Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

FeaturedNew
 
4.5 (147)
129492 0 19 3 93

User reviews

39 reviews with 4 stars
147 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(147)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(147)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(147)
Value
 
4.4(147)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(147)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
29-30 July 2012
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The camp host is very good. Moves you from dry camp to full hookups as soon as possible, dry camp was pretty good with 30 amp electric.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 25, 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time I stayed here was a decade ago. It was nice then and still is. The trees have grown to provide some shade for sitting around the campsite. They do not interfere with satellite signal reception. All pads are concrete and level. Utilities work well although the voltage dipped occasionally. Perhaps due to the campground being full and abnormally hot weather for this part of the country. The bath house was clean. Verizon cell coverage, to include 3G, was good. There are two things to look out for. The turn-in to the campground has a dip that needs to be navigated carefully. Despite the Directions information listed above, you CANNOT use the commercial entrance to the base. There is a posted sign that states it is closed to all POV traffic and it is completely closed on the week-ends. Enter through the main gate and ask for a base map. It will accommodate all size rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Excellent location and value! Both camp host couples were friendly. The reason the overall experience was so low was because the camp hosts were not interested in getting problems fixed in the sites. I had a problem with the 50 amp circuit breaker tripping at my site and was concerned it would trip while I was away. Temperatures were in the nineties during the day and I have two indoor cats. After I had to reset it four times over the course of two days, I insisted that I be moved to another site, which was done reluctantly. Instead of getting the circuit breaker replaced, the camp host just told me I was wrong and it wasn't tripping. Oh well, the camp hosts were nice, just dumb and lazy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
July 21 - Aug 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a great campground to tour Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills. One thing that made our visit even better was the campground hosts. There are two couples that share the duties. They start early and finish late. Last night a motorhome arrived and after registering his rig would not start. A number of folks tried to help him but Gary, the host, took him to WalMart at 2300 to get new starting batteries. Gary was working with this military retiree until after midnight when he was finally parked in a spot. Gary and his bride Sherry and Fred and his spouse make the campground special. Thank you Gary and Sherry for all your help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept. 11 - 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed our stay, good location for touring Mt Rushmore,Crazy Horse, Devils tower, etc, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
29-31 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Your directions for entering the base were right on. Security Police were very helpful in guiding us to the campground and leading us to the overflow area. Overflow was ok (we filled up our tank before leaving the campground and had 30 amp electricity so we were as comfortable as could be. Only problem at the overflow site was maneuvering our 35 ft travel trailer into a parking space there. (not much room to maneuver without going into the ditch. As was noted in all the other reviews, the host was more than helpful and made our stay very pleasant. We will definitely be going back. Be sure take in the lighting ceremony at Mt Rushmore. Custer park was a great drive too. At $20 a night for the full hook ups the rate is just a little high (say in comparison to the AF Academy where we spent the 2 nights before.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 21-30, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C. left this review using the Directory software: We visited from 7/21/08-7/30/08. JoAnne is a great host and was extremely helpful and friendly. The laundry was clean and well maintained. We did have problems driving directly to the FamCamp due to road construction adjacent to the access street. The directions provided by the gate staff did not direct us around the construction so we had to unhook then back up our 40 foot RV and enter via another street.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with everything that has been said about the FamCamp and its camp host. I want to comment about the way new arrivals are handled when the FamCamp is full. According to the Campground Information, new arrivals are sent to overflow until one of the campers in the full hookup area has reached the 14 day limit (or a multiple of 14 days if an extension was granted). Then, the camper in the full hookup area must leave and the one in overflow moves into that site. At least, that is my take on the overflow rule. The reality is different. When a camper arrives when the FamCamp is full, they are parked in the grassy area adjacent to another camper and share water and electricity (and sewer, too, if they have a Y-gate sewer connection). Since overflow has 30A electricity, I am not sure why this is necessary. But one reviewer of this FamCamp seems to think it is