Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (147)
129492 0 19 3 93

User reviews

147 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(147)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(147)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(147)
Value
 
4.4(147)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(147)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
147 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
July 2 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place was awesome, everyone we met here from the hosts to the other park visitors were very friendly and helpful, Will definitely stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 6 to July 27 2012
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FAMCAMP is well managed. The restrooms/showers are very clean. The camp host and staff at outdoor rec are very friendly and helpful. If they can not find a site for you when you arrive, they have 20 or so overflow sites with electric. They will place you on a list and move you up as sites become available. The week of Sturgis is very busy. The security police told me when I arrived that they changed the policy and RVs are permitted to use the main gates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 22 to August 1, 2012
(Updated: July 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay while seeing the sights in the Black Hills, the Badlands, and Rapid City. Camp Host, John, and his lovely wife, Maria, were the best. This is a very busy place in the summer and being a "1st come, 1st served" no reservations campground, you'd better plan to arrive early, like between 10am and 12 Noon cause they fill up fast. (recommend calling about 5 - 10 miles out to check availability.) Great commissary and PX/BX with a nicely stocked Shopette/gas station. The shopette is within walking distance. Clean bathhouse and laundry. $1.50 wash/$1.00 dry....We used Main Gate for entry with no issues and will use the Main Gate to exit the base...A recommendation for lunch if you get to Lead, SD is Lewie's Saloon & Grill...great burgers and Reubens...lol We plan to return again in the future. All 5 stars well deserved....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16 - 19 July 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent four days during the hot spell. Had no power problems. Sites were reasonably separated. We were in the pull-thru expansion area. Host and assistant were very helpful and fun to chat with. We took several day trips into the Black Hills. Received 2 phone calls from the host regarding severe weather. Luckily, severe weather happened at 2300 instead of at 1500 as predicted. Laundry was spotless and reasonably priced. We used the Commercial Gate for entrance and the Patriot Gate for exit. Gate personnel were friendly as were the BX folks we talked with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 - 18 July 2012
(Updated: July 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our very first stay at a military Famcamp. We had no problem following the directions listed here. Came in on the weekend so we had to call to have the commercial gate opened. Only waited about 10 minutes. However, the civilian guard who let us in said we could use the main gate. We mentioned this to the host and he was upset. Evidently the Base Commander doesn't like the main gate to be used. In short, use the commercial gate. The base is located in an area that allows easy access to some great areas. The amenities are very clean but are a pretty good walk from the pull through area. Can't say enough about the hosts. While out and about in Deadwood, I received a message on my cell phone warning about an impending thunderstorm and possible hail. Then received another call making sure we got the first message. The base gas station is about a block away and they have diesel. Overall, we had a very good experience here and look forward to returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 16-28, 2012
(Updated: July 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the first time for my wife and I at this FAMCAMP. Camp hosts John/Jean couldn't have been nicer. Attempted to make every experience the best. Riding motorcycle on post was a challenge. You had to suit up in 100 degree weather for your protection. Oh well, out the Patriot Gate and bagged the Long sleeves. Base and surrounding area is beautiful. People are super. Rapid City is a great little western town, DO NOT miss the Firehouse downtown. As always, know where to be at what time of day or night. In the extreme heat, power drain kicks the breakers, be mindful for your pets sake. Will love coming back in a couple years, weeks before Sturgis (25mi). The B1's rock. Can't say enough good about this Base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25, 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time I stayed here was a decade ago. It was nice then and still is. The trees have grown to provide some shade for sitting around the campsite. They do not interfere with satellite signal reception. All pads are concrete and level. Utilities work well although the voltage dipped occasionally. Perhaps due to the campground being full and abnormally hot weather for this part of the country. The bath house was clean. Verizon cell coverage, to include 3G, was good. There are two things to look out for. The turn-in to the campground has a dip that needs to be navigated carefully. Despite the Directions information listed above, you CANNOT use the commercial entrance to the base. There is a posted sign that states it is closed to all POV traffic and it is completely closed on the week-ends. Enter through the main gate and ask for a base map. It will accommodate all size rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 15th, 2012
(Updated: May 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For our first time in a FAMCAMP, we loved it, the camp host was very nice and helpful. The camp is clean and well taken care of. We will stop again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 23 - 30, 2011
(Updated: November 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We wanted to see Mount Rushmore before heading to the west coast so we stayed here. I would highly recommend this FamCamp for anybody wanting to see the local attractions. This base is small but well laid out. This is the first base I have seen that has the Exchange, Commissary, Credit Union, Burger King, Library and theater all in the same area. The theater surprised us with 99 cent movies. You don't mind the regular concession prices when the movie is that reasonable. The class 6 store & gas pumps are just kitty corner from the campground, very convenient. The only markdown was for the way the hosts acted. That comes down to people and their actions. I will stop here again when in the area because the hosts rotate through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Excellent location and value! Both camp host couples were friendly. The reason the overall experience was so low was because the camp hosts were not interested in getting problems fixed in the sites. I had a problem with the 50 amp circuit breaker tripping at my site and was concerned it would trip while I was away. Temperatures were in the nineties during the day and I have two indoor cats. After I had to reset it four times over the course of two days, I insisted that I be moved to another site, which was done reluctantly. Instead of getting the circuit breaker replaced, the camp host just told me I was wrong and it wasn't tripping. Oh well, the camp hosts were nice, just dumb and lazy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
