Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (147)
129492 0 19 3 93

User reviews

94 reviews with 5 stars
147 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(147)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(147)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(147)
Value
 
4.4(147)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(147)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
94 results - showing 81 - 94
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Sep 2, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P. L. left this review using the Directory software: Nice campground. Our first stay here and the first day so will add more later. Camp host is very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 14 - 18, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first FamCamp experience and it couldn't have been better. Well, if it was in the Black Hills it would have been perfect, but the drive wasn't long. The directions were right on, and after a short wait at the commercial gate (we came in on a Saturday) we found our way to the camp. The host was very friendly and provided tons of information and maps on the local area. When we got there around 4:00 p.m., we had our choice of three spots, but things filled up fast after that. Everyone who came after the place filled up was accommodated by parking next to full hook-up sites this gave them electrical until morning. Each day there was some turnover, so those in the overflow could get full hookup sites if they wanted to move. If we come this way again, we will definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-28 June, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
PROS: I enjoyed everything about this camp, was not windy during our stay which I know is unusual for here. Everything is clean, organized & nearby. A little pricey from what I am learning. CONS: None. Would definatley stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: Gate info was right-on. SP met us at the gate after hours and even led us to the fam camp. Host met us as we drove in. Nice campground. BX and comm close to camp. Rated this fam camp 5 stars.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
18 Sep 2007
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice level concrete pads long enough for big rigs. Very well maintained with exceptional staff. Laundry, restroom/showers were very adequate and clean. My first visit since being assigned there from 1963-1966 and it made me proud to see it is still a great Air Force facility with great leadership.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 Aug 07 to 6 Sept 07
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Hosts very helpfull and knowledgeable about the area. Always willing to provide assistance and direction. Interesting area with alot to do. Even though there are no reservations. Always seems to be room for campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
20 - 26 August 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
G.W. left this review using the Directory software: Positive comments in previous posts are right on the money. A real deal in a very touristy area. A very pleasent stay. JoAnne was very helpful and went out of her way to brief us on the area and where the best deals were. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely give this FamCamp our first consideration. Way to go, Joanne!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great campground. Close to RV friendly BX Shopette. Wi-Fi weak but usable. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 18 to August 2, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Agree with the other post. The location is a bit far out of town but that is the life of being on an air base. The wind does blow and there is not much to break it before hitting the campground. With the high winds and the high temps (it was 106 today) the weather is not that hospitable but that is not the campgrounds fault. This is the most I've paid at a military campground.
RS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7-12 Jul 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding FamCamp! Hosts were very helpful--campground was very clean, to include the restroom and laundry faculties. We spent several hours in the overflow until JoAnn called with an opening. Our assigned pad was fine -- a longer pad would have been nice but none were available. Enjoyed our stay and will definitely return in the future.
JY
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 May 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another fine Air Force facility. Convenient to I-90. Large, level concrete pads with convenient hook ups and well kept grounds. Friendly, helpful host. Laundromat was spacious, clean and the efficient machines were relatively inexpensive. Bathrooms/showers were spotless and in excellent condition. WiFi is available, but when I was there the signal was not strong enough to reach beyond the sites immediately adjacent to the office. This is supposed to be corrected in the near future. Commissary, BX, Library all located within a few blocks of the CG. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the security barriers at the Main Gate make navigating extremely difficult with larger rigs, and the Commercial Gate should be used. Although $20 may be a bit on the high side for military CG's, any time I can pay less than $25 for a facility like this, I'm a happy camper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
30 Apr-May 1 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful Park with all new concrete pads and lots of green. The laundry wasn't in full operation yet, they had just opened the park for the season. The host was in the process of getting set up and organized but was very helpful and pleasant. Cost a little more than most military parks but the surrounding area and all it offers makes up for it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Excellent campground with a very nice host (JoAnne)! DO NOT use the Patriot Gate unless you are very sure you can fit through (most rigs can't). Follow directions to the Commercial Gate -- it is well signed. Exit 66, as shown on some computer maps, no longer exits. Lots and lots of stuff to do in the local area -- Jewel Cave NP, Wind Cave NP, Mt Rushmore, Badlands NP, SD Air Museum, and a whole host of commercial activities. Rapid City is a nice small city that's easy to get around. EAFB is also easy to get around. Shopette is just across the street from the FamCamp and has diesel. Nice, smaller BX and commissary is just a short distance from the FamCamp. Wifi was turned on just a few days ago (4May07). Cost is now $20, but very much worth it when you consider the alternatives outside the gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sep 2005
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Call Security office before you arrive. They wouldn't let me in the main gate because of barriers. We had to unhook during lunch hour traffic and back out and go to commercial gate which is not always open. Nice campground, would use again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
94 results - showing 81 - 94
1 2 3 4 5