Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
140037 1 19 2 41

User reviews

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
145 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
First week of May 2012
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I have never seen a military, state, or federal campground do this: the woman who runs the Fam Camp at Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio will charge $10.00 per night PER tent/item for the tent campers. Also, she tells them they are not permitted to use the shower room at the RV park (which is right at the tent area anyway). She tells them they can use the bathroom close to the tent area (has no shower room there). All is within eye ball distance of each other..RV park, office and tent area. Anyone heard of this nonsense at other places? She will charge $10 for the first tent. Add a child's small play tent or house and bammmm another $10 is charged. If you put up a screen house over the table, bammm another $10 is charged. This has just exceeded the cost of the full hook up spaces. It is not like they do not have the room for tent campers. They (MWR WP) is doing tent campers wrong. If a family of four come out = $10 for mom and dad's tent. $10 for each kid if they have smaller tents. Ten more for the screen house over the table -- or get eaten alive by the bugs (no bug spraying). Then if the kids put up some sort of small plastic play house, another $10 is charged! So that family pays: $50 to tent camp at WP! You would think tent campers would be given a break. Nope not here and not at WP by the woman who runs the place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 2012
(Updated: May 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
First week May 2012, after last visit 2 years ago: While there have been some improvements, we do not rate this campground even a 3.0. The woman who works in the office still needs to improve her customer skills. Looking around the camp ground we found many of the same fixtures are still broken from over two years ago! (water & electrical sockets). The laundry room has been cleaned up some. TV in there is only good for watching MWR ads. Why have a flat screen TV in the laundry room you cannot watch? Bathrooms/shower rooms were dirty (as they were two years ago). They did improve the office area. Now made into a game/card room for campers; but, should be open 24/7 with full wifi. Closes too early. Would be nice to keep it open longer for card games, get together, etc. Biggest disappointment continues to be the woman who runs the camp ground. Her attitude is she could care less, she stresses over anything, makes everything a big deal, seems to never get her act together (but has been working there for over 20 years!) and is rude. Makes customers feel not welcomed. As stated in other reviews: she should have been replaced years ago with someone who can better manage the camp ground. Place has lots of potential; but, for now Wright Patterson MWR is not taking advantage of this potential. With many local sights (at the junction of I75 and I70) to see and being the only military camp ground in the area, this place should be full during the spring and summer months. When you con (Fort Bliss, Fort Knox, Barksdale AFB, Sub Base in Ga, etc) have done and how they treat their customers, Wright Patterson needs follow suit and improve. WP MWR should take a trip down to Fort Knox to see what can be done with a campground. And go over to Camp Atterbury Ind. Both keep making improvements all the time and listen to their customers. 1. They need to provide customer information sheets/receipts/envelopes for night drop fees. Campers have to run around looking for a envelope. Other than info on your check, no way of knowing who dropped money off for what space. MWR: Make up reservation slips with copy for customer. i.e. like most National/State Parks do for after hours. 2. Office voice mail/answering machine is about useless. MRW: Put office hours on the recording! Would help tons. 3. No host. Seems MWR WP is too tight to have a host (pay is their space). Other bases, including many Air Force bases have host. This helps after hours and keeps the free loaders out of the camp ground. MRW: Having a host at WP would help. Might even improve your business. 4. Pets in laundry room! ughhhh Last time we were here people would bring dogs into the laundry room. Hey folks, it is our clean laundry and we don't want your dog fur/smells on it. Have some respect for other campers. On this trip, one lady was considering using the small sink in the laundry room to bathe her dog! Give us a break! Did you leave your manners at home? MWR: Put a large, permanent, sign up in the laundry room. To wit: NO PETS/SMOKING ALLOWED IN BATH HOUSE AND LAUNDRY ROOM.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
April 14-15 2012
(Updated: May 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Although this campground is off the beat and path, it was clean and the host was very polite. The exchange is on another section of the base, however, it is still a nice campground. Bass Lake was beautiful and clean. We enjoyed staying there and will go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
May 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Still a good value for area & base amenities. We were there during/after much flooding on base and nice to park on concrete. Thx to earlier review we monitored the electric and no problems. It was very quiet and office gave good info for base facilities. We did see management drive thru 1-2 daily and of course close to MP's. On weekends it is longer drive around due to gate closure. Clean laundry room. Would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 3 - 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
M.G. left this review using the Directory software: Inconvenient location after hours and weekends. Gate is closed and have to drive quite a distance to a gate. Price is now $25.00 per night which is expensive compared to other famcamps. Otherwise, OK place to park. Has a small lake nearby.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 16, 2011
