Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
139861 1 19 2 41

User reviews

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
145 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Aug 29 - 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our first at this campsite. Bathrooms clean and freshly painted. Grass was mowed but no weed eating. The pros are the sites are level and full hookups. It was quite. The gate nearest the camp site is only open on the weekdays. On the weekends it's not a real problem getting across the base but it really is a long way away from anything. The cons are there are no camp host, office is so far away and there are problems reaching them on the phone. We really never did check in. We were told what site we had over the phone the day we made the reservations. As long as the office is across the base the camp will be "out of sight, out of mind". There were several homesteaders but there were plenty of open spaces. Saw AF Security Police patrol each night. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
August 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Recently stopped in the WPAFB FamCamp. Have not been there in years. Good news the "lady" who worked in the office at Bass Lake is now retired. That is the biggest improvement to the place. Minor work has been recently accomplished. Such as: painting the bath house, new washers and dryers, information board outside bath house, etc. Long term folks, homesteaders, still living full time in the back row by tree line. Agree communication with office is horrible. Be careful when dealing with the woman in the office who has English GB accent. Received reports of her not crediting accounts. Forgetting who she put where etc. ALWAYS get a written receipt. Grass has not been mowed in ages. This may be typical for bases now due budget cuts. Heard reports of one camper going around at night shinning flash light into people's faces telling them to stop talking. Word from other campers this was a drunken guy who was out at 9 pm being rude to others telling them to "shut up." Word is the campers were merely talking. No loud music, just talking. Takes all types. But we don't need this type of "town cop" in a FamCamp. Further, heard this was reported to the office by two or more people and nothing was done to this guy by anyone from the office. He should have been given a one way ticket out the gate. Which brings me to this point, support from the office has always been lacking at this FamCamp. After hearing this report of non support by the office regarding this rude hostile person, seems nothing has changed. Smoking and pets in the laundry room: nothing has changed over the years regarding pets/smoking in the laundry room. No signs put up saying NO SMOKING / NO PETS in laundry room or bathrooms. Same problem here when we stopped in few years ago. MWR needs to put/paint signs in the bathrooms and laundry rooms stating NO SMOKING - NO PETS IN LAUNDRY ROOM/BATHROOMS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
July 9-25, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The facility is adequate. There is very low water pressure. The largest problem is communication. The office is a long distance from the rv park (fam camp). It's located in the Outdoor Rec bldg, bldg 95. It is nearly impossible to reach them by phone, because they are too busy to answer it. It took two days to get a call back. When you do get someone on the phone, the service is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
June 2 -June 13 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have stayed here several times over the years. It is hard to get to for the first time, but once you learn about the gate off of hwy. 235 it is real convenient. The place has gone down over the years due to no one actually cares. The office at the campground has been closed for a couple of years and you have to call for reservations and hope someone answers the phone. Waited three days for a returned call. I arrived unannounced and had to find the MWR office to see if there was a site for me. People in the MWR office was very helpful, except for you know who with an attitude. I will be back probably next year so my wife can visit her family which lives there. As far as the price, I think it is a little high for a military campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
June 2-16, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was our third visit to this RV park as we have family in the area. It is a decent park, with paved sites, that is adequately maintained. Mowing is adequate but not top notch. Water pressure is quite low (never higher than 40 psi). Electric and sewer hookups are good. There is no recycling available on site. We will stay here again to visit family.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 5
