Grand Forks AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (46)
44490 1 19 0 16

User reviews

26 reviews with 5 stars
46 reviews
 
57%
 
39%
 
4%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.3(46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(46)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(46)
Value
 
4.8(46)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I keep coming back as a regional favorite. Very lost cost and very quiet. I came for a 4 night stay at end of June.. HOT during the day and quite cool breezes in the evening. There a few biting insects, but it is the dry season and mostly very pleasant. I enjoyed an evening family cook-out. Outdoor Recreation office is very helpful and they assist with rentals of various sorts.( Boats, tents, etc. ) I stored my RV for a small fee of $20.00 per month. There is an archery / outdoor gun club for shotgun enthusiasts if you wish to support them. This camp is very deluxe for most, alas .. There is always room for improvement. Please! Campers need "good" Wi-Fi. Thanks!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 28-Aug 10 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a hidden gem. Located at northern most area of base, quiet and more quiet. 21 spaces and only 4 units here. 50-30 amp, sewer and water. All are located at very rear of each site, not ideal for some maybe. $16/ night with senior park park pass. They did search my RV upon entering base. Really enjoyed my visit here, just finished 3 months of winter wheat harvest. Needed a quiet respite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5-25 August 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stay here every year when visiting our daughter. Full hookup sites that used to be the base mobile home park. Sites on the outside edge have trees for some shade, but some of the sites have hard to get to hookups. Some need a very long sewer hose and electric cord. Winds can be very strong and just about every time we have been there, there has been a tornado warning. Center sites will have your rig facing the winds on the ends; the outside sites with trees will get the winds broadside. Last year tornado shelters were the restrooms. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers. They are small washers, but adequate. Also there is a book exchange in the laundry room. Small exchange and commissary. Walmart isn't too far away. There is a library where you can use their Wi-Fi or log onto their computers for internet access (may be closed because of Covid). It is a very quiet campground. Mosquitoes and horse flies are a problem (stables aren't far away). Bring mosquito repellent for sure. Rarely sit outside unless we put up our popup with screens because of the mosquitoes. For us, this is a perfect campground. Son-in-law works on base and it isn't far to their home. I highly recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11-13 August 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second visit here (2011). Awesome FamCamp. Very clean and quiet. Facilities and utilities are perfect. Town of Grand Forks ND and East Grand Forks MN are great. Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 5, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time ever Camping in a military campground. If the rest are like this place, I’m in! Previous reviews re parking are accurate. We lucked out selecting a spot with utilities in close proximity to trailer. We have 27’ TT. Used our National Park Senior Pass and additional $4 off. ??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived around 5 pm on Saturday evening. Went through the main gate, turned right on Eielson (that is where the road comes to a T). Went past the Outdoor Rec office on the right; they were closed. At the campground we found the pay envelopes on the side of the bathroom/laundry building. Reservations are not accepted at this campground - maybe because so few people use it? There were 6 RVs plus us with our tent. That was it - oh, there was a troup of cub scouts, but they were at the far edge of the field. The campground was quiet, the bathrooms/laundry were clean. The RV sites are large - we paid the extra money and stayed in one in order to get electricity at our tent. The commissary was closed (didn't see what their hours were). This place is terrific. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
September 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The area is quiet and secluded. One gentleman who worked at MWR told me that the campground was at one time a trailer park area which explained why some of the sewer and water hookups required an extension. Sadly, the base is not very active.The exchange food court was closed and the exchange itself was limited to one customer aside from us at noon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 4-7, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit and must say we were very pleased with the campground and easy access. The campground is in a large open area with many walking trails. The cost is great..$14/nt with GoldenPassport..full hookups/50amp. Campground laundry not working,but there is a very nice one on 7th Ave across from car wash and shop. Base is very quiet, exchange small and commissary good. Will certainly return. From here we tried to get into Minot, but with only 7 spaces..impossible so we stayed in private campground..Roughrider. Hope we get into Malmstrom. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 27, 2016
(Updated: July 05, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Prices went up to 18 dollars a day. There is no WIFI or CATV. The camp is clean and well maintained.  All spots are back in but lots of room. If you come here on the weekend you have to use the front gate. The tight snake turns makes it difficult but not impossible.  We have a 44 ft 5th wheel and we fit. You go in the main gate and stay on that street until Eielson. St. Turn right and go to the end and turn right again. The camp will be in front of you. Spots are laid out for big rig then small, big then small in a staggered pattern.  Very quite and peaceful. There is a walking/bike path in the camp. Nothing is open on the weekends. We will revisit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
