Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (153)
129492 1 19 2 104

User reviews

98 reviews with 5 stars
153 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(153)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(153)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(153)
Value
 
4.4(153)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(153)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
August 15-21, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
$5 Dry tent site with easy access on payment to restrooms, showers and free laundry. Many grassy areas shaded/sunny with picnic tables and grills ready at all times. The base had many opportunities to do things from shopping, free movies at the theater on Fri & Sat, to an outdoor event with food, music, games and prizes. I was busy at all times when not traveling to the local sightseeing opportunities. Badlands, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Caves, everything approximately within 1 hour from base. Sarah was the best in the office with lots of advice and answers to all questions. Make sure you are here on a Friday for free donut day! By far the best experience I have had at a Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Follow the directions above! Don't trust your GPS! Arrived Sunday, July 3rd. GPS took us to the Commerical Gate via 225th St. GATE CLOSED! Fortunately, we could see the gate was closed and turned left on E Ellsworth that took us back to Liberty Blvd where we turned right, went past the museum, through the main gate. We are 34 feet, towing a 15 ft SUV, and had no problem navigating the barriers. The barriers at the main gate are movable, so larger RVs probably could gain access to the base on weekends and holidays. We will come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We made Ellsworth AFB our base camp while exploring the Black Hills. The directions to the FamCamp the office sends you are spot on. You would expect the famCamp to be at the end of one of the runways or the other side of the base, but it's smack-dab in the center of base. Check in was easy and our campsite was easy to locate and back in. The campground, bathhouse and laundry (free) are clean and well maintained. There are trees on lots providing some shade. Water, power and sewer were stable. The base has all amenities including a gas station close by so you can top off your fuel for the next leg of your trip. This is a B-1 bomber base so there is some jet noise, but the jets are a sight to behold. Wi-Fi is ok at times depending on how many people in camp are using it at the same time. Cell phone coverage was good for AT&T.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Older review, but I wanted to share. We stayed overnight while traveling from Alaska to Kentucky. Very impressed with the CG. If I was back in the area I would stay again. No issues with power or water. Easy to access and close to BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second stay at Ellsworth AFB Famcamp and it's just a nice park. There are some areas that are in a wagon wheel formation and there is a section that has pull throughs. There is plenty of room between the sites and it feels very comfortable. The roads are paved and the sites are concrete. (I think the pull through roads are gravel but sites are concrete). The back in sites in the wagon wheels are easy back in's because they are slanted so you can almost do a straight back in. Utilities are placed well and are in good repair. There were about 4 or 5 sites in our area that were having water pressure issues. They worked on it while we were there but never got it resolved. Everyone else had good pressure. The base is large and "Air Force" neat. Rapid City has anything and everything you'd need in eating out and/or shopping. Then, of course, there is Mount Rushmore, Black Hills, The Bad Lands, Custer State Park. There is no doubt it is a beautiful area to visit. Our only complaint is wind. It is relentlessly windy, which is annoying!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
18 May 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our 2nd time staying here at Ellsworth AFB. The check-in was easy and the sites had cement pads, were level and the water/power/sewer hookups were all good. There was no problem coming in the commercial gate and it was a short drive to the RV park. There is a gas station/mini mart within walking distance from the park. We stayed here in a 30' Class C motorhome and will be back on our next adventure!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 June 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a pretty park. Later in the evening the deer came down to graze! Did not use the facilities (bath/shower). Pleasant stay will come again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept/Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place and convenient to the Black Hills. High season rates are slightly higher than listed here, $30 per night FHU, $180 week. Level and wide concrete spaces with scattered trees and BBQ grills. We prefer the pull-thru spaces for our 40 ft with toad, but have used the back-in spaces with no problem as well. Overflow sites are well spaced, a little bumpy and uneven but hey, the price is right at $15! Gate entry after hours and on weekends must be thru Liberty gate. Patriot Gate is now open during duty hours, we had no problem navigating thru with the toad. Laundry is free, a small picnic table outside and one inside if you want to hang out watching the spin cycle. If you have to do several loads be advised there are a couple rolling baskets to help carry your laundry, because some sites have a bit of a hike to the laundry room!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
September 4-6 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very clean, nice shady trees, and very nice people. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
14-18 Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice and quiet, we stayed 4 nights and the B-1's flew only one evening. Nice free museum just off base. First night was in overflow, $15. 50 amp only great wifi, 3 more nights in the RV park were $30. per night. Bathrooms/showers are old and need work, laundry is free. We have a 35' 5th wheel and came in the main gate just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 9 - Sep 9, 2018
