Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (153)
129492 1 19 2 104

User reviews

153 reviews
 
65%
 
27%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(153)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(153)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(153)
Value
 
4.4(153)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(153)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
153 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
August 15-21, 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
$5 Dry tent site with easy access on payment to restrooms, showers and free laundry. Many grassy areas shaded/sunny with picnic tables and grills ready at all times. The base had many opportunities to do things from shopping, free movies at the theater on Fri & Sat, to an outdoor event with food, music, games and prizes. I was busy at all times when not traveling to the local sightseeing opportunities. Badlands, Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Caves, everything approximately within 1 hour from base. Sarah was the best in the office with lots of advice and answers to all questions. Make sure you are here on a Friday for free donut day! By far the best experience I have had at a Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Follow the directions above! Don't trust your GPS! Arrived Sunday, July 3rd. GPS took us to the Commerical Gate via 225th St. GATE CLOSED! Fortunately, we could see the gate was closed and turned left on E Ellsworth that took us back to Liberty Blvd where we turned right, went past the museum, through the main gate. We are 34 feet, towing a 15 ft SUV, and had no problem navigating the barriers. The barriers at the main gate are movable, so larger RVs probably could gain access to the base on weekends and holidays. We will come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2022
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We made Ellsworth AFB our base camp while exploring the Black Hills. The directions to the FamCamp the office sends you are spot on. You would expect the famCamp to be at the end of one of the runways or the other side of the base, but it's smack-dab in the center of base. Check in was easy and our campsite was easy to locate and back in. The campground, bathhouse and laundry (free) are clean and well maintained. There are trees on lots providing some shade. Water, power and sewer were stable. The base has all amenities including a gas station close by so you can top off your fuel for the next leg of your trip. This is a B-1 bomber base so there is some jet noise, but the jets are a sight to behold. Wi-Fi is ok at times depending on how many people in camp are using it at the same time. Cell phone coverage was good for AT&T.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
June 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Older review, but I wanted to share. We stayed overnight while traveling from Alaska to Kentucky. Very impressed with the CG. If I was back in the area I would stay again. No issues with power or water. Easy to access and close to BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Despite all of the "best campground" awards they have on display, the staff was less than helpful. We were there with three other couples and we had sites together when we made reservations but when we showed up they had moved all of us. The reason given was to support Active Duty people PCSing there but at least 1 of our original spots was empty during our entire stay. We were all charged different amounts even though were were there the exact same days. We did get that sorted out after some lengthy conversations with the staff. We also did a video review of this place posted above.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
September 14, 2021
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called several times for reservation. No answer and no call back. Other guests same problem. Arrived after after hours, sign indicated "no vacancy ". No less than 10 places open w only 2 packets in vestibule for late arrivals. Spoke to sqn commander--hopiing for improvement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
July 25-Aug 1, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Weekend Arrivals Be Forewarned: We have stayed in military famcamps across the U.S. This camp is well maintained, sites are paved, clean and the grass is cut. However, the directions on the website are deplorable and INACCURATE... BE ADVISED: the commercial gate is NOT OPEN on weekends or after working hours. If you get to the commercial gate and it is closed, you will be stuck on an incline, with no where to turn around or backup. The only way out is to drive across a field. Which is dangerous and unsafe. This is a simple problem to fix: edit famcamp directions and have booking staff tell weekend arrivals the commercial gate is closed on weekends. (Editors Note: The directions provided came from other campers. If they are incorrect, please provide correct and detailed directions to share with other website users. Thanks!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
July 17-19, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We are currently camped at Ellsworth AFB FamCamp in Rapid City SD site #8. When we got to our site and hooked up water the pressure was so low we could not get water in the rv. We contacted the office and was informed that there was a water leak affecting sites 6, 7, 8. They reduced our fee from $30 a night to $15 a night and we proceeded to fill our fresh water tank so we could use on board water. It took nearly 10 hours to fill the tank. When we asked when the leak was going to be repaired we were told that the skipper of the base said they did not have the funds to repair the leak which had been on going for over a month. Talking with campers in site 6 and 7 they told us the same thing. I find it unacceptable that they would rather pay the huge water bill that is seeping into the ground than repair the pipes. We love this FamCamp and with how difficult is to even get a space shows that this place makes good money. I hate that they will not repair the issues and are willing to let this beautiful campground fall into disrepair.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
May 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our second stay at Ellsworth AFB Famcamp and it's just a nice park. There are some areas that are in a wagon wheel formation and there is a section that has pull throughs. There is plenty of room between the sites and it feels very comfortable. The roads are paved and the sites are concrete. (I think the pull through roads are gravel but sites are concrete). The back in sites in the wagon wheels are easy back in's because they are slanted so you can almost do a straight back in. Utilities are placed well and are in good repair. There were about 4 or 5 sites in our area that were having water pressure issues. They worked on it while we were there but never got it resolved. Everyone else had good pressure. The base is large and "Air Force" neat. Rapid City has anything and everything you'd need in eating out and/or shopping. Then, of course, there is Mount Rushmore, Black Hills, The Bad Lands, Custer State Park. There is no doubt it is a beautiful area to visit. Our only complaint is wind. It is relentlessly windy, which is annoying!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
