Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (147)
129492 0 19 3 93

User reviews

94 reviews with 5 stars
147 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(147)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(147)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(147)
Value
 
4.4(147)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(147)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
94 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Aug 23 - 30, 2011
(Updated: November 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We wanted to see Mount Rushmore before heading to the west coast so we stayed here. I would highly recommend this FamCamp for anybody wanting to see the local attractions. This base is small but well laid out. This is the first base I have seen that has the Exchange, Commissary, Credit Union, Burger King, Library and theater all in the same area. The theater surprised us with 99 cent movies. You don't mind the regular concession prices when the movie is that reasonable. The class 6 store & gas pumps are just kitty corner from the campground, very convenient. The only markdown was for the way the hosts acted. That comes down to people and their actions. I will stop here again when in the area because the hosts rotate through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 16-16, 2011
(Updated: August 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the better Famcamps - long cement sites, good hookups, and some shaded sites, with friendly and helpful camp hosts. It's no longer necessary to use the Commercial Gate, the main gate has been rebuilt and there are no barriers or low clearances. Disregard the sign "RVs must turn around", it's for the museum, not the gate. Great location near Rapid City and Black Hills, and the Famcamp is convenient to base facilities. The base service station on the corner has diesel and is easy to access and egress, the price was $.22 cents/gal less than the Flying J down the road. At $120 a week, you can't beat the price or value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 14-17, 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really like this place. Just on the outskirts of Rapid City. In a good location to visit Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore and close to Devils Tower. Full hookups on cement pads with WiFi. Quiet part of the base and within walking distance of the BX, Shopette, and Commissary. They do not accept the National Parks Access Pass for discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jul 24 - Aug 8, 2011
(Updated: August 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here and in the area. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hosts are all wonderful and very helpful. There is so much to see and do in this area - this is a great place to consider home base while you tour the area. Only downside, and it's very minor, is that we can't have any packages shipped to us here if not going by USPS. As far as regular mail, the post office is just outside of the Patriot & Main Gates and very convenient and has the friendliest folks working there we've ever seen in a post office. We arrived on a Sunday and it was a breeze getting thru the Commercial Gate, thanks to calling the number listed above in advance. The Patriot Gate is alongside the famcamp and is open Mon-Fri 6-6, very convenient coming and going. RVs can enter there during duty hours - plenty of room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We planned to stay here, but arrived after the closing of the Commercial Gate. We did check out the FamCamp later. The spaces are paved, with grassy areas in between. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The FamCamp is located near the Patriot Gate, which the camp host recommends that RV's use (it's manned 24/7 and is very close to the FamCamp.) The base has a nice museum and offers base tours that includes a missile silo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Both camp host couples were super-Bob & Snookie and Gary & Shari. Very informative and helpful. If you don't know area you better pay attention when they tell you the about "bad weather directions" from the command-cuz hailstorms can happen quick! So many attractions accessible from base (or using outdoor rec tours). New pull-thrus being built but not as spacious as 'original' campground! Dining hall available to retirees. Wi-fi isn't that great but verizon works very well. Gate by famcamp is closed on weekends but you can use main gate- ignore sign at front gate that tells RV's to turn around. Thx-would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25 - 29, 2011
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground clean and well maintained. Spaces was very big and pads level. Commissary and exchange close by. All attractions in area are within short driving distance. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 1, 2011
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just arrived and plan to stay for a week to explore the area: so many things to see! Got a warm welcome from the camp host and all the people at Outdoor Rec, so we already feel at home. The camp is clean and quiet, yet convenient to anything you might need. Everyone is very helpful and willing to share information on sightseeing and amenities. Just GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
28 Sept-5 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 04, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were greeted by Ann one of the hosts who was very friendly and helpful. She gave us some very good advice on touring the area. Her husband and the other hosts were very nice as well. The sites are spacious and roomy with the convenience of a good laundry, dog walk and easy access to base shopping, post office and touring areas. This was our first visit and will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 20 - 24, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found the Famcamp stay a very enjoyable experience. The sites are very spacious and clean. All the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We appreciate the use of the Ellsworth AFB facilities and enjoyed the church services very much. Our only desire is to be able to make reservations one day in advance, so we would know that we have a place to stay after traveling several hundred miles. Thanks again Gary, Sheri,Fred and Shirley.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