6-7 June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed 2 nights on our way to Alsaka. Easy to get to with the instructions posted on this site. 50 amp and 30 amp was not working at our site, did not realize it until after setting up. Reported the problem to Outdoor Rec 4:00 pm and it was fixed early the next morning. The guy even gave me his shop number to call if I had an electrical problem again. Restrooms were very clean. There was a mother red fox with several pups next to the camp ground that we had fun watching. Only one other camper in the park when we were leaving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 24 - July 6 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here 13 days. Very, very quite and relaxing. We have a 40 ft. 5th wheel and fit in easy. All sites back in. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Yes, sewer hook-up took 20 ft. of hose, on wrong side of rv. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $16.00 per night. FamCamp is on base and would be easy to get to, if road work was finished. Check in is at the Outdoor Rec area building. Commissary @ Exchange close, but about 15 miles to town and other shopping, easy drive to get there. Washers 1.50 & dryers 1.00. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 - 28 June 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Other than being a little far from the city of Grand Forks, we enjoyed our stay here on the way to Alaska. The campground is in an old demolished housing area, so the hookups are a little strange. Where we were parked near the restrooms, I would have needed 30 ft of sewer hose to reach the connection from our 23 ft trailer. Fortunately we didn't need to dump at the site, and used the dump station on the way out. Everything else worked, good power, good cable, good water, etc. The WiFi was a little iffy, because the Barn Swallows had built a massive mud nest over the antenna. You could get a reliable signal by going inside the laundry, but watch for the bird droppings. The base facilities are good although not the biggest we have seen. Personnel at the Outdoor Rec office were very friendly and helpful. And, there is a very impressive display on the history of the base next to the commissary. I recommend you take a stroll around that. If we come this way again, we'll stay here again, although we did get a little tired of being jolted out of bed by Reveille each morning. The speakers are huge and very near the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15-17 September 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I've reviewed this before, when the base was a large KC-135 refueling center. Under ACC and AMC, millions of dollars were spent updating and replacing much of ADC's and SAC's structures, remaining from the early days in the 50's and 60's. Within the last two to three years the mission of the base's 'owner', the 319th ABW, has changed from operating a major aircraft wing with wartime overseas missions occurring day in and day out to that of little more than a caretaker to the two tenant flying units, US Border Protection and ACC's Global Hawk drones. In 2000 there were 4,200 people on base, recent estimates are there now are about 2,000. That has resulted in far fewer operating hours for many services, including one of the newest and best equipped fitness centers (Olympic size pool, lap pool, squash/handball courts, and well over 100 various machines, as well as a huge free weight room), library, club, etc. Several years ago hundreds of new family quarters were built, some are occupied, many are not. Dormitories and VQ buildings are all new within the last ten years, yet the parking lots are about 1/4 full. Some unpaved walking trails and an excellent BMX trail, as well as family garden plots and a nature center are now abandoned and overgrown. The famcamp remains an excellent value, with full connections available to 21 spaces. The famcamp is on a huge parcel of land, and roads and sidewalks show that when first planned, there could be as many as 50 to 60 spaces. In the rare event that the full hookups are all taken, there are what amounts to a nearly unlimited number of places to dry camp, Not all electrical kiosks work, now do all the cable TV connections, although they are marked, and over the last couple years a lot of coax cable has been spread above ground to enable people to hookup in the event their pedestals no longer work. The laundry is clean, and men's latrine needed new toilet paper (which we supplied), but the heat worked and the showers were excellent and hot! Still just $12 a night, or $6 with Golden Eagle pass. Clearly maintenance has been reduced, you are on your own in many ways, but it is a GREAT place to stay without being hassled or bothered. Commissary small but very nice. BX OK too. 15 miles to downtown Grand Forks. This is our third time here, as well as several times without camping, staying in quarters. VERY clean and tidy base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20-25 July 2012
(Updated: July 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first time at this famcamp and we love it. The girls at Outdoor Rec were very friendly and extremely helpful. This is a famcamp that doesn't hand you a list of rules and regs. They are more concerned with the customer than with keeping the grass green. Just come and relax. We just wish this base was closer to Oregon so we could visit more frequently.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 June 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I reviewed this CG before and it was a good review. An update is that now they have WiFi, in fact, I am posting this review from our campsite. They also have cable for TV and the grass did not need cutting this time. All in all, a very nice campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 14, 2011
(Updated: June 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Grand Forks AFB has a great FamCamp and the price is definitely great. However there has been a recent change on how to enter the base in an RV. The directions above sent you to the Main Gate of the base, but now you must go to the Cargo Gate which is 1-1/2 miles further west on Hwy 2. When through the Cargo Gate, you will be on Eielson St which is a straight through drive to Outdoor Rec (on the right) and then after registering continue on to the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 26-27 2011
(Updated: May 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding facilities in all respects; even had mosquito spray truck servicing camping area. Entire Outdoor Recreation Dept staff most courteous, friendly, and helpful.....even giving cafe recommendation for upcoming visit to geographical center of North Mmerica in Rugby ND. Definitely stop there next trip in area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept. 16, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
L.O. left this review using the Directory software: This base rec. area is very clean, open, BX is being updated, we will stop there often as our G-son is going to UND.... very happy with campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 9 through 11 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay at this CG. The only mark down in rating was because the grass needed cutting pretty badly. Otherwise, the facilities were clean and well maintained. Check-in isn't right in the campground area but it's easy to find at MWR. The guy at MWR was helpful and very nice. There were not many campers there which was a plus if you want peace and quiet. We had a nice shaded site near the fence. We will willingly stay there again, probably next year when we go to Oregon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 1, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently here at one of the best FAMCamps we have run into. The facilities are new or near new and the people that run the facility could not be nicer. The commissary has some of the best deals going, we bought steaks for $1.45 a pound, fresh fruit, and nice veggies. Of the sites available, only one is unoccupied. Regular price is $12.00 a night and with a Golden Age pass it's $6.00. Cannot beat the deal. The only drawback would be the location of the e/w/s in relation to the RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2