Grand Forks AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (46)
44490 1 19 0 16

User reviews

46 reviews
 
57%
 
39%
 
4%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.3(46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.5(46)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(46)
Value
 
4.8(46)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
46 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I keep coming back as a regional favorite. Very lost cost and very quiet. I came for a 4 night stay at end of June.. HOT during the day and quite cool breezes in the evening. There a few biting insects, but it is the dry season and mostly very pleasant. I enjoyed an evening family cook-out. Outdoor Recreation office is very helpful and they assist with rentals of various sorts.( Boats, tents, etc. ) I stored my RV for a small fee of $20.00 per month. There is an archery / outdoor gun club for shotgun enthusiasts if you wish to support them. This camp is very deluxe for most, alas .. There is always room for improvement. Please! Campers need "good" Wi-Fi. Thanks!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
It is very quiet and a money saver bargain. Best to visit after the Summertime when the bugs can be at low ebb. October had crickets everywhere. A few mosquitoes. ALL sites are back-in. Most prized sites seem to be along the fence line. I was confused by water hydrants as the "blue" faucets did not seem to work for my RV connection. Choose your site carefully. Honestly I would rather pay a bit more for a few upgrades. Sewer connections are very lengthy and I chose to "dump" at station after my week long stay in a 32' fifth wheel. Compared to other larger AFB FamCamps .. it is a low cost stay but needs some work and a few upgrades.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 28-Aug 10 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a hidden gem. Located at northern most area of base, quiet and more quiet. 21 spaces and only 4 units here. 50-30 amp, sewer and water. All are located at very rear of each site, not ideal for some maybe. $16/ night with senior park park pass. They did search my RV upon entering base. Really enjoyed my visit here, just finished 3 months of winter wheat harvest. Needed a quiet respite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5-25 August 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stay here every year when visiting our daughter. Full hookup sites that used to be the base mobile home park. Sites on the outside edge have trees for some shade, but some of the sites have hard to get to hookups. Some need a very long sewer hose and electric cord. Winds can be very strong and just about every time we have been there, there has been a tornado warning. Center sites will have your rig facing the winds on the ends; the outside sites with trees will get the winds broadside. Last year tornado shelters were the restrooms. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers. They are small washers, but adequate. Also there is a book exchange in the laundry room. Small exchange and commissary. Walmart isn't too far away. There is a library where you can use their Wi-Fi or log onto their computers for internet access (may be closed because of Covid). It is a very quiet campground. Mosquitoes and horse flies are a problem (stables aren't far away). Bring mosquito repellent for sure. Rarely sit outside unless we put up our popup with screens because of the mosquitoes. For us, this is a perfect campground. Son-in-law works on base and it isn't far to their home. I highly recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 Jun - 10 Jul 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall we enjoyed our visit here. Movie Theater, Library, etc. were all closed due to COVID so can't comment much on these. Outdoor Rec office is currently manned for phone contact 10AM - 3PM Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri. Upon arrival proceed directly to the campground. Take any open site and then call the office to check-in. There is a decoy WiFi network at the campground. I say decoy because you can see and connect to it, but the router is not actually connected to the internet. Most of the sites are out in the open but there are a few at the North end that have shade trees. I am attaching a few pictures of the North end sites to show how far away some of the hookups can be. Extra sewage hose if required because the sewage connection is located at the very back of the site on the wrong side.We were in two different spots during our stay; we moved to a shadier spot midway through. The first spot required slightly over 40' of electric cable and 20' of sewage hose. The second spot required 15' of electric cable and 35' of sewage hose.
Grand Forks AFB FamCamp
Grand Forks AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-13 August 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second visit here (2011). Awesome FamCamp. Very clean and quiet. Facilities and utilities are perfect. Town of Grand Forks ND and East Grand Forks MN are great. Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 18 - 21, 2019
