JB Charleston RV Park

 
4.3 (119)
163764 1 23 1 95

User reviews

119 reviews
 
66%
 
16%
 
10%
 
3%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.5(119)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(119)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(119)
Value
 
4.3(119)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(119)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
119 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
25 Feb 2021
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice Famcamp, easy to get into and out of once on base. You will hear the aircraft, and trains and cars throughout the night and the shooting range adjacent to the the camp started up at 5am. As previously reported, if you want a quiet, relaxing place to unwind, this is not the place; Summer nights would likely be better with the air conditioners drowning out the outside noise. Traffic is significant off base getting to and from I-26 and we found drivers to be pretty rude and in a hurry to get places. We came in with a 41ft Motorhome and Toad; just stay calm and be patient. Really great restaurants all around Charleston and some great historic sights to see. Check in on the phone was easy and we met the Host as she was always active around the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
8-11 Jan 2021
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Typical of a military base campground, it's very clean and the sites are moderately spaced. Of course, also typically military, it's not a campground for serenity and quiet - it's very near the runway, and its shooting range must be close as I heard live fire yesterday. But military people don't mind such things. What I do mind is the lousy wifi reception. It's not that big a CG so there's no excuse for not upgrading its wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 15 - May 12, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We originally had a 7-day reservation. 5 days into our reservation, the FamCamp closed due to COVID-19. However, they allowed anyone already in the FamCamp to stay until they opened again. If we left, we wouldn't be able to return. Following the "stay at home" guidelines, we decided to stay put. We live in our motorhome, so this was a new home base for awhile. The camp hosts were very friendly and we saw them everyday. Although they weren't working anymore, since the campground was closed, they kept us informed of what was happening. The office, restrooms, and laundry were closed, but we still had full hook-ups. We mostly stayed and shopped on base at first. After a month or so, they stopped letting retired military use the commissary except on the weekends. It was a zoo! We decided to start shopping off-base. Although we couldn't travel, we enjoyed our extended visit here. We did get to do a little self-guided sight-seeing in town. The state parks in Virginia and Pennsylvania started to open again in mid-May, so we decided to move on then. We'll be back, someday!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
12 - 17 December 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Construction in progress at the FamCamp limited the # of pull through sites. Was a little worried when we arrived and Camp Host (wonderful by the way) told us we had to use a back-in site. With a 44' Fiver Toy Hauler, we anticipated the worst but experienced the best. Long, level concrete pad in the shade of a couple beautiful old oaks, full hookups with updated connections. Easy access to major thoroughfares, close to commissary and BX. A perfect base camp to explore the Low Country and all Charleston has to offer. Plus, you can't beat the value, $23/night for a modern, well maintained FHU site. BZ JB Charleston!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2-11, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at JB Charleston while visiting our son and family in North Charleston. This is a wonderful campground with clean, well-maintained sites and facilities. The staff was most helpful and friendly. Convenient to the Commissary and Exchange. We will definitely be staying here again on our future visits.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 16, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place, Coin laundry, Easy access. Will definitely come again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
January 31, 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an immaculate campground with paved, level sites (many of them pull-thru). Restrooms and showers very clean and modern. Easy to maneuver (we’re 35’ with toad), friendly staff. Sorry it’s raining because I’d love to have dinner on the patio. Great place for exploring the Charleston area. We will definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
August 2-3, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Fantastic! You could have eaten from the bathroom floors. The site was clean and well maintained, and the grounds were great! I will definitely stay here again! Great location and totally accessible. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
May 23-31, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time here at JB Charleston and everything was great. The only very minor issue was no camp host when we arrived. Pleased we had an idea of parking but everything else was great. Highly recommend this RV site, and will definitely be back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
