Midway RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (106)
93082 1 16 0 53

User reviews

106 reviews
 
47%
 
41%
 
9%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(106)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(106)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(106)
Value
 
4.2(106)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(106)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
106 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
June 22-24, 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Entered from hwy 385 at the south gate. Lanes are very narrow, and slalom comes are extremely close together; you have to take it slow entering. Commissary is within walking distance. Presently, on the weekends, visitors such as us have to exit/enter the base thru the south gate; to exit/enter the gate with access to Navy Road, you need a super-duper/handy-dandy I.D. card. Felt like a second class citizen due to this situation, which adds miles to a trip to Millington. On the south gate, the slalom cones are extremely closed together and narrow. The ITT is closed on the weekend. Stay away from site 22; it is missing the potable water hook up. We had site 24, and hooked up our 30 amp cord; kept popping the circuit breaker on utility connection; had to use a 50 amp with adapter. No cable. We had reservations, arrived at the r.v. park, made our selection, and called the number on the sign at the front of the park. A kind clerk took our credit card info over the phone. All in all, a good place to spend a few days. A Wal Mart is in Millington, but due to gate situation, stay on hwy 204 for a few miles, and one appears to your right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
8-14 June 2012
(Updated: June 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Everyone friendly. Gate Guard had map avail upon request. To find RV Park locate the Commissary. Turn on Polaris which goes along side of Commissary and it will lead you to entrance of Midway. Watch for untrimmed trees. Recommend you go directly to RV Park and find site location to your liking. Was able to get Direct Sat reception. After you can go the the Recreation Center on Essex street to register. Large parking lot across street big enough for RV and toad if needed. There is a Camp Host on site who will help and report any problems. Bath House is air conditioned, has no bath but Men and Ladies restroom with handicap shower and toilet. There are wash and dryer (2 ea) . No cable TV, but antenna or sat aimed over trees. ITT Office was excellent. Gave great discounts and information. When going to Memphis, go to Sun records first if you wan free bus service to Graceland and other sites. To hear the Blues and Rock n Roll and great food, visit Beale Street (off 3rd). Beale Street is open till 3am when police clear it. Public parking garages avail near Beale Street. On Wednesdays, the street entrances are blocked and reserved for motorcycles. There is a Camp Ground at Graceland but Memphis is in the top 5 of crime. Your decision. WalMart only a few miles away and cheaper than Commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
10-12JUN 2011
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Follow the directions according to the website and you will have no problems getting onto the base. I would recommend coming in the Singleton Gate, Option 2 above as it is the commercial vehicle entrance. The sites are large and there was no issue parking my 40' 5th wheel with 4 slides. The concrete was cracked on my site, however there were no issues at all leveling the trailer. The laundry room has 3 washers, $1.25 a load and 2 dryers, $1.00 a load. One of the washers was broken and the other wouldn't dry too well either. I reported the issue and hopefully they will fix both dryers soon. The park is a good value for the price, $24 for full hookups. It is approximately a 20 min drive to downtown Memphis and if you drive out the main gate and turn left toward HWY 51, there are restaurants and some small shopping centers. We would stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20 Sep - 4 Oct 2011
(Updated: September 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived and stopped at the entrance point to the FamCamp, sign says to call the office for information -- called and were instructed to choose any available site. Selected a site and proceeded to unload/setup. Wife drove over to the office to register -- and was told the site we selected was "Reserved". There was no sign to reflect the "Reserved" status. We were allowed to stay on the site. Eighteen of the sites are used for old FEMA trailers that MWR rents and several other sites are occupied by long-term folks (site next to us, folks stated they had been there for three-years due to the economy). Many of the pads are in need of maintenance (broken concrete, water leaks, and/or electrical issues). Bathhouse/lounge/laundry are located in a small portable building that has seen better days. The major "plus" for this FamCamp is the location -- close to many of the Memphis area attractions and the base has a nice NEX, commissary, and clubs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13 - 15 August 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Expensive for a DoD facility 18 miles north of Memphis with no attractions nearby, no showers, and no restrooms. I would have expected maybe $12.00 - $16.00. Layout is 3 rows with a star at each end (RV noses facing each other in a circle). Commissary closes at 5pm on Sunday which seemed a little early to us. The base itself is really well-kept and nice. The NEX is small, but normal fare. We entered through the South gate. They weren't using DBIDS yet so we they made us a pass. The barriers are harry to get through! Tough with a large rig. Note that entering through the North gate, you'd still encounter the barriers. The rating would have been higher had it not been so expensive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
MH Visit Jun/July 11
(Updated: July 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent two weeks touring the Memphis area. A lot to do and the ITT office has numerous tickets available for the area. The fire works on the 4th at Navy Lake is a must to see. The RV pads are well designed with a lot of room between pads. Reservations were easy to make and they will try to meet your desires when assigning sites. We will be coming back. The GPS coordinates are not correct for the park entrance. Must enter thru the South Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
