Midway RV Park

FeaturedNew
 
4.2 (97)
83496 1 16 0 33

User reviews

41 reviews with 4 stars

97 reviews

 
(44)
 
(41)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (97)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (97)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (97)
Value 
 
4.2  (97)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (97)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
July 7-11. 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived late afternoon on Sunday 7/7/19. Must enter the base by the main gate at the intersection of Wasp Avenue and (TN 205) Navy Road. Learned that the South Gate is closed for renovation of the gate guard shelters until further notice. The main gate does have a serpentine entrance. It was a bit tight for our F150 & 28 ft airstream. I was told that big rigs don't have a problem using this gate (and there were a lot of big rigs at the campground). Upon arrival we stopped the mailbox that gave us instructions. We had reservations which guarantee a site. We looked around a picked an empty site to occupy. Within 10 minutes of arrival the weekend host greeted us and gave us instructions. We called the MWR Rec Center at 901-874-5455 (alternative # to one listed in book and best # to call) to report our site selection. I had several interactions with the full time host, Roxi. She was super helpful, friendly and seems a diligent and hard working campground host. The published phone number to reach camp host is 901-508-1992. This is our first military campground stay. The major disappointment was the state of the bathhouse - it is in dire need of attention. There is only 1 working shower (in the men's restroom). Both men and women's bathroom need renovation. Certainly not an acceptable situation in my mind. I use the provided showers typically because of mobility issues and having to take a shower there was not a pleasant experience. What we LOVED about this campground: The Commissary is literally next door. It's good sized and has everything you might want AND it's open on Sunday. Large and well stocked NEX Shopette and gas station 2 blocks away All sites are full hookup Spacious between sites Very secure and quiet Free laundry (2 large capacity washers and dryers) Friendly neighbors Dog park within walking distance Reasonably close to Memphis for sightseeing Free wifi. Speed test using Speedcheck campground provided wifi: download 3.0 Mbps and upload 2.8 Mbps. With Verizon hotspot and antennae: download 29.47 Mbps and upload 9.94 Mbps. Speeds were better early in the morning and later in the evening. We were able to stream videos from YouTube without a problem using our hotspot and antennae. Using our onboard antennae pointed to the nearest tower we were able to access 20 digital TV channels including ABC and CBS for local news and weather. We would certainly come back again.
Midway RV Park
Midway RV Park
Midway RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We've stayed here twice before and each time have had good experiences. Midway is conveniently located not too far from I40 and the memphis metro area so it provides a good stopping over point on North-South and East West trips. Reserving through the centralized Navy system is pretty easy (save for the wait time on hold) and the campground process is easy: pull in, find and open site, and call the MWR to let them know you're there and in which site. My only complaint is about a common issue with most military famCamps; the homesteaders. Midway is not NEARLY as bad as some we've been to but there are still issues. We were located next to a fifth wheel with wooden deck steps placed up to the door, and there were 2 freezers and multiple ice chests outside the rig which did not appear to have been moved in some time. There was another site that was using a large residential propane cylinder that sat along side the RV. The rules on Midway's brochure explicitly prohibit this activity but are obviously unenforced. Hopefully, this will be addressed not only at Midway but other FamCamps as well. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
November 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Was called on the road to just drive in and pick a spot. Apparently that’s word didn’t get passed to the park manager. Accused me of blowing past him at an astonishing 5 mph. Got worse after that when he told me trailers are not allowed. When I made the reservation I always state it’s a 40’ with a trailer. No where on the web site does it say trailers are not allowed either. Thankfully we came to an agreement and I as able to park. Other than that not a bad place. Good internet, no cable but great HD Tv. Won’t be coming back though. Too hard to get to. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Be careful when backing into some of the spot because of the slopes you may hit your hitch or generator pipe. You may notice some of the scrapes on the pavement. We have a 43ft motorhome and backed at a angle. Plenty of space between sites. The host was rude, he introduced himself followed by I wish you people with these big busses would stop tearing up my concrete. As I reply I don't give a shit about your concrete its my $400.000 bus I worry about. So we exchanged words and he left. The grass was extremely high and looks like it had been weeks since it was mowed. However, with that said we would stay again (bring a weed eater) and limit my conversation with the host. Plenty of space between sites and a lot of room for big rigs. Ours is a 43ft motorhome. Sites are all 50ft I think so just pick one with less slope backing in. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
