Onslow Beach Campsites and Recreation Area

 
4.5 (87)
144471 2 31 0 64

User reviews

24 reviews with 4 stars
87 reviews
 
66%
 
26%
 
6%
 
1%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(87)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.4(87)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(87)
Value
 
4.5(87)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(87)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our 2nd time at Onslow. We had numerous issues last years visit. Not one problem this time. Check in was a breeze, we were able to select between 3 available sites. Everything was very smooth this time around. Staff friendly and answered any of our questions. COVID precautions throughout the base. Most all beach cottages and pavilions have been rebuilt since our last trip. The sand dunes also have been replanted. The campground was full the whole time (3 weeks) we were there. Only thing different from the above description, is there no longer is any WiFi in the RV park. Excellent visit and planning on returning in the Spring, hopefully for a month.
Onslow Beach Campsites and Recreation Area
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Mar 20, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Onslow Beach – Camp Lejeune NC $32 a day RV site with cable/electric/water/sewer/WiFi Pros: + Location- sites are located on the Intercostal Waterway with a 5 min walk to the Atlantic Ocean + MCX shop on site for all your shopping needs (only open thur-sun) + Bathroom key cards for access (keeps bathrooms cleaner) + Temperature controlled bathhouses + Cabins/beachfront villas available for rent (we did not explore them so no feedback avail) + Sites are grass with a covered picnic table attached to each site + Handicap shower stall available + Laundry - $2 for wash $1.50 for dry + Trails throughout the base for biking/running + Glacier water refill station on site + Fenced in dog park Cons: - We loved it but others may not: Live fire ranges can be heard in the distance as well as LZ/DZ nearby - Pretty far distance from things other than the beach (which can be really nice but also can consume a fair amount of gas if you plan to do activities away from camp) - Several long term residents so it can be difficult to get a spot at times, but totally worth the wait - Though there is WiFi the signal is weak, unless you are in the laundry room where it is housed We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. It's a great spot for someone who loves fishing, lounging on the beach, going for beach hikes or wanting to see/hear military training. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 2
November 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We liked this campground because of its location. The Atlantic Coastal waterway and drawbridge is 100 yards in one direction and the Onslow Beach is the same distance in the other. Great location! The registration office staff are friendly and helpful and we had the pick of 1/2 dozen sites. They could be a little longer, but it was no real issue in our 40' motorhome. Another real plus is the NEX mini mart that is next door to the office. Don't think we have seen that anywhere but it is really nice to have that nearby. The wifi is poor so we were unable to connect. If you want a good signal, you have to go near the office to log on. The views and beach are great, the picnic shelters are a plus and this is a place that we will return to. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 23-26 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Another great visit to Onslow Beach including shark teeth hunting and walking ad bike riding on the beach.  Got to visit with grand nephew currently at school at Camp Johnson.  Only about 10 RVs while we were there.  We were moving up the coast and always stop here.
Very friendly at the office.  We accidentally left remote part of thermometer at table shelter and they offered to mail it to us. It can be tight backing in if campground is full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
30 Sept - 3 Oct 15
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed in a 35' motor home. Had a GREAT time on the beach - even though the weather wasn't the best (rain). The cost is a bit high, but well worth it! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
15 - 21 April 2015
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall this is a good spot. Great location, not to crowded - however, I do have a couple 'complaints'. When we made our reservations, we asked for a specific site. We were told it wouldn't be a problem because this time of year didn't have may RV'ers. When we arrived, The site we asked for was already taken - funny thing... every other site was open. There was no one else there. Pretty disappointed about that. Next, 32$ a night seemed a little high for a military base, but it was cheaper than staying out in town at a local RV park. The small PX that is right there on site has NO camping supplies - it has plenty of beer, hotdogs, chips and sand castle building supplies. You would think that they, MCCS would carry a small about of RV/Camping supplies for those unforeseen emergencies that we have from time to time. Beware that there is a contracted lawn service that is "up and moving" at 7:30 am on Saturday mornings (in the rain, none the less) Lastly the fresh water hook ups will be in your 'front yard' and the sewer lines are very far forward and uphill, so you'll need supplies to run your hose UP HILL to empty - plus your neighbors septic is also in your front yard. Its not terrible, but on experience, the hook ups are usually far enough back, that this isn't normally a concern. The only way to fix this issue was to basically have our trailer so far forward, that our hitch was almost in the road. I'm not trying to bash this place, it is a great location, they have clean showers and a decent laundry facility - I just want to bring attention to issues that we delt with on our trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