3rd week of July 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I can't remember what day we stayed, but it was during the 3rd week in July, and we had called to make sure there was something available, and the host was very accommodating, and was willing to meet up with us late if we got there as late as I had anticipated. I had to call and let him know we would be a day later, and he did not get the message, but he was cheery about it when we did get there the next day. Both gentlemen were very helpful, and the camp site is a real deal, at $8 a night. We only stayed one night, but I would love to go again. We loved that it was close to the Bad Lands and other nice things to do. The base had adequate facilities and the facilities on the camp ground were very clean and we will go back as soon as we can.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 22, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were tent camping .....$8.00 a night was Quoted but they must of had a special because we got a week for $40.00 The campsite was Clean ( bathrooms/ laundry ). We got to eat at the chow hall good food reasonable prices . The campground host we very pleasant and helpful. The wind was very strong one day (blew the tent ) we didn't get the tent blown down tho . I will stay there again next time I am around Rapid City.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2 - July 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at this FAMCAMP, though we stayed only four nights and all of them were at the overflow area. We found the overflow to have plenty of 30 amp power. Better than that, we had terrific views of the many Rapid City fireworks shows on this Fourth of July. We liked the overflow area as it is next to but not too close to the flight line, watching the B-1's take off is a thrill. With our 5th Wheel backed up to the big meadow we were constantly entertained by the meadow larks, eastern king birds, rabbits, deer and a fox! So if the FAMCAMP is full don't despair, fill up with water, empty your waste tanks and enjoy natures show and the occasional aircraft takeoff. The overflow is 2.7 miles away from the FAMCAMP and not too hard to find.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 26-28, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was a great spot to camp, especially if you want to visit all of the historic sites around Rapid City. The RV sites were very spacious, easy to get into and level. The staff was very friendly, helpful and provided us with several good sites we had to see while we were staying in the area. The laundry/restroom/showers were IMMACULATE. There is a Shoppette across from the RV park and the BX is a short distance away. Follow the directions on this website and take the commercial gate to access the base and you will have no problems. We will stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A little tricky getting on the base. Check out their website for details. Campsites are first come first serve plan accordingly. Very good place to stay while visiting the Mt. Rushmore area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
11-20 Jul 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I wanted everyone to know that this is really a nice FamCamp. We have enjoyed our stay here and John, the camp host is extremely accommodating and helpful. He is extremely knowledgeable about the attractions in the area and is always willing to give information and help anyone who comes here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26-28 April 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As we arrived before the season opened there was no host, so we dealt with the folks at the outdoor recreation office. These folks were very accommodating and helpful. The Bathhouse and Laundry were not open yet but they were putting in new washers and dryers. We paid off season rates. The only thing I could say in the negative would be the $20.00 a nite is a little high for the regular season rates. Having said that it's not really much higher than a lot of other Military campgrounds. It really is a nice little park and the MWR people are great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25-30 September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A terrific hostess, easy access to I-90 and Rapid City as well as Mt Rushmore facilities. New laundry/latrine building is excellent. Wi-fi needs following: THE ELECTRONICS PACKAGE IS MOUNTED UNDER THE EAVE OF THE OFFICE BLDG, AND THERE IS A LONG RUN OF COAX UP TO THE ANTENNA; MOST OF THE SIGNAL IS LOST IN THIS LINE! MOVE THE ELECTRONICS PACKAGE RIGHT UP ADJACENT TO THE ANTENNA - PLACE IT IN A WEATHERPROOF HOUSING - AND THE SIGNAL WILL BE FINE! Suggest campground officials cut 'n paste this and give it to Services to get the Geeks at Best Buy to fix it! I discussed this with the hostess, and she told me the install was done by the Geek Squad. I used an outdoor antenna to access the weak signal, and the service itself is OK, just need to get rid of that long transmission line. Otherwise a #1 FamCamp! Base itself is really nice, too. Excellent fitness center, pool, running opportunities, all neat & tidy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 21-23, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great host and wonderful facility! Was an excellent experience and hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great little FamCamp. Rated a "4" on facilities only because the external WiFi antenna is (and has been) non-functional. JoAnne is a very gracious and helpful camp host. We pull a 40' fifth wheel with a Volvo semi tractor and had no problem backing into one of the sites; all of which are concrete, level and very wide. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
94 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5