Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
140386 1 19 2 41

User reviews

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
145 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
April 7, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
D.K. left this review using the Directory software: LOTS OF UNUSED SPACE IN OFFICE COULD BE USED FOR LOUNGE/TV/READING ROOM. RESTROOMS & LAUNDRY ROOM ARE EXTRA CLEAN & WELL KEPT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our usual stop on our last day on the road to our home in Michigan. It gives us a chance to empty our tanks and do some other housekeeping. We arrived early and were able to do some shopping at exchange and commissary. The campground this time looked a little unkempt and the grass and weeds were out of control. It never looked this way before so it won't keep us from stopping here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug.23-26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Thank goodness this base was close to many sightseeing opportunities. Because, with its price, it doesn't offer what many other have. There is basically a laundry/shower room. The lake and playground are a bit far away to let younger kids go unattended, and other than that, there isn't much else to do. The roads are great, and sites are level, and the utility placements are perfect. I just think for what there is at the actual RV park there should be more for the cost. The kids agreed that one of the staff seemed a little "put-off" to be working there; not very friendly, but accommodating, nonetheless. The museums are fantastic!! Never enough time to see them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Called ahead to make Reservations, not needed plenty of room, very nice FamCamp, attendant was nice and friendly, gave us a pad between two occupied pads, when we got to our pad a vehicle was setting on it, called the office and the attendant came right away in a golf cart to see what was going on, seems the gentlemen on the next pad just parked his truck there because it was empty, moved it right away, no problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
26,27 Sep 08
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
M.H. left this review using the Directory software: Someone roam the campground placing stickers on vehicles. It has been hard to get off. This is the first security flaw I have ever seen. It spoiled our stay as my motorhome is 2 days old.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
11-18 Aug 2008
(Updated: August 23, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice facility on a huge Air Force Base. If arriving during the week, make sure to use the gate off of Rt 235 since it was a hassle coming in gate 12A and driving through this whole section of the base. The gate guard did give us good directions but it is about 5 miles in. Very nice spots, well kept up. Deer came out of the woods across the road and groundhogs were around to watch everyday. If you like to sleep in, reveille (sp) might get you going at 7:30 each weekday. Please remember to stop what you are doing and pay respect at retreat in the afternoon. Surprising how many retired military ignored this. Overall a great value in an area with lots to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 30, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
A. G. left this review using the Directory software: A Nice placy to stay but busy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 28-29 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I arrived without reservations on a Saturday. The office clerk fussed and fretted to find a spot I could have for two days. I finally realized she was hesitant to send me to the overflow area (power and water, no sewer). I assured her that was just fine, I could dump on the way out. The sites have good view of the southern sky for satellite acquisition. Verizon air card for my notebook picked up a good signal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
8 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We made reservations in advance and had no problems. With a two week stay we got to know the area very well. If you go stright out gate 12 on rt 844 you will find a large new shopping area with all the chain stores and resturants. We will stop here next year on the way west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
3 June 2008 - 5 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great little campground! The cost to stay per night has increased to $21. The bathroom/laundry facilities were very clean and well maintained. The sites are located at the back of the base behind the flight line. Make sure you get good directions if coming through main gate 12A as it is quite a drive to the campground. There is a large Commissary and BX/PX located at area C on the base, it's about a 15 to get there, as well it is the same area that the library and shoppette is located.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
20-22 MAY 2008
(Updated: May 22, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
After making reservations and receiving a confirmation number two days earlier, J.R. couldn't find my reservation even though I told him who I made the reservation with (Ann). SO, he told us we had to go into overflow without sewer hookup. After full timing for 6 mos, that's the first time that has happened to us and it was a big disappointment.



When checking in with Ann the next morning (and they don't open at the RV office until 11:30am!) she found our reservation and apologized for J.R.'s mistake, telling us she could not give us a refund. We didn't really want a refund, it was just the PAIN of having to be without sewer the night before and then having to unplug everything, stow things away and move and replug everything in at the new site.



We found that gate 12A was difficult to locate to get into the base, but the gate guard gave us pretty good instructions to the RV park.



We enjoyed watching the planes take off and land from the airfield which is right next to the RV park. The base is very nice as is the commissary and bx mall.



