Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
129492 0 19 3 75

User reviews

142 reviews
 
65%
 
26%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(142)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(142)
Value
 
4.4(142)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
142 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
18 Sep 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice level concrete pads long enough for big rigs. Very well maintained with exceptional staff. Laundry, restroom/showers were very adequate and clean. My first visit since being assigned there from 1963-1966 and it made me proud to see it is still a great Air Force facility with great leadership.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
26 Aug 07 to 6 Sept 07
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Hosts very helpfull and knowledgeable about the area. Always willing to provide assistance and direction. Interesting area with alot to do. Even though there are no reservations. Always seems to be room for campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 22 to Aug 7th, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very busy during our stay since it coincided with Sturgis Rally. Several cycles in the park upped the noise level, but again probably due to the timing. This is a great location to see the many attractions located in this area. We were in overflow a couple of nights. It is really far from the camp and right off the flightline. Hopefully you will not be there long. Overflow movement through the park was well managed and the hosts did a nice job of maintaining the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 23-27 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Enjoyed our stay. Thanks to previous reviews for the hesds up on the commercial gate. For those few that complained about the cost I suggest you take advantage of the base dinning facility. With ID we had lunch (Salad bar for two with soft drink) for $2.85 total! We also had blood work done at the medical facility. Thanks, Mike Brady
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
20 - 26 August 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
G.W. left this review using the Directory software: Positive comments in previous posts are right on the money. A real deal in a very touristy area. A very pleasent stay. JoAnne was very helpful and went out of her way to brief us on the area and where the best deals were. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely give this FamCamp our first consideration. Way to go, Joanne!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 21, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Ellsworth is a compact little campground with very little charm to recommend it. Which is to say, it's a bit barren and sterile. That said, it does have large, level concrete pads, mostly back-ins. It has a modern, well-appointed, clean bath house. The recently installed WIFI is good news and bad news. Whatever the network antenna arrangement is, it's not adequate to cover much more than about a 75 foot radius around the office. So, folks in the sites on the outer edges of this small campground cannot get internet in their RVs. You'll have to take your chair and laptop over to the office and surf al fresco. But at least it's available. So if WIFI and comfort are important to you, try to get one of the sites closest to the office. When you do connect, you'll find it's a secure network, and you'll need an encryption key, which the host will provide. It wasn't volunteered, so if you want WIFI, ask for the key when you check in. All in all, it's an adequate campground, but expensive for such sterility. When we were in this area four years ago, we stayed in the Badlands National Park campground and, even without hookups, found it to be a much more interesting and beautiful place to spend a couple of days. And the price (with Golden Age pass) was around $6.00 a night, instead of the overpriced $20.00 at Ellsworth. The commissary and exchange are nice, but are the small, second-tier facilities. The base library is good, with a modest selection of DVDs on the shelf, and of course, several computer stations for internet access. No propane refills are available for your RV. You can exchange empty 20 lb bottles at the base gas station for full ones. To refill your propane, there's a Flying J six miles west on I-90. Side Note: For those of you using Sprint cell phones and broadband cards, there is no signal on Ellsworth AFB, or Rapid City, or most of I-90 for that matter. This northern tier of states is largely a Sprint wasteland.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground. Close to RV friendly BX Shopette. Wi-Fi weak but usable. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 18 to August 2, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Agree with the other post. The location is a bit far out of town but that is the life of being on an air base. The wind does blow and there is not much to break it before hitting the campground. With the high winds and the high temps (it was 106 today) the weather is not that hospitable but that is not the campgrounds fault. This is the most I've paid at a military campground.
RS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
7-12 Jul 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding FamCamp! Hosts were very helpful--campground was very clean, to include the restroom and laundry faculties. We spent several hours in the overflow until JoAnn called with an opening. Our assigned pad was fine -- a longer pad would have been nice but none were available. Enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future.
JY
