Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (116)
127862 1 23 0 67

User reviews

28 reviews with 4 stars
116 reviews
 
61%
 
24%
 
5%
 
7%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.5(116)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(116)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(116)
Value
 
4.4(116)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(116)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Jun 17 - 20, 2021
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Maybe this RV park was a trailer park in it's previous life? Nevertheless, it was just what we needed as a "home base" with which to go into Charleston to explore Forts Moutrie and Sumter. Not within a gated area, we still felt very safe as it's located through and off to the side of one of Joint Base Charleston's housing areas. The friendly camp host met us for check-in. On the right of our site, the next site over was quite far away, on the left side our slide almost touched the neighbor's awning. They need to fix some potholes. Cannot comment on any facilities, cannot even remember seeing a bathhouse or laundry, but then we weren't looking. Did see a playground and a basketball court. Navy Exchange close by, never saw signs for a commissary. Would stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April - June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Just FYI, the bathrooms and laundry if you need them are inop. Looks like they are working on them but don’t think they will be back in service anytime soon, I was watching the guy who looks like he is responsible for park maintenance, and by the looks of him, he’s not moving fast for anything. Have no complaints about anything else. There’s nothing at the park to do, but it’s a great base camp for visiting Charleston. Sites were long and level with good space between them. Verizon and T-Mobile worked fine. The base is unsecured but still has all the usual, commissary, shoppette, pool, gym, auto hobby shop, bowling alley, ect. If you like to ride trail bikes or go for a long walk, the park has access onto the Marrington Plantation trail which is a nicely well-kept multi use trail with wonderful views of the creek, fun little bridges and other hidden gems if you walk/ride enough of the trail. There are motivational signs throughout the 20+ miles of trails like, “if you ain’t first, your last”, “where we are going, you don’t need roads”, and a bike park that is out in the middle of nowhere that has fun confidence building obstacles for trail/mountain bikers. We initially had 2 weeks reservations but extended it for 30 days and then another 2 weeks so we spent a total of 2 months. Had no issues with extending but did have to move once. Even though you can stay for 180 days, only saw one "long termer".
Foster Creek RV Park and Villas
Foster Creek RV Park and Villas
Foster Creek RV Park and Villas
Foster Creek RV Park and Villas
Foster Creek RV Park and Villas
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 25th to Feb. 22. 2016
(Updated: February 10, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Has been 3 years since we were here and it is always fun to come back to this area as it is so convenient to head into Charleston. I am very impressed with the dog owners living in this community as they are the most respectful of any I have seen at all FamCamps we have stayed at. Amenities and Value I gave a 3 since it cost over $600.00 to stay here this long and you have a site and a picnic table. They moved the laundry and bath house and it is in a white trailer now all the way in the back of the campground. There is a trailer near the laundry/bath house that has some type of business activity that appears to be base related and there is a constant flow of traffic on the road in front of us going back and forth to the trailer during the day. We are in site #10 and when it rains the ground on the passenger side of the RV gets flooded and #9 is the same way so avoid them if possible. Be sure you visit the Citadel and on Fridays at 3:45 they have the Review Parade. Summerville is a wonderful town to visit also as shopping and dining places are numerous. As always Doc is top notch and he is key to keeping this a happy place to stay.  New Note 2/10/16  All RV sites are scheduled to be repaved sometime in 2017 and it will be one paved site not the 2 narrow strips for the RV and pad for table as it is now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
21-31 Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We had another nice stay here. Doc, the camp host goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. I believe he is the best camp host that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting in all of the military campgrounds we have stayed in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 21, 2015
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed a few days the end of May 2015. Doc is a great host. Nice campground. The downside is it's mostly a mobile home park with so many full timers squatters occupying most of the sites. While they claim 46 sites only about 12 are available for travelers. The remaining nearly 3 dozen sites are full time squatters. They don't let a lot of junk accumulate but it's obvious these people are in here for the long term with the stuff outside. For the squatters I give the 3s for facilities and value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 20-26, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here while visiting Charleston. The location was close, but still a good 25 minute drive to downtown Charleston. The park itself was great. Doc was quick to greet us as we pulled in and offered assistance for anything we needed. The location was very quiet, had plenty of area to walk dogs and very clean. The site was long enough to fit our 35 ft 5th wheel and 2500 truck with ease. The site also had a paved space next to the rv site for extra vehicles, the picnic table and grill. Power, water and wifi were great, no cable, but we picked up all the channels we needed with our antenna. There are A LOT of fire anthills around the park, so watch where you walk your pets and spray around your site if you have issues. The weather was cool and rainy most of our stay, so we had no issues with ants around our site. The park is outside of the Naval Weapons Station gate, so no ID required to enter, but you will need to show it to Doc upon arrival. The laundry was small, only two washers and three dryers, but the NEX does have a laundry facility with $1.00 per wash and $.75 for 30 minutes dry time. It would have been nice to be a little closer to downtown, but all in all a great location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
