Midway RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (106)
93082 1 16 0 53

User reviews

106 reviews
 
47%
 
41%
 
9%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(106)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(106)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(106)
Value
 
4.2(106)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(106)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
106 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
Oct 17, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Called from AR after we left Little Rock to get a site. When we pulled in and backed into the site, the concrete broke up under our rear wheels and we sank over 6" into the mess. Took over an hour for a military rep to come out and look at the mess and decide if we needed another site or just pull forward with our nose in the street, which was the final decision. No one told us where to go after hours to pay our site rent and no one I spoke to in the park knew. The host was very conspicuous by his absence, so he was no help. The general condition of the park was IMHO run down and they have moved rental trailers on exactly 1/2 of the 34 sites, so they must be using it for temporary transient quarters. This is a shame, as this could be a nice CG, if it was run in a little better fashion. We will not return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17-21 Oct 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called a few days prior to our arrival and made reservations. Was told to call back the day before arriving to get our assigned space number. The park is very easy to find from I-40. We used the north gate off of Navy Rd and had no problems with the barriers. After setting up we went to the Rec Center to pay which we thought could be taken care of with a drop box in the RV park. NEX and Commissary are nicely stocked and very close to the park. One negative for us was the lights, lights, lights! It looked light daylight at night the lights were so bright. My wife and I aren't afraid of the dark and like it dark when we sleep.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 30 - Oct. 2, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived with pre-assigned site over the phone from MWR office, so parked the 5er then went to the MWR office to pay for our 2 nite stay...Price has gone up here to $18/nite...also no cable...this was listed as a hookup....that's okay, only takes us 20 minutes to set up the dish....great location for DirecTV.....the Park, can't call it a campground, but it is a RV Park.... very nice. Community/laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers...$1.25 to wash...75 cents to dry.....and they look fairly new....the facility was clean......We would say that almost half of the sites have MWR campers on them for rent....all sites easy to back into...room between sites is good.....Saw the camp host across the way, but all he did was wave.....if you plan to tour Memphis, you'll have to get your info from the MWR office or stop at the Visitor's Center for Memphis as the Community room has nothing......Directions given above were right on...easy to find.....agree with previous post that it's a great place to lay-over for a day or 2 to rest on your way to your destination.....Commissary & NEX are nice and large.....The Helmsman Club offers great lunch-time fare...a very popular place, too...they told us that the WIFI was up and going, but had such a good connection with the Verizon data card, didn't use it.....cell phone got out good, too....all in all, a nice experience.....we'd stop again.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice place to stop on the way south. Had trouble getting into the RV Park, the guards didn't know how to register my rv to get on base (I now have a base sticker on my rv). I called the host and he told me to go to the Navy Lake and camp there. Never did see him during my 1 week stay at this facility. The other guests had been there quite a long time and they showed me around. During the tornado warning our neighbor told us where to seek shelter. The signs had led us to bldgs. that were closed and locked for the night. We never did see the camp host. Did I say that already? We will most likely stay there again on our way south this winter. Now that I know my way around, who needs the host anyway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18-19 Jun 08
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great park, very level concrete sites, pedestal (lighted) at each site containing water and electric, nice touch. I paid $18 per night, stayed two nights.WI-FI available, however weak and was knocked off frequently. Can take laptop to laundry/bath facility and get good signal since antennae is on top of this facility. Just behind commissary and near service station and NEX. Lot of "homesteaders," one fellow told me he was retired Navy, now Civil Service working on Mid-South and has been living in camper on site for over a YEAR, while his wife lives in Brunswick Ga! But, as long as there are sites available for the transient folk, who am I to complain. Camp Host was very helpful and friendly, an active duty person. No limit on stay, but reservation is recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 6 - 9, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.J. left this review using the Directory software: Very quite, very nice layout of this camp. Many rental units and what "Appears" to be homesteaders, may make this a hard place to get sites for the travelers. Other then that this a a very nice place to stay with very nice facilities on the base, would try to stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 10, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first time here. Called ahead & was assigned a site# but it was taken by someone else when we arrived. Camp Host not on site at time but two friendly campers greeted spouse & assisted in pointing out possible sites that might provide unobstructed satellite signal. Parked in one of the suggested sites, got the sat sig fine, drove over to the Rec. Ctr. and checked in. Very gracious welcoming staff registered us and provided us with local BBQ recommendations. If I had it to do again I would have followed the directions using the South Gate. The RV Park is straight ahead on Singleton, make a sharp right at the Commissary entrance (Polaris) then just down that road to another right into the Park (Midway). When I tried to use the WiFi it required specific access. A call to the Rec. Ctr. said Connection Instructions were in the Bath-house (?) but spouse didn't find anything. We used our Verizon Broadband Access. We'd return again if in the area. Corky's in Memphis was a nostalgic trip back to the 50's-60's and worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 Dec 07 to 2 Jan 08
