Grand Forks AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (47)
44490 1 19 0 17

User reviews

47 reviews
 
57%
 
38%
 
4%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.3(47)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(47)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(47)
Value
 
4.8(47)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(47)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived around 5 pm on Saturday evening. Went through the main gate, turned right on Eielson (that is where the road comes to a T). Went past the Outdoor Rec office on the right; they were closed. At the campground we found the pay envelopes on the side of the bathroom/laundry building. Reservations are not accepted at this campground - maybe because so few people use it? There were 6 RVs plus us with our tent. That was it - oh, there was a troup of cub scouts, but they were at the far edge of the field. The campground was quiet, the bathrooms/laundry were clean. The RV sites are large - we paid the extra money and stayed in one in order to get electricity at our tent. The commissary was closed (didn't see what their hours were). This place is terrific. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 18 - 21, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our 3-day visit to the base and FamCamp. Real relaxing and quiet. This is one extremely quiet base. We hardly saw any activity going on. The Outdoor Rec staff were very nice and welcoming. They stated the FamCamp never gets full. Even if it did, there's plenty of overflow (dry) and tent spaces. The FamCamp is well taken care of, although the restrooms and showers are getting old. Regardless, they were fairly clean. Laundry is available at the FamCamp with 2 washers for $1.50 and 2 dryers for $1. The exchange and commissary on base are smaller, but have a good variety. We went to the movies and was surprised to see the new movie (Lion King) was released that day ($6). We did have problems with our sewer connection, as my 20' hose wouldn't reach. We just dumped when we left. We saw others who had problems with electric hook-ups and had to go purchase a long 30amp extension. Be aware of the placement of the hook-ups when you select your site. Overall, a very nice visit and we will be back. We even told each other that we'd like to stay here for two weeks next time.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
11-13 August 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second visit here (2011). Awesome FamCamp. Very clean and quiet. Facilities and utilities are perfect. Town of Grand Forks ND and East Grand Forks MN are great. Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice little Famcamp. Very clean. It was pretty deserted while we were here. Checked in at the Outdoor Rec office. Steve is very nice and was very helpful. They were just opening for the season and CE had not turned on the water in the showers and bathhouse but no big deal. Sites are big. Sites on the north have trees for shade. Some sites have the sewer hook-up on the wrong side so be sure and check. Otherwise it was a perfect place to stay and very easy to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Jun - 10 Jul 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall we enjoyed our visit here. Movie Theater, Library, etc. were all closed due to COVID so can't comment much on these. Outdoor Rec office is currently manned for phone contact 10AM - 3PM Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri. Upon arrival proceed directly to the campground. Take any open site and then call the office to check-in. There is a decoy WiFi network at the campground. I say decoy because you can see and connect to it, but the router is not actually connected to the internet. Most of the sites are out in the open but there are a few at the North end that have shade trees. I am attaching a few pictures of the North end sites to show how far away some of the hookups can be. Extra sewage hose if required because the sewage connection is located at the very back of the site on the wrong side.We were in two different spots during our stay; we moved to a shadier spot midway through. The first spot required slightly over 40' of electric cable and 20' of sewage hose. The second spot required 15' of electric cable and 35' of sewage hose.
Grand Forks AFB FamCamp
Grand Forks AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 1-10 2017
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a small, out of the way place. It is quiet and friendly. The base is small too so if you need to go to the commissary or PX, its a short hop. The nearest population center, Grand Forks, is about 15 miles away. There is a Walmart closer. The biggest down side of the RV area is that the hook-ups are placed weird. There are only a few sites where you won't be challenged trying to hook up to everything. For me, the electric pedestal was a little tough. The sewer connections are smooth bore without a threaded end to secure the hose and there aren't any sand bags or even rocks or branches around to help. Overall, it is a nice little park and your choices in this area are few. The Outdoor Rec folks are pleasant and helpful. I didn't try the USPS General Delivery on base but I think that it is do-able. If you have pets, there is a tick problem. There are also mosquitoes when the wind is down. The contract lawn maintenance seems to come through once a week and they start a little early (8'ish). The laundry room and bathrooms are pretty good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
July 5, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time ever Camping in a military campground. If the rest are like this place, I’m in! Previous reviews re parking are accurate. We lucked out selecting a spot with utilities in close proximity to trailer. We have 27’ TT. Used our National Park Senior Pass and additional $4 off. ??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 24 - July 6 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here 13 days. Very, very quite and relaxing. We have a 40 ft. 5th wheel and fit in easy. All sites back in. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Yes, sewer hook-up took 20 ft. of hose, on wrong side of rv. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $16.00 per night. FamCamp is on base and would be easy to get to, if road work was finished. Check in is at the Outdoor Rec area building. Commissary @ Exchange close, but about 15 miles to town and other shopping, easy drive to get there. Washers 1.50 & dryers 1.00. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 June 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I reviewed this CG before and it was a good review. An update is that now they have WiFi, in fact, I am posting this review from our campsite. They also have cable for TV and the grass did not need cutting this time. All in all, a very nice campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6-7 June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed 2 nights on our way to Alsaka. Easy to get to with the instructions posted on this site. 50 amp and 30 amp was not working at our site, did not realize it until after setting up. Reported the problem to Outdoor Rec 4:00 pm and it was fixed early the next morning. The guy even gave me his shop number to call if I had an electrical problem again. Restrooms were very clean. There was a mother red fox with several pups next to the camp ground that we had fun watching. Only one other camper in the park when we were leaving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 14, 2011
