Midway RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (106)
93082 1 16 0 53

User reviews

106 reviews
 
47%
 
41%
 
9%
 
2%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.5(106)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(106)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0(106)
Value
 
4.2(106)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(106)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
106 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
8-11 Apr 18
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time here. If in the area again, would definitely stay. Reserved a site via Navy lodging. Arrived and found a site. Several sites were out of order. Most sites are setup like cul de sacs and all sites are back-in. Easy to do with so much room to maneuver. Entered via the north gate (Navy Rd) and had no problem driving my longbed dually pulling my 40' fifthwheel. School buses use this gate, too. The Singleton gate is slightly easier, and is MUCH closer to the RV park. Base dog park is about a 5 min walk. Nice big areas for large and small dogs across a foot bridge and down the road. Walking distance to the commissary. No diesel for sale on base. Auto Skills Center and car wash are about a quarter mile across the road from the Navy Road gate. Remember to stop at the stop sign a wait for the guard to wave you forward. Saw a newly assigned sailor get chewed out when he didn't.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 25-27, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great Military Campground, one of the best that we stayed at over the past six weeks. One update is the GPS location - correct GPS is 35.328302,-89.865079 this will bring you to the South Gate entrance. Happy Camping!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 6-8, 2017
Overall rating
 
1.0
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
Still a favorite place to stay for a few days and just relax. Free laundry with modern washers/dryers, nice shower facility, and plenty of shade. Nice Commissary and exchange within walking distance. The base is nicely laid out and far enough north of Memphis that you can avoid metro traffic coming from the north on highway 51, or from the south on 385. Back gate is closed on weekends/holidays. Taryn, the attendant was friendly and very helpful getting us into our sight.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July-August 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed for 2 months over the summer due to some repair work needed on our motorhome. They were usually pretty full while we were there. There are quite a number of long-term and permanent residents, both active duty and retired, along with a few trailers that appeared to be just parked on a site with no one actually staying there regularly. All the pads are back-in, 50 amps full hookups with plenty of space to maneuver. Pads are cement and there's plenty of space between most sites. Most of the sites have some shade with only a couple that are completely open to the sky. You aren't assigned a site#. Instead, you choose your site from any of the available ones there. You can also move to another empty site if you don't like the one you're in. You just have to update the park on your new site. We had some electrical problems for a few days after we arrived but the park manager personally changed the circuit breaker on the pedestal as soon as he could and problem solved. Water pressure was great, free wifi was good enough to check email. Free HE washers and dryers worked great. Bath house always looked clean. The grass was trimmed regularly in the park. There's a dog park across the street and plenty of areas to walk the dog. The two camp hosts are great about being visible and available. They were both active duty so they shared the hosting job depending on their schedules. During the week, a park employee is available to check in travelers in the laundry/bath house. It's a well managed and well maintained park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 3
May 28-Jun3 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The site had plenty of maneuvering room. All concrete. The convenience of being right behind the commissary was great. The shade trees and grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Great running and walking paths on base. The outside track on base is almost complete. Wi-Fi was great. It would nice to see cable and a pool on base. Overall it was a great experience. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 2017
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Be sure to locate the North Gate if arriving after hours or on the weekend. Instructions to the North Gate (on Navy Road) are in Larry's direction. Free washers and good wifi are a definite plus. Back in parking spaces are well laid out with lots of room to maneuver. Park is located in back of the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Dec - Jan 2017
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Head for Mid-Way RV park instead of Navy Lake RV Park which is just north of golf course at the base as we were told by rv'ers at Navy Lake that they are closing that base spring 2017 and returning land back to the city. Difficult to get a live person on the phone so just pull in at Mid-Way and look for an open site. Wish there was a weekly rate but there is free laundry and Wi-Fi. Town of Millington, TN has everything. We would come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 28 - December 23, 2016