August 16-16, 2011
(Updated: August 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the better Famcamps - long cement sites, good hookups, and some shaded sites, with friendly and helpful camp hosts. It's no longer necessary to use the Commercial Gate, the main gate has been rebuilt and there are no barriers or low clearances. Disregard the sign "RVs must turn around", it's for the museum, not the gate. Great location near Rapid City and Black Hills, and the Famcamp is convenient to base facilities. The base service station on the corner has diesel and is easy to access and egress, the price was $.22 cents/gal less than the Flying J down the road. At $120 a week, you can't beat the price or value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 14-17, 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really like this place. Just on the outskirts of Rapid City. In a good location to visit Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore and close to Devils Tower. Full hookups on cement pads with WiFi. Quiet part of the base and within walking distance of the BX, Shopette, and Commissary. They do not accept the National Parks Access Pass for discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jul 24 - Aug 8, 2011
(Updated: August 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here and in the area. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hosts are all wonderful and very helpful. There is so much to see and do in this area - this is a great place to consider home base while you tour the area. Only downside, and it's very minor, is that we can't have any packages shipped to us here if not going by USPS. As far as regular mail, the post office is just outside of the Patriot & Main Gates and very convenient and has the friendliest folks working there we've ever seen in a post office. We arrived on a Sunday and it was a breeze getting thru the Commercial Gate, thanks to calling the number listed above in advance. The Patriot Gate is alongside the famcamp and is open Mon-Fri 6-6, very convenient coming and going. RVs can enter there during duty hours - plenty of room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We planned to stay here, but arrived after the closing of the Commercial Gate. We did check out the FamCamp later. The spaces are paved, with grassy areas in between. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The FamCamp is located near the Patriot Gate, which the camp host recommends that RV's use (it's manned 24/7 and is very close to the FamCamp.) The base has a nice museum and offers base tours that includes a missile silo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Both camp host couples were super-Bob & Snookie and Gary & Shari. Very informative and helpful. If you don't know area you better pay attention when they tell you the about "bad weather directions" from the command-cuz hailstorms can happen quick! So many attractions accessible from base (or using outdoor rec tours). New pull-thrus being built but not as spacious as 'original' campground! Dining hall available to retirees. Wi-fi isn't that great but verizon works very well. Gate by famcamp is closed on weekends but you can use main gate- ignore sign at front gate that tells RV's to turn around. Thx-would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25 - 29, 2011
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground clean and well maintained. Spaces was very big and pads level. Commissary and exchange close by. All attractions in area are within short driving distance. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 1, 2011
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just arrived and plan to stay for a week to explore the area: so many things to see! Got a warm welcome from the camp host and all the people at Outdoor Rec, so we already feel at home. The camp is clean and quiet, yet convenient to anything you might need. Everyone is very helpful and willing to share information on sightseeing and amenities. Just GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
28 Sept-5 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 04, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were greeted by Ann one of the hosts who was very friendly and helpful. She gave us some very good advice on touring the area. Her husband and the other hosts were very nice as well. The sites are spacious and roomy with the convenience of a good laundry, dog walk and easy access to base shopping, post office and touring areas. This was our first visit and will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 20 - 24, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found the Famcamp stay a very enjoyable experience. The sites are very spacious and clean. All the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We appreciate the use of the Ellsworth AFB facilities and enjoyed the church services very much. Our only desire is to be able to make reservations one day in advance, so we would know that we have a place to stay after traveling several hundred miles. Thanks again Gary, Sheri,Fred and Shirley.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
21 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Unfortunately, I did not have a pleasant experience at Ellsworth AFB. When we arrived, a tense camp host delivered a 10-minute briefing that hammered the Base Commander's stance on safety and security ("watch out for the SPs, watch out for fires, watch out for hail, watch out for tornadoes" – and so forth). The entire briefing was verbal, and the host reacted belligerently when I suggested that written information would be helpful to refer to later. After 21 successful years of military service and having survived 50 birthdays, I had to wonder who this man thought was in the room with him? He needs to relax and be more respectful of others. Anyway, I agreed to use the Overflow area that night on the chance a regular site would open up the next day. In contrast to the briefing’s focus on security and safety, the Overflow area backs directly up to a very unsafe environment: an open field with 3-4 foot tall dry grass, which is a fire waiting to happen in that hot, prairie-wind environment. It was like being parked on the edge of Hades... in a motor home with a 60 gallon fuel tank. To be honest, we were relieved when the host called to say a regular site would not open up that day. Instead, we found a nice spot in south Rapid City at a friendly campground that was very well located to area attractions – for only $2 more a day than Ellsworth. We stayed there for a week and had a great time! As an Air Force retiree I will continue to use and enjoy military campgrounds, but I won't come back to Ellsworth AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
147 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8