15 May - 25 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The facilities are great for what they have. There is no cable provided, and satellite service is a big problem due to the tree canopy over almost all the sites. However, the wifi is overall very good, and perhaps to compensate for the lack of cable and satellite, they permit streaming, and even have the bandwidth to do that with no problem. The only drawback is that you have to log in each day, and 24 hours later your session is cut, requiring you to log in and watch a Honda commercial before proceeding. Overall a very nice campground, very friendly host and staff. We notified the host that we'd want a long term stay when possible. A couple of sites opened up after a week, and we relocated our rig. The turn required for the first site was just too tight for our F-350 dually longbed and our 43' Bighorn, but the second site worked out OK. We've had a couple of rainshowers since our arrival, but no sustained heavy rain yet, so we don't know how the sites are for flooding concerns. This is definitely the low country so that's always something to consider. I'll post an update after we've been here longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 3
May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FamCamp has been on our bucket list for years. There are two sections the old and new. We happen to get into slot #20 in the new section. The site is flat and level. The sewer hookup is the best in a long time, easy and simple. Water pressure is at 60 PSI. There are bike paths to ride and the base has a commissary and BX. The base is beautiful. The camp host was such a nice lady, her name is Betsy and she will help you with anything you need. I think there is only camp host on duty every day and she is worth her weight in gold! The bath house is nice but no AC. Also there are washers and dryers, cost is $1.25 per load and no AC. This is a good stopping point to go down town Charleston and par take in all the good food and the history. Sign up for a walking tour. Good Seafood but, due to being a tourist destination the prices are expensive. Now for the bad. Each morning at 7am there are loud speakers right over the FamCamp “revelry ” and the National Anthem. On our first morning I nearly jumped out of my bed, it was so loud it scared me. Then at 4pm there is the “National Anthem” Then at 10pm Retreat. The FamCamp is right across the street from the airport and its non stop with flights. Also there is a gun range. The noise level here alone is off the richter scale, so if you are sensitive, this is not for you. Additional when you reserve here, they say its only 14 days, but in the old section there are long term folks. One lady had been there 6 months and she was retired. I get so unnerved over the politics and games that the Military parks play and allow certain people to homestead and others not. There are only 37 sites, 7 overflow and 6 tent sites. I heard from one guest he complained to the Base Commander and was asked to leave the next day. Please follow the instruction to get here as it allows for Large RV to get into the base. Also you do not have to go through the X-ray machine. That is only for commercial trucks, 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
3-7 Jan 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This has become one of our favorite campgrounds. Our home base is Myrtle Beach, and we have family that lives in the Charleston area. JB Charleston is the ideal place to stay to see all that Charleston has to offer. All campsites have concrete pads, and offer both back-in and pull-thru site parking. The campground hosts are some of the best we've run across in our military campground travels, and they keep the campground looking great. The base is easy to get to by taking Aviation Blvd off of I-26, and using this back gate makes it easy to get to all points Charleston.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
December 26, 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This park was a perfect 3-day stop for us to visit friends and tour Charleston. The camp site host was very accommodating. The site was clean and the hookups worked great. The park is located within in a 15-minute distance from a downtown. The wifi was awesome! Considering the location and the extra peace of being in a gated community (on a military base), this is a good value. We would certainly return to this park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
15-18 October 2018
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We used the West Hill Blvd gate off of 642. No problem but the camp host said that sometimes RVers are asked to turn around and use the other gate. Good advice. Great campground but my only comment is the noise. Obviously, this is beyond the control of management but just so you'll know. The campground is adjacent to an busy airport so you hear jets coming and going from 6am till 10pm. You will hear reville at 7am and taps at 10pm over the base loudspeakers. During our stay, there was an active pistol range firing at 5am. Not complaining but if you are looking for "peace and quiet" this may not be for you. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Apr/May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