June 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
$21 day for concrete slab with water/sewer/electric/WiFi and picnic table Pros FREE laundry!! They have brand new machines in the check in building that are free of charge Sites were level and long- plenty of room for even the biggest rigs Shade trees covering many of the sites which was perfect for us to keep the van cooler Walking distance to the commissary (closed Mondays) Only 30 mins away from the heart of Memphis Relatively speedy internet connection Take a book leave a book (or movie or CD) located in the check in building Clean temperature controlled bathrooms Walking distance to Recreation center (free movies) and Club (BINGO Wednesday and Friday) Great Verizon cell coverage Cons Sites choice is first come, first serve which worked out well for us but could be frustrating for larger rigs Everything on the base closes around 7/8pm Be mindful of the gnarly speed bumps we lost a few items off our shelves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8-11 Apr 18
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First time here. If in the area again, would definitely stay. Reserved a site via Navy lodging. Arrived and found a site. Several sites were out of order. Most sites are setup like cul de sacs and all sites are back-in. Easy to do with so much room to maneuver. Entered via the north gate (Navy Rd) and had no problem driving my longbed dually pulling my 40' fifthwheel. School buses use this gate, too. The Singleton gate is slightly easier, and is MUCH closer to the RV park. Base dog park is about a 5 min walk. Nice big areas for large and small dogs across a foot bridge and down the road. Walking distance to the commissary. No diesel for sale on base. Auto Skills Center and car wash are about a quarter mile across the road from the Navy Road gate. Remember to stop at the stop sign a wait for the guard to wave you forward. Saw a newly assigned sailor get chewed out when he didn't.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Mat 20-23, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Some comments to add to the recent ones: Camp Hosts were away when we arrived so we chose a site and phoned MWR; were able to check in over the phone (+ +). At the time we were here, there were always 4 to 8 open sites (for last minute reservations). There is a very nice fruit & veggie stand about a mile south of the Singleton Gate, left side; easy to miss; convenient turn-around to get to it. Singleton Gate IS closed on weekends! Meeman-Shelby Forest State Park, west of Millington at the Mississippi River, is a family recreation area. Boating, biking and hiking are available. Less than 30 minutes from the base, it's a nice way to spend a half or full day. We enjoy Midway RV Park and will continue to spend a few days here as we head west (or east). 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 26 - 27 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the stay.  The ride up 51 is a little long with the traffic lights and traffic, but getting on base through the Singleton Ave gate is easy.  Once you're through the gate, it's only a couple of quick right turns to the park.  There is a mailbox at the entry of the park with site and check in information.  We were not greeted by the camp host, so we just went to the back and picked an empty site. The layout makes it very easy to back in, but be careful of your rear stabilizers as there is a decent hill entering each site.  Sites are concrete and more than big enough for any size rig.  Not a whole lot of shade throughout the park.  Utilities were fine and no issue with placement of hookups.  WiFi worked well, no cable, but plenty of over the air channels.  Many long term residents had satellite dishes out, so looks like a clear line of sight for that.  The laundry has two new washers and two new dryers that are free.  The laundry/bathhouse is clean and we'll kept. My only complaint is the requirement of checking in with the camp host then having to go to the rec office across base to pay for the site.  