Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
140394 1 19 2 41

User reviews

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
145 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
May 15-22, 2013
(Updated: May 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We showed up with no reservation on a Wednesday afternoon. Our surprise was that the office at Bass lake was closed for the winter on last Oct 21. After looking at the map posted on the door, we made our way to building 95, Outdoor Rec, on the main part of the base. The cargo trailer with the "Rent Me!" sign made it easy to locate. The cost was $125 whether it was for 5/6/7 nights. We had only passed through once before years before so we stayed for the week. Since this was the weekend of the ham radio convention that 25,000 people attend in Dayton, we expected only dry camping at the most. We were given a pull through. There were many back-ins available with sewer and more than a dozen w/e overflow available. By looking for antennas we found three other ham couples there to attend the convention. The famcamp was well maintained, and the grass mowed while we were there. We found no wifi at the camp so we located the library in the Kitty Hawk area, the smallest we have found on any installation but it had both computers and wifi, in the area of the BX, Commissary & Gas station. It was a surprise to us to learn that the gate by this area also had a 24hr gate which makes eating at restaurants on Fairborn's Main Street easily accessible. The information book maintained in the famcamp laundry room provides several choices. We enjoyed both the convention and the Air Force Museum. If you are crossing the country on I-70, this is a convenient stopover. We will make it a point to stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 30-5 April 2013
(Updated: May 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The staff at Outdoor Rec was very helpful to get our reservation, and do the best with their budget problems. Eric was great and followed up as he promised. However, in the week we stayed, I never saw any staff at the facility. I paid my bill via telephone charge, and never went by the Outdoor Rec facility. The security police drive by the facility all night long which is next to the Military Dog Training facility, but never stop to see if anyone has any problems. I forgot to bring a heated hose to fight off the sudden cold we experienced in early April. The water supply valve froze while we were out before we realized it was going to get down to 23 degrees that night. We showered the next days in the bath house that was tolerable, and heated and didn't get to use our coach shower. Many of the water valves and sewer valves throughout the campground were in bad condition. Not sure the voltage is regulated properly on the 50AMP side, cause my HDTV didn't work anymore and I had to replace it when returning home. There appeared to be full time other "working" residents that stayed inside and you never found anyone to talk to anywhere. Must have been a unfriendly time of year, or "Ohio folks" nature. The campground may experience more hard times on fixing more of the problems from neglect in the future. The Base with so many Gate closures is hard to navigate through at different times of the day. The BX, Commissary and Home & Garden/Class Six and the Museum are first rate, and best part of visiting there. Next time- no April visits for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
April - May 2013
(Updated: May 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When my husband retired from WPAFB in 2007 we sold our home in Dayton OH and went on the road as Full-timers. At least once/twice a year, we come back and stay at the FamCamp. For the first handful of years things were handled in a very unusual way and did not necessarily offer a pleasant atmosphere. Then in late 2011 and all of 2012 another person (Eric) handled the facility, updating the large recreation building and locating his office in that same building, which made check-in very easy. Eric has a great personality for handling we campers and took a personal interest in making everyone's stay (long or short) as comfortable as possible. He had a passion for the job and a love of the FamCamp. Yes, he's the one that got rid of the dreaded orange cones!!! On our recent visit we pulled in to not only the orange cones again but now there are also PINK cones. Who knows why... There's no one around to explain! We could immediately see that the FamCamp is going down hill. There is never anyone on site to handle problems or to offer check in. You have to call MWR and that's during their erratic hours. In most cases the phone is not answered and you have to leave a message, if it's possible. Those staying can only gain access to the now unoccupied recreation building by using a security code. That is "if" you can FIND someone at MWR to give you that code...good luck! Long grass? Yep, but that's because a different dept on base handles the mowing and our understanding is that they are done once a week, rain or shine. Last year even Eric couldn't get them to mow more often & he tried. We watched them mow last month and although the camping area is small it took the mowing personnel 2-3 days to get the job done. Slow... The facility is not as good as it was even a year ago. We miss Eric and we understand that he and another MWR person are being let go from MWR a the end of May. We heard this big change is being credited to the sequester, but we question that reasoning. Last year we noticed that when Eric would try to get Washer/Dryers fixed it was put on a back burner by those higher up than Eric. We know he was very frustrated since he really loved the FamCamp and wanted to help those camping there. We got the feeling that the higher ups don't feel the FamCamp is important...they probably have never camped a day in their lives. So sad... We asked how we should handle a reservation when we want to return in the fall and were told they had no idea at this time. Where does that leave the FamCamp? Unfortunately no one seems to know. We find it absolutely absurd that with the FamCamp being the closest RV Park to a World Class Facility; The National Museum of the United States Air Force, is being run in such an hap-hazard manner. It should be the pride and joy of Wright Patterson Air Force Base. On a positive side: It is patrolled by the base security on a regular basis, which is a good thing... But otherwise we're very concerned it won't be around by 2014.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2013