(Updated: January 30, 2018)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Loved this campground and base. All of the sites are paved back-in sites and although a few permantee's there always seemed to be quite a few spaces open. We reserved online and although it was still first come, first served for the sites the reservation allowed us to call in to MWR and give them our site number. Commissary is next door, plenty of sidewalks for walking, NEX is just down the street and if Walmart, Lowes, or Starbucks are needed they are about 5 miles away. Will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
September 28-29, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had not visited this RV park for a couple of years, but we had good memories of our previous visit. Customer service has improved, since our last visit, and Taryn was very pleasant and helpful getting us checked in. Our site was a level, concrete back-in site with plenty of room to maneuver. The access roads are all paved. The hookups were great, there is a free laundromat at the RV park, and the GoWiFi was good. The commissary is literally right around the corner, the NEX is 5 minutes away, and there is a great little water park (within walking distance) for kids. The only negative is that there is no recycling on site, but minimal recycling (cardboard, clear plastic, and aluminum cans) is available in the commissary parking lot. We would definitely stay here again if we were traveling through the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 26, 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great little park, nicely maintained, Taryn was a friendly and professional receptionist who checked us in; exceptionally nice free laundry facility and showers. Just stayed one night. North of Memphis about 15 miles but that makes it nice, quiet and peaceful. Spacious area between sites and shade. Walking and nature trails nearby. Commissary is easy walking distance. Definitely worth a stop for only $20 a night. Can't do better anywhere else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 21, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is absolutely on of the best Fam-Camps I've stayed in and if you want/need to be in the Millington area. campground backs up to the commissary and you pass the NEX if you enter from the singleton road gate., That's where my 4 on the amenities rating comes from they "Don't have Diesel" But it available in Millington proper at multiple locations. Oh and go to the PIG&WHISTLE for your local barbecue fix, maybe not the best BBQ in the world but real good everything I had there, it was clean and staff were friendly. Just so everyone is aware they have been constantly upgrading the campground for a couple of years, new washers/dryers (frontload and free)upgraded wi/fi 4 separate routers no dropping issues anymore. Campground host (Rich) is active duty but will always come to your trailer and welcome you ,if he's not deployed or working. Taryn is the campground liaison and is usually power washing the pads, cleaning the bathhouse welcoming new guests and is extremely sweet... pretty too for you young guys. HOWEVER they are planning to start in October/November 2016 to start replacing the concrete Pads. Some of the existing ones are in great shape some are broken to pieces cracked and falling apart. So BEWARE during this period there "could be" a slot shortage. There are 34 slots and 24 are slated for replacement so normally you don't have to call but after October I'd call...just to be sure Talk to Taryn/Rich or Andy they'll have the updates. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Mat 20-23, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Some comments to add to the recent ones: Camp Hosts were away when we arrived so we chose a site and phoned MWR; were able to check in over the phone (+ +). At the time we were here, there were always 4 to 8 open sites (for last minute reservations). There is a very nice fruit & veggie stand about a mile south of the Singleton Gate, left side; easy to miss; convenient turn-around to get to it. Singleton Gate IS closed on weekends! Meeman-Shelby Forest State Park, west of Millington at the Mississippi River, is a family recreation area. Boating, biking and hiking are available. Less than 30 minutes from the base, it's a nice way to spend a half or full day. We enjoy Midway RV Park and will continue to spend a few days here as we head west (or east). 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
11 - 12 June 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the better military campgrounds I have visited.  Sites are large and level on concrete pads.  WiFi and cable are excellent.  It is a little out of the way but if you are just passing through,  it is perfect.  No diesel on the base.  Commissary and BX are nearby.  
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 26 - 27 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the stay.  The ride up 51 is a little long with the traffic lights and traffic, but getting on base through the Singleton Ave gate is easy.  Once you're through the gate, it's only a couple of quick right turns to the park.  There is a mailbox at the entry of the park with site and check in information.  We were not greeted by the camp host, so we just went to the back and picked an empty site. The layout makes it very easy to back in, but be careful of your rear stabilizers as there is a decent hill entering each site.  Sites are concrete and more than big enough for any size rig.  Not a whole lot of shade throughout the park.  Utilities were fine and no issue with placement of hookups.  WiFi worked well, no cable, but plenty of over the air channels.  Many long term residents had satellite dishes out, so looks like a clear line of sight for that.  The laundry has two new washers and two new dryers that are free.  