Midway RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (106)
93082 1 16 0 53

User reviews

48 reviews with 5 stars
106 reviews
 
47%
 
41%
 
9%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(106)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(106)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(106)
Value
 
4.2(106)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(106)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
48 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
11 - 12 June 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the better military campgrounds I have visited.  Sites are large and level on concrete pads.  WiFi and cable are excellent.  It is a little out of the way but if you are just passing through,  it is perfect.  No diesel on the base.  Commissary and BX are nearby.  
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have been coming here off and on for 8 years.  This place just keeps getting better and better.  They are going to put in a new bath house and pour new concrete on the sites.  They just put in new front loader washer/dryers and they are free.  The manager, Andy and his maintenace crew have really kept this park in great shape.  The MWR check in people are great and the camp hosts are awesome.  Security here is great and its right next to Commissary and dog park. Millington is a nice little town with great restaurants. You can spend the day seeing the sights in Memphis and spend quiet evenings in the park.  I met some friends here that were only going to stay for a week and they wound up staying a month. I travel extensively and I have seen this park become one of the best managed rv parks in the country.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here during a trip to Memphis and were very happy with the campground. It seems to be an old trailer park so the pads a very large and have full hookups. The area is very clean and well maintained and our site had nice shade trees. It was nice being located on the base because you had full access to all of the facilities to include the ITT office if you wanted to buy tickets to the local attractions. It is not real close to the downtown area but it is close enough that the drive was not bad. We went to the zoo, Graceland, and the downtown area while we were there and the longest drive was about 30 minutes. As with all military campgrounds the price was great and the personnel were friendly and very helpful. We highly recommend a trip to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken in the downtown area, you won't be disappointed. We also ate at The Central BBQ (Downtown) and I highly recommend this place for traditional Memphis BBQ. Memphis also has a wonderful zoo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22/23OCT2015
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fantastic park. Easy access through South Gate (when it is actually open, so call ahead to verify which gate to use) and right behind the Commissary. Very easy to maneuver even the largest rigs and trailers in here, once you get past the front gates. Plenty of wide, level, paved spaces with picnic tables. Laundry facilities and bathroom (toilet in a stall, dual sinks and vanities in womens, urinal and single sink in mens) showers were great (so clean my wife said she'd go barefoot in them), water pressure throughout facility was good. Two free, high-efficiency front-loader washers that featured a 'short-wash' cycle (perfect for RV worn clothes) and two free dryers. The entire building doubles as a lounge with a huge table for folding your laundry, iron and ironing board (just like berthing back on the ship!!!), comfy chairs, cable TV, relatively current magazines and a desk/chair in case you bring your laptop. Best part of the facility was the cleaning crew that showed up every morning and left the place spotless! The only downside was waiting for people to come and fetch their laundry, leaving several guests waiting their turn. Camp host checked in with us the morning after we finally made it in, although we had already gotten our space info and checked in with the office when we arrived around 2000. Apparently they've had some issues with people showing up late and packing out early while forgoing payment on their space.  Dumpster was near our space, but there was no recycling program noted and I'm uncertain if the waste management company has a sorting facility for recycling. Wifi was good around the park (our antenna was next to the laundry), and from our spot we had clear HD signal from both Dish and OTA antenna, which yielded a dozen regular TV channels and another dozen shopping/religious/ESL channels, all with crystal clear signal. South end of the park has a row of tall trees that could provide shade in summer months, but may also interfere with your dish. Other spaces had trees around them, but they were not so dense that they'd block the signal. Sprint and AT&T had good service, but we didn't need to use our Hotspot devices. We can certainly understand why this is such a popular FamCamp, and will eagerly stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct. 23-26 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just to let you know RV's no longer have to enter the truck gate, they have a high gate to the right of the car entrance. I was told this by the guard at the truck entrance. Also when you get there just pick a site and call in to the MWR as to what site you have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 September 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice facility but watch when approaching the commissary or one could miss the appropriate turn and went past Polaris; however, driving a Class A rig towing a car managed to get to the campground with minimal aggravation. Great wifi and nice facility with shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 20, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful, great campground. Camp host was great. Note: On weekends Singleton gate CLOSED.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 March 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Millington RV Park is a converted mobile home park that has all the amenities of a full service base. Located behind the commissary, the other base facilities are a short distance, ie NEX, class 6 etc. The bathhouse is a small trailer converted to a bath house and laundry. It is small but is efficient and does the job. There were several residents that were clearly permanent, but many spaces were available. The host met us at the entrance and explained the basics. Official check in/payment was done by phone when the MWR office opened—very convenient. Sites were spacious, all were back in sites but easy to get into, and concrete pads accommodate even the biggest rigs. Wi-Fi was the best we have experienced in several months of travel and over 10 military campgrounds. Initially, we intended to stay the Navy Lake Recreation Area and went there first. The people there were very nice, but the CG was in disarray and not worth the 20.00 a night. We are very happy that we stayed at Midway RV park instead at 21.00 dollars a night was still a value compared to local CG’s.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 21-22, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice CG, although a little high priced. Host is active duty, but goes out of his way when he's on-site. We entered via the 'front' gate without any difficulties - it was typically tight, but good. All spots are back in, but concrete and easy to do. Only issue we had wasn't with the CG, but when we tried to leave on a Saturday morning early. The only gate open was the commercial one, but they have a really tight slalom exit and had put orange pylons all over the place. Our Montana isn't a wide-body, but I'm positive I had only a couple inches clearance more than once. IF you've one of the new super-wides, I'd make certain you stayed until a weekday so you can go out with the truck/trailers. (Really did mess up their pylon setup though!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