12th to 15th June 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here for the convenience to the Air Force Museum and the Wright Brothers National Historic sites. We had to make several calls before getting a return call to book and pay for the site. The sites were a good length and the grass had been recently cut. The restrooms were not the cleanest. Signage to the camp from the main gate was poor, and the base itself isn't the easiest to find your way around (we thought we'd found the commissary then ended up exiting the base so had to get back on). Overall not the best rec camp experience we've had and it could easily have been made so much better. To cap it all, we weren't even able to get our frequent camper booklet stamped.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 27 - 28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This is our usual last stop on our way home from the south. Nothing much changes. We called from the road and the first time no one answered. We were told to leave a message and they would get back to us. However, the in box was full. Called back about an hour later, a recording gave us a half dozen phone numbers we could call but none related to the RV park. We pressed on and spent the night and planned to do what we always did in the past, call them the next day and pay our bill. This place is for us just an overnight stay. We wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time. The grass was about 8 inches tall and about 3 feet around the utilities and close to RVs that looked as if they had been here forever. We don't use the restrooms or showers but I like to check them out. The men's restroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in months. The showers were filthy. I'm glad I don't need to use them. We got on the road the next day and tried to call and pay for our stay. That was May 28. It is now May 30 and we still haven't paid even though we've called several times. We did talk to a person today and was told that someone will call us on Monday, June 2 and will take our payment at that time. She also said that the Famcamp does not take payments any more and that payment will be handled by Parks and Rec. What a messed up place. And for you folks that like all those orange cones and don't know their purpose, they have new ones and are now green. There was even a large orange cone in one of the showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 0
April 21-24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Water pressure low. Called for reservation, took information said she would call me back. After 4 hours of no call back called her, she seemed to be very unorganized, didn't have my original call information, had to do it all over again. Management and help is lacking and needs lots of improvement. Campground does appear to be going downhill from previous stays. Freeze divertor leaking, a few sites have no water, faucets must be broke and need attention. Still a good place to stop when passing thru. Would be nice if campground office was open, but appears to be closed permanently. A couple homesteaders, still on site since our last stay.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
Oct. 29 - Nov. 4, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were at Wright Patterson from October 29 - Nov. 4, 2013. The campground was in fairly good condition. The largest problem we had with this location was how difficult it was to find your way around. There were no base maps to speak of and what they gave us was so tiny you needed a powerful magnifying glass to see and even then it was very blurry. The folks we met were very friendly and helpful when it came to figuring out the water hook-up. We hadn't experienced the freeze plug before and once we understood how to operate it it made a lot of sense. Getting around the base, was as said before, very difficult. The museum was awesome and being able to drive to the "Presidential Hanger" was very convenient. We enjoyed our time there but were disappointed in the condition of the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
JULY 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
STAYED ONE NIGHT WHILE TRAVELING THROUGH THE AREA. RV AREA IS NICE & CLEAN - NO COMPLAINTS. NICE SMALL LAKE NEARBY. ON THE CLEANLINESS SIDE IT GETS A 4 OR 5. ON THE HOSPITALITY SIDE IT GETS A 0 OR 1 BECAUSE NO ONE AROUND TO ASK QUESTIONS, PAY OR ANYTHING. I CALLED AND GOT A RECORDING /LEFT MESSAGE AND GOT A CALL BACK. MADE A RESERVATION ON CALL BACK. I WOULD STAY AGAIN WITHOUT HESITATION BUT OFFICE SHOULD BE MORE ACCESSIBLE. I DIDN'T NOTICE ANY LONG-TERMERS AND EVERYONE STAYING THERE WAS NICE AND FRIENDLY. MILITARY WORKING DOG KENNEL NEXT TO SITES BUT NO BARKING OR PROBLEMS. MILITARY POLICE PATROLLED AT LEAST 2 TIMES PER DAY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 16-19, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice, no-frills RV park with good hook ups. If you want a good value in the Dayton area, this is a wise choice. We've stayed here several times and have never had any problems making reservations over the phone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 7, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stopped here overnight on our way home from the South. We tried calling from the road and got no answer. We left a message but didn't get a return call. We arrived and since no one was in the office, we set up for the night and would call and pay for the site the next day. We have done this in the past. After we got home this afternoon, my wife called and paid them with a credit card. She was told that the office is now closed and you have to go to Outdoor Rec (Building 95) to check in. The previous Rater talked about the possibility of staying for free. I wouldn't try that. This Spring, we stayed and called later to pay and my wife asked the person in the office what happens when someone drives off without paying. They said that they make a run through the campground at night taking down vehicle license numbers and if you left without paying you would get a letter in the mail.