April 24-27 2011
(Updated: April 29, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The park is clean, well maintained and the sites are spacious. All hookups are located in one spot near the rear of the RV and out of the way of slides. The personnel at the Rec Center were extremely helpful. The location on the base is convenient and the commissary and exchange were quite nice and actually larger than you would expect for an installation this size. Our stay was interrupted by severe weather for the entire stay and we were evacuated to shelters on numerous occasions. These evacuations were handled well by base security. Near the end of our stay we were told to move our motor home and evacuate to the other side of the base due to anticipated flooding. Although it was 1:30 AM, this evacuation was well managed and we were given a large safe parking lot to park our motor home and given a room in billeting for the remainder of our stay. We were treated like we were assigned at the base and not just a retired couple passing through. Very impressed with everything here, and we will return to Midway (during better weather).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2009 - 2010
(Updated: August 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Stayed here for about a year. I am retired Navy. Half the time the wireless internet would not work, especially on the weekends. They have a policy of charging retirees more than active duty members. When asked about why the different prices they had absolutely no reasoning for the pricing schema. The FEMA trailers located there and at Navy Lake are not extensively used.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
21/22 October 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Arrived after 5:00 on Sunday. Went thru Navy Rd. gate showing ID cards only...NO PROBLEM. Found info in the mailbox at park entrance. Tried calling the info #...No answer. Found an empty site, got set up, and went to REC CENTER building to get registered. SO FAR...SO GOOD. Got up Monday morning and went grocery shopping and got back to the base showing ID's like we have done all week at another base Famcamp. This time I was directed to the PASS and ID Building to get a pass for the vehicle. Went inside and told I needed ID, Drivers license, Proof of insurance, and registration on vehicle. The "lady" took 1 look at my ID that I have carried for at least 40 years and said she would need to keep it and I needed a new one. And since I do not carry the vehicle registration with me I could not even go on the base to retrieve my trailer if I chose to leave. She finally called base security to do a vehicle registration check that came back ok, and I got a new ID card. Over all the campground is super.....just need to get all bases on the same page as far as whats needed to come and go to make life simpler.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 5, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
R.A. left this review using the Directory software: This park is well kept and clean. Andy, the manager is helpful along with the rest of the staff. They have a reservation system that is a piece of junk. The staff is unable to get it to work and has to juggle people around to spots they are not in to make them fit. It shows empty spots that people are in and full spots that are empty. It will not allow them to clean it up and has created a monster. I feel bad for the people who have to use this system. At this point I get the impression they are keeping this straight on paper but the computer is just providing extra work, not helping them. Be prepared for total confusion when you arrive and don't worry- They make it work. Other than that, great place to stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
28 June - 28 July 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It was like running a gauntlet getting in the back gate. It would have been easier if they would let you come in the commercial entrance. But that is not always possible, due to back up of commercial vehicles waiting for inspection. The main gate at Wasp Ave has a little wider entrance and would actually be easier to get in with a big rig and toad. Still no gas station, and it looks like there won't be for quite a while. No work being done in that area at all. Many sites at the RV park still occupied with trailers for rent to flood victims, but for the most part they sit empty, plugged in and A/C running. The sites are nice and large and fairly level. The base itself seems to be very slow recovering from the flood and in some areas there is actually work going on. Exchange and commissary facilities are excellent for the small size of the base. There is a maximum stay limit, but I don't think it is enforced. One person admitted he had been there a couple of years. Talk about homesteading. The location makes it a great place to stay and see Memphis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 10, 2010 to June 12, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This will be a somewhat volatile review due to ever changing conditions. The Naval Station is recovering from the flooding that occurred in western Tennessee in the Spring of 2010. The Gas Station and Pool are OOC. Several barracks and office buildings were flooded resulting in occupants being relocated. The NEX, Commissary, and Package Store are still in operation. Enlisted Housing was flooded - some occupants are now housed in the RV Park in trailers provided by MWR (lucky the MWR national HQ is on the base). But, there was still plenty of room at Midway - I counted 9 empty sites. The very friendly staff at the RV Park Office (about a mile from the park) have a photo album of the flooded base. One photo of two gents at the gas station shows them standing in shoulder deep water. Bathhouse/head/laundry: There is one "stall" for each gender. Commode, sink, shower all co-located, so timing is everything. 2 Washers, 2 Dryers (dryer may require two run-throughs). Sites: Flat! Spacious, Full hookups, 50 amp, all are back-in but there's plenty of room to get it right the first time. Location: The Commissary is walking distance from the RV Park (less than a quarter mile). Nex is a short drive. Millington's "strip" is about a 10-minute drive (out the Wasp Ave Gate). Downtown Memphis is less than a 30-minute drive. The ribs are good wherever you get them. On Beale Street, if you go into a food n drink establishment before the musicians start to play, you can avoid the cover charge. If you cook with a smoker, don't leave Memphis without some rubs and sauces.