Midway RV Park

FeaturedNew
 
4.2 (97)
83496 1 16 0 33

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

97 reviews

 
(44)
 
(41)
 
(9)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (97)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (97)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (97)
Value 
 
4.2  (97)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (97)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
Dec - Jan 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Head for Mid-Way RV park instead of Navy Lake RV Park which is just north of golf course at the base as we were told by rv'ers at Navy Lake that they are closing that base spring 2017 and returning land back to the city. Difficult to get a live person on the phone so just pull in at Mid-Way and look for an open site. Wish there was a weekly rate but there is free laundry and Wi-Fi. Town of Millington, TN has everything. We would come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 31 - Nov 3, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Noise level at night is higher than one would think a military park off the beaten path would be. Golf course is outside the fence area and since it is open to the public we found it to be unfriendly to military people. The bathhouse is nice and clean, but, the temperature a couple of nights we were here fell below freezing and the house has no heat (made for quick showers).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22 - 29 June 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The potential for this park to be a primo park is there. The GPS coordinates are spot on, the park is located not far from the gate, and the commissary is literally in the backyard. The NEX is not much further away, and they have an excellent gym and rec center with a free movie theater. There was no one there as a working camp host (you are pretty much on your own here), and the reservation office (not located in the park but you can call instead of go there) didn't open until 2pm. Even though we had a reservation, we hadn't been given a lot number at that time. Pulling in at noon, we found we just had to pull into a spot, wait until 2pm, and hope we didn't have to move if someone else had that spot reserved. (not too worried at this time of year, but....) The bathhouse/laundry room has only 2 older model commercial washers and dryers, one dryer taking twice as long to dry the same amount of clothing. It's nice that the lounge with a somewhat functioning old TV is in the same area as the washer/dryers so you can keep an eye on things though. I guess we have been spoiled at other military campgrounds - better laundry and lounge facilities, active and social camp hosts meeting and guiding you into your assigned spot, and less expensive rent along with those extras not found here. A word of caution when entering the base - there is an obstacle course upon entering and a short distance past the gate, and it appears formidable to anyone driving or towing an RV (we were towing a 42 ft toyhauler)...but the gate guard assured us 18 wheelers came thru all the time without any issues. This RV park would be deserving of all 5 stars if they would get working camp hosts, and put a little $$ into the lounge/laundry area. The base conveniences basically do everything else to make your stay worthwhile.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 20 - 23, 2013
(Updated: July 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I am currently in route to California and decided to go off the beaten track to stay here hoping they had an auto repair place on base. Unfortunately they do not. I called at least a dozen times today and got the answering machine. Left my number the first time and they did not call me back. Finally about an hour out I got a real person. The campground is very clean and nice wide spots for big rigs. It's a very nice base. I hooked up to the 30 amp fired up the AC and then used microwave and the 30 amp tripped immediately. Had to get my adapter and hook up to 50 amp. Tried the cable TV and only got 6 channels however picked up 27 with my antenna. Internet connection is terrible. The reservations for the RV parks is run by the ITT. They normally do not open until 11AM because they are open until 9PM. I went to the office to extend my stay and found that there is one operator at the desk most of the time and they are doing the ITT duties, Gateway Inn and RV parks reservations. I witnessed them being very busy so this would explain why I did not get call backs and it was hard to get a live person on the phone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2012
(Updated: November 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This campground is out of the way, but facilities could be very nice with management. There is only one sign showing where this area is on base. Ask at gate direction to commissary. We found of the 4 gate guards only 1 knew where the campground was located. The area is behind the commissary, turn beside the commissary (opposite side from water tower)then take 1st road to right. No sign at this road,just look for campers. The campers sit on concrete pads, with lots of room. There is an active duty host, currently in very back on site 20. No information was available in mailbox as sign beside it and this website states. Rec Office opens at 2pm to 9pm on weekends so after finding the host for help he said park and call rec office after 2pm. There were no doggie sacks and trash can was full. Nice bathhouse, laundry, tv, rec area located in only building in area. Big trees, concrete pads and roads. BX is one of the better ones I've seen. But for a small base there are lots of high ranking officers so military facilities are nice, but have overlooked their money maker - the famcamp. ADDITIONAL SIGNAGE, CAMPGROUND NEEDS OVERALL MAINTENANCE AND SUPPLIES, A BETTER SIGN-IN PLAN, AND A FULL TIME HOST THAT ACTUALLY DOES HOST DUTIES (like watching for new campers, filling doggie bags and insuring campground is clean and working properly). There was a plastic sign laying on the ground by empty info mailbox that said host on site 20, but no arrow to show which cul-de-sac that site is located. We asked a person walking down the street for direction. Not knowing the campground layout and driving a large motorhome with tow you need to know where you can get into and out of without problems. A nice campground overall needs TLC to make it really nice. Better than many military campgrounds we have used.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