02-07 October 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It's all about location, location, location! In 20-30 minutes or less you can see a lot. Doc the camp host very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hurt for him to clean up the area round his site. The park was a former mobile home park. One section of the park is for long term. Sites are large, place is quiet. Grass was overgrown. Contract crew showed up the morning we left to mow the grass. Beware of fire ants! Visit ITT/MWR office for discount tickets and tourist info. Laundry is very dirty. In my opinion it should be demolished and rebuilt. If in the area would stay here again. The sign for "Deke Giles St" is missing, turn left at the traffic light just past the NEX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
April 7 to April 10
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
First time staying here and enjoyed the quietness and larger sites. The directions to the area need to be updated because the McDonalds is closed and sign is gone. However, the NEX (Navy Exchange) is just past the old McDonalds and is a good landmark just before your turn to the left. Your left turn is between the NEX and a fire station. We had an assigned site when we made our reservations but it was changed upon our arrival. Our site was okay but did flood during the rain. We found the park very convenient to Charleston and the tourist things. The park WIFI was unusable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 27-30 2012
(Updated: October 30, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
One of the nicer military parks we have stayed at over the years. Price has gone up to $20 a night. Doc, the camp host, met us as we pulled in and showed us to our parking site. I wish all camp host's had Doc's positive attitude! Facilities were very clean with three washer/dryers that actually worked. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 26 2011 - June 1 2011
(Updated: May 29, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed at Fosters Creek over the Memorial Day weekend while visiting our son who is in Navy Nuclear Power School at the Naval Weapons station. The campground is very conveniently located for us when visiting him, and access to the base facilities is great. The campground is very well kept and clean. The Shower/Bath facilities are spotless and very nice. The camp host was very nice. A few of the "Residents" however, are another matter. There is a large majority of "Squatters" at this RV park. There are only 24 spots for transients (let's call them "Campers"), the remaining 22 sites are occupied on a semi permanent or permanent basis. Many of the "Transient" sites have obviously been occupied for quite a long time (not hard to spot). This normally wouldn't bother me as we had no problem getting a reservation for a holiday weekend (we made the reservation 3 months in advance), but on Sunday our neighbor (one of the residents that had obviously been here for some time) complained that he had been "Listening to our entire conversation" and we had kept him up. Granted we were up talking late under our awning and might have been a little animated, but we are experienced campers and it was not out of hand. We come camping to enjoy spending time with family and friends, not watch TV in our camper. I apologized to him and that's about all I'll say about it. I will be writing the base Commander and MWR about the policies that allow so many of the sites to be occupied permanently. It decreases the opportunity for the active duty folks and people who aren't retired to use the facility. They are the ones that the facility is actually for.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
April 12-16, 2011
(Updated: April 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We love this campground. There are 24 sites for transients, the rest are renters by the year, mostly active duty, but some are retired. All you need to do for renting by the year is put your name on the list and as people move out they take the next person on the list. It's a slow process, but a lot of cancellations will make the list go faster. We stayed a week to visit the area of Charleston, SC and surrounding areas. The host was great in telling us the best places to eat and events to attend since it's the 150th year anniversary of the beginning of the civil war. It's a wonderful place to stay, we lucked out in getting a reservation. The laundry is coin operated $1.00 for washers and $.25 for dryers. There are three each. The bathhouse restrooms and showers are very clean. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 17 - Oct 2nd, 2010
(Updated: October 18, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We found this to be a great location. ITT has plenty of discount tickets for Charleston attractions. The camp host did not greet us, but we found him & asked questions. The grass was very high & when we mentioned it to ITT, we were told it was contracted out & the contractor decided when it needed cutting, but not less than 6" which it was way over in some spots. They did come the next day & cut it. We didn't use the showers but I did look in & they seemed very clean but dated. I did use the dryer for 3 towels. It's 25 cents for 8 minutes & doesn't seem to get all that hot. We did use the laundromat next to the Subway & mini NEX. It was great. Our biggest complaint was that they tend to move you around. We were they 2 weeks & had to move to another spot after a week. Some people had to move after a day or two & they put a large RV on a small site & a small RV on a large site. I really don't think they realize how much trouble it is to move these larger RVs around. Most of the park is used by permanent campers. The commissary & NEX were clean & nice. They have a great fitness center with plenty of equipment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jul 15, 2010 - Aug 01, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Agree with previous comments about this facility's location and other amenities such as exchange and commissary. This is a "long term" park as the majority of the sites are permanent residents that rent the spots and use this facility as a base to travel and return to. Once you have a "long term" spot it is yours as long as you pay the fees monthly. A word of caution to RV'ers traveling to this site: NO WEAPONS ARE ALLOWED ON THE BASE and the military police have been known to stop and search private vehicles. Even though there is not a gate this is still considered "On Base".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10 OCT to 17 OCT 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this RV park. Everything seemed to be off base, the RV park, the commissary, the BX, the movie theater, etc but everything is in close proximity. We were not allowed to get a library card at this base. The free movies at the theater was a nice bonus. My husband did NOT have to show his ID, which seemed odd to me, since it's off base. They have a thrift shop, which we visited and I got a massage at the gym complex. We found John to be very nice. He never gave us a long list of rules like previous people have stated. And the grass was mowed. We had no complaints. The laundry room was nice although we didn't use it. The washers were $1 and the dryers were 25 cents per 8 min of drying time. The post office had a sign up saying it was closed due to short staff. VERY odd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 Sep - 16 Sep 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A very nice and clean park, too bad it is not very open to the general public eligible to use it. There were ten, now only seven spots designated for general use. Everything else is full time homesteaders. Rental spaces are even occupied by homesteaders waiting for full time slots. What a shame. Park is ideal location to visit Charleston and surrounding spots. It is close to the exchange and commissary, in spite of difficulty getting around due to construction projects in the housing areas. Pay attention to the last part of directions to camp ground on this site, it is only way you can get to the park during the construction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2-5 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here July 2,3,4,5 of this year 2009. Could be a nice place if they would cut the grass and get rid of all the homesteaders. Only a few spaces for people like myself who only wants to stay a few days. Seems as if you are in the know with the park management, you can stay as long as you wish. Other than that the location is perfect and very easy to get in and out of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 5 - 9, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Since this was a mobile home park, the sites are quite long with plenty of space to park your towed or tow vehicle. Playground areas for children. Paved roads, concrete tracks to park RV, and a concrete/asphalt driveway. Lots of green grass. Located in the Navy housing area away from major roads – quiet. Affordable - $14 for full hookups. Free Wi-Fi. I was across the street from the Wi-Fi antenna so I had a very strong signal but the download speeds were only half of the speeds I had on my Verizon air card. Exchange about 1 mile away, commissary about 1.6 miles away. Everything is off base so you don't have to go through a security gate. The campground is 20 miles from downtown Charleston and the beaches are even further away. Only 10 sites are available for reservations - the rest are rented to long-term residents.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
4-11 Jun 08
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
P. B. left this review using the Directory software: Agree with other comments about the park, once we found it (gps put us at the other end of base), very clean, quiet but due to the hot weather, electrical system overloaded creating some black outs and a surge. Good WI-FI reception. I requested to stay longer but ITT office says they don't have the space but the camp host said there is space availabile, who do you believe. We will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 20, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory software: We have been to Campground around same time for last 3 years. We are fulltimers and come back each year for physicals and to visit family. Upon arrival this year was baffled by signs on all entry sites stating that sites were rented, camp host came out and ask of we had a reservation, this was a shock since before this year and according to the mil campground book the campground was first come first serve, we did not have a reservation but the host pointed out a site and said he had it rented and we could stay 3 weeks, after geting on site I told him we wanted to stay a month he then said ok (sort of makes you wonder). He also informed us that they no longer honor the golden age pass for 1/2 price discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Febuary 2008
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Have to agree with other reviews, about 8 sites for Retired Military travelers, reservations are a must! Other sites are for Home steaders. The new Camp host makes changes to site reservations and move some people around before telling the main office. Very confusing, you wonder who is running the place. Seems they want more long term home steaders as that brings in more steady money. One family moved in with nine kids for long term stay! The Golden Age park card and Military Club card is no longer given a discount. It is close to everything, in cluding North Charleston. It is 100% better than the Air Force FAM Camp at Charleston AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
28 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2