Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

 
3.8 (145)
139233 1 19 2 41

User reviews

145 reviews

 
(43)
 
(53)
 
(32)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (145)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (145)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (145)
Value 
 
3.7  (145)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (145)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
145 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
5-8 Jun 19
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We came by way of Cincinnati, OH during rush hour and it was not a pleasant experience. When we finally made it to Wright-Patterson, we were glad to see our name on the site all ready for us at the Famcamp. I had used Google Earth to locate the Famcamp and the gates and had a picture to guide me. We attended a military reunion located at a Hotel nearby and it was not really inconvenient for us going all the way around the flight line to get to the gate. Our neighbor next to us at the Famcamp was also going to the same reunion and this gave us an instant companion. It was reasonably quiet and aircraft traffic very light.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 29 - Oct 6, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed our week stay at this FamCamp. Of course, we visited the museum for a few days. The FamCamp is very reasonably priced and is kept in good condition. There were no signs of "homesteading", although you're allowed to stay up to 6 months. Camp hosts were nice and helpful. Sure, the drive to the FamCamp seems long, but you're on the other side of the base, on the lake, away from the main base action. Commissary and Exchange are good. WiFi was okay, but we did have some problems connecting at times. We used the laundry and all worked fine. Restrooms were kept clean. Although not a fancy "resort", the campground is comfortable and priced right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
26 September 2019
(Updated: October 11, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
So the big thing for me with this campsite is the the basic functions of a military institution. I understand that there are patrons that enjoy to visit due to the museum and maybe even work on base, but allowing long term stays for 6 months without taking into consideration of family PCS moves is ridiculous! Overall cleanliness is great, sites are decent, and facilities are okay but require major updates. Some of the sites are placed in a manner that you have to back in against traffic and then drive down the street and pull a hard uturn if you need to enter the actual camp area to go dump...and unfortunately, all of these sites are not full hookups! The other big problem that this campsite can't help is that you will be driving for 15 minutes around the airstrip. Sites are priced very well. Nearby lake is okay. The camp host/managers are very nice. This base is so large! WHY is the famcamp as small as other small bases around the air force! Overall decent campsite.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 4
19-25 Sept 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our second stay in the last 2 years. The sites are mostly level and the wifi is actually pretty good. We were able to watch Netflix and other streaming services with no issue and the park is actually full. They also take reservations which is a really nice thing. There are a few long term campers here but nothing is junky. The biggest issue is that it is a LONG drive from the nearest gate to the famcamp. There is nothing near the famcamp either. BX/Commissary/Gas is a 15 minute drive. They are building a new gate much closer to the famcamp and it should within the next 12 months or so.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12-14 September 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We used this as a stop on our way home from the east coast and visit the National Museum of the USAF. Facilities were very nice; WIFI worked and we had good cell phone reception. Only issues is you have to go through the main gate for Area A (Gate 1A) to access the base. It is a bit if a challenge to get through the base until you get to Loop Road. They are building a new commercial gate near the old RV gate. Hopefully campers can use this gate once it is complete.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 16 thru 19, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was my second stay at WP Fam Camp. Both were great. Vicki doing a excellent job. A little tick on facilities, because the site that I was in did not have septic port. But otherwise all was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The previous reply must have a beef with new management or someone. This place has improved tremendously since Larry and Vicki took over managing it. Slowly improving things. New electric posts at sites, not all done yet. New picinic tables at all sites, no more concrete benches and tables. All sites have new posts with boxes that they put the name of Reservation and check in, check out. WIFI has improved greatly from 2 years ago, yes it could be better, but it's better than most campgrounds we have stayed at, might need an extender to pick up the signal better. The price of $25 is still good, Famcamps nationwide have been raising their rates and this one is still better than some of the others that are $30 to $35. Private RV parks are in the $40-50 range now. I don't remember anyone managing this campground in the past, I think some people became self appointed managers and if I remember correct, created some of the problems. Homesteading doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past. The grass and campground was in shambles 4 or 5 years ago. It has come along way since. Most sites are level, some will pool water during heavy rains. Electric and bathrooms are good. Also, no all Famcamps have dog runs or playgrounds. This place is great for the Museum and area and price is right. Reservations recommended. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The hidden Gem of Gem City is tarnished...the overall cost of WPAFB FAMCAMP is now too high IMHO. This used to be a very reasonable campground that charged about $17/night. New policies in place and the nightly rate has skyrocketed to $25/night. The overall cost doesn't sound ridiculous, but the campground doesn't offer much of anything in the way of amenities. The only thing going is free electric and you get to hear the National Anthem played every evening at 1700. There are no playgrounds, there are no dog runs, the water pressure is beyond poor, and you can't even fully enjoy Bass Lake because the floating dock is submerged because the contractor didn't build it right during the last fix. They do have decent bathrooms with showers, and there is a small laundry facility on site, and they do have a very limited WIFI connection (you have to be sitting right outside the shower house to get a signal). We enjoy the company of folks who stayed at and managed this campground in the past. We frequent this campground to visit family in the local area almost yearly, so it pains me to see it heading this route. I'm sure a few of our friends are still camping and working at the campground as well. We even helped maintain the campground by cutting grass and helping with landscaping when we stayed here in 2016. The sense of community and the amount of effort folks put in to keep the campground looking good and being a friendly place to stay was remarkable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 4
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The sites are ok, not the most levelest as water can pundle if u have one of those site and days. The week I stayed Dayton broke its coldest temp, new one is -7. That being said the water did freeze up, if I would have had enough water in my tank i would have been fine. I just used the bath house which was very clean. On my site I never did get water so I ran hose over to the next site, which was working, I believe my water handle was inop, no biggy. Getting on base can be tricky, just use main gate off. 444 and Chidlaw Rd,which enters the base, next look for Mitchell Rd and Riverview Rd, you’ll see the campers from there. Reading directions can be confusing so just find these points and use ur google map.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Aug 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is truly a HIDDEN GEM......Once we got to the base, we drove around for an hour looking for family camp. Recommendation.... raise the rates a couple bucks and buy a couple signs to put out on the road to guide people in. The facilities are outstanding...……………………. Once people find you. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
WPAFB Famcamp is very hard to find! Beware, no GPS, follow directions carefully. Not sure this park is worth the price. And, website says length or stay is 2 wks but many talk of staying much longer. Which is it?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 4
July 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
$25 FHU $22 electric and water only – both offer concrete slab, picnic table, WiFi Pros: Easy check in process – names are on reserved sites if arriving after hours Laundry available ($1 wash/.50 dry- fastest/hottest dryer on earth) Temperature controlled bathrooms are very clean WiFi service is pretty good at sites Slabs are level Camphosts were welcoming and helpful Some shade trees throughout park (sites 1-12 have the most shade) Cons: No swimming is allowed in the attached lake We had to shift sites while staying due to reservations already made – apparently it’s a pretty normal experience for those staying at this CG – not a big deal for us but leads to people asking what time you will be leaving as they need to move into your spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 22 - July 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. The grounds were clean, we had a nice spot and the folks were real nice. As retired military we have had the opportunity to stay in many FamCamps. As Air Force camp grounds go it is certainly one of the best if not the best. A lot of that credit is directly attributed to the Camp Hosts, Vickie, Larry, and Nick who never stop trying to make your stay the best possible experience. We checked in on June 22nd and stayed until July 9th. When I called to make my reservation, I was nicely greeted by Vickie who spent a good amount of time on the phone with me to accommodate our needs and though a full hookup was not available at the time of our arrival she worked with me to move to full hookups eothin3 Days. We arrived and immediately noticed how well the grounds were kept; Vickie and Larry met us upon arrival and showed us where to park (loved the personal touch), the grounds were clean, neat, and mowed constantly. Over the two weeks we enjoyed the stay. Over July 4th, there was a super celebration planned with all the fixin’s. Vickie and Larry worked real hard to see that everybody had a great time! It was clear that they both took great pride in the celebration and all the preparations. All along Vickie and Larry along with Tony and Nick were constantly cleaning and mowing and painting. Vickie was always present; checking on people, meeting needs and always making sure all was as it should be. Her constant visibility and availability to each of us is a welcomed experience. Because of Vickie and Larry, we will be back to Wright – Patterson AFB FamCamp. We really appreciated their personal touches and attention to ALL the details. Heads up on gate access and closures - do not follow your GPS. Instead route yourself to Gate 12A from 675. Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. Woody & Karen Gray