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our 3-day visit to the base and FamCamp. Real relaxing and quiet. This is one extremely quiet base. We hardly saw any activity going on. The Outdoor Rec staff were very nice and welcoming. They stated the FamCamp never gets full. Even if it did, there's plenty of overflow (dry) and tent spaces. The FamCamp is well taken care of, although the restrooms and showers are getting old. Regardless, they were fairly clean. Laundry is available at the FamCamp with 2 washers for $1.50 and 2 dryers for $1. The exchange and commissary on base are smaller, but have a good variety. We went to the movies and was surprised to see the new movie (Lion King) was released that day ($6). We did have problems with our sewer connection, as my 20' hose wouldn't reach. We just dumped when we left. We saw others who had problems with electric hook-ups and had to go purchase a long 30amp extension. Be aware of the placement of the hook-ups when you select your site. Overall, a very nice visit and we will be back. We even told each other that we'd like to stay here for two weeks next time.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 5, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time ever Camping in a military campground. If the rest are like this place, I’m in! Previous reviews re parking are accurate. We lucked out selecting a spot with utilities in close proximity to trailer. We have 27’ TT. Used our National Park Senior Pass and additional $4 off. ??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 1, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived around 5 pm on Saturday evening. Went through the main gate, turned right on Eielson (that is where the road comes to a T). Went past the Outdoor Rec office on the right; they were closed. At the campground we found the pay envelopes on the side of the bathroom/laundry building. Reservations are not accepted at this campground - maybe because so few people use it? There were 6 RVs plus us with our tent. That was it - oh, there was a troup of cub scouts, but they were at the far edge of the field. The campground was quiet, the bathrooms/laundry were clean. The RV sites are large - we paid the extra money and stayed in one in order to get electricity at our tent. The commissary was closed (didn't see what their hours were). This place is terrific. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
10 May 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Fam Camp located at the north end of I street, drive as far as you can go, then turn left. Watch the trees that overhang the streets - they are not trimmed back. Wide open fam camp area, mostly grass, gravel sites, very quiet, and very nice. The utilities are located BEHIND the parking spots. Water & electrical no problem. You will need a LONG sewer hose. I found only one site where my 15 ft sewer hose was long enough to reach. Price is $20/nite, or $16/nite if you have the National Park Senior Pass. Weather was chilly, rained a little most days (afternoons), quite windy most days. The BX is quite small. The commissary is on the smaller side, but quite nice. Overall a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The area is quiet and secluded. One gentleman who worked at MWR told me that the campground was at one time a trailer park area which explained why some of the sewer and water hookups required an extension. Sadly, the base is not very active.The exchange food court was closed and the exchange itself was limited to one customer aside from us at noon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 1-10 2017
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a small, out of the way place. It is quiet and friendly. The base is small too so if you need to go to the commissary or PX, its a short hop. The nearest population center, Grand Forks, is about 15 miles away. There is a Walmart closer. The biggest down side of the RV area is that the hook-ups are placed weird. There are only a few sites where you won't be challenged trying to hook up to everything. For me, the electric pedestal was a little tough. The sewer connections are smooth bore without a threaded end to secure the hose and there aren't any sand bags or even rocks or branches around to help. Overall, it is a nice little park and your choices in this area are few. The Outdoor Rec folks are pleasant and helpful. I didn't try the USPS General Delivery on base but I think that it is do-able. If you have pets, there is a tick problem. There are also mosquitoes when the wind is down. The contract lawn maintenance seems to come through once a week and they start a little early (8'ish). The laundry room and bathrooms are pretty good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 2017
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice little Famcamp. Very clean. It was pretty deserted while we were here. Checked in at the Outdoor Rec office. Steve is very nice and was very helpful. They were just opening for the season and CE had not turned on the water in the showers and bathhouse but no big deal. Sites are big. Sites on the north have trees for shade. Some sites have the sewer hook-up on the wrong side so be sure and check. Otherwise it was a perfect place to stay and very easy to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 27-31, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
