Seymour Johnson AFB FamCamp

 
3.5 (24)
58012 0 7 1 11

User reviews

9 reviews with 4 stars
24 reviews
 
13%
 
42%
 
33%
 
8%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
3.8(24)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.3(24)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(24)
Value
 
3.8(24)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(24)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
January 28-31, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We knew we couldn't make reservations (we checked in advance) so we called on the road and they had several openings. Stayed 3 nights. Very inexpensive ($15/night for full hookups!) and friendly. Very quiet. Laundry facility, restrooms with showers, etc. We would definitely stay here again if we're in the area. Walking distance to the Exchange and Commissary (even for a 70 year old!) Caution - Don't arrive after dark. It's tough to find! And the people at the gate have no idea where the RV camp is!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 10, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The new sites here are excellent since the wifi have been installed. Now just waiting for cable to be installed. Also sure need the lights installed in the new area where they have light poles ready. Will sure stay here again...
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 11 - 13, 2013
(Updated: April 28, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Don't forget to stop in at Outdoor Recreation to pay and find a site. This was a nice campground in a woodsy area. Small sites, but concrete pads made it very nice. We had poor cell phone coverage (T-Mobile), but when we walked over to the commissary I got a few bars. Restrooms were very nice and I didn't use the laundry room, but it appeared clean with nice machines. I didn't even check to see what was available outside of the base, but on base was great. We were within walking distance to the commissary, PX, and bowling alley :) All and all, we will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
22 Dec 2012
(Updated: December 26, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our last visit here was about 10 years ago. Since then the campground has enjoyed some improvements: a new laundry/bathhouse and cement parking pads. I called the day before our planned arrival and Kim at MWR said there were two sites open. When we arrived there were 5, although 2 had cones in front of them and "site occupied" signs on them. Since our stay was on a Saturday night, the MWR office was closed. Kim had said there was a payment box outside the MWR office. We went by Sunday morning as we were leaving and found a box; however, it was labelled as a mail box. I slid my payment envelope through the edge of the door. Hope they found it Monday AM. They should consider putting an Iron Ranger in the Campground. For $15, this is a good deal and we'll undoubtedly stop by again. Ted H.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 8-12, 2012
(Updated: October 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This small campground is located in a heavily wooded area which blocks satellite TV signals. The sites have a concrete pad and are level with full hookups. A laundry (1 washer, 1 dryer) and bathhouse are nearby. It is quiet until the kids get home from school. There are several active duty families that are homesteading here and the kids don't have many options. The interior one-way road is dirt and gravel and was muddy and filled with potholes while we were here. We called ahead to ask about availability (no reservations are taken), we were told that the place was full. We came anyway and found an empty site. For $15 a nite, I shouldn't complain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1-11 November 2011
(Updated: November 22, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice small CG, forget about Satellite and very little local over air antenna. Verizon reception is good with the exception of Hot Spot drops every once in a while. Folks at the Outdoor Recreation are very nice and try to help. Don't know about the ladies bathroom, but the men's bathroom has no heat and the shower leaks onto the flooring which feels as though is going to cave in when you first walk in, probably due to the fact that the shower does not drain properly. I would recommend to them to use the clear area adjacent/across the CG and establish some full hook up sites so that folks can get satellite and better reception. They no longer have trash cans about and can't really blame them, there is now a dumpster which is less than 100 yards from any of the sites. Both commissary and exchange are within walking distance so is the bowling alley and gas station where they have a Shoppette (Air Force term for 7 day store). Exchange is very small, but they do have what you need. Overall a good experience. By the way, stop by the Bowling Alley during lunch, great burgers and sandwiches.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.T. left this review using the Directory software: We arrived on a Sunday morning to find 10 clean, shaded sites in the tall pines, only one of which was occupied. All had 30/50 amp, water and sewer. There was no host - a sign at the entrance advises to call the office at 919-722-1104. We selected south-facing site #3 and received a satellite signal and a 5-bar Verizon phone signal. The small bath-house was clean, with one washer and dryer ($1.00) in the laundry room. The grass between sites had been freshly mowed. The only minor negative about this FamCamp is that, with the exception of sites #9 & #10, the water spigot is on the curb-side of the coach, requiring a 25-foot hose. There is no WiFi or cable, no hot tub, pool or club house, but the FamCamp is conveniently located near the base facilities - walking distance to the Commissary and BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground has two Camp Hosts, of which I am one of them. This coming fall/winter, 14 of the 22 20/30A sites are scheduled to be upgraded to 20/30/50A sites. When completed this will give the campground a total of 26 sites that will have 20/30/50A.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Quiet and peaceful in a woodsy setting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
9 results - showing 1 - 9