6-11 Nov 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall this is a nice famcamp. Sites have 20/30/50 amp service, water hookup, cable TV, sewer, and OK WIFI. Gravel and fairly level sites on main drag going in and sites have shelters covering picnic table, no firerings. If you have base sticker it's easy to get to the CG from highway 172 from the north or south. Check in and check out times are a little earlier than most, check out is 11 AM and check in is noon. The CG is just a couple hundred yards from the beach but about a half mile from the beach that allows pets. CG checkin was simple and easy, we had made reservations about 10 days in advance and had no problems with checkin. Prices have gone up a bit since our last visit, they are up to $24.50 per night now, still not bad when you consider you are so close to the beach. There is a new little store which is open from Thursday thru Monday which is the highest usage for the area. Unfortunately the store was closed for the weekend we were there, I guess due to the holiday. The bathroom/shower was clean and well stocked while we were there but is showing its age. There is a laundry with washers and dryers available. Good bike riding area along the beach road, must wear helmet on base. Fishing is available both on the beach and the intra coastal but you will need a license. All in all we had a good visit here and will go back in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 21, 2013
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in our 30 ft motorhome, level enough sites, nice covered picnic tables, very convenient to go to the beautiful sand beach. The office has a chart on shark teeth, we found a few. Staff very helpful. Loved watching the helicopters overhead and fishing pier. Once we figured out the draw bridge opens on the hour and 1/2 hour, we could time our trips on and off the island. Only downside: A long way from any base facilities, a bit pricey ($24.50).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 1, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
PLEASE NOTE: the campground rates are going up on October 1, 2013 from $17 to $24.50 or 44% which is ALMOST the same as our retired pay increase! Other than the rate increase it's a great place to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 3-8 2012
(Updated: May 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Decent sites with gravel. Water connection is located behind next site picnic areas. Cable TV is excellent. WiFi is excellent and responsive. Camp Host walks the entire CG at least 3 times a day and is ready to assist in info. Temp CG office is South of CG. New Temp Mini-mart is convenient if you don't want to drive to the MCX/Commissary which is not exactly around the corner. Head/shower facilities very clean. Laundry facilities also clean. Ocean breeze is very nice and cool during the day and makes for ideal sleeping weather. Boat traffic on the ICW is nice to watch. Office asked about dog but didn't require proof of shots even though I had the entire record. This CG is great for relaxing and tanning on the beach. Highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Dec 31, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
EDI left this review using the Directory software: - This is a real stickler! I stayed on Military Campgrounds all across the country and never had a problem with my dogs. This place requires that you present actual shot records from the vet. I am all for having pets shots up to date but you had better have your shot records with you or you will not be allowed to stay. Loved the fenced Dog Run!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
June 3-17 2011
(Updated: June 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
One of the best campgrounds we have experienced. The cost is excellent. We love meeting new people, and the beach is the best! The rules of the campground could be more consistently enforced. Office personnel all need to be told the rules, because there seems to be different interpretations. The rule for pet "pick up" needs to be enforced!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our second visit to Onslow Beach. The biggest asset of this CG is the beach. You really cannot ask for a better, bigger, cleaner beach experience. During the high season there are actually lifeguards posted at various locations. The sites themselves are Spartan. If you are looking for a beautiful site to camp, this is not it. The camp host friendly and helpful. We did not use the bathhouse because it smelled. That seems to be a common problem for many CGs. Don't know why. I have a 32' FW and had no trouble backing in. And I am not a great backer!
