Midway RV Park

Featured
 
4.3 (103)
93082 1 16 0 49

User reviews

42 reviews with 4 stars
103 reviews
 
48%
 
41%
 
9%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.5(103)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(103)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(103)
Value
 
4.2(103)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(103)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
28 June - 28 July 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It was like running a gauntlet getting in the back gate. It would have been easier if they would let you come in the commercial entrance. But that is not always possible, due to back up of commercial vehicles waiting for inspection. The main gate at Wasp Ave has a little wider entrance and would actually be easier to get in with a big rig and toad. Still no gas station, and it looks like there won't be for quite a while. No work being done in that area at all. Many sites at the RV park still occupied with trailers for rent to flood victims, but for the most part they sit empty, plugged in and A/C running. The sites are nice and large and fairly level. The base itself seems to be very slow recovering from the flood and in some areas there is actually work going on. Exchange and commissary facilities are excellent for the small size of the base. There is a maximum stay limit, but I don't think it is enforced. One person admitted he had been there a couple of years. Talk about homesteading. The location makes it a great place to stay and see Memphis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 10, 2010 to June 12, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This will be a somewhat volatile review due to ever changing conditions. The Naval Station is recovering from the flooding that occurred in western Tennessee in the Spring of 2010. The Gas Station and Pool are OOC. Several barracks and office buildings were flooded resulting in occupants being relocated. The NEX, Commissary, and Package Store are still in operation. Enlisted Housing was flooded - some occupants are now housed in the RV Park in trailers provided by MWR (lucky the MWR national HQ is on the base). But, there was still plenty of room at Midway - I counted 9 empty sites. The very friendly staff at the RV Park Office (about a mile from the park) have a photo album of the flooded base. One photo of two gents at the gas station shows them standing in shoulder deep water. Bathhouse/head/laundry: There is one "stall" for each gender. Commode, sink, shower all co-located, so timing is everything. 2 Washers, 2 Dryers (dryer may require two run-throughs). Sites: Flat! Spacious, Full hookups, 50 amp, all are back-in but there's plenty of room to get it right the first time. Location: The Commissary is walking distance from the RV Park (less than a quarter mile). Nex is a short drive. Millington's "strip" is about a 10-minute drive (out the Wasp Ave Gate). Downtown Memphis is less than a 30-minute drive. The ribs are good wherever you get them. On Beale Street, if you go into a food n drink establishment before the musicians start to play, you can avoid the cover charge. If you cook with a smoker, don't leave Memphis without some rubs and sauces.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Nov. 27 - Dec. 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Enjoyed our week stay here. Plenty of open spaces this time of the year. Weather was mostly good - sunny but cool. Check-in was easy and friendly. Our complaint is with ITT. They were closed for the Thanksgiving weekend, which didn't do us any good. Our first time in the Memphis area. Campground is nice with spacious sites, being a converted mobile home park. Prices recently went up and should have remained lower. Base has almost everything you would need. We enjoyed our stay and would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 18 - 20, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time at Midway RV. Last time stayed at Navy Lake. RV park is very nice. Spots are paved which with the weather we experience was a plus! Wondering if it is possible to rewrite the directions into the park to come in another gate. Check in is easy. People are friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
01-06 Apr 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice Park, level concrete pads and patio with picnic table. Lighted hookup pedestals It says they have cable, the hookup is there, but it does not work. We found it convenient to sight see in Memphis and surrounding area. Don't miss the Peabody Ducks! We will return in the future. I would just like to say that I have to agree with a number of the posters and say that it does seem like MWR is starting to charge more than the local Passport America camps, Why??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 - 21 April 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this campground. Everything is up and running, and it is a nice place to stay for a week or two. Bath house is clean, but I think it is a little pricey on the washers/dryers. The also have increased the daily/Monthly rate as of 1 Apr. This is still a good campground, and the best place to cross over the Mississippi River.