Onslow Beach Campsites and Recreation Area

 
4.5 (87)
144471 2 31 0 64

User reviews

56 reviews with 5 stars
87 reviews
 
66%
 
26%
 
6%
 
1%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(87)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(87)
Value
 
4.5(87)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 20-23 2020
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another great stay, clean bathhouse, clean campsite. Great people working in the front office. Hope the COVID-19 doesn't close this campground down again, my family and I look forward to returning later this summer. Stay safe and healthy. RLMcDaniel
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 27-October 4, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camping area at Onslow Beach is still available and in excellent condition.Unfortunately, while we were staying in a Cabana in September of 2018, we were forced to evacuate due to Hurricane Florence, which produced major damage to most of the lodging units. The three-bedroom Ospreys, the ocean front Studio Cabanas, and the units reserved for higher ranking officers and enlisted were all rendered uninhabitable. At this time, the only units that are still available are the lodges. They are $56/night from November 1st through March 31st and $70/night (with a three night minimum)from April 1st through October 31st. Here is the information their web site provides about the lodges: Conveniently located on the second row of the island and just a short walk to the ocean! All lodges include a living room, full kitchen, master bedroom with a queen size bed, 1 bath and a loft area. All lodging units are fully furnished to include kitchenware. Please bring your own air mattress or sleeping bags if you will be using the loft area (extra linen is provided). Lodges can accommodate 2 - 4 if using loft area. Smoking is prohibited in MCCS facilities. Pet friendly units are available at an additional daily charge.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 15-18, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I enjoyed our stay(2nd time here this year). We had RV site #12. The Campground and bath house were very clean. A short walk to the beach and mini MCX. Courteous and Professional staff at the reservation office. We look forward to returning in the near future. We stayed July 15-18. RLMcDaniel 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 19-22, 2019
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
First time here at Onslow Beach. Great location ,you can't beat the great beach access. My family and I enjoyed our stay. We were at RV pad 24, we also enjoyed seeing the boats going up and down the Intercoastal Water Way. Only small complaint, the grass needed to be cut. We look forward to returning in the near future. rlmcdaniel 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
December 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Onslow Beach has reopened as of Dec 14, 2018; However the Osprey, Cabanas and rank beach houses (E9, O5, O6 and GO/FO) are NO LONGER available and the dry camping area is closed. Public beach access will be limited to the area extending from the EB Training area to Star Fish Pavilion. The beach has seen significant shifts, resulting in the potential for sharp drop offs just off the shoreline. www.mccslejeune-newriver.com/beach
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
27 Sept - 1 Oct 18
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just thought I'd advise all that, due to damage by hurricane Florence the Onslow Beach is CLOSED until further notice: months back we had reserved for the end of Sept, but got a call earlier this week that the campground has been closed & will remain so until further notice. :-(
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
5 minute walk to Ocean (several lifeguards on beach) MCX near ocean Clean bathhouses Dog Park and Dog beach area Glacier water refill station at MCX Covered patio area at each campsite Helpful and friendly staff Clean campground Host campsite for after hours check in. One of the best if not best military campground we visit and we have been to a lot of them! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 16-23 and July 7-14, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at Onslow Beach on Camp Lejeune in one of the oceanfront cabanas. They are amazingly spacious studio units, with a comfortable king-sized bed, a kitchen at one end of the main room, and a separate bathroom with a shower. The unit comes supplied with linens, cooking and eating utensils, and an initial supply of toiletries and paper towels. The units we stayed in had a full kitchen with a small refrigerator and other large and small kitchen appliances, except a dishwasher, which we really didn't miss. Each unit also has a large deck overlooking the ocean. The only thing we missed was someplace to store our clothes, but we worked that out by placing our open suitcase on the bench at the foot of our bed. The resort has three life-guarded beach areas, plus roving lifeguards that walk and drive up and down the beach all day long from Memorial Day through Labor Day. In addition to the usual beach activities, we enjoyed shelling and finding sharks' teeth. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a minor problem (a sticking entry door), which they fixed immediately, even though it was late on a Sunday afternoon. There is also a mini-mart right at the beach in case you forgot something or feel like having some ice cream or another snack. We are looking forward to staying in a cabana unit at the other end of the beach in September and October. We've been told they have a larger refrigerator, but are otherwise identical to the cabanas we stayed in. Onslow Beach also has other lodging units that sleep up to 6 people, but since we are a retired couple, the cabanas are perfect for us. This facility is a fantastic value, so needless to say, all of the lodging units are in high demand and it is important to reserve a place as soon as reservations can be made. If we can reserve a lodging unit, we plan to make Onslow Beach a yearly destination. We also plan to stay in the RV area of the facility. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
3-10 Aug 16
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another GREAT stay at Onslow campground! We hadn't stayed here since last October & noticed they've had some staff turnover in the office: the folks we dealt with were friendly & helpful. You REALLY need to be into "beach activities" in order to have a good time at the campground, since there really isn't a whole lot else to do there. The last evening of our stay the "OSPREYS" were flying low over the campground, so that was enjoyable. We spent an afternoon in Swansboro - thinking it might be an enjoyable time in a quaint little town - but left feeling a bit disappointed. The "Hibachi buffet" restaurant (located in the K-Mart plaza just off base) was very good & the fact we hit it on "Senior's Mondays" made it all the more enjoyable! :-) All in all, another good visit to Onslow campground: we'll be back in late September!!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 25th -1 Aug 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Second time here this year. Although I've heard some complain of the price at $32 per night I'd suggest they go spend a week at pirateland or Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach and then compare the bang for the buck. The beach here is just as nice as a Myrtle Beach and much less crowded. The commissary and BX on base are large and we'll stocked. Some campsites are a little unlevel and it would be nice if they were cement rather than gravel but again, go spend a week at Myrtle Beach and pay their prices before you stay here and I'm sure you'll agree this place is a fantastic value. I'd highly recommend this to anyone who likes the beach at an affordable price. I'm confident you won't be disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July1-6, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I camp hosted here for three years and enjoyed it. I had not been back very often because I was put off with the $32 per night for an RV spot. While this still bothers me, I have been overwhelmed at the changes that have taken place here. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. And a lot has been done here to improve the facilities. They got rid of the officer, enlisted and staff NCO lodging sections and opened it up so that availability of facilities is more equitable. The beach areas have all been repainted and new colorful signage is everywhere. The office is new as is the MCX right beside it. We had guests who stayed in a lodge on the beach all of the appliances, counters, and furniture have been upgraded. Price is a bit high but the money has definitely been put into the rec area and it shows. Well done.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Oct 13 - Oct 19, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here for six nights at $32. a night. Most we have paid for a Fam Camp site but wish we could of stayed longer. Sites are mostly level and gravel. Covered picnic area and being able to walk across the street to the beach was very nice. Intercoastal waterway behind the park so all kinds of fishing can be done. Nice large laundry area but no chair to sit and wait. Will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2013
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed in a 40 motor coach pulling a car. The sites are not paved, but were pretty level so we had no problems. No pull thru sites, so you have to take the car off the trailer and move the trailer, but we were allowed to put it next to the RV, so that was fine. The staff was friendly and the sites have covered picnic tables which is nice. Cell phone reception was fine and cable was available. Loved watching the helicopters overhead and watching the draw bridge right next to our site. The beach is easily accessible and has handicapped access. Several people were fishing at the intercostal waterway (probably 100 feet from our site) and catching fish regularly. Only issue we had was the set up for getting a permit for the car we were towing. They did not ask us to get one until we were returning to base after being out shopping and that was a good thing, since we could never have gotten into the area for the pass with our RV. Be prepared to take in your registration and proof of insurance, or you will be making a trip back to your car and loose your place in line. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-27 May 2013