(Updated: June 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Grand Forks AFB has a great FamCamp and the price is definitely great. However there has been a recent change on how to enter the base in an RV. The directions above sent you to the Main Gate of the base, but now you must go to the Cargo Gate which is 1-1/2 miles further west on Hwy 2. When through the Cargo Gate, you will be on Eielson St which is a straight through drive to Outdoor Rec (on the right) and then after registering continue on to the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 4-7, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit and must say we were very pleased with the campground and easy access. The campground is in a large open area with many walking trails. The cost is great..$14/nt with GoldenPassport..full hookups/50amp. Campground laundry not working,but there is a very nice one on 7th Ave across from car wash and shop. Base is very quiet, exchange small and commissary good. Will certainly return. From here we tried to get into Minot, but with only 7 spaces..impossible so we stayed in private campground..Roughrider. Hope we get into Malmstrom. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 1, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We are currently here at one of the best FAMCamps we have run into. The facilities are new or near new and the people that run the facility could not be nicer. The commissary has some of the best deals going, we bought steaks for $1.45 a pound, fresh fruit, and nice veggies. Of the sites available, only one is unoccupied. Regular price is $12.00 a night and with a Golden Age pass it's $6.00. Cannot beat the deal. The only drawback would be the location of the e/w/s in relation to the RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15-17 September 2012
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I've reviewed this before, when the base was a large KC-135 refueling center. Under ACC and AMC, millions of dollars were spent updating and replacing much of ADC's and SAC's structures, remaining from the early days in the 50's and 60's. Within the last two to three years the mission of the base's 'owner', the 319th ABW, has changed from operating a major aircraft wing with wartime overseas missions occurring day in and day out to that of little more than a caretaker to the two tenant flying units, US Border Protection and ACC's Global Hawk drones. In 2000 there were 4,200 people on base, recent estimates are there now are about 2,000. That has resulted in far fewer operating hours for many services, including one of the newest and best equipped fitness centers (Olympic size pool, lap pool, squash/handball courts, and well over 100 various machines, as well as a huge free weight room), library, club, etc. Several years ago hundreds of new family quarters were built, some are occupied, many are not. Dormitories and VQ buildings are all new within the last ten years, yet the parking lots are about 1/4 full. Some unpaved walking trails and an excellent BMX trail, as well as family garden plots and a nature center are now abandoned and overgrown. The famcamp remains an excellent value, with full connections available to 21 spaces. The famcamp is on a huge parcel of land, and roads and sidewalks show that when first planned, there could be as many as 50 to 60 spaces. In the rare event that the full hookups are all taken, there are what amounts to a nearly unlimited number of places to dry camp, Not all electrical kiosks work, now do all the cable TV connections, although they are marked, and over the last couple years a lot of coax cable has been spread above ground to enable people to hookup in the event their pedestals no longer work. The laundry is clean, and men's latrine needed new toilet paper (which we supplied), but the heat worked and the showers were excellent and hot! Still just $12 a night, or $6 with Golden Eagle pass. Clearly maintenance has been reduced, you are on your own in many ways, but it is a GREAT place to stay without being hassled or bothered. Commissary small but very nice. BX OK too. 15 miles to downtown Grand Forks. This is our third time here, as well as several times without camping, staying in quarters. VERY clean and tidy base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 28-Aug 10 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a hidden gem. Located at northern most area of base, quiet and more quiet. 21 spaces and only 4 units here. 50-30 amp, sewer and water. All are located at very rear of each site, not ideal for some maybe. $16/ night with senior park park pass. They did search my RV upon entering base. Really enjoyed my visit here, just finished 3 months of winter wheat harvest. Needed a quiet respite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I keep coming back as a regional favorite. Very lost cost and very quiet. I came for a 4 night stay at end of June.. HOT during the day and quite cool breezes in the evening. There a few biting insects, but it is the dry season and mostly very pleasant. I enjoyed an evening family cook-out. Outdoor Recreation office is very helpful and they assist with rentals of various sorts.( Boats, tents, etc. ) I stored my RV for a small fee of $20.00 per month. There is an archery / outdoor gun club for shotgun enthusiasts if you wish to support them. This camp is very deluxe for most, alas .. There is always room for improvement. Please! Campers need "good" Wi-Fi. Thanks!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It is very quiet and a money saver bargain. Best to visit after the Summertime when the bugs can be at low ebb. October had crickets everywhere. A few mosquitoes. ALL sites are back-in. Most prized sites seem to be along the fence line. I was confused by water hydrants as the "blue" faucets did not seem to work for my RV connection. Choose your site carefully. Honestly I would rather pay a bit more for a few upgrades. Sewer connections are very lengthy and I chose to "dump" at station after my week long stay in a 32' fifth wheel. Compared to other larger AFB FamCamps .. it is a low cost stay but needs some work and a few upgrades.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 27, 2016
(Updated: July 05, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Prices went up to 18 dollars a day. There is no WIFI or CATV. The camp is clean and well maintained.  All spots are back in but lots of room. If you come here on the weekend you have to use the front gate. The tight snake turns makes it difficult but not impossible.  We have a 44 ft 5th wheel and we fit. You go in the main gate and stay on that street until Eielson. St. Turn right and go to the end and turn right again. The camp will be in front of you. Spots are laid out for big rig then small, big then small in a staggered pattern.  Very quite and peaceful. There is a walking/bike path in the camp. Nothing is open on the weekends. We will revisit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
August 13th 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The Famcamp is in a nice location on base and the facilities were clean. It did not have WiFi. They will accept National Park Access Pass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
20-25 July 2012
(Updated: July 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first time at this famcamp and we love it. The girls at Outdoor Rec were very friendly and extremely helpful. This is a famcamp that doesn't hand you a list of rules and regs. They are more concerned with the customer than with keeping the grass green. Just come and relax. We just wish this base was closer to Oregon so we could visit more frequently.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3