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 8-13, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This would have been a spectacular experience if I had been RVing, instead of tent camping. But, because I was tenting, I have to say it ended very badly. I actually bought and paid for an RV spot, because I needed to be close to an electrical outlet for my computer (I take online courses). It's a good thing I did, too because otherwise I would not have had any place to tie our tent down to the degree needed to sustain the winds which kick up across the South Dakota plains! We were forced to leave early because the wind was so bad, it was picking up the tent with me and my son in it! This eventually forced all of the support grommets to fail, which meant emergency repairs. But, even after i tried repairing it, the tent just wouldn't function any more, as the tent poles went right through the support straps, with no grommets to support them. So, we had to leave early. I cannot imagine what might have happened if we had actually been using the tenting area behind the FAMCAMP office. There is really no place to tie off you tent besides the permanent grills and picnic tables. At least in spot 11, we had trees to tie our tent down with. As far as the local area and the FAMCAMP's proximity, it can't be beat! My son and I had a blast visiting the many area attractions and everything was within an hour's drive, so that was even more convenient. Overall? A great place to visit; a nice, clean comfortable campground...for an RVer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
15 May 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another fine Air Force facility. Convenient to I-90. Large, level concrete pads with convenient hook ups and well kept grounds. Friendly, helpful host. Laundromat was spacious, clean and the efficient machines were relatively inexpensive. Bathrooms/showers were spotless and in excellent condition. WiFi is available, but when I was there the signal was not strong enough to reach beyond the sites immediately adjacent to the office. This is supposed to be corrected in the near future. Commissary, BX, Library all located within a few blocks of the CG. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the security barriers at the Main Gate make navigating extremely difficult with larger rigs, and the Commercial Gate should be used. Although $20 may be a bit on the high side for military CG's, any time I can pay less than $25 for a facility like this, I'm a happy camper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
30 Apr-May 1 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful Park with all new concrete pads and lots of green. The laundry wasn't in full operation yet, they had just opened the park for the season. The host was in the process of getting set up and organized but was very helpful and pleasant. Cost a little more than most military parks but the surrounding area and all it offers makes up for it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
May 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground with a very nice host (JoAnne)! DO NOT use the Patriot Gate unless you are very sure you can fit through (most rigs can't). Follow directions to the Commercial Gate -- it is well signed. Exit 66, as shown on some computer maps, no longer exits. Lots and lots of stuff to do in the local area -- Jewel Cave NP, Wind Cave NP, Mt Rushmore, Badlands NP, SD Air Museum, and a whole host of commercial activities. Rapid City is a nice small city that's easy to get around. EAFB is also easy to get around. Shopette is just across the street from the FamCamp and has diesel. Nice, smaller BX and commissary is just a short distance from the FamCamp. Wifi was turned on just a few days ago (4May07). Cost is now $20, but very much worth it when you consider the alternatives outside the gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
April 22, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
M.H. left this review from the Directory software: We are just now only two campers here. Even though it is not May 1st, all systems are on, and price is $20.00. The sites have brand new level cement pad's about 70 feetx15 feet, wide space between sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2006
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed there for 2 weeks while enjoying the sights in the area. Park host was very helpful in assisting with directions both off and off base. All sites are back in but large enough to handle the new bigger rigs. 2 bath houses. 1 laundry room with enough washers and dryers to take care of the busy park. Very easy to access during week between 6a and 6p. Weekends you need to use commercial gate. We would definitely go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept.1, 2006
(Updated: January 24, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Most expensive military camp I've visited to date. But, so much to see in the vicinity (Custer State Park, Blk Hills, Mt.Rusmore, Jewel and Wind caves, etc) they can charge that and get it. Very clean, close to shower/laundry, and level pads. Playground is tiny (okay for little ones) but is at a busy intersection into the park I wouldn't want them to be alone if they were under nine or ten. Not supposed to use water to wash vehicles/RVs. No recycling on site, but someone said there were bins on base. I never found them. Commissary has okay selection of organics.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Only stopped by for a visit, but sites were available. Nice campground with a very friendly host. Nothing fancy, but a decent place to spend some time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Clean park, but since it was full we got sent to the overflow. The overflow is nothing more than a parking lot with electric hook-ups. Overflow park is several miles away from the main portion of the base. The main park had clean bathroom and laundry facilities. BEWARE OF BASE SECURITY! I got ticketed by base security for one of the most petty traffic incidents (I disagreed with the security officer completely) I ever been involved with. Base Security lacked some professonalism and judgement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Before May 1st was $10. $20 beginning May 1st. Hot showers, good laundry facilities, Famcamp very close to BX and commiss. I had a part installed in my Rialta at the Auto Skills next to the Rec office. They were most helpful there, and even have a place where you can wash smaller RV in a bay, and charge $2.75 to use the bay. Use Patriot gate if don't need to stop at Main Gate for Visitor's pass. I was there mid-April and did have water, laundry, showers etc. but it may have just been hooked up. Call first if this is important. They go out of their way to accomodate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
142 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8