Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area

 
4.0 (92)
135568 2 26 4 116

User reviews

92 reviews
 
42%
 
35%
 
13%
 
8%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.7(92)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.8(92)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(92)
Value
 
4.0(92)
Overall Experience
 
4.1(92)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
92 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
July 23rd. 2021
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great location. Yes, the water, electric, and sewer hook up is old and worn, but the price you pay here is pennies compared to a hotel room. Grab your shower shoes, shampoo, and a towel, and go take shower in the bath house. Walk across the street to the beach. Very friendly staff and Very friendly campers. We camp here in our 30 foot long travel trailer about two times a month with full hook ups. No complaints from us !!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 14 0
March 2021
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Had a great two night stay at the 3-bedroom cottage at Fort Fisher and the price could not be beat. The cottage had all the basic amenities you would need, except there was no wi-fi access at the time of our stay (they are still trying to get a contract in place to provide wi-fi). The beds were comfortable and the ability in the cottage to do laundry at our leisure using the provided washer/dryer and obtain water/ice through the refrigerator filtration system was a plus. Access to the beach was easy (across the highway and over a catwalk) and the pier overlooking Cape Fear River was very nice. Seemed as though the RV park was well spread out and large enough for motorhomes and other large recreational vehicles. Since we stayed during the area's "off-season", most of the local restaurants in the nearby town of Carolina Beach weren't very busy and provided great service and great food. Combining that fact, plus the virus concerns (only one of the restaurants we tried had just takeout or delivery only), the people at the businesses we patronized were friendly and happy to see visitors. Overall, we really had a great time and would definitely go again.
Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area
Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area
Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 14 1
August 2018
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have to agree with the previous comments. I RV a lot and stay at a lot of military campgrounds and this one needs a lot of TLC. I do come here often though because it is located directly across from the beach. My first constructive comment is that Ft Fisher needs a camp host for obvious reasons. Camp hosts usually care about their RV parks and a lot of the issues the previous person mentioned would be taken care of by a camp host. Ft Fisher Management doesn't really care about the condition of the RV park and it shows. Yes, the office ladies are pleasant and nice, however, they don't make any real decisions. The bath houses are disgusting. Laundry room is usually dirty. Internet rarely works. Dumpsters are always full. The new RV pads should have been constructed so that they were wider then 7-8 feet. The driveways for the pads are like a hundred feet long but the width is not nearly wide enough. Seems silly the bar and grill isn't open on the weekend or evenings but I guess it is contracted out to civilians and the RV park has nothing to do with it. The great things about this RV park is that it is across the street from the beach, they rent golf carts, kayaks, and small boats. There is a fishing pier. This military recreation area could be a real cash cow for the Air Force if it was managed better. I hope those in leadership at Seymore Johnson Air Force Base read this post and look into the concerns by its customers.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
Aug 19 - Sep 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a wonderful campground, and in our estimation the best value for $ spent. Campsites are roomy, although some have hook-ups on the “wrong side.” This was not a problem as we carry plenty of extensions. Best of all — fantastic free WiFi!!! It worked flawlessly during our entire 14 day stay. Staff was extremely pleasant. US Mail/UPS/FedEx directly to Reception Office is a big plus for full-timers. Easy walk to public beach access. Bathhouse and toilets are a bit dated, and although clean, are in need of an upgrade. If coming from the south you might want to consider the Southport - Ft Fisher Ferry. The ferry accommodates RVs, is very affordable, and cuts driving time as you bypass the city of Wilmington. We will happily stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
24 March 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We are a popup camper family, we traverse the East Coast area, We enjoyed our stay lots of military history, beaches were peaceful and serene. