete pad, picnic table and full hook up. Hosts were very amiable and visible. Park was about 2/3 full, though there were about 5 spots that were out of order due to no power. Plenty of room between spots. There is a very large dog park (separated for large and small dogs) across the street. There is a big ditch which has a bridge over it to get there. It would be nice to have one directly across from the park, instead of having to walk down the road, cross over and then back up to the park, but it just gave us more exercise! The grass was a little high in the RV park, as was mentioned in another review, but not so high that you couldn't walk through it. Great location, right behind the commissary, and short distance to the Exchange. Overall, a very nice, safe park. Seeing the herd of deer was an added bonus! Would stay here again, for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April/May, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This park is laid out like 3 wagon wheels and, as a result, has plenty of room. No crowding at all. It is surrounded on 3 sides by woods allowing for quiet and privacy. Each pad is concrete and wide enough for a small patio and walkway. The roads and circular area in the center of the wagon wheel are all asphalt. The parking for your tow vehicle or toad is great! Again, because of the wagon wheel configuration, you have excessive parking area in front of the RV without being in anybody's way. Each site has full hookup and most have open sky for great satellite reception. There are also sites with shade trees. There is free laundry - nice and clean with a TV, desk, couch, chair, etc. in the room for comfort. That is also where the showers are. My husband said the men's shower wasn't too clean. The park is located just behind the commissary - within walking distance. The Exchange is nearby; it's a nice base. This has been a great RV park to spend the last 12 days and we wouldn't hesitate to come back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 25-27, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great Military Campground, one of the best that we stayed at over the past six weeks. One update is the GPS location - correct GPS is 35.328302,-89.865079 this will bring you to the South Gate entrance. Happy Camping!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July-August 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for 2 months over the summer due to some repair work needed on our motorhome. They were usually pretty full while we were there. There are quite a number of long-term and permanent residents, both active duty and retired, along with a few trailers that appeared to be just parked on a site with no one actually staying there regularly. All the pads are back-in, 50 amps full hookups with plenty of space to maneuver. Pads are cement and there's plenty of space between most sites. Most of the sites have some shade with only a couple that are completely open to the sky. You aren't assigned a site#. Instead, you choose your site from any of the available ones there. You can also move to another empty site if you don't like the one you're in. You just have to update the park on your new site. We had some electrical problems for a few days after we arrived but the park manager personally changed the circuit breaker on the pedestal as soon as he could and problem solved. Water pressure was great, free wifi was good enough to check email. Free HE washers and dryers worked great. Bath house always looked clean. The grass was trimmed regularly in the park. There's a dog park across the street and plenty of areas to walk the dog. The two camp hosts are great about being visible and available. They were both active duty so they shared the hosting job depending on their schedules. During the week, a park employee is available to check in travelers in the laundry/bath house. It's a well managed and well maintained park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
May 28-Jun3 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The site had plenty of maneuvering room. All concrete. The convenience of being right behind the commissary was great. The shade trees and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Great running and walking paths on base. The outside track on base is almost complete. Wi-Fi was great. It would nice to see cable and a pool on base. Overall it was a great experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Be sure to locate the North Gate if arriving after hours or on the weekend. Instructions to the North Gate (on Navy Road) are in Larry's direction. Free washers and good wifi are a definite plus. Back in parking spaces are well laid out with lots of room to maneuver. Park is located in back of the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 28 - December 23, 2016
(Updated: January 30, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved this campground and base. All of the sites are paved back-in sites and although a few permantee's there always seemed to be quite a few spaces open. We reserved online and although it was still first come, first served for the sites the reservation allowed us to call in to MWR and give them our site number. Commissary is next door, plenty of sidewalks for walking, NEX is just down the street and if Walmart, Lowes, or Starbucks are needed they are about 5 miles away. Will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
September 28-29, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had not visited this RV park for a couple of years, but we had good memories of our previous visit. Customer service has improved, since our last visit, and Taryn was very pleasant and helpful getting us checked in. Our site was a level, concrete back-in site with plenty of room to maneuver. The access roads are all paved. The hookups were great, there is a free laundromat at the RV park, and the GoWiFi was good. The commissary is literally right around the corner, the NEX is 5 minutes away, and there is a great little water park (within walking distance) for kids. The only negative is that there is no recycling on site, but minimal recycling (cardboard, clear plastic, and aluminum cans) is available in the commissary parking lot. We would definitely stay here again if we were traveling through the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 26, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great little park, nicely maintained, Taryn was a friendly and professional receptionist who checked us in; exceptionally nice free laundry facility and showers. Just stayed one night. North of Memphis about 15 miles but that makes it nice, quiet and peaceful. Spacious area between sites and shade. Walking and nature trails nearby. Commissary is easy walking distance. Definitely worth a stop for only $20 a night. Can't do better anywhere else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 21, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is absolutely on of the best Fam-Camps I've stayed in and if you want/need to be in the Millington area. campground backs up to the commissary and you pass the NEX if you enter from the singleton road gate., That's where my 4 on the amenities rating comes from they "Don't have Diesel" But it available in Millington proper at multiple locations. Oh and go to the PIG&WHISTLE for your local barbecue fix, maybe not the best BBQ in the world but real good everything I had there, it was clean and staff were friendly. Just so everyone is aware they have been constantly upgrading the campground for a couple of years, new washers/dryers (frontload and free)upgraded wi/fi 4 separate routers no dropping issues anymore. Campground host (Rich) is active duty but will always come to your trailer and welcome you ,if he's not deployed or working. Taryn is the campground liaison and is usually power washing the pads, cleaning the bathhouse welcoming new guests and is extremely sweet... pretty too for you young guys. HOWEVER they are planning to start in October/November 2016 to start replacing the concrete Pads. Some of the existing ones are in great shape some are broken to pieces cracked and falling apart. So BEWARE during this period there "could be" a slot shortage. There are 34 slots and 24 are slated for replacement so normally you don't have to call but after October I'd call...just to be sure Talk to Taryn/Rich or Andy they'll have the updates. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
11 - 12 June 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the better military campgrounds I have visited.  Sites are large and level on concrete pads.  WiFi and cable are excellent.  It is a little out of the way but if you are just passing through,  it is perfect.  No diesel on the base.  Commissary and BX are nearby.  
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have been coming here off and on for 8 years.  This place just keeps getting better and better.  They are going to put in a new bath house and pour new concrete on the sites.  They just put in new front loader washer/dryers and they are free.  The manager, Andy and his maintenace crew have really kept this park in great shape.  The MWR check in people are great and the camp hosts are awesome.  Security here is great and its right next to Commissary and dog park. Millington is a nice little town with great restaurants. You can spend the day seeing the sights in Memphis and spend quiet evenings in the park.  I met some friends here that were only going to stay for a week and they wound up staying a month. I travel extensively and I have seen this park become one of the best managed rv parks in the country.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
October 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here during a trip to Memphis and were very happy with the campground. It seems to be an old trailer park so the pads a very large and have full hookups. The area is very clean and well maintained and our site had nice shade trees. It was nice being located on the base because you had full access to all of the facilities to include the ITT office if you wanted to buy tickets to the local attractions. It is not real close to the downtown area but it is close enough that the drive was not bad. We went to the zoo, Graceland, and the downtown area while we were there and the longest drive was about 30 minutes. As with all military campgrounds the price was great and the personnel were friendly and very helpful. We highly recommend a trip to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken in the downtown area, you won't be disappointed. We also ate at The Central BBQ (Downtown) and I highly recommend this place for traditional Memphis BBQ. Memphis also has a wonderful zoo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22/23OCT2015
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fantastic park. Easy access through South Gate (when it is actually open, so call ahead to verify which gate to use) and right behind the Commissary. Very easy to maneuver even the largest rigs and trailers in here, once you get past the front gates. Plenty of wide, level, paved spaces with picnic tables. Laundry facilities and bathroom (toilet in a stall, dual sinks and vanities in womens, urinal and single sink in mens) showers were great (so clean my wife said she'd go barefoot in them), water pressure throughout facility was good. Two free, high-efficiency front-loader washers that featured a 'short-wash' cycle (perfect for RV worn clothes) and two free dryers. The entire building doubles as a lounge with a huge table for folding your laundry, iron and ironing board (just like berthing back on the ship!!!), comfy chairs, cable TV, relatively current magazines and a desk/chair in case you bring your laptop. Best part of the facility was the cleaning crew that showed up every morning and left the place spotless! The only downside was waiting for people to come and fetch their laundry, leaving several guests waiting their turn. Camp host checked in with us the morning after we finally made it in, although we had already gotten our space info and checked in with the office when we arrived around 2000. Apparently they've had some issues with people showing up late and packing out early while forgoing payment on their space.  Dumpster was near our space, but there was no recycling program noted and I'm uncertain if the waste management company has a sorting facility for recycling. Wifi was good around the park (our antenna was next to the laundry), and from our spot we had clear HD signal from both Dish and OTA antenna, which yielded a dozen regular TV channels and another dozen shopping/religious/ESL channels, all with crystal clear signal. South end of the park has a row of tall trees that could provide shade in summer months, but may also interfere with your dish. Other spaces had trees around them, but they were not so dense that they'd block the signal. Sprint and AT&T had good service, but we didn't need to use our Hotspot devices. We can certainly understand why this is such a popular FamCamp, and will eagerly stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Oct. 23-26 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Just to let you know RV's no longer have to enter the truck gate, they have a high gate to the right of the car entrance. I was told this by the guard at the truck entrance. Also when you get there just pick a site and call in to the MWR as to what site you have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
7 September 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice facility but watch when approaching the commissary or one could miss the appropriate turn and went past Polaris; however, driving a Class A rig towing a car managed to get to the campground with minimal aggravation. Great wifi and nice facility with shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
42 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3