18 May 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our 2nd time staying here at Ellsworth AFB. The check-in was easy and the sites had cement pads, were level and the water/power/sewer hookups were all good. There was no problem coming in the commercial gate and it was a short drive to the RV park. There is a gas station/mini mart within walking distance from the park. We stayed here in a 30' Class C motorhome and will be back on our next adventure!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 June 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a pretty park. Later in the evening the deer came down to graze! Did not use the facilities (bath/shower). Pleasant stay will come again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept/Oct 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice place and convenient to the Black Hills. High season rates are slightly higher than listed here, $30 per night FHU, $180 week. Level and wide concrete spaces with scattered trees and BBQ grills. We prefer the pull-thru spaces for our 40 ft with toad, but have used the back-in spaces with no problem as well. Overflow sites are well spaced, a little bumpy and uneven but hey, the price is right at $15! Gate entry after hours and on weekends must be thru Liberty gate. Patriot Gate is now open during duty hours, we had no problem navigating thru with the toad. Laundry is free, a small picnic table outside and one inside if you want to hang out watching the spin cycle. If you have to do several loads be advised there are a couple rolling baskets to help carry your laundry, because some sites have a bit of a hike to the laundry room!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
September 4-6 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very clean, nice shady trees, and very nice people. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
14-18 Aug 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice and quiet, we stayed 4 nights and the B-1's flew only one evening. Nice free museum just off base. First night was in overflow, $15. 50 amp only great wifi, 3 more nights in the RV park were $30. per night. Bathrooms/showers are old and need work, laundry is free. We have a 35' 5th wheel and came in the main gate just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Aug 9 - Sep 9, 2018
(Updated: August 13, 2019)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an update to the directions. We are a 45' motorhome towing a pickup. The sign regarding 29' RVs using the commercial gate is gone. The main gate (Liberty) has 2 swing gate type barriers. The barriers can be opened if necessary. We had no problem going around the barriers and through the gate. A 45' motorhome towing a long trailer might have a problem. Previous directions from the main gate to the FamCamp are good. Services are very convenient to the campground. Good sidewalks for walkers but the mosquitoes are horrendous. Lawn maintenance around the pull thru sites seems not to be a priority as the grass was pretty long. Added: Patriot Gate (by the FamCamp) has 2 swing gate barriers at the entrance. These gates are closer together than those at the main gate and clearance for a 45’ coach with tow vehicle may be a problem. The gates can be opened if necessary.
Ellsworth AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 1
August 1 - 7 2019
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a 45' motorhome towing a truck Big changes. The overflow sites are now directly across from the newer pull thru sites, just east of the child care center. Nice sites, but a big rig might have trouble getting in as the access is narrow. Changes being made to the Patriot Gate (the one next to the famcamp), but hard to tell exactly what they are doing. It looks like they are installing barriers that big rigs towing will probably not fit through. We had planned to come in the main gate, but there is now a sign saying rigs over 29 feet should use the commercial gate. We checked out the main gate and they have installed barriers that you have to curve around to get through. Big rigs will have trouble. Best way to the commercial gate if you are going East on I-90 is to use exit 63 (which has a sign saying commercial gate). Follow that road until the next sign saying commercial gate which is a left turn. After the gate watch for Spaatz Road (should be past Davis George and Eaker)and turn right. Take that to Schriever go left one block to Arnold. Go straight on Arnold to the famcamp. Other than that, past comments all apply.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Sept. 6 - Oct. 11, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The location being so close to the Black Hills and Rapid City makes sightseeing trips fairly easy. The park was clean, the staff terrific, but (I know, there's always a 'but'...) the washers and dryers really need some attention, almost half on either side are always 'out of order'. The base saw fit to place brand new dumpsters in the park, when there wasn't anything wrong with the old ones, but you can't fix your washer/dryer problem? I shouldn't complain too much, as the laundry is free, but having said, that, I am remiss as to why the base felt it was more urgent to replace dumpsters than washers/dryers. Overall, I gave the park a 3.4 rating due to the laundry facility, TERRIBLE Wifi (I don't know how that previous rater could say it was 'excellent'; it was FAR from that!), and a bit steep on the price. MWR used to charge based on rate/rank accordingly. Whatever happened to that system?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 6
20 September 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have stayed in a few military parks and this one was fantastic. Limited experience but have not stayed in a bad military park as all have been secure, accommodating, and friendly. Ellsworth offered cement sites with easy hookups, excellent WIFI, and free laundry. Can't beat any of that. The weather however was foggy and cool which limited our vacation plans but certainly not any fault to Ellsworth AFB. BX and commissary within a mile or two. Will definitely come back to this park. Most modern I have seen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 2018
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The directions sent to us by the campground office were “misleading” but office staff said they were in the process of resolving. The Patriot Gate ( open until 6 weekdays) is the best gate to come in. The campground is on your right soon after entry. There are two sections to the park. The older part is in “wagon wheels” with all back in sites. Our site was not long enought for our 5th wheel and truck and had a tree at the back of the site that blocked our back door. The newer section is all pull thru. All sites are concrete with a patio, table and grill. Free wi-fi ( sometime spotty). Our satellite worked fine and you can get quite a few OTA channels. Small but adequate commissery and exchange. Base gas station has diesel. Bowling alley ( but don’t eat at the snack bar), movie theater, golf course and a great air museum right outside of base. Not too many stores nearby but this is a great place to stay to visit all the sites in the surrounding area. No play ground for kids but plenty of grassy area for you dog to walk. They are in the process of adding some pull thru overflow sites across from the FamCamp. I thought the price was a little high but we did get one night free with staying a week. Also, if you are looking for a "day of” place to stay try to call during the business hours. They have a board in front of the office which every night it said “no vacancy”…..but there ere empty sites every night. The office staff said they don’t change it if they just have a few sites available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the nicest FamCamps we've stayed in. Quiet, clean, walking distance to shoppette, and there's a thrift shop on base with all sorts of treasures. Concrete pads, easy hookups, and nothing beats hearing reville in the morning! There is overflow area, or park in front of Dakota Club. Not far from Rapid City, and all the Black Hills attractions. Free Laundry. The grass will become 12" high before they mow it though, that's the only possible thing to fuss about with this campground. Wifi was passable, but not wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
153 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8