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Being retired Air Force and a full time RVer, I have experienced many military RV camping facilities across the nation. Other than being a good location for the National Air Force Museum, it has very little going for it. The worst part of the experience was dealing with the Camp Host/Recreational Facilities people. Not only were they unfriendly but it is almost impossible to contact them by telephone. If it wasn't for the Museum, we would not have stayed the night! I just wish that I could include photos of the ten inch dandelions surrounding our campsite, to provide a visual impression of the quality of this campground. The entire base is inundated with these weeds. Also, regarding the base in general, I have not experienced such a difficult base to traverse. There are very few signs indicating the direction to popular destinations. And, worse than all of that, there are no current maps of the facility that are available from any source. If we do return to see the Museum, we will stay at a campground that is off of the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 24, 2013
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This is our last stop whenever we are returning home from a southern trip. This time we arrived unannounced at about 1300. The office was closed with no indication as to when it would reopen. A sign on the door said to pick an overflow site and a full hookup site would be assigned next day. The office hours were said to be 1030-1630 Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. It was going to get to 31 degrees so we needed electricity. We waited until 1330 and still no show at office. We called both phone numbers posted on the door without getting responses. We decided to park in a site and see what happens. There were only about a dozen sites being used. As in the past there were no cones blocking any sites. I checked back at the office again at 1400 and 1600 and still no show. We stayed overnight without incident. We got on the road next day at about 0800 and called the office at 1030 to see if they wanted our payment. My wife was able to make contact and paid them with our credit card. She asked the office person what happens if the person doesn't call to pay. The office person said they have our vehicle license number and we would get a letter in the mail in a few days. What a way to run a campground. Now, about the closure of Highway 444. Nothing much has changed as to route to campground. From the north, go in the same way as in the past. From the south, as we did, we got off I-675 at Exit 17 and then Highway 444 and made a left turn into the base. Then drive thru the base to the campground. In the past we stayed on 444 thru town and turned onto Highway 235 to the back gate. If you do that now it going to be confusing if you are not familiar with the town of Fairborn. They have rerouted 444 onto Kaufman which runs along side the old 444 but comes out north of 235. So the best bet is to go into the main gate and drive thru the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 19, 2013
(Updated: April 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We have been full-timing for 8 years & use many military RV parks all across the country. We found the Bass Lake RV Park to be quite disappointing. It could have been the time of year, but we found the RV park to be fairly run-down looking - lawns needing to be mowed, power posts & small picnic tables in poor conditional. Additionally, the reservation system was a mystery at best. It took several calls across several days to finally reach someone. When I made the reservation I specifically stated that we wanted 3 days, but might also like to extend. When I called to extend I was told we would have to move sites although there were many, many open sites. We would use the facility again if we needed to be in the area, but it is certainly not up to the standards of most other military RV parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The sites are full hook-up and mostly level. With the recent change to the main base entry it could be confusing to locate the campground for first time visitors. The campground meets all the needs is well maintained and clean but there are not really any "extras". About 10 miles to the Air Force museum which is a MUST for anyone, set aside a full day, probably two for this awesome FREE chronical of history. Also check out Huffman Prairie Flying Field on the way. The BX/Commissary and service station are quite far from the campground. The staff is truly great - friendly and helpful but this much more of a stop than a destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 1, 2012