The museum is a MUST SEE! We only spent 3 hrs there and it isn't enough to see the whole thing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 26 - October 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We made reservations and had to pay up front (with credit card on phone). We have to get used to doing it this way as more and more campgrounds are asking to get paid at time reservation is made. We have stayed here 8 times and can't complain about too much. It's close to the runway but this is an Air Force base so it's expected that airplanes might be close. The laundry is small with dial up available there. I agree with previous reviewer that they could use part of that large office for a lounge with computer hookups or WiFi. Air Force Museum is great and free! We plan to stay there many more times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 - 24 February 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
E.W. left this review using the Directory software: Visited upon purchase of our new motorhome in Dayton and wanted to use the base for our initial days to thoroughly test all our systems. It snowed hard and we also had a deep freeze, but the base personnel kept the roads and the RV camp cleared of snow the entire time. We learned early on how to winter camp! The base is confusing to get around on with only one gate being open after normal working hours and it is very far away from the CG. Otherwise, everything worked and was clean. Nice laundry room, good showers and big open spaces. Unfortnately we didn't get to see much of Dayton, but we will go back and look forward to Wright-Pat Famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov. 21-23 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice base, but BIG and once inside there are no signs. I came in gate 26 and had to leave Gate 12, I'm lucky I did a dry run before. To turn on the water you have to pull down on a valve that is spitting water for it to transfer to your hose, the person in the CG office didn't know anything about this. Three washers and dryers $1.00 and $0.50. Best deal is the museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 25-26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed two nights and found everything very accommodating. We were able to connect to the internet because we have purchased a wireless plan through Verizon that lets us connect wherever we are, independent of any facility's wi-fi access. We limited ourselves on this trip and did not visit the museum but look forward to that on our next stop there. We did visit the TriCare office inside the medical facility and were able to work through some questions we had. Each person with whom we had contact, from the staff at the gates to the campground to the medical facility, was extremely helpful and courteous and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
31 Aug - 5 Sep 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
VRY NICE CAMPGROUND AND WILL RETURN> For the size of this base it should have wi-fi and a little more lighting on the far end of park. Weekends is a little difficult for accessing to campground due to gate closings. We love this palce and it is close to all facilities. Museum is a must here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 29 and September 4 and 5, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Level, paved sites. The grounds are meticulously manicured. Staff is friendly and professional. We enjoyed our stay and the opportunity to visit the museum. Definitely and destination when in the Dayton area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the first Famcamp that I camped at. Overall, my family and I enjoyed it. We camped in a travel trailer with two children ages 6 and 8. There are a few oddball items to keep in mind. --1. You can rent canoes on base but you can't use them at Bass Lake. Only privately owned boats are allowed. --2. There are no campfires permitted because the munitions area is close-by (about 1000 yards). --3. There are two pools. The one at the O club is not open on Sundays and Mondays. The second pool at base housing is a short drive from the main base. We brought our bikes. The kids really enjoyed riding around with minimal car traffic. We chased groundhogs and deer with them. Also did some fishing. Its a nice quiet campground close to the Air Force Museum
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 15 to May 30, 2007
(Updated: May 26, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This park is very clean and very quiet considering it is close to the flightline (maybe just lucky during our time. The spaces are large and easy to access. My main problem was the ability to get on the internet with any comfort. A dial up line is located inside a very small laundry room. Noisy, uncomfortable, no privacy. At the same time there is an office that is closed most of the time that is huge with plenty enough room for a lounge, telephone line and a tv set. Why not make it available to campers by way of a cypher lock of some type? That addition along with wifi hookup would elevate all my rating s to a five. The Aviation museum is a must, informative, impressive and very emotional (We found it easier to absorb by taking three visits of about 2 to 3 hours each). It is about 10 miles from the campsite. BX, Com, Library etc are about 7 miles from the campsite. Not too convenient but I personally preferred the quiet remote setting while camping. Campsite is also adjacent to a nice lake that offers fishing. If you like to walk, run or bike you will love the endless amount of paved level roads with little or no traffic.
JC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
April 04
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Called ahead for reservation so got a good site. All roads and RV sites were level and paved and grounds were manicured. Staff very friendly and they introduced us to the U.S.A.F. Frequent Campers program. The museum was by far one of the best we visited and for all you history buffs, this is a must!
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
145 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8