Seems redundant to me. All in all it is a very nice park, even though we don't plan on returning to Memphis, we would stay there again if passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 28, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our first RV Campground stay, after our recent motorhome purchase, so we really have nothing to compare to. Our stay was mostly to practice and get familiar with our motorhome testing out all the bells and whistles. - LOCATION is conveniently located behind the commissary, which is awesome if you are staying enroute and need to replenish supplies and save money without boon docking at Walmart. - CLEANLISNESS/HOSPITALITY was GREAT, we were greeted by the Camp Host with a welcome aboard package as soon as we pulled up. The site was extremely clean. - AMENTIES/FACILITIES were not all used. No complaints with power, water, sewage, or wifi. We did not see or use the bath house, because we were self contained. - VALUE was good. Overall, the site was well maintained and would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 3-5, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our second stay here. Camp Hosts Richard and Tammy are tops in hospitality! EASY access to the RV Park from the gate. Spacious sites, though several (10 or so) were out of order; reservations recommended. You can have sun or shade or both. Walk to the commissary if your shopping list is small. Free laundry. Bathroom w/shower accommodates only one person at a time. It appears the conditions cited in the November 2013 review have been addressed and corrected. 30 minutes to downtown Memphis. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23/24 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First time visit, passing through to Louisiana. Place was clean and camp host was friendly. Small base so everything, the Club shopping and ITT were close. The only concern was the emergency storm shelter is far away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May 17-21, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
N.D. left this review using the Directory software: - very nice campsites. all back in on circles. all concrete pads w/ elc wtr & swr hook ups at pedistle. Nicely wooded, lots of green grass and trees. club house dated but clean and serviceable. 2 free washers and dryers (1 dryer needs repair) Large rest rooms and showers completely private for individual use and lockable from main area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
December 2, 2012
(Updated: December 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the first Military Campground that we have ever stayed in. We stopped here for the night on our way to Texas, we had been driving for 11 hours in heavy thunderstorms, and we were exhausted, cold and hungry. We did not have reservations, we stopped in and called the number posted at the entry to the campground. The lady who answered the phone was very friendly and immediately got us into a campsite. As we were backing into our space, a truck pulled in and 2 men got out. They assisted my husband who is 100% DAV, with setting up our camper. The sites were roomy and very easy to maneuver our 30 foot 5th wheel into. It was extremely windy and cold outside. As I entered our camper, I was horrified to discover that one of our slide outs had leaked rain in as we had been traveling and the carpeting was soaked half way through our camper. I immediately relayed this information to my husband and "Joe" who was the guy helping set us up. Joe instructed the younger guy who was helping him, to go get a shop vac, which they brought back to our camper. Both my husband and I have multiple disabilities, and Joe observing this, used the shop vac to soak up all of the water, even moved the sofa to vac under there. He then set up one of the fans we had with us to assist the floor to dry, which it did overnite, thank goodness!! This is an experience that will remain with us forever, the impression we recieved of the help and kindness of the workers at this campground. We will definetly return and am anxious to visit other military campgrounds with this type of hospitality, a great impression on 1st timers. This campground is very clean, bath house is very nice, and even supplies a hair dryer. The commissary is located conveniently right beside the campground. This is definetly one we would recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 5-9 2012
(Updated: November 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I was stationed in Millington back in the mid 70's and it was nice to come back and see all the changes. The campground was very quiet with only 7 or 8 campers being occupied. There were quite a few campers that we saw no one and looked like they had been there for awhile. The TV in the lounge/bathhouse did not work, it did not even have a cable or antenna connected to it. The golf course and club house was outstanding. We entered the base from TN 385 going in the South Gate, which puts just a couple blocks from the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 27 to Sept 4, 2012