(Updated: November 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here for a month while we were between houses. Price was reasonable and the grounds were kept up. There is wi-fi in the lodge/office. While it is closed for the winter, they will give you the code to the door so you can go in use the internet, watch TV, play pool. While we were there they had to take the famcamp off the electric grid two separate days while they upgraded the service. They gave plenty of warning. Same for the water. There was a main break somewhere on the base and they had to shut the water off two separate occasions to fix it, but they gave plenty of warning and offered any help needed. Will stay here again although with the reconfiguration of Route 444, it is truly a pain to get to unless you can arrive between the hours of 0600-1800 M-f or on a drill weekend when the gate nearest the campground is open. Although you are near the flight line, we rarely noticed the take off/landing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
13-21 SEPT 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.P. left this review using the Directory Software: - Manager Eric is very helpful and pleasant. He is operating with limited resources and works hard to keep the facility operating. The place was full, or nearly so, the whole time we were there. Water pressure is low, but sufficient. We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 26, 2012
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our standard stopover on our way home to Michigan from Florida in the Spring and from a month in the South in September each year. It is usually a stop to empty our tanks before arriving home the next day. The park is about 20 miles out of the way but the only other campground up the road is a KOA and I refuse to pay 43 dollars to stay overnight. Bass Lake fits my needs just fine. The sites are not level so if you are in a trailer bring plenty of boards. It seems that the grass always needs cutting. The only internet connection is a phone line in the laundry room. I did see the sign that Highway 444 would be closing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
22 Sep 2012
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived on a Saturday so had to use gate 12A. Not a problem and the directions the guard gave use were very easy to follow. Eric met us, checked us in and directed us to our site, a long pull-through. Bathrooms we very clean. Two washers were inop in the laundry so we went to Fairborn to do our washing. The grounds could use a little TLC. We'll be back. Hwy 444 is being closed so I would call for directions if you need to use gate 12A.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 20, 2012
(Updated: September 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were not sure of our arrival time so my wife called the lady in the office who informed us that there would be room and about the gate locations and closing time. We managed to enter through Gate 26A and locate the fam camp quite easily. There is a binder in the laundry room with plenty of information. We did not do laundry because 2 of the three washers were not working. After dinner out in town we found our way back from the 24/7 gate. The bathrooms were clean. In the morning the lady from ODR came through the park on her way to the office. She explained how to get to the kitty hawk area where the gas, BX, Commissary & theater are located. The base is in the process of permanently closing highway 444 and incorporating the kitty hawk area into the base design. I think the signs say it will be complete in December. This was our first visit here and we will be coming back in the spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2012
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Overall excellent. I downgraded the facilities because 2 of 3 washers are inop and experience tells me it will be a while before they are fixed. As stated earlier, the manager was great. I got there an hour before the office opened and he was already there. Great attitude and personality. Many probably think the price is too high but fees are going up at military parks just like the commercial parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 22-24, 2012
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our first time at this famcamp and it has been wonderful. I called from the road to inquire about available sites and talked to Eric. He couldn't have been more helpful. When I told him we may not be able to make it that far that night he suggested we opt for overflow which has water/electric - all we really needed. That way he wouldn't have to charge our credit card for one night and we wouldn't lose that money if we couldn't make it in. Refreshing to find someone who wasn't just looking to make some money. We arrived one and half hours AFTER the office closed but Eric was still there and welcomed us like we were long lost friends. Couldn't ask for a better office manager. The sites are very nice, each with a small patio. Restrooms are very clean with soap dispensers in each shower and terrific water pressure. I urge anyone who was put off by the previous manager to come back and experience the difference.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
July 2012
(Updated: August 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