OUTSTANDING! The campsites are beautiful and we had plenty of room. The Camp Host was the best we ever encountered. She was helpful and worked with everyone to solve problems and followed through (one of the rigs had a mechanical problem and she worked with them to keep them in place until it could get fixed to be safely moved). We cleans the sites between campers...even wiping down the electrical boxes and checking everything out. The bath houses are spotless. Her husband (who is still active duty, she is the Host) comes home and hand mows to keep things neat. I have seen the two of them out at 10p on the golf cart helping out the campers. Excellent care, beautiful campground, next to the Outdoor Rec/Tickets (which is also outstanding), who could want more? Highly recommend it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
7 June to 13 June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
RV park is great. Paved roads, level sites. New section is where we stayed. Many upgrades since our 2007 trip, even in the old section. Location would be a 5 if the traffic in and out of Charleston was not so terrible. RV park has no control over this issue, but it is an issue. They seem to be building new ways in and out of town. Hopefully this will make it easier. When you are on a peninsula, you only have so many options. There are lots of poison ivy vines in this famcamp. There is no reason to let this stuff take over. That's your 3 in cleanliness. Security police told me I didn't have to go through the X-ray with a retired ID card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location to Charleston, clean bath houses nice gravel sites, would camp here again. Beware if it rains, the lots turn into small ponds. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 27-30 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The first camp host Gwen was great, she came to the site with us and gave us maps and information on the area. We towed a motorcycle with us to SC so naturally it rained hard on Memorial Day. We decided to leave a day early only to find our slide on the RV would not come in. Coach net sent a repair man and Jeremy our second camp host was nice enough to drive my husband to the gate so we could get the repair guy in. The camp area was clean and well maintained and we are definitely going back. The change in camp hosts was not an issue and both were a credit to the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May-June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Note: at the end of May they installed temporary-looking barriers to create a serpentine at the back gate exit. One of the gate guards said it was going to be permanent to stop gate runners from coming in the wrong way (is that really a problem here?). Anyway, it's not the end of the world, but not the straight shot out it used to be. CGs with monthly rates are generally cheaper than paying the base's daily rate times 31, but the great thing about bases in my opinion is that they seem to have less of a rush on the major holidays. I was having trouble finding a site with availability over Memorial Day, but JB Charleston had no problem accommodating us. We can't say enough about Betsy and her husband. When they were camp hosts, we always saw them cleaning up something, which is why the CG always looked so nice. We made reservations through Outdoor Rec, and they allowed us only 14 days. They said the host would know we wanted a full month and fix the reservation when we arrived. Unsurprisingly, the note wasn't passed on, but Betsy ran back to her camper to use her desktop, and 20 minutes later we had the month-long stay we originally requested. We didn't use the laundry facility but it looked spotless. There was a small rack to trade books inside. The boys loved the playgrounds at the entrance, and we loved sending them there. Before arriving I called Outdoor Rec and Security Forces to ask about the X-Ray. Both gave me the answer that they weren't sure, but they thought we usually had to go to the X-Ray. I don't think the airman manning the gate really wanted us to go through because he had it blocked on the far end. Since the entrance was open, we went through that way and it wasn't a big deal at all. Noise is constant; look at Google Maps and you'll see you're near the end of the runway. Jet noise didn't bother us, but the 0700 reveille and 2200 taps did. Other bases have them at friendlier hours that weren't as disruptive. It usually woke us up in the morning, even with the a/c running full blast over our heads. One thing that was different from the military CGs we've visited the last 2 years of full-timing: when our plans changed and we had to leave 2 days early, we were offered a credit for future use instead of a refund. Not a big deal, but after being issued refunds at other military CGs we were a bit surprised the policy is different here. The base is convenient enough to downtown, and we had a great time exploring the old city. There are plenty of stores and restaurants in North Charleston; we highly recommend Istanbul Shish Kabob Buffet if you stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Camp Host was Wonderful! Brought area guides and maps right to our RV and gave us useful information. Great price and location. MWR even changed our reservation dates on short notice. The campground is clean, quiet and very close to several playgrounds and showers. The showers were clean and private. I recommend the back gate when entering with your RV. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
119 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6