WiFi is excellent, but we lost electric power for a couple hours - both times we stayed there. Seems strange that a transformer went out during both of our stays. :-) There is a BX annex right in the camp, so you don't need to leave for anything, which is fortunate because the drive back to Camp LeJeune is a long one. You are close to some great seafood restaurants at Swansboro and Sneads Ferry. For the price and the amenities, I doubt you can find a better beach access CG than this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24-26 April, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Full hookup campsites with cable as well and very inexpensive. Sites are a little close together but have covered picnic tables which are really nice but make it a little more difficult to back into the sites. Plenty of bike riding area along the road by the beach. Has on site laundry, & convenience store, all base facilities are not far away. Very good value for the price especially if you like the beach. Will definitely camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Nov 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with all the positives about this campground but being as this was first military campground my reference point is limited. We liked it enough to go back after we visited Navy Rec Area on Lake Moultrie, SC and then headed to MD. As far as negatives, the Marine Officer wrote about the bathroom conditions. What did you do to solve the problem. I am sure you wouldn't look the other way if that was an active duty head. I saw the problem, went to manager, cleaned within (2) hours including the toilet paper spitballs. I am assuming most people using the campgrounds are retired E6-E9 and W1-O6. I wouldn't take crap conditions when I was on active duty E9(NAVY) I sure as hell am not going to take crap conditions from civilians who I pay through my fees. The staff was excellent, the rec office where I got my propane was good and in general the place was nice. As retired senior enlisted and officers it is up to make them accountable if we want nice facilities. I am drafting letter to CO/Rec officer about plus side and negative and tell them to read the reviews on this site. I am going to specifically address what we are giving the camp hosts. NEVER saw them both times I was there. As a minimum they should have telephone line/phone supplied by base and when I check in to office, office calls them, tells what site I am going to and they should be there to offer assistance, little spiel about the base, emergency procedures and answer questions. Otherwise they are useless. Real important to first timer to the location. Remember we are the solution or we are the problem. These campgrounds are good deals compared to commercial ones and I want to keep everyone. Sincerely, NAVYBLUE Spending my kids inheritance one day at a time !!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct. 14, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I was very dissapointed this time with the host, cleanliness, and dogs barking. I could have sworn we were at the dog pound. When we complained to the host they said they could not do anything about it. The bathrooms were nasty on the weekends. I love this CG because of location to the beach and the intercoastal. Hopefully our next stay will be more enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Dec 20-30, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very convenient to the surrounding Jacksonville area. Very well stocked mini-mart at the usual mini-mart prices. Individuals working there seemed well informed and were very helpful. The RV area is a long way from mainside. About 6 miles. Great Exchange and Commissary at mainside. I saw 3 different gas stations on base and lots of fast food joints. We use Verizon for our cell and internet access. The connection was intermittent at best. The 5mph speed limit in this CG is largely ignored. Could be dangerous for small children.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
28 - 29 October 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A great place to visit the Atlantic Ocean. As a ex Coast Guardsman I really enjoyed the place. I loved to watch the boats on the inter-coastal water way. The swinging bridge that you have to cross to get to the park is on the waterway and I loved to watched as it let the big and little boats move on the waterway. We walked the beach and drove all over the base. I was proud of the young men and women we met on the base. We were treated with great respect by them and I could not thank them enough for what they are doing. It is a long way to anything though, and watch for the "Tank Crossings." The office people were very nice and helpful and the mini-mart is good for incidentals, however like all these stores the prices are high. The sites are a little tight for big rigs. I think the CG could use a little TLC, but all in all a nice place to stay. MWR needs to get wifi in the park. I think the CG is used enough to afford to do this. We will return if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 11-18, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice CG on the beach. All back-in sites with fairly level gravel sites. The 50 AMP sites each has a tin roofed shelter outside your door. Nice to have when the wind blows. Had a 2-bar Verizon signal. Stayed here 7 days and really enjoyed long walks on a very nice beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice area, right on the beach, only complaint was speeding through the campground. It is posted 5mph and I did not observe any one abiding by that including employees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2