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 26-27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Tried to make reservations, after numerous calls just a recording. Stopped anyway, got a site with the help of the unofficial camp host. This facility has no management, office closed. Could have stayed for free but put check in drop box. Really enjoyed the museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 23-25,2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Made reservations by leaving a message, they called back next day. Arrived after hours in the dark (big mistake) had difficulty locating famcamp missed turn went to end of rd, gate closed had to unhook tow vehicle, turn around a 38 footer not fun in the woods after dark. Camp sight was neat, clean, and roomy. Facilities were clean and accessible, security came by several times but just to use facility. Family, 3 adults 2 grandsons really enjoyed museum, we will go back, excellent learning experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here a week. We did make reservations in advance. When we got to the campground we found a green cone with our name on it. Found out that the office at Bass Lake is closed and reservations are handled in building 95. While there, the attendant told my husband that some campers moved cones reserved for others and took their sites. Fortunately, that did not happen to us. The other problem we had was with DirecTV. Their coordinates are wrong. It is not 40 degrees, but more like 45 to 48. It is obvious that there have been cut backs on the base. We saw very few planes. We found the campground to be neat and clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1 Aug - 4 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We called after hours and left a message; called first thing the next morning and made reservations for a pull-thru 50 amp with sewage. They called back later when they checked their phone messages. Going into Gate 26A worked great; the most direct way to the campground. We went directly to the site and set up; good since no one was at the office. Our GPS took us thru gates to get to the Museum of the AF and to gates that were permanently closed on other trips. The power was good (hot and running two ACs). Campground is clean and the bathhouse is well maintained. We stopped by the office several times and never found anyone there. A good place to stay and would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I would agree with most of the other users. The Campground is nice and well maintained. However, the reservation system could use some help. We called and left two messages that were not returned. We called the third time when we were an hour away. We were told they were full but we could stay in the overflow sites. We arrived around 1630 and parked in overflow site 1. While we were there (2 nights) 8 of the 40 sites were unused. That is a high error rate!! Would also recommend reservations in advance and arriving when MWR is open. Would have stayed longer if we have full hook up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2013
(Updated: July 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground is in pretty good shape, paved spots which are pretty long. Only downside to the sites are long grass and the pavement is not level, took two blocks to get our trailer level. Shower house and laundry are in good shape and conveniently located. Now for our only serious complaints, organization of the reservations; we made our reservations and paid in advance and we were given a site number. Upon arrival that spot was already taken and nobody (host, outdoor rec) was available to assist. We just occupied a spot and was fortunate not to have inadvertently taken someone else's. I understand a lack of funding is reducing the workforce for outdoor rec but bringing in a motivated and organized host would do wonders. I recommend people visit this campground since it is pretty nice, near the interstate and the USAF museum but I would just recommend arriving when outdoor rec is open in order to resolve any issues.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 18-22, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.W. left this review using the Directory software: - We enjoyed our visit and will visit again if we are in vicinity. It would be really great if the BX offered diesel fuel, however diesel is close by. The grounds are well kept and the bath house is clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 25-29, 2013
(Updated: May 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We called for a reservation, they took the VISA number for three nights, and after implying they were out of spaces, told us to come to the office by 1700 hrs or if later, park in a particular site number. We arrived on Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend - the same day we had called. We arrived at 1545 hrs. The office was closed. There were several signs posted. One was that the CG office closed at 1630 hrs. The second sign said that the MWR office closed at 1630 hrs. We called both to find our site and there was no answer at either number. A third sign said to go directly to your site number but since this was just mentioned and not emphasized, we did not remember that site number. We drove to the actual campground and about 10 sites had small "reservation" signs on them. There were at least 20 unmarked sites. We pulled into one of them and stayed three nights. We decided to stay a fourth night. On Tuesday (following Memorial Day) morning, I called to extend one night. A woman answered and told me the office was closed on Tuesday. We have stayed here in the past on 2-3 occasions and everyone was on the ball. This time, no one seemed to care at all. The sites are great, clean, and functional. I am now unsure about the management.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
145 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8