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The young man at the Office was VERY helpful upon our arrival. The lady who manages came by the next night to see if all was OK - nice touch! The location is close to the USAF Museum which is A+. The Presidential area is separate from the main Museum and VERY interesting. With a military ID you can enter directly. Others must obtain a pass and come by shuttle from the main Museum. The film at the Wright Brothers Visitor is an excellent presentation of their efforts. We also biked 2 trails in the area which were very enjoyable. At our site (#16) the sewer input was too small for any adapter so I had to remove the collar and put the hose in directly. I don't think this was the case for other sites. The water faucets are a little different with a diverter of some sort that has to be engaged to allow flow to the hose - not a big deal. We had a pull through site with a 40' motorhome. We did not use the restrooms or showers so have no comment. We would come here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
19-27 June 11
(Updated: June 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
No changes from the previous reviews. The restroom/showers are less clean than a year ago. Otherwise the park/sites are fine. All-in-All...this is a nice park and a good value. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 1 - 29, 2010
(Updated: November 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a recurring stop for us since it's virtually the only decent place in the area. Nothing fancy, just convenient pull-thru sites, good hookups, and except for the aircraft, a quiet place to stay. The manager is well meaning but sometimes seems a bit confused; part of it may be the lack of an organized system for reservations. Travel on and off base is a chore after 6:00 PM and weekends if not a Reserve weekend since the Famcamp is on the back side of the base. A good commissary and substandard BX are located across the highway on another portion of the base; there is no Shoppette convenient to the park. While there's a two-week maximum, it's seldom full and there are overflow sites for longer stays. The base lake is convenient, but it's an $18 annual fee and you'll need a Ohio license. It can get a bit noisy on Friday afternoon when many of the base organizations hold their picnics, but it quiets down at night. Don't miss a visit to the Air Force museum, and while there drive over to the Presidential and Research hangers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
15 - 19 September 2010
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a nice stay over the weekend of the Air Force Marathon. This website's directions were on the spot! We arrived just before the gate nearest the famcamp closed, but after the camp office hours. The staff had left clear direction to our spot. Everything was fine - the area is clean, the facilities for shower and toilet well-kept. All the hookups worked (although the water hookup confused us for a few minutes till we figured it out). Very nice staff at the office when we talked to them. It's a little tough navigating around the base when the closest gate is closed. GPS definitely helps. Not a lot to do right at the site, but a good playground for youngsters is an easy walk. If you're a fisherman try out the lake. Overall a good value for the expense.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sept. 9, 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
G.L. left this review using the Directory software: The campsites are large and spacious. Water hookup a bit tricky. Laundry and bath house appear to be neglected. Trash was running over by the lake, and the dumpster needed a good cleaning, you had to hold your breath while walking past it!! On the day we were there, the lady in the office allowed three different civilian motorhomes to stay in "our" famcamp!!! She more or less said she could do whatever she wanted (per her boss) regarding admittance to the park. Does this mean anyone can stay there now?? It looks like rules only apply to those who follow them. We are finding this in more and more Famcamps. Not sure I want to stay here again if it is going to be open to just anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
August, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground with full hookups. Staff was excellent. Though on the far end of the base a gate is close by, but only open from 6am to 6pm Mon-Fri. After hours and weekends you have to drive through the base. Great location when visiting the Dayton area and the Air Force Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here before and enjoy the Famcamp and area, but this time ran into a couple of strange glitches. 1) We made reservations for a one month stay six weeks in advance and they insisted they had to charge the FULL $529 in advance or they "could not hold our reservation." 2) When we plugged into the 50a outlet we had a problem that caused me to check the outlet with my multimeter. The problem was internal to our coach and unrelated, but what I found caused me to go to neighboring vacant sites to check them also. Then I went to the Famcamp office to discuss what I found with the woman there. The conclusion is that ALL 50a outlets in the famcamp are NOT wired according to code, and they KNOW it. Each 50a outlet power leg tests at 120v, however the reading across the two power legs is 0v rather than the normal 240v. The woman in the office said, "They are all that way." And then she said something like, "They told me we are missing one wire ...they are really just a super-charged 30a." I closely monitored voltage on a meter inside the coach, and other than sagging voltage at times of heavy usage did note any other problems. "Normal" voltage was 115v most of the time, dropping as low as 109v for short periods of heavy load. There are a couple of possibilities as to how they wired the 50a circuit to have