a good idea. If I had paid $20 a night for a site and then looked out my window to see another RV 10 feet away, I wouldn't be too happy. One of the nice things about this FamCamp is that the sites are spaced far enought apart so that you have room to extend your slides and awnings without encroaching on someone else's space. I believe that campers value this. So, when the space between sites becomes overflow, I wonder why the camp host doesn't use the designated overflow area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26July - 2Aug 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground host is outstanding!! She works hard to fit everyone in, parking rigs in open areas between sites to share unused electric hookups while waiting for full sites. She was also a great source of information on local attractions, etc. Location is great, but website directions got us into trouble due to street construction. With no warning signs that the left turn from Spatz to LeMay was closed, we were trapped between a closed street and a closed Patriot Gate complete with winding barricades. We had to block the street with our 40' motorhome while we unhooked the toad and got the rig turned around in a somewhat tight space. WIFI needs to be improved to make it usable. Hookups are oddly located on some sites, but usable. On site 6, the water hydrant protrudes over the edge of the slab near the front of the rig and could be easily hit while moving in or out. We will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
13 July - 27 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice campground, we loved everything about it. They need to fix their wifi, but this is the only knock on the campground itself. The Camp host goes out of her way to make everyone welcome. If fact she works too hard, the MWR Commander needs to give her some help during the busy season. I was walking to the trash dumpster, and she saw me, she took my trash from me and dumped it. That is service, she is just a great lady. I would stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
An exceptionally clean, well-maintained FamCamp with helpful camp host. Office/rec room is small and cramped. Nearby Exchange/Commissary are small but adequate. Take the Commercial Gate if you're driving anything larger than a small camping van. It is well-marked off the interstate from the west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 5-11, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: Temparary construction on Lemay requires a minor detour on arrival. From Ellsworth, turn right (E) on Spatz, turn left (N) on Schriever, turn right on Lincoln to the famcamp. Gate security is helpful with information. Camp Host is very helpful with recomendations and directions to local attractions. Very clean and well laid out camp sites. Level concrete pads with picnic table and grill. I will definitly stay here if available upon a return visit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 22 to Aug 7th, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very busy during our stay since it coincided with Sturgis Rally. Several cycles in the park upped the noise level, but again probably due to the timing. This is a great location to see the many attractions located in this area. We were in overflow a couple of nights. It is really far from the camp and right off the flightline. Hopefully you will not be there long. Overflow movement through the park was well managed and the hosts did a nice job of maintaining the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 23-27 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Enjoyed our stay. Thanks to previous reviews for the hesds up on the commercial gate. For those few that complained about the cost I suggest you take advantage of the base dinning facility. With ID we had lunch (Salad bar for two with soft drink) for $2.85 total! We also had blood work done at the medical facility. Thanks, Mike Brady
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 22, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
M.H. left this review from the Directory software: We are just now only two campers here. Even though it is not May 1st, all systems are on, and price is $20.00. The sites have brand new level cement pad's about 70 feetx15 feet, wide space between sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2006
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed there for 2 weeks while enjoying the sights in the area. Park host was very helpful in assisting with directions both off and off base. All sites are back in but large enough to handle the new bigger rigs. 2 bath houses. 1 laundry room with enough washers and dryers to take care of the busy park. Very easy to access during week between 6a and 6p. Weekends you need to use commercial gate. We would definitely go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
(No comments)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Before May 1st was $10. $20 beginning May 1st. Hot showers, good laundry facilities, Famcamp very close to BX and commiss. I had a part installed in my Rialta at the Auto Skills next to the Rec office. They were most helpful there, and even have a place where you can wash smaller RV in a bay, and charge $2.75 to use the bay. Use Patriot gate if don't need to stop at Main Gate for Visitor's pass. I was there mid-April and did have water, laundry, showers etc. but it may have just been hooked up. Call first if this is important. They go out of their way to accomodate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice CG. Arranged so there is lots of room between rigs. Convenient to all Black Hills interest points.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2