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
July 3 & 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Very very hard to find this campground. The gate we were directed to was not open and we drove around for another 30 minutes looking for another gate. Host were very accommodating. This place is at the very end of the base and you could not have put it any farther away from the exchange and commissary. Played golf at one of the two base courses and found it to be expensive ($42) for 18 holes and a cart. This was not a $42 golf course.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
9 - 12 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A few changes in access gates, Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. If you are in the sites without sewer hook-up you have to drive all the way through the park, past the dump station and back to the entrance road to be able to back into one of the sites. We have a 45 foot coach so I dropped our Jeep and turned around in a wide area past my assigned site. We missed the information about the non-sewer site we were assigned to and it was too late to change when we arrived, all of the full hook-ups were reserved. The cost for the sites without sewer is $22 vs $25 for full hook-up sites. Nice Park with a great camp Host. We did not have to check in at the office, we had pre-paid and had our site assigned. The route through the Base is not well marked. The GPS has led me to closed gates more than once, not totally unexpected. Great area with the best Air Museum I have visited so far. John and Barbara, 45’ Entegra, Aspire with a Jeep Wrangler 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 5
May 12-19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Enjoyed our time here. Camp host welcomed us and provided a map and information on places to go while here. It was nice taking a nice warm shower even though we have one in our RV. The sites are clean but close to each other. Overheard possible new sites added for more larger big rigs which would be a plus. Famcamp sits way in the back next to the flight area but I love solitude. Commissary had everything I needed and a big plus was the Starbucks on site. We will defiantly come back here when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 4
Dec 17, 2017 - Jan 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed in site 21 while we were there. Right after we got there it rained and most of that site flooded with 2 to 3 inches water then it froze and all my utilities froze to the ground and had to go out and buy a bunch of salt to get my hoses and power cable loose. Their is no fenced dog run area but had stands for dog poop bags. When I asked the campground host what the maximum stay was I was told 6 month but taking to a former campground that was there I was told that the maximum stay is 364 days. The spigots are not winterized so if you go there during winter make sure you have heat tape to put around the spigot. The only way you can get propane is to have the only company install a tank for you as they will not fill directly to your tanks on your motor home the other option is to take your motor home off base then come back and hook everything back up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
September 2017
(Updated: October 01, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stayed here years ago. A great improvement from years ago. This place has improved. But does not rate a 5.0 as some have given on here. It is your average, in some ways below average, military camp ground. Host hubby and wife. Kinda over board. Lots of home steaders still living full time as it was years ago. With increase of transient RVs about time the home steaders are told to move on after a 30 day stay? Some contractors in that homesteader mix. Few transient people had to rotate from full hook up to partial. There were a few dry camping as well. Should be indicator that time for the homesteaders to move on.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 17 2
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had two separate stays: one just before the Dayton Hamvention and the other just after. Both were excellent. Really enjoyed the camp ground and the hosts were excellent. Definitely will stay there again next time! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 13
Sept 2-3, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had stayed here a few years ago and weren't too impressed back then. What a difference a few years makes! The hosts, Larry and Vickie have done a great job cleaning and maintaining this FAMCAMP. Larry came over to greet us as we arrived for our 2 night stay, and invited us to a free Labor Day hot dog gathering the next day. The FAMCAMP now also has canoe and kayaks to rent and bikes. The restrooms were kept clean and the three washers and dryers were only $1 wash and 50¢ to dry. The sites are not very large but they are maintained nicely Trying to figure out what gates are open can be tricky especially on a holiday weekend. Check in advance and it will save you some grief and U-turns.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 13
145 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8