these results, at least one of which could lead to dangerous overheating of the neutral wire. This Famcamp location is over 10 years old, so I guess whatever they did isn't causing any serious problems... I found it difficult to believe the military would pull such a stunt with electrical wiring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 26-27, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived at WPAFB on a Saturday. The office was fully manned by a very competent staff. Since I had reservations, check in only took two minutes. I would strongly advise calling in early to reserve a spot as the Air Force Museum draws a crowd. When parking your RV at the museum, drive all the way to the end or your plate number will be announced while you are touring. This is not the same campsite that I used nine years ago. This FAMCAMP is now located in the area that used to be the home of the 17BW at the north end of the base. It is located in our old picnic area. The Campground is clean and level and satellite reception can be obtained from any site. Signs are lacking over the entire route so you will need a map from the gate guard. Water connection may need help from a fellow camper or your wife.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2 - 6, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We called a day before we arrived and were called back within an hour. The assignment of spaces seems a little on the awkward side and we were assigned an occupied space first. This was fixed out quickly and after I connected the water with the help of a neighbor everything went fine. One of the Dryers was not working properly and we were told after we paid for it that you could use it without putting money in it. We spent 4 days in the museum and had a great visit. There are stores near the museum and places to eat. A very enjoyable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 28 - 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Mixed emotions about this Fam Camp. Location is fine if you want to be in the Dayton area. The lady at the "office" is nice enough, but it bugged me that they never answer the phone. They have voice mail & say that they will return your call with in 1 working day... they did. We wanted to come in early, but they were full, even in the overflow. There seems to be a lot of active duty folks utilizing the facility, which is ok. The laundry room has no ventilation, so be prepared to sweat this time of year! The sites are long enough for a big rig & wide enough to feel comfortable. Since most of the gates close at 18:00 getting back on base is a REAL PAIN! The main gate is a long ways from the Fam Camp! The golf courses on base looked really nice & were being highly utilized, but I didn't have time to play. The facility (other than the laundry room) appears to be very well maintained. If in the area again we'll stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 16 - 22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent park. Very nice location with decent size sites. Access in/out is basically one way but easy to deal with. The only draw back is the lack of water pressure. The bath house and laundry room are clean and well maintained. We will be staying at this park again next spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
3-5 Jun 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This FAMCAMP is way out in the boonies, great location. Although the base is a bit disjointed, had to go through two gates to get to BX and Commissary. The facilities were very nice, grounds were well maintained, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Access to sites was big rig friendly. We stayed in the overflow, no sewer, and found it just as nice as the full hookup sites. We were parked right next to the shower/laundry facilities. Security mad patrols runs through the camp which was comforting. Easy access to the Air Force Museum and Dayton (which we didn't have time to visit). Will definitely be staying here again when we visit Ohio again.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June and July 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
E.T. left this review using the Directory software: Price went up $22/night--why is overflow (water/electric the same price as full hookups? Also don't think it is managed properly. Stayed here & wanted a pull thru & was told none was available, yet several pull thru sites were coned implying someone was due in. I stayed in a backin & even after I left, the same pull thru sites were still coned off. What gives? Recent conversation with another camper who has been here for 2 weeks noted the same discrepancy. There is no camp host & I guess the office is the "Outdoor Rec" office. I guess I'll just contact the base commander to see what goes--sure hate to bother him with trivia, but does not appear to have any oversight. The charge immediately with no refund is absurd--no private campground does that although they do have a cancellation policy. Very disappointed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have visited this Fam-camp in the past and found if very nice. planning on stopping again so was reading some of the reviews. it seems the biggest complaint is the price. I see the price now is $22. w/water sewer and electric. I have camped all over the midwest and south and can tell you this is cheap. Well i guess it is cheap is you are a WalMart camper. With things the way they are now in this economy lets enjoy the fact that it is only $22.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 19-23 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have stayed here a couple of times in past. One of the few USAF camps that take reservations, so that's a plus. Nice site arrangements, plenty of room but offers very little else for the price, so amenities/value really keeps the rating for this camp down. Departed on a Sunday; only one gate operational for a HUGE base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
145 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8