Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
138844 1 19 2 41

User reviews

43 reviews with 5 stars

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
43 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
5-8 Jun 19
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We came by way of Cincinnati, OH during rush hour and it was not a pleasant experience. When we finally made it to Wright-Patterson, we were glad to see our name on the site all ready for us at the Famcamp. I had used Google Earth to locate the Famcamp and the gates and had a picture to guide me. We attended a military reunion located at a Hotel nearby and it was not really inconvenient for us going all the way around the flight line to get to the gate. Our neighbor next to us at the Famcamp was also going to the same reunion and this gave us an instant companion. It was reasonably quiet and aircraft traffic very light.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 29 - Oct 6, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our week stay at this FamCamp. Of course, we visited the museum for a few days. The FamCamp is very reasonably priced and is kept in good condition. There were no signs of "homesteading", although you're allowed to stay up to 6 months. Camp hosts were nice and helpful. Sure, the drive to the FamCamp seems long, but you're on the other side of the base, on the lake, away from the main base action. Commissary and Exchange are good. WiFi was okay, but we did have some problems connecting at times. We used the laundry and all worked fine. Restrooms were kept clean. Although not a fancy "resort", the campground is comfortable and priced right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12-14 September 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We used this as a stop on our way home from the east coast and visit the National Museum of the USAF. Facilities were very nice; WIFI worked and we had good cell phone reception. Only issues is you have to go through the main gate for Area A (Gate 1A) to access the base. It is a bit if a challenge to get through the base until you get to Loop Road. They are building a new commercial gate near the old RV gate. Hopefully campers can use this gate once it is complete.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 16 thru 19, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was my second stay at WP Fam Camp. Both were great. Vicki doing a excellent job. A little tick on facilities, because the site that I was in did not have septic port. But otherwise all was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 22 - July 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it is certainly one of the best if not the best. A lot of that credit is directly attributed to the Camp Hosts, Vickie, Larry, and Nick who never stop trying to make your stay the best possible experience. We checked in on June 22nd and stayed until July 9th. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time of our arrival she worked with me to move to full hookups eothin3 Days. We arrived and immediately noticed how well the grounds were kept; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were clean, neat, and mowed constantly. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. Over July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. All along Vickie and Larry along with Tony and Nick were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us is a welcomed experience. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Heads up on gate access and closures - do not follow your GPS. Instead route yourself to Gate 12A from 675. Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. Woody & Karen Gray
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had two separate stays: one just before the Dayton Hamvention and the other just after. Both were excellent. Really enjoyed the camp ground and the hosts were excellent. Definitely will stay there again next time! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 13
Sept 2-3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had stayed here a few years ago and weren't too impressed back then. What a difference a few years makes! The hosts, Larry and Vickie have done a great job cleaning and maintaining this FAMCAMP. Larry came over to greet us as we arrived for our 2 night stay, and invited us to a free Labor Day hot dog gathering the next day. The FAMCAMP now also has canoe and kayaks to rent and bikes. The restrooms were kept clean and the three washers and dryers were only $1 wash and 50¢ to dry. The sites are not very large but they are maintained nicely Trying to figure out what gates are open can be tricky especially on a holiday weekend. Check in advance and it will save you some grief and U-turns.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 13
June 23 - August 12, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
To whom it may concern, In 2016 my husband and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As we are full-time RVers and retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it was as good as any other so we came back for our 2017 journeys. We checked in on June 23rd and stayed until August 12th. This year was noticeably difference not only from the prior year visit but FamCamps overall. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time she assured me the “dry” camping area would meet our needs for a few days. We arrived and immediately noticed how much different it looked; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were cleaner, neater, and mowed, we saw a bounce house for the little kids and there was an overall sense of “we are happy to be here”. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. On July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. After that our plans changed dramatically and we needed to stay longer. While there was some moving around involved for us to do that it was really not a bad thing because it allowed us to meet more people in the camp grounds. All along Vickie and Larry along with Nick and Brooke were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us was I assure you, not the norm as camp grounds go. Most camp host are content to stay in the cool of the office. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Additionally, we have a monthly newsletter and have advised many that this FamCamp was a cut above! Sincerely, Mark and Holly Shaw On the Go Mission Ministries Onthegomission@gmail.com Onthegomission.org 903-530-3955/4055 
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 14
May 25 thru May30 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the better Famcamps we have stayed at. When we left eastern Ohio it was raining and when we arrived it had just became spotty rain.the directions to the base are easy if going thru gate 26A (m-f 0800-1800) or 12A which is 24/7. Larry and Brooke came by as soon as we pulled into our spot,to ensure everything was okay and if we needed anything and finally to let us know about the activities going on for the memorial day holidays. The trip to the Air Force Muesum was quick,easyand our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. Vickie, Larry and Brooke are interested in the appearance of the park and it's facilities and it shows.As we where leaving Brooke was out weeding and watering the flowers at the entrance to the park, I'd recommend this Famcamp to everyone. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 15