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stop here on the way back from TX. Not a bad place for an overnight stop or even a couple day stay. Made reservations over the phone, was given Site #, since we would be arriving after 9 pm. Easy to get parked, sorta built with cul de sacs off the right and left of main street. Level concrete pads with plenty of space, not too close to neighbors. I have to agree with some of the others half of the park has FEMA trailers on the sites, this appears to be due to it being an evacuation area for the Gulf Coast. They do have the FEMA trailers spread evenly thru out, so it doesn't make it look that bad. Small central bathroom & laundry bldg. Looked clean, didn't see bathrooms. Easy to get too and no problems at the gate, but had DOD sticker with expired date, so that helped I believe. Commissary right next to park. Will stay again when traveling thru. Not far off the I-40.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17 Oct - 1 Nov 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this campground. Campsites are very easy to maneuver into and lots of space between sites. We agree that it seems strange to have so many empty rental trailers occupying so many of the sites but the campground was NOT full when we were there. The base is very easy to navigate and the commissary is right next door to the campground. We even walked when we needed just a few items. There is a thrift shop on base and the fitness center is large. Got a wonderful massage twice while we were there at only $35 for an hour. Ask for Nina. There is a mailbox with instructions just as you pull into the campground with all the info you need. The staff at the rec center are very nice and helpful. There are free movies to watch and lots of pool tables, foos ball and a large screen TV. Also a HUGE book exchange area. Retirees can eat at the Helmsman club but we didn't so can't comment on that. The host is active duty and works during the day so you'd have to go to the rec center to get any questions answered. The post PO won't let you get your mail forwarded to you there. You have to go off base to the Millington PO to get your mail general delivery, but it's nearby. There is a lot of shopping in the nearby towns and Memphis isn't that far away. We LOVED Corky's BBQ in Memphis--the buffet on Wed is GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
17-21 Oct 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called a few days prior to our arrival and made reservations. Was told to call back the day before arriving to get our assigned space number. The park is very easy to find from I-40. We used the north gate off of Navy Rd and had no problems with the barriers. After setting up we went to the Rec Center to pay which we thought could be taken care of with a drop box in the RV park. NEX and Commissary are nicely stocked and very close to the park. One negative for us was the lights, lights, lights! It looked light daylight at night the lights were so bright. My wife and I aren't afraid of the dark and like it dark when we sleep.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 30 - Oct. 2, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived with pre-assigned site over the phone from MWR office, so parked the 5er then went to the MWR office to pay for our 2 nite stay...Price has gone up here to $18/nite...also no cable...this was listed as a hookup....that's okay, only takes us 20 minutes to set up the dish....great location for DirecTV.....the Park, can't call it a campground, but it is a RV Park.... very nice. Community/laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers...$1.25 to wash...75 cents to dry.....and they look fairly new....the facility was clean......We would say that almost half of the sites have MWR campers on them for rent....all sites easy to back into...room between sites is good.....Saw the camp host across the way, but all he did was wave.....if you plan to tour Memphis, you'll have to get your info from the MWR office or stop at the Visitor's Center for Memphis as the Community room has nothing......Directions given above were right on...easy to find.....agree with previous post that it's a great place to lay-over for a day or 2 to rest on your way to your destination.....Commissary & NEX are nice and large.....The Helmsman Club offers great lunch-time fare...a very popular place, too...they told us that the WIFI was up and going, but had such a good connection with the Verizon data card, didn't use it.....cell phone got out good, too....all in all, a nice experience.....we'd stop again.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
February 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice place to stop on the way south. Had trouble getting into the RV Park, the guards didn't know how to register my rv to get on base (I now have a base sticker on my rv). I called the host and he told me to go to the Navy Lake and camp there. Never did see him during my 1 week stay at this facility. The other guests had been there quite a long time and they showed me around. During the tornado warning our neighbor told us where to seek shelter. The signs had led us to bldgs. that were closed and locked for the night. We never did see the camp host. Did I say that already? We will most likely stay there again on our way south this winter. Now that I know my way around, who needs the host anyway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Apr 6 - 9, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.J. left this review using the Directory software: Very quite, very nice layout of this camp. Many rental units and what "Appears" to be homesteaders, may make this a hard place to get sites for the travelers. Other then that this a a very nice place to stay with very nice facilities on the base, would try to stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 10, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our first time here. Called ahead & was assigned a site# but it was taken by someone else when we arrived. Camp Host not on site at time but two friendly campers greeted spouse & assisted in pointing out possible sites that might provide unobstructed satellite signal. Parked in one of the suggested sites, got the sat sig fine, drove over to the Rec. Ctr. and checked in. Very gracious welcoming staff registered us and provided us with local BBQ recommendations. If I had it to do again I would have followed the directions using the South Gate. The RV Park is straight ahead on Singleton, make a sharp right at the Commissary entrance (Polaris) then just down that road to another right into the Park (Midway). When I tried to use the WiFi it required specific access. A call to the Rec. Ctr. said Connection Instructions were in the Bath-house (?) but spouse didn't find anything. We used our Verizon Broadband Access. We'd return again if in the area. Corky's in Memphis was a nostalgic trip back to the 50's-60's and worth the trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 26,2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When the new bathhouse is built, this will be a first class park. We arrived on a Sunday evening after making reservations a few days ahead, but some one was already in our space. We could not contact reservations or the camp host, so just took an empty space and hooked up. Was able to reach the camp host by telephone later and he said to stay where we were. There were lots of empty spaces to choose from. There is full hookups and beautiful concrete slabs at every site, but no cable TV. There was a WiFi network available, but it had a weak signal and required a password to connect. The commissary is just a few steps away and the NEX is only a short walk. This an excellent stop if you are visiting the Memphis area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 18, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
When we arrived and saw that they still don't have any kind of bath house, temporary or permanent, and only a single blue porta-john, we decided to check in at the Navy Inn, also on base. The other factor that drove us to the Inn was that there was a severe thunderstorm warning and tornado watch coming within an hour of our arrival, not to mention that the temperature was sitting at 101 degrees (107 in the parking lot). As of this writing, absolutely no work has begun on any bath or comfort facility. Must still be on the drawing board, and/or it hasn't come around in the MWR budget cycle. Maybe next fiscal year. Other reviewers comments about the CG are right on. It's going to be a first rate place once they get it done. The base itself itself is nice, and the Navy Inn we stayed in was very good. As a side note, there's both a Navy Inn and a Navy Lodge on base. They're both run by MWR and are the same price ($45/night).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25 June 2007 - 2 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great place to visit the Memphis area from. Good location, directions are good. Very helpful, friendly staff and host. The bath house and laundry are not finished yet but are in work, should be nice when completed. Very nice large sites with lots of manuvering room. If you're site seeing, stop by MWR they have package deals for quite a few of the attractions. Convient location to most everything, very quiet. Cable didn't work at my site. According to the staff they don't have the cable hooked up. I will come back when ever I'm in the area.
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec 22, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.L. wrote using the Directory software: We enjoyed our stay, the camp host was very helpful. The base gym was free and excellent! Nice sites, all back-in, but plenty of room to maneuver. Check with camp host before choosing a site, some of the sites don't have working utilities yet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Agree with Paul's assessment -- for a small installation, this is a very nice campground. As I undertand, limited funds necssitated short-cuts in the construction of the concrete pads--no re-bar and/or site preparation. Friendly host and Recreation Center staff. Picnic tables on order. Laundry/bath house will be completed when funds become available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We found no info in the "Registration Info" box at the entrance on arrival. We did learn later from another RVer that we could go to the Rec Center to register. The first concrete pad we backed onto disintegrated under the rear wheels within five minutes. We were about 6-8 inches deep and still sinking when I quickly pulled off the pad. In walking around the campground later, I found another pad blocked off with the same problem. Others exhibit cracking, some pretty severe. It appears the relatively new pads are of inadequate thickness and reinforcement for large Class A's. Other than the pad problem, this is a very nice campground with plenty of room, well-placed hookups, and nice grass and trees. It will be super when the bathhouse & promised free WIFI are in place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very good rv park ,will have bathouse and wifi soon wifi in rec room , also free movies every night at 1900, will be one of the best when finshed and rated a 5.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
42 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3