JE, having stayed at the WP FC many times over the years, I am hard pressed to see any "improvements" the now retired manager did for the facility. Hopefully she took all her useless orange cones with her! We were there the day the "new" fam camp opened at WP. And from that day on it has been nothing but a down hill slide. Mostly caused by her and her horrible attitude towards customers. Like the USAF Seaward FC manager, the woman at WP FC has ran many customers off with sheer nonsense. (note: Seward USAF FC is closing at the end of August.. another place sitting on a gold mine but due to poor management: ruined). Glad you enjoyed her and the famcamp. Sorry to say, the place could have, and should have, been ran much better under her. No loss finding out she is gone. Hopefully, whoever runs the WP FC can make improvements. Starting with CUSTOMER SERVICE ATTITUDE. Under her, customer service and attitude was horrible and it showed. This seems to be the problem with many of the military famcamps... the managers start thinking they are the base commander and develop a attitude when suggestions are made to improve the FC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 JULY 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.E. left this review using the Directory software: - For all of you that couldn't seem to find the combination of how to to get along with "that woman that ran the campground", she is now retired. Most of the improvements from the Twin Lakes CG can be attributed to her. We have found frustrations over the past 20 years but always come back. It is still an excellent Famcamp relative to most base facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 15-29, 2012
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: - this is by far the worst famcamp i have been to the water pressure is very low this sites are not maintained as far as hook ups and the over all camp is run down a black eye for the Air force they need to put some money back into this famcamp. they have a lake buy the dock looks unsafe and is in need of repair too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
There is no host at the WP Fam Camp. The woman who works there is a full time employee. Been there for years and years. They could use a host. But, WP MWR will not let anyone be the host.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WOW!! After reading the last reviews, I am shocked to find out that the camp host is so uncooperative and rude. I must not have had the regular host. I was not aware that the CG had WIFI either, but would have sure been nice to know. Perhaps it is time for MWR to find a New Host!!! We go the Commissary and Exchange 1 or 2 times a month and have not had any trouble that is why I rated 5's all the way. We have not had a bad experience at all. I think it still a good value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Some improvements have been made; but, still lacking in the customer care business, dirty bathrooms, up keep of the grounds, utilities etc. Not much better than the last time we stayed at Wright Patterson a few years ago. Due to budget cuts, word on Wright Patterson is they will be closing one of the golf courses, the tennis club and two other MWR facilities. It appears the Fam Camp is safe. Not enough can be stated how Wright Patterson Fam Camp is sitting on a gold mine due to its location. Has great potential, as stated below, but poorly managed and ran. But then you only hear of MWR crying about how they cannot make a buck. Run the place like you should and it will make a buck for you. Person in the office was telling campers for years that there was no wifi. This was not true. There was wifi in the office (free) for everyone to use. Been there for years. I would rather not speculate as to why someone in the office did not want to put that word out. Again, another example of the poor management of the Wright Patterson Fam Camp. Seems any good to be done at this Fam Camp is a uphill battle with one certain person in the office who does not want to change. When change will help the campers and generate more business. As stated in other reviews, they did finally open up the office area to campers for playing cards, getting together, using the wifi (that was there all along anyway), etc. But, as stated below the time when campers can use the facilities in the office is limited and needs to be expanded. There is a combo lock on the door to this rec area. Idea was for the campers to be given the combo number and enjoy TV, pool table, card table etc. Well you guessed it --- so we were told -- the woman who runs the place will not give out the combo number to campers. The TV in the laundry room still only displays a MWR ad. When asked what was wrong with the TV in the laundry room -- you guessed it -- we were told that "she" had the remote and will not let it go. So much for watching TV when doing clothes. Smokers, dog owners continue to come into the laundry room. As of June 2012 no large sign has been posted reminding people not to bring pets into the laundry room and no smoking in the bathrooms and laundry room. Personally we feel there should be no need to post this. It is common respect and doing the right thing. Seems some campers at Wright Patterson do not care. The row of homesteaders, where the back in spaces to the trees are, is down to about two or three homesteaders. Most of the homesteaders who were living there for years, yes years, have moved on. One of the homesteaders who believed he was the base commander, but never served a day in uniform, is finally gone. Double checked on the cost of tent camping. Yes, fee is $10.00 for each tent, screen house etc put up. Wow! Tent campers normally are the ones who do not have much money. Such as young military families. Someone needs to look into this over charging of tent campers and look into as to why tent campers cannot use the shower room in the RV park. The tent area is within hearing distance and a easy walk from the RV area. Hard to understand how tent camping can exceed the cost of a full hook up RV spot if they put up a few tents, screen house and so on. No improvements have been made to the tent area. Tent area is located by the old tables in the grassy area directly in front of the office. Hopefully, this campground will get better one day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
145 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8