(Updated: August 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The web site shows that there is Diesel, however the base service station does not have it. Very friendly staff at the office.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 22-24, 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Entered from hwy 385 at the south gate. Lanes are very narrow, and slalom comes are extremely close together; you have to take it slow entering. Commissary is within walking distance. Presently, on the weekends, visitors such as us have to exit/enter the base thru the south gate; to exit/enter the gate with access to Navy Road, you need a super-duper/handy-dandy I.D. card. Felt like a second class citizen due to this situation, which adds miles to a trip to Millington. On the south gate, the slalom cones are extremely closed together and narrow. The ITT is closed on the weekend. Stay away from site 22; it is missing the potable water hook up. We had site 24, and hooked up our 30 amp cord; kept popping the circuit breaker on utility connection; had to use a 50 amp with adapter. No cable. We had reservations, arrived at the r.v. park, made our selection, and called the number on the sign at the front of the park. A kind clerk took our credit card info over the phone. All in all, a good place to spend a few days. A Wal Mart is in Millington, but due to gate situation, stay on hwy 204 for a few miles, and one appears to your right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
8-14 June 2012
(Updated: June 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Everyone friendly. Gate Guard had map avail upon request. To find RV Park locate the Commissary. Turn on Polaris which goes along side of Commissary and it will lead you to entrance of Midway. Watch for untrimmed trees. Recommend you go directly to RV Park and find site location to your liking. Was able to get Direct Sat reception. After you can go the the Recreation Center on Essex street to register. Large parking lot across street big enough for RV and toad if needed. There is a Camp Host on site who will help and report any problems. Bath House is air conditioned, has no bath but Men and Ladies restroom with handicap shower and toilet. There are wash and dryer (2 ea) . No cable TV, but antenna or sat aimed over trees. ITT Office was excellent. Gave great discounts and information. When going to Memphis, go to Sun records first if you wan free bus service to Graceland and other sites. To hear the Blues and Rock n Roll and great food, visit Beale Street (off 3rd). Beale Street is open till 3am when police clear it. Public parking garages avail near Beale Street. On Wednesdays, the street entrances are blocked and reserved for motorcycles. There is a Camp Ground at Graceland but Memphis is in the top 5 of crime. Your decision. WalMart only a few miles away and cheaper than Commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10-12JUN 2011
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Follow the directions according to the website and you will have no problems getting onto the base. I would recommend coming in the Singleton Gate, Option 2 above as it is the commercial vehicle entrance. The sites are large and there was no issue parking my 40' 5th wheel with 4 slides. The concrete was cracked on my site, however there were no issues at all leveling the trailer. The laundry room has 3 washers, $1.25 a load and 2 dryers, $1.00 a load. One of the washers was broken and the other wouldn't dry too well either. I reported the issue and hopefully they will fix both dryers soon. The park is a good value for the price, $24 for full hookups. It is approximately a 20 min drive to downtown Memphis and if you drive out the main gate and turn left toward HWY 51, there are restaurants and some small shopping centers. We would stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 5, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
R.A. left this review using the Directory software: This park is well kept and clean. Andy, the manager is helpful along with the rest of the staff. They have a reservation system that is a piece of junk. The staff is unable to get it to work and has to juggle people around to spots they are not in to make them fit. It shows empty spots that people are in and full spots that are empty. It will not allow them to clean it up and has created a monster. I feel bad for the people who have to use this system. At this point I get the impression they are keeping this straight on paper but the computer is just providing extra work, not helping them. Be prepared for total confusion when you arrive and don't worry- They make it work. Other than that, great place to stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
28 June - 28 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It was like running a gauntlet getting in the back gate. It would have been easier if they would let you come in the commercial entrance. But that is not always possible, due to back up of commercial vehicles waiting for inspection. The main gate at Wasp Ave has a little wider entrance and would actually be easier to get in with a big rig and toad. Still no gas station, and it looks like there won't be for quite a while. No work being done in that area at all. Many sites at the RV park still occupied with trailers for rent to flood victims, but for the most part they sit empty, plugged in and A/C running. The sites are nice and large and fairly level. The base itself seems to be very slow recovering from the flood and in some areas there is actually work going on. Exchange and commissary facilities are excellent for the small size of the base. There is a maximum stay limit, but I don't think it is enforced. One person admitted he had been there a couple of years. Talk about homesteading. The location makes it a great place to stay and see Memphis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3