The laundry/bathhouse is clean and we'll kept. My only complaint is the requirement of checking in with the camp host then having to go to the rec office across base to pay for the site.  Seems redundant to me. All in all it is a very nice park, even though we don't plan on returning to Memphis, we would stay there again if passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have been coming here off and on for 8 years.  This place just keeps getting better and better.  They are going to put in a new bath house and pour new concrete on the sites.  They just put in new front loader washer/dryers and they are free.  The manager, Andy and his maintenace crew have really kept this park in great shape.  The MWR check in people are great and the camp hosts are awesome.  Security here is great and its right next to Commissary and dog park. Millington is a nice little town with great restaurants. You can spend the day seeing the sights in Memphis and spend quiet evenings in the park.  I met some friends here that were only going to stay for a week and they wound up staying a month. I travel extensively and I have seen this park become one of the best managed rv parks in the country.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here during a trip to Memphis and were very happy with the campground. It seems to be an old trailer park so the pads a very large and have full hookups. The area is very clean and well maintained and our site had nice shade trees. It was nice being located on the base because you had full access to all of the facilities to include the ITT office if you wanted to buy tickets to the local attractions. It is not real close to the downtown area but it is close enough that the drive was not bad. We went to the zoo, Graceland, and the downtown area while we were there and the longest drive was about 30 minutes. As with all military campgrounds the price was great and the personnel were friendly and very helpful. We highly recommend a trip to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken in the downtown area, you won't be disappointed. We also ate at The Central BBQ (Downtown) and I highly recommend this place for traditional Memphis BBQ. Memphis also has a wonderful zoo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22/23OCT2015
(Updated: November 15, 2015)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fantastic park. Easy access through South Gate (when it is actually open, so call ahead to verify which gate to use) and right behind the Commissary. Very easy to maneuver even the largest rigs and trailers in here, once you get past the front gates. Plenty of wide, level, paved spaces with picnic tables. Laundry facilities and bathroom (toilet in a stall, dual sinks and vanities in womens, urinal and single sink in mens) showers were great (so clean my wife said she'd go barefoot in them), water pressure throughout facility was good. Two free, high-efficiency front-loader washers that featured a 'short-wash' cycle (perfect for RV worn clothes) and two free dryers. The entire building doubles as a lounge with a huge table for folding your laundry, iron and ironing board (just like berthing back on the ship!!!), comfy chairs, cable TV, relatively current magazines and a desk/chair in case you bring your laptop. Best part of the facility was the cleaning crew that showed up every morning and left the place spotless! The only downside was waiting for people to come and fetch their laundry, leaving several guests waiting their turn. Camp host checked in with us the morning after we finally made it in, although we had already gotten our space info and checked in with the office when we arrived around 2000. Apparently they've had some issues with people showing up late and packing out early while forgoing payment on their space.  Dumpster was near our space, but there was no recycling program noted and I'm uncertain if the waste management company has a sorting facility for recycling. Wifi was good around the park (our antenna was next to the laundry), and from our spot we had clear HD signal from both Dish and OTA antenna, which yielded a dozen regular TV channels and another dozen shopping/religious/ESL channels, all with crystal clear signal. South end of the park has a row of tall trees that could provide shade in summer months, but may also interfere with your dish. Other spaces had trees around them, but they were not so dense that they'd block the signal. Sprint and AT&T had good service, but we didn't need to use our Hotspot devices. We can certainly understand why this is such a popular FamCamp, and will eagerly stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct. 23-26 2015
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just to let you know RV's no longer have to enter the truck gate, they have a high gate to the right of the car entrance. I was told this by the guard at the truck entrance. Also when you get there just pick a site and call in to the MWR as to what site you have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 September 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice facility but watch when approaching the commissary or one could miss the appropriate turn and went past Polaris; however, driving a Class A rig towing a car managed to get to the campground with minimal aggravation. Great wifi and nice facility with shade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
June 20, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful, great campground. Camp host was great. Note: On weekends Singleton gate CLOSED.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
106 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4 5 6