Lake Elmer Thomas Recreation Area (LETRA)

 
3.5 (37)
86550 1 22 3 18

User reviews

37 reviews
 
22%
 
30%
 
30%
 
19%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
3.7(37)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.3(37)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(37)
Value
 
3.6(37)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
37 results - showing 21 - 37
1 2
Ordering
4th of July weekend, 2011
(Updated: July 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
LETRA is a very clean camp ground, with all the RV hook-ups. Electricity, water, sewer, even cable (some what). The wifi is weak and cuts out, but hey, its camping. The swim beach is nice, and they have 2 water slides, and put-put golf. Everything closes at 6-7, including the lodge and store. You can't even check in after 6. The only problem we had, was the staff was a bit gruff. It was like he didn't want to be there. If you don't know how to get there, you better get directions before leaving out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
13 March 2011
(Updated: March 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was a bit apprehensive staying at LETRA given the reviews. As long as you follow the directions from Key Gate you will not have a problem finding the campground. We were extremely pleased with the campground and the hostess was fabulous! Fort Sill Garrison have just completed a number of improvements; new playgrounds, mini-golf, cable TV and WiFi have all been recently installed. Everything worked well and the staff was just great! We will return again soon to hike in the nearby wildlife refuge. Wonderful experience!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 17, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Make sure to print out the directions and do not rely on your GPS which will likely take you to a gate only open a few hours on Saturday and Sunday. We have visited many famcamps in the past 8 years, and never met a rude MWR employee until here. The fellow who works in the store and assigns spaces and does the paperwork was very abrupt and rude both on the phone for reservations and in person. We were here one week, and never saw the campground hosts out and about. The laundry and bathrooms were dirty the entire week. Trash was blowing around. The guests in RV site # 1 let 3 dogs out off leash and did not pick up the dog droppings. There were at least 20 to 30 piles of dog droppings in the space around them, attracting fly's. The MWR employee in the store did nothing about it after letting him know, being rude and ineffective for our 3rd time interacting with him. LETRA is a fine location to visit, but Ft Sill really needs to provide customer service and courtesy training to employees, have the hosts do the work they agreed to, and enforce rules on pets.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Summer 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our family frequents LETRA. We love the place. The kids can fish off the the bank of our campsite. The beaches are clean and the water is so sparkling clear in the swim area, you can play with the blue gill. Each morning we can get up and hike to the top of the mountain next to our campsite. They have lots of security. We go to bed clean every night after taking a shower in their well kept shower facility. They have a small shop in case we forget any of the small stuff. There are safe playgrounds for our children to play on while they wait for us to take them to the beach. We can sleep peacefully under the stars because others are very considerate of their noise and the owner makes sure of it. Very friendly place. The only reason, I ranked location 4 stars is because we live in Texas, wish it was closer to home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 25 - July 5, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
L.R. left this review using the Directory software: Was assigned a space number when I made reservation and found site occupied upon arrival (have stayed here numerous times & this is first time this has happened). Camp host was not very helpful in correcting it. There is no cable television. With the change to digital broadcast, no television signal can be received on antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25 to July 5, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This campground is remote and basically quite. Artillery impacts can be heard and an occasional convoy does go by. The rest rooms, showers and laundry room are cleaned daily. I've stay at LETRA many times and this is the first time my reservations were not accurate. The camp host was not real helpful in correcting the mix up. The recreational facilities are open 9 to 5 and closed on Monday & Tuesday. The campground DOES NOT have cable television. Back in the analog broadcast days, stations from Lawton and Wichita Falls could be received on antenna. With the switch over to digital broadcast, no television can be received on antenna. The new Artillery Museum is open at Ft. Sill and the eateries at Meers and Medicine Park are worth a visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb. 3, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here one night on the way to Big Bend National Park. A little tough getting in because the gate indicated on the link is shut down on weekends, however a call to the campground got us directions to an alternate gate and the campground staff came and opened the gate for us. It was very windy, but the park, albeit small, was nice and the restroom/showers/laundry was very nice and clean. They had cable, which we did not discover until the next morning, but we got decent antenna coverage. Didn't have time to see much of Ft. Sill, but it would be worth staying a few days to see next time.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Loved this campground, but a bit far from Fort Sill. The scenery is beautiful, however. Hook-ups are very good. Laundry and restrooms are good. A mountain view, quiet and serene. Not sure, but think we heard several coyotes crying/howling at night. We loved the Wichita National Wildlife Refuge and Meers hamburgers. Fort Sill is so packed full of history with the Apache cemetery where Geronimo is buried. The old Fort Sill quadrangle is worth a visit-check in at that visitor center. Tank and cannon display is awesome. Unless you have children, fall-winter would be a great time to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
November 2008