(Updated: May 28, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a great place to stay! We called about a week before Memorial Day and we were able to get a spot. We stayed in the loop and really liked it there away from the main area, close to the fishing pier and the Intercoastal Waterway. We loved the pet beach, though I do wish, because it's a pet beach that they could be off leash. Seems silly to me to have a place for them and then not to allow them any freedom. Each gravel site had its own covered picnic table usually with a clothesline around it to hang wet towels, etc. I was not impressed with the WiFi. It usually took me about an hour or so to get connected and then it would lose the connectivity and not let me back on. The water hookup is on the opposite side of where the sewer is. If you don't have a long enough water line, well, you won't find any close by. The little MCX is fairly well stocked, and as others have said it is quite a little haul to the main side commissary/MCX. We will definitely stay here again, the cost was outstanding for the location and time of year that we visited!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Oct 24 - Nov 1, 2012
(Updated: November 05, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very enjoyable everyone was extremely friendly. Nice and quite very clean and easy to find.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 3
Sept 4 - 10, 2012
(Updated: September 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a hidden jewel. This is a fabulous campground. If you like a quiet, beautiful beach this is the place for you. It is quite a distance from the main interstate north, south travel route so this would be a destination campground. It is such a tremendous value. We had a full hook up site (electric, water, sewer), multi channel cable, very fast wifi and a tin roof covered picnic table. To top it all off, it is a short walk to a lovely beach or to the pier at the intercoastal. The check in staff was very helpful. In fact my husband was experiencing some eye problems and they were extremely helpful in finding proper medical care. Also, our motorhome was experiencing some mechanical problems and they worked with us with no hassles to adjust our departure date and provide a refund. The sites are gravel, somewhat spacious but they do slope to the rear. Our Verizon signal was exceptional and we were able to easily use our roof mounted satellite. The base exchange was very large and also the commissary was outstanding. Hated to leave this bit of paradise but hope to return soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 1 to Nov 30 2011
(Updated: December 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I'm not a number rater, either I like a campground or I don"t. Well, I like this famcamp! Fishing, beaches, Great people, Full hookups (all of them). Will certainly come here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Oct. 24 to Nov. 7, 2011
(Updated: November 29, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is an awesome campground. Stayed here 2 weeks in the off season. The park and facilities were spotless. Friendly staff to assist your needs. You are right next to the beach and can hear the ocean at night. Can't beat the price. As stated previously go over the draw bridge and turn right to check in. They are in the process of building a new beach bx/annex. Main exchange and commissary is on the mainland about a 20 to 30 minute ride. Base traffic is very heavy at times so expect delays. If entering from main gate off NC24 travel about a mile or better to Sneads Ferry Rd on left look for signs to Onslow Beach. This is a very active Marine Camp so you can expect to hear and see Marines training. During our stay they were firing 155's about a half a mile from the campground and Ospry helos were flying overhead day and night. I am not complaining as this was music to my ears but let the spouse know there will be some noise and some nights into the wee hours of the morning. During your stay be sure to check out the $3.00 movies on base also a well stocked commissary with great prices.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 21 - Nov 4, 2011
(Updated: November 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just stayed for two weeks that ended Nov 4th. It was great as usual. My wife and I both love it there. They have changed one thing. Now from Nov thru March you can rent for a month or more and get an additional 10% off. The only drawback we had was the Wi-Fi was slow this time. I've heard that they have had problems since the Hurricane. Still the best bang for the buck.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
15-30 Sept 2011
(Updated: September 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was able to stay an extra day normally it is 14 days but on the off season you can stay longer if there is opening. I enjoyed the hospitality, the Atlantic Ocean which is only about 75 yards with swimming, sunning,surf fishing (10 days for 10 dollars) or you can fish off the pier in the Intercoastal Waterway the PX/Commissary is great with plenty of activities right on the base. I would mention the WIFI is not working well since the Hurricane but Cable is great. All in All I wouldn't hesitate to come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
56 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3