MOSQUITOS!!!! The bugs were brutal - we could hardly be outside and outside was gorgeous! Paths, paved area in the famcamp - kids wanted to roller blade around the large area, park nearby but the BUGS were terrible. The famcamp was NOT sprayed for mosquitos, so we left with dozens of bites. HOWEVER, the location is good (a little far from everything, but doable), good laundry and book swap facility, nice base with all the amenities - good value, but the bugs kept us inside :( The campground itself was nice; agree with some that the setup is a little wonky with the hookups - having longer hoses is ideal. Good shaded areas, the sites along the main road backup to a sunflower field. Plenty of parking for your tow/toad/boat. Grand Forks doesn't offer a good deal of sightseeing, but provides a nice place to stay for a while and relax [if there are NO BUGS]!!!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 4-7, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first visit and must say we were very pleased with the campground and easy access. The campground is in a large open area with many walking trails. The cost is great..$14/nt with GoldenPassport..full hookups/50amp. Campground laundry not working,but there is a very nice one on 7th Ave across from car wash and shop. Base is very quiet, exchange small and commissary good. Will certainly return. From here we tried to get into Minot, but with only 7 spaces..impossible so we stayed in private campground..Roughrider. Hope we get into Malmstrom. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 27, 2016
(Updated: July 05, 2016)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Prices went up to 18 dollars a day. There is no WIFI or CATV. The camp is clean and well maintained.  All spots are back in but lots of room. If you come here on the weekend you have to use the front gate. The tight snake turns makes it difficult but not impossible.  We have a 44 ft 5th wheel and we fit. You go in the main gate and stay on that street until Eielson. St. Turn right and go to the end and turn right again. The camp will be in front of you. Spots are laid out for big rig then small, big then small in a staggered pattern.  Very quite and peaceful. There is a walking/bike path in the camp. Nothing is open on the weekends. We will revisit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
6-7 June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed 2 nights on our way to Alsaka. Easy to get to with the instructions posted on this site. 50 amp and 30 amp was not working at our site, did not realize it until after setting up. Reported the problem to Outdoor Rec 4:00 pm and it was fixed early the next morning. The guy even gave me his shop number to call if I had an electrical problem again. Restrooms were very clean. There was a mother red fox with several pups next to the camp ground that we had fun watching. Only one other camper in the park when we were leaving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 24 - July 6 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here 13 days. Very, very quite and relaxing. We have a 40 ft. 5th wheel and fit in easy. All sites back in. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups at our site. Yes, sewer hook-up took 20 ft. of hose, on wrong side of rv. Direct TV, Verizon cell & Internet worked great. Paid $16.00 per night. FamCamp is on base and would be easy to get to, if road work was finished. Check in is at the Outdoor Rec area building. Commissary @ Exchange close, but about 15 miles to town and other shopping, easy drive to get there. Washers 1.50 & dryers 1.00. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 16-18, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I enjoyed my stay at grand forks. While here they were doing major repairs to Eielson St, so had to maneuver thru detour which made directions hard to follow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 - 28 June 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Other than being a little far from the city of Grand Forks, we enjoyed our stay here on the way to Alaska. The campground is in an old demolished housing area, so the hookups are a little strange. Where we were parked near the restrooms, I would have needed 30 ft of sewer hose to reach the connection from our 23 ft trailer. Fortunately we didn't need to dump at the site, and used the dump station on the way out. Everything else worked, good power, good cable, good water, etc. The WiFi was a little iffy, because the Barn Swallows had built a massive mud nest over the antenna. You could get a reliable signal by going inside the laundry, but watch for the bird droppings. The base facilities are good although not the biggest we have seen. Personnel at the Outdoor Rec office were very friendly and helpful. And, there is a very impressive display on the history of the base next to the commissary. I recommend you take a stroll around that. If we come this way again, we'll stay here again, although we did get a little tired of being jolted out of bed by Reveille each morning. The speakers are huge and very near the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
46 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3