June 1 - June 8, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We changed our plans after leaving Arkansas and chanced a call to the Family Camp at Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake to see if there was room for one more. Left a message and were promptly given a call back by the camp host, "Vickie", who advised us that she had a site with partial hook-ups available, although they provide both, partial and full, with an added dump location nearby. We jumped at the chance because of the proximity to the USAF Museum and other attractions we wished to visit. We were able to follow the posted directions to the base as written without difficulty and were graciously met as we arrived by the camp host to show us the best way to back into our spot and turn around. Vickie, Larry and Brooke provide very clean facilities and are making improvements daily, recently adding canoe and kayak rentals for the lake. The camp hosts have been very instrumental in getting the camp fixed up into the gem it is today. Very clean facilities, lots of space and great to see so many visitors from all over the states using it. Reservations are accepted and recommended. Enjoy your stay, we have! Ed, Terri and Kona! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 11
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wow, we really enjoyed our visit! It is a smaller but very nice campground with much to do on site and in the area. The Camp Hosts, Larry & Vickie, are second to none and go above and beyond to make sure everything is prefect. There have been improvements since our last visit; i.e. WiFi upgrade and landscape cleanup and beatification. We plan to come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 13
May 5, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While I understand that to each is their own, I don't believe we've stayed at the same place as the ones posting negative reviews because this camp, as well as the service, was (is!) FANTASTIC. Firstly, we arrived at midnight and settled in around one. In between that one hour span the hosts had helped us with a number of things and with the best attitude possible too!! They're honestly so darling. Anyways, Wright Patterson is colossal and not exactly well lit, so of course we found ourselves lost in the dark. But like the amazing hosts they are, they came to our rescue by finding us on that monster of a base and led us to Fam camp. But their kindness didn't stop there either. They even helped us back our trailer in despite the cold, windy weather and overtime they had been working. Throughout the ordeal they were patient and extremely polite, even afterwards. They even struck up conversation and gave pointers on a few things. Secondly, the camp itself was in great shape! Very clean with fresh cut grass. The grass was soft and always kept up with, as well as the rest of the campus. The bathrooms were cleaned everyday of every morning and evening. It was never a problem like some sites. So all in all, everything was great. Hats off to the lovely couple that runs it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 18
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WOW!! Haven't stayed here in over 2 years, how nice to see the improvement. Bathhouse renovated, painted, and very clean. Grass is mowed and overall appearance looks great. New camp host Vicki and Larry were very pleasant to talk to and deal with. The hosts have their own phone to take you calls and reservations as listed below, call them directly, we made our reservation and were given site number over phone, on arrival had a reservation tag on the site with our name and dates of stay. Couple of other longer term campers help with the mowing and were great to visit with and made us feel at home. Some homesteading, but doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past and most sites are clean and tidy. Very pleased to see MWR putting a small amount of money back into the FAMCAMP. Keep up the good work. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 23
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I see a trend here, lots of positive comments except for 2 people. If you don't like it there go stay at KOA I'm sure they would love to take your money. If your not happy with the host tell him or her don't make rude comments on here like some little kid. Grow up and get a life. Some people you just can't please and I think there's 2 on here. KOA is 15 miles west of their location go stay with them and see how you like their service. 
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 38
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Don't call outdoor Rec they don't answer their phones and takes them days to return your calls. Call the camp host direct at 937-271-2535.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 35
April 1-30, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the nicest Fam-Camps that we have stayed out. Camp hostess/host are on top of their game always willing to help. Lots of improvements over last year when we were there. Restroom renovated and nice and clean. Grounds were cut every week while we were there. Guy in site 12 is always assisting the host with all they do. We can't say enough good things about this camp ground. We will be back in September for the marathon. Keep up the great work!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 36
11-14 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Reservations were a snap, camp hostess Vickie took our info over the phone and gave us our site number. The grounds are kept up really well and folks were very friendly. We only stayed a few days to checkout the USAF museum on our way up home to MI. The base has everything you need and the directions to the campground are spot on.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 18
March 24-April 9, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed for 10 days this time for the fourth year, during different seasons. There always seems to be plenty of sites available, even the overrun. New campground hosts in Spot 29- Vickie and Larry, are easy to contact on their cellphone, 937-257-9889 for quick reservations. It appears that ODR has released FAMCAMP permissions for them to run it smoothly. Facilities are easy living, clean. Neighbors are nice and helpful. The easiest Gate is 26A closest to the FAMCAMP, IF Mon-Fri- 0700-18:00-- if you can plan it. Through the Front Gate 12 (by the AFRL facility) to Chidlaw Road will require a lot of extra time ensuring skirting the housing areas of the Base, and around the flightline road, but not impossible. No Diesel fuel, or propane refills available on Base that we found. AF Museum is a must with the newest Hangar 4 display.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 16
October 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice campground with some pull-thrus available. Nice restroom/shower and laundry facilities with wifi at the restrooms. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Level sites. Off season camping spaces were available, but there are some homesteaders who told me they have been allowed to stay 364 days a year, then have to move for only 24 hours, but move right back. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 20 5
September 16, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As others are saying, this FAMCAMP has immensely improved over the past few years. Nick (volunteer) spearheaded this movement and now, MWR has added a few hosts (Victoria and Larry). Other volunteers are coming out of the woodwork (Vicky and others just passing through). The sites have always been good, but the people are making it even better. Twice in our 3 week stay the hosts offered a picnic/potluck. Kids played in bounce houses and played games. Adults share a meal a wonderful time of fellowship. While the facility to could use better wifi and a playground for the little ones, little else could be done to improve. The few long-term campers volunteer with mowing and are constantly helping others by spotting a back-in or giving directions around the area. They make it feel like a little community. Honestly, it’s a gem and a great value. We have used this as a stay-cation spot 3 years in a row and this has been the best year yet. My one request is to get a playground for the little kids as it is a 5 mile drive to the nearest base playground and FAMCAMP insinuates all families. There were plenty of kids during our stay that would have used such facilities had they been available. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 26
43 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3