(Updated: August 13, 2019)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an update to the directions. We are a 45' motorhome towing a pickup. The sign regarding 29' RVs using the commercial gate is gone. The main gate (Liberty) has 2 swing gate type barriers. The barriers can be opened if necessary. We had no problem going around the barriers and through the gate. A 45' motorhome towing a long trailer might have a problem. Previous directions from the main gate to the FamCamp are good. Services are very convenient to the campground. Good sidewalks for walkers but the mosquitoes are horrendous. Lawn maintenance around the pull thru sites seems not to be a priority as the grass was pretty long. Added: Patriot Gate (by the FamCamp) has 2 swing gate barriers at the entrance. These gates are closer together than those at the main gate and clearance for a 45’ coach with tow vehicle may be a problem. The gates can be opened if necessary.
Ellsworth AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
20 September 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have stayed in a few military parks and this one was fantastic. Limited experience but have not stayed in a bad military park as all have been secure, accommodating, and friendly. Ellsworth offered cement sites with easy hookups, excellent WIFI, and free laundry. Can't beat any of that. The weather however was foggy and cool which limited our vacation plans but certainly not any fault to Ellsworth AFB. BX and commissary within a mile or two. Will definitely come back to this park. Most modern I have seen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the nicest FamCamps we've stayed in. Quiet, clean, walking distance to shoppette, and there's a thrift shop on base with all sorts of treasures. Concrete pads, easy hookups, and nothing beats hearing reville in the morning! There is overflow area, or park in front of Dakota Club. Not far from Rapid City, and all the Black Hills attractions. Free Laundry. The grass will become 12" high before they mow it though, that's the only possible thing to fuss about with this campground. Wifi was passable, but not wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jul 31 - Aug 3, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ellsworth is a wonderful campground. The office staff is extremely accommodating. It is in a great location to explore the Black Hills. There is a nice golf course just outside the gate and Ellsworth has a great gym. With the exception of the lawn, the facility is clean and well kept. We were there just prior to Sturgis weekend, so the campground was full. Unfortunately 1/2 of the washing machines were not working and the grass needed to be mowed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 1-8 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great spot for exploring the Black Hills! Laundry was free which was really nice. Sites were nice but the grass needed mowing which made the mosquitoes worst :(
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 19, 2018 - June 30, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park. The park is in a wagon wheel layout which gives each RV plenty of room. There is sun and shade, very clean restrooms and laundry rooms, and the grounds are kept up and mowed regularly. The roads are paved and the pads are concrete. All utilities worked fine. The park is set near 2 of the base gates - convenient; and the base isn't so far out of town that it is inconvenient. Our only complaint was the wifi was too slow - we used our hotspot. Otherwise, very nice!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Cant go wrong with this location. Clean facilities, great concrete RV pads and QUIET neighbors. Close to AAFES and the Commissary. Make sure and follow direction given when you make a reservation as GPS will take you right to the gate that is closed outside of business hours. Quick drive into Rapid City and not a far drive to Rushmore and Crazy Horse..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 15 - June 22, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Ellsworth continues to be a nice place to stay with friendly staff and nice sites. We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a truck so we prefer the new sites which are long enough to fit the motorhome AND the truck with room to spare. Also, I like the utility setup at the new sites versus the old. In addition, some of the hookups in the older area are not lined up well and you have to stretch your sewer hose or water to fit. Last summer when we were here, we were in the old side and the lawn care company managed to rip through my sewer hose with their weed wacker. Does not happen on the new sites. The sites are concrete. We usually come in the patriot gate (M-F: closed on weekends) or the main gate, but this time as we approached there was a sign that said vehicles over 25' should use the commercial gate (Ellsworth St.) Current rates vary by time of year: 1 NOV-30APR = $10 (electric only) 1 MAY-31 JUNE = $23 FHU 1JULY-30 OCT = $28 FHU washers and dryers continue to be free.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
Jun 1-9, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Used 2 full-hook up pull-through sites for 36' and 30' travel trailers. The sites are on concrete and the only leveling required was from the front hitch (front to back). The picnic tables are a touch small and anchored to the ground - we had 8 people trying to sit and that left very little room for the plates on the table. There are no fire circles due to the general fire risk of the area. The grass between the sites needed to be mowed on the day we arrived and they weren't mowed until 6/8 and the thistles were a bit out of control by then. The restrooms were really nice with free showers and free laundry! We took the advice provided on this site and left our awnings in...GREAT advice as the wind does randomly gust 25+ without warning. The indoor pool is just a lap pool and the outdoor pool is out of service for the 2018 season. (Reminder to wear full/proper coverage in the fitness building - my daughter (13) just wore shorts over her one piece swim suit and received some eye glares...oops.) We rented 2 bikes from the Outdoor Rec for $10 each. The bikes were nice, until the one ended up with a flat tire 1 hour into the use. You are REQUIRED to wear a helmet on Base, no reflector belts required. The location is great for the tourist areas as everything is about a 1 hour drive. The "closer" campgrounds to the attractions are not nearly as nice. WIFI at night was super spotty, which was nice to have teenagers engaged in the people around them as opposed to working their thumbs! Couple other points: a) The Main Gate weave around the concrete blockades are a bit tight, so caution. b) The other gates close early. c) Safety shelter is located at the Special Forces building, which is a block+ away from the camp. d) The PX/BX has very odd hours as does the Base in general, so watch times. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Good place to stay to toured Mt.Rushmore 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 2
98 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5