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 25 - Jun 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground. Quiet even on the holiday weekend. We stayed here a week in a motorhome. Spaces are large and well spaced with concrete pads and patios. Will definitely come back, if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov. 27 - Dec. 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Enjoyed our week stay here. Plenty of open spaces this time of the year. Weather was mostly good - sunny but cool. Check-in was easy and friendly. Our complaint is with ITT. They were closed for the Thanksgiving weekend, which didn't do us any good. Our first time in the Memphis area. Campground is nice with spacious sites, being a converted mobile home park. Prices recently went up and should have remained lower. Base has almost everything you would need. We enjoyed our stay and would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5 Oct 2009
(Updated: October 06, 2009)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is not a NEW NEW RV Park, it is a converted mobile home section of the base. Convenient location behind the Commissary (closed on Mondays), and near the Exchange and gas station (no diesel). Location is close to Memphis and easy access from major highways. Cleanliness is rated high as the base is kept in very nice condition. Hospitality is decent. Everyone was helpful to any and all questions, however the extra mile was not there in smiles or attitude. Just a professional, to the point answer. Value/furnishings and amenities; The current rate is to high for what is available as far as tourist attractions, amenities, etc. They have gone up to $19.50/day. There is no clubhouse to gather in and swap lies, just a combined laundry, bath house, waiting room. The laundry room is open directly to the bath and shower rooms and is a sitting area for people waiting to finish their laundry. They said they have high speed internet, however it is down as I write this. It is supposed to be accessible at all RV sights. All in all this is a clean park to stop at for a few days to rest up and replenish supplies. The cost is to high to make it a long term stay unless you need to be in the area for some reason. If you have a dish network, you may want to ask for a site that is facing south. The spots they put overnighters is in the back row facing north and the trees right behind us block satalite reception. A remote dish would probably work ok. Frank
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 18 - 20, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time at Midway RV. Last time stayed at Navy Lake. RV park is very nice. Spots are paved which with the weather we experience was a plus! Wondering if it is possible to rewrite the directions into the park to come in another gate. Check in is easy. People are friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
01-06 Apr 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice Park, level concrete pads and patio with picnic table. Lighted hookup pedestals It says they have cable, the hookup is there, but it does not work. We found it convenient to sight see in Memphis and surrounding area. Don't miss the Peabody Ducks! We will return in the future. I would just like to say that I have to agree with a number of the posters and say that it does seem like MWR is starting to charge more than the local Passport America camps, Why??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 - 21 April 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this campground. Everything is up and running, and it is a nice place to stay for a week or two. Bath house is clean, but I think it is a little pricey on the washers/dryers. The also have increased the daily/Monthly rate as of 1 Apr. This is still a good campground, and the best place to cross over the Mississippi River.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stop here on the way back from TX. Not a bad place for an overnight stop or even a couple day stay. Made reservations over the phone, was given Site #, since we would be arriving after 9 pm. Easy to get parked, sorta built with cul de sacs off the right and left of main street. Level concrete pads with plenty of space, not too close to neighbors. I have to agree with some of the others half of the park has FEMA trailers on the sites, this appears to be due to it being an evacuation area for the Gulf Coast. They do have the FEMA trailers spread evenly thru out, so it doesn't make it look that bad. Small central bathroom & laundry bldg. Looked clean, didn't see bathrooms. Easy to get too and no problems at the gate, but had DOD sticker with expired date, so that helped I believe. Commissary right next to park. Will stay again when traveling thru. Not far off the I-40.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 Oct - 1 Nov 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this campground. Campsites are very easy to maneuver into and lots of space between sites. We agree that it seems strange to have so many empty rental trailers occupying so many of the sites but the campground was NOT full when we were there. The base is very easy to navigate and the commissary is right next door to the campground. We even walked when we needed just a few items. There is a thrift shop on base and the fitness center is large. Got a wonderful massage twice while we were there at only $35 for an hour. Ask for Nina. There is a mailbox with instructions just as you pull into the campground with all the info you need. The staff at the rec center are very nice and helpful. There are free movies to watch and lots of pool tables, foos ball and a large screen TV. Also a HUGE book exchange area. Retirees can eat at the Helmsman club but we didn't so can't comment on that. The host is active duty and works during the day so you'd have to go to the rec center to get any questions answered. The post PO won't let you get your mail forwarded to you there. You have to go off base to the Millington PO to get your mail general delivery, but it's nearby. There is a lot of shopping in the nearby towns and Memphis isn't that far away. We LOVED Corky's BBQ in Memphis--the buffet on Wed is GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
106 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6