20 Sep - 4 Oct 2011
(Updated: September 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived and stopped at the entrance point to the FamCamp, sign says to call the office for information -- called and were instructed to choose any available site. Selected a site and proceeded to unload/setup. Wife drove over to the office to register -- and was told the site we selected was "Reserved". There was no sign to reflect the "Reserved" status. We were allowed to stay on the site. Eighteen of the sites are used for old FEMA trailers that MWR rents and several other sites are occupied by long-term folks (site next to us, folks stated they had been there for three-years due to the economy). Many of the pads are in need of maintenance (broken concrete, water leaks, and/or electrical issues). Bathhouse/lounge/laundry are located in a small portable building that has seen better days. The major "plus" for this FamCamp is the location -- close to many of the Memphis area attractions and the base has a nice NEX, commissary, and clubs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
13 - 15 August 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Expensive for a DoD facility 18 miles north of Memphis with no attractions nearby, no showers, and no restrooms. I would have expected maybe $12.00 - $16.00. Layout is 3 rows with a star at each end (RV noses facing each other in a circle). Commissary closes at 5pm on Sunday which seemed a little early to us. The base itself is really well-kept and nice. The NEX is small, but normal fare. We entered through the South gate. They weren't using DBIDS yet so we they made us a pass. The barriers are harry to get through! Tough with a large rig. Note that entering through the North gate, you'd still encounter the barriers. The rating would have been higher had it not been so expensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
21/22 October 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Arrived after 5:00 on Sunday. Went thru Navy Rd. gate showing ID cards only...NO PROBLEM. Found info in the mailbox at park entrance. Tried calling the info #...No answer. Found an empty site, got set up, and went to REC CENTER building to get registered. SO FAR...SO GOOD. Got up Monday morning and went grocery shopping and got back to the base showing ID's like we have done all week at another base Famcamp. This time I was directed to the PASS and ID Building to get a pass for the vehicle. Went inside and told I needed ID, Drivers license, Proof of insurance, and registration on vehicle. The "lady" took 1 look at my ID that I have carried for at least 40 years and said she would need to keep it and I needed a new one. And since I do not carry the vehicle registration with me I could not even go on the base to retrieve my trailer if I chose to leave. She finally called base security to do a vehicle registration check that came back ok, and I got a new ID card. Over all the campground is super.....just need to get all bases on the same page as far as whats needed to come and go to make life simpler.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5 Oct 2009
(Updated: October 06, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is not a NEW NEW RV Park, it is a converted mobile home section of the base. Convenient location behind the Commissary (closed on Mondays), and near the Exchange and gas station (no diesel). Location is close to Memphis and easy access from major highways. Cleanliness is rated high as the base is kept in very nice condition. Hospitality is decent. Everyone was helpful to any and all questions, however the extra mile was not there in smiles or attitude. Just a professional, to the point answer. Value/furnishings and amenities; The current rate is to high for what is available as far as tourist attractions, amenities, etc. They have gone up to $19.50/day. There is no clubhouse to gather in and swap lies, just a combined laundry, bath house, waiting room. The laundry room is open directly to the bath and shower rooms and is a sitting area for people waiting to finish their laundry. They said they have high speed internet, however it is down as I write this. It is supposed to be accessible at all RV sights. All in all this is a clean park to stop at for a few days to rest up and replenish supplies. The cost is to high to make it a long term stay unless you need to be in the area for some reason. If you have a dish network, you may want to ask for a site that is facing south. The spots they put overnighters is in the back row facing north and the trees right behind us block satalite reception. A remote dish would probably work ok. Frank
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Called from AR after we left Little Rock to get a site. When we pulled in and backed into the site, the concrete broke up under our rear wheels and we sank over 6" into the mess. Took over an hour for a military rep to come out and look at the mess and decide if we needed another site or just pull forward with our nose in the street, which was the final decision. No one told us where to go after hours to pay our site rent and no one I spoke to in the park knew. The host was very conspicuous by his absence, so he was no help. The general condition of the park was IMHO run down and they have moved rental trailers on exactly 1/2 of the 34 sites, so they must be using it for temporary transient quarters. This is a shame, as this could be a nice CG, if it was run in a little better fashion. We will not return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10