20-21 Apr and 25-26 Apr 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice place! Grass was cut and general campground was well manicured. Very clean. RV pads are concrete, but all are back-ins. There is an unusual arrangement in that about 6 sites form a cul-de-sac with a wide paved center area more maneuvering. Only negative is the height of the curbs. Scraped my rear stabilizer jacks and bent one just a bit. Had I backed perfectly straight, this may not have happened. Like others said, this is right behind commissary and BX. They are an easy walk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 22 - October 5, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the better military RV parks in the country. The sites are all back-in on cul-de-sacs. The sites are paved and very wide with good hook-ups. You can literally walk to the commissary and exchange, and there is an excellent fitness facility (on base) just down the street. If you have children, there is an excellent, free water park. Free WiFi was available but spotty. We camped here in a very large 5th wheel and we would definitely come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 4, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We called to get a reservation when we were about a half hour away. They were very helpful and told us to take any spot that was open. We picked site 8 behind the bath house. The site was level and had a full hookups. Several of the other campers came over to help but we were distracted as I had to take my wife to the clinic due to an allergy issue. We only stayed one night but would highly recommend this campground to anyone traveling to or though Memphis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 23, 2013
(Updated: April 13, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to spend a night or two while traveling our USA. Host was very helpful and courteous. A little trouble finding it, but it was during rush hour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 12 - 15, 2012
(Updated: November 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The park is a gem in the rough. Nice location just behind the commissary. The exchange is one of the better ones I've seen. The park is nice, just at the edge of the housing area. All the sites are large with concrete pads and full hookups. The directions on this site are correct and easy to use. Registration was all done over the phone as there was no instructions in the mail box. We would stay here again when in the area. We stayed here in a 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 12-15, 2012
(Updated: October 15, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Would have giving it a higher rating on Facilities, however, only two washers and dryers of which one washer was jammed and the one dryer I used was slow. Had to do another cycle to get clothes dry. Found no other laundry facilities close. One laundromat outside the north gate charges $2.25 to wash and 50 cents for 10 min of dryer. The campground is well kept. WIFI works great. The sites are very spacious. Checking in can be somewhat confusing. They do accept reservations and will give you your space number if you call the day of arrival. However, if you do not call, a sign at the entrance says to see "camp host, space #20". All we found in space #20 was two four-wheelers and some personal items. Check-in is at ITT close to the BX. Staff there is very helpful. We have stayed here before and will come back again, when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
MH Visit Jun/July 11
(Updated: July 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent two weeks touring the Memphis area. A lot to do and the ITT office has numerous tickets available for the area. The fire works on the 4th at Navy Lake is a must to see. The RV pads are well designed with a lot of room between pads. Reservations were easy to make and they will try to meet your desires when assigning sites. We will be coming back. The GPS coordinates are not correct for the park entrance. Must enter thru the South Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
April 24-27 2011
(Updated: April 29, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The park is clean, well maintained and the sites are spacious. All hookups are located in one spot near the rear of the RV and out of the way of slides. The personnel at the Rec Center were extremely helpful. The location on the base is convenient and the commissary and exchange were quite nice and actually larger than you would expect for an installation this size. Our stay was interrupted by severe weather for the entire stay and we were evacuated to shelters on numerous occasions. These evacuations were handled well by base security. Near the end of our stay we were told to move our motor home and evacuate to the other side of the base due to anticipated flooding. Although it was 1:30 AM, this evacuation was well managed and we were given a large safe parking lot to park our motor home and given a room in billeting for the remainder of our stay. We were treated like we were assigned at the base and not just a retired couple passing through. Very impressed with everything here, and we will return to Midway (during better weather).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 25 - Jun 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice campground. Quiet even on the holiday weekend. We stayed here a week in a motorhome. Spaces are large and well spaced with concrete pads and patios. Will definitely come back, if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18-19 Jun 08
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great park, very level concrete sites, pedestal (lighted) at each site containing water and electric, nice touch. I paid $18 per night, stayed two nights.WI-FI available, however weak and was knocked off frequently. Can take laptop to laundry/bath facility and get good signal since antennae is on top of this facility. Just behind commissary and near service station and NEX. Lot of "homesteaders," one fellow told me he was retired Navy, now Civil Service working on Mid-South and has been living in camper on site for over a YEAR, while his wife lives in Brunswick Ga! But, as long as there are sites available for the transient folk, who am I to complain. Camp Host was very helpful and friendly, an active duty person. No limit on stay, but reservation is recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 Dec 07 to 2 Jan 08
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the second time we had stayed at this campground and found it easy to get into because most of the sites are in cul-de-sac's. The bath house is done and as listed before there is one ladies and one mens bath/shower and two washer/dryers and ADA friendly and it is kept clean. You may find a spot as I was told to do via phone and then regsiter at the recreation hall. All this information is on a map inside a mail box as you enter the C.G. Seems to be all F.H.U.'s. The rec. hall has it all: movies, games, you can play pool, and just relax and watch a large screen TV. All the check in people are super nice. Will definatly stay again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
48 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3