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay here. The campsite was very roomy and not to bad off level. We were going to Wichita Mtns. on a day trip and found the back gate closed but the drive to Apache gate is a nice drive. I would think this CG would be very active during the summer months because of all it has to offer. We only had one bad experience when one of the permanent residence let her 2 large dogs out without a leash and they ran towards my dog on her leash. The owner was quick to catch them before they reached us but it was a little scary for a minute. The ability to have a campfire if you had a firepit off the ground was really nice. All and all, we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2 Oct 08
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived early in afternoon and there were no signs to tell you were to check in. Had to find another camper and ask. Turns out it is about 300 yards from the campground to the east in a building across the road from the lodge. The gentleman who checked me in was not very friendly but he got it done. It is 10 miles from the campground to the PX and commissary but they are very nice. The directions to the campground are right on. They are charging $14 a night now. From my observation I believe about one third of camp was local people station there or working there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 2007
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed at LETRA in October, 2007 and are planning on staying there again next week. It is a quiet, peaceful area with lots of walking space, and places for the grandkids to play. Showers were clean. The main campground was well laid out, and easy to get into. All in all, a very nice place to camp in the off season. We will probably try it during the summer, this year as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 29 - Sep 2, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
B.G. left this review using the Directory software: We stayed here because of the pool and water slide, which was advertised as being open. Our granddaughter was very disappointed when we arrived and it was not open. On our last day there, we asked the office staff why it was not open and were told there was not enough personnel or business to open it. After our obvious disgruntlement, the office staff said they would open it for an hour. After it was opened, the pool and waterslide filled with other children that were anxious to play in the water. Also, the lake area that was roped off for swimming was dirty and the beach was covered in goose poop. Very dirty. We also found the grounds and laundry facilities lacking in care and cleanliness. The office staff left a lot to be desired in customer service and congeniality. We found the other campers around us to be very discourteous and walked thru our campsite and once even hit our wind chimes with a stick. We will not stay at this campground again, unless absolutely necessary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
Oct 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As a retiree and DOD Contractor I spend a lot of time on the road living in my 5th wheel staying at Post Campgrounds. LETRA was a great place to stay when my nephew graduated from basic training this year. Although we were out of the water sports season the entire family (17 of us) enjoyed the campground completely. Bath house was clean and modern, roads were fine, the people who work there were friendly. I see what others went thru in 2006 and from my perspective things must have changed drastically becuase we loved it! Its a little far out from post, but then again I don't want to be in town when I'm in my camper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept.8, 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Everyone hit this one on the head. Great place for kids, lots to do. But unkept, unlevel, and the homesteaders are just kinda creepy. The dog-kennel thing too. Friendly people, but they seem frustrated at the half-baked condition of things too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This cg could be nice. Dogs are left in kennels unattented all day. Rocks and holes in roads, grass not kept cut. When you get there don't move on a site unless your check with the office. They take reservations and hold the site forever without any money down. The bathrooms are a hit and miss operation at best. The manager says she doesn't have enough help to do a good job. Wouldn't stay there again unless nothing else was aviable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is an odd campground to rate. It is in an area deserving a rating of 5 but the campground is about a 2. The campground: 50 amp full hookup. Gravel level pads. Old beat up picnic tables. Grass and gravel. Pot hole interior roads. Big wide sites. The area: Located adjacent to a 59,000 acre wild life refuge in the Wichita mountains, the campground is on a section of the base complex but far off from the huge, huge Ft. Sill base itself. Lakes, streams, canyons, mountains and grassland prairies. A herd of 500 elk, deer, free roaming buffalo, open range Texas long horns. Surrounded by mountains and right on a lake. Wide open hill country of grassy rolling hills with wild flowers. The drive back into the campground is 8 miles from the gate. A 3 ? mile road goes up Mount Scott, which rises 2500 feet straight up from the plains? floor for a fabulous summit view of the whole area. Little town of Medicine Park is not to be missed. The commissary is so large, they offer a map as to where everything is located. The old historic fort museum where Geronimo was held (and died) is closed on Monday (the only day we had left to see it). The road to the Apache cemetery was also closed due to all the rain and rising creeks on the base. Next time? And this is a place we do want to return to and finish seeing and ?doing? the area. Maybe when it isn?t raining.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is a great campground if you take it for what it is-- a fun place for a little lake recreation. The water slides are fun for "kids" of all ages, and there is a small beach with a roped off swimming area, more suited to younger children. There is a wide variety of pedal boats and kayaks to rent at 1970's prices. The campground store is fairly well-stocked. There are 2 small playgrounds, suited for the 5-and-under crowd. Admission to the water slides is inclued in the price of your site. (Cost is $5 per person if not staying at the FAMCAMP.) This is really a great deal for a family vacation or a fun place to host the grandkids. There is a small laundry room (not air-conditioned). It costs 75 cents a load to wash and the same for the indsutrial-size dryers. The showers are what you would expect at a lake-- no A/C and a bit sandy. We loved this FAMCAMP because the road biking is incredible! Miles and miles of roads with no traffic. There are also several sites on post, about 9 miles away. These seemed to be taken over by the usual Army homesteaders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
37 results - showing 21 - 37
1 2