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the second time we had stayed at this campground and found it easy to get into because most of the sites are in cul-de-sac's. The bath house is done and as listed before there is one ladies and one mens bath/shower and two washer/dryers and ADA friendly and it is kept clean. You may find a spot as I was told to do via phone and then regsiter at the recreation hall. All this information is on a map inside a mail box as you enter the C.G. Seems to be all F.H.U.'s. The rec. hall has it all: movies, games, you can play pool, and just relax and watch a large screen TV. All the check in people are super nice. Will definatly stay again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct. 26, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Good news,today, drum roll please, they have opened their new bathroom and laundry facility. As an added plus, WiFi is now available in the campground. Granted, there is only one toilet and one shower in the bathroom but the area is large with ample space for the disabled to maneuver. There are two washers and dryers also. Now, if they would just serve some of that good old Memphis BBQ we would rate this place a 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 26,2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When the new bathhouse is built, this will be a first class park. We arrived on a Sunday evening after making reservations a few days ahead, but some one was already in our space. We could not contact reservations or the camp host, so just took an empty space and hooked up. Was able to reach the camp host by telephone later and he said to stay where we were. There were lots of empty spaces to choose from. There is full hookups and beautiful concrete slabs at every site, but no cable TV. There was a WiFi network available, but it had a weak signal and required a password to connect. The commissary is just a few steps away and the NEX is only a short walk. This an excellent stop if you are visiting the Memphis area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 18, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When we arrived and saw that they still don't have any kind of bath house, temporary or permanent, and only a single blue porta-john, we decided to check in at the Navy Inn, also on base. The other factor that drove us to the Inn was that there was a severe thunderstorm warning and tornado watch coming within an hour of our arrival, not to mention that the temperature was sitting at 101 degrees (107 in the parking lot). As of this writing, absolutely no work has begun on any bath or comfort facility. Must still be on the drawing board, and/or it hasn't come around in the MWR budget cycle. Maybe next fiscal year. Other reviewers comments about the CG are right on. It's going to be a first rate place once they get it done. The base itself itself is nice, and the Navy Inn we stayed in was very good. As a side note, there's both a Navy Inn and a Navy Lodge on base. They're both run by MWR and are the same price ($45/night).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 June 2007 - 2 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great place to visit the Memphis area from. Good location, directions are good. Very helpful, friendly staff and host. The bath house and laundry are not finished yet but are in work, should be nice when completed. Very nice large sites with lots of manuvering room. If you're site seeing, stop by MWR they have package deals for quite a few of the attractions. Convient location to most everything, very quiet. Cable didn't work at my site. According to the staff they don't have the cable hooked up. I will come back when ever I'm in the area.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 25-29, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Reservation staff was very helpful. Directions were great. The campsites are on cul-de-sacs which allows plenty of room between camping units. The camp host is very helpful, efficient and friendly. The campground is convenient to everything. There is no noise. Very quiet campground. Plenty of space for backing into campsite. Lots of grass. Pads are ample. There is a sidewalk to the side of each campsite leading to the patio, a nice feature.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 10-14, 2007
(Updated: May 13, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently staying at Midway RV Park and feel it is "Top Shelf". Really large 50 amp full hookup (cable too) paved pads with concrete patios and sidewalks. Aluminum picnic tables. Good satellite pickup (at least from site 40) Beautifully mowed green grass. Very clean campground. Interior roads are all paved (tar). Dumpsters nearby. The bathrooms are still under construction. The campsites are located on 6 cul-de-sacs, 8 campsites each. Large area to maneuver into the back-in sites. There are about 15 sites that have rental travel trailers on them. They will take reservations and pets on leash are welcome. Located right behind the commissary and just several blocks from the NEX annex. Hwy 385 is a great road to come in from I-40. Much like an interstate itself. It is $15 per night with no weekly rate. Very, very quiet. No sounds of freedom; just a train off in the distance once in awhile. The check in people are very cordial. Debbie is a jewel and the campground host was very friendly as well as helpful. A real gem of a campground. Will come back if in the area.
JL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
W.R. left this review with the Directory software: Easy registration . We got there late but MWR was open till 9 pm. Park was very clean and well kept. No showers but construction of a bathhouse is in the works.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 22, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.L. wrote using the Directory software: We enjoyed our stay, the camp host was very helpful. The base gym was free and excellent! Nice sites, all back-in, but plenty of room to maneuver. Check with camp host before choosing a site, some of the sites don't have working utilities yet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 2006
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Cost to much for just hookups. No office, no internet, no bath house. Worth about $10 a night. Maybe when the Navy can find the money to finish it, than charge full price otherwise may be a while to raise the money. Also cannot wash anything while there. The older facility out at Navy Lake was cheaper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 28, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WiFi, Bathrooms, Laundry coming soon. No picnic tables or fire rings. Agree that it should be a great place when completed. Great BBQ close by.

RL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent stop-over. Easy to access. Great connections. A little far to walk to the sign-in location but we enjoyed the walk after a long drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding RV Park!! One of best military parks we have stayed and a great golf course. Will certainly return if in area. Nice Navy Exchange and commissary located on pleasant small base. Great home base for seeing sights of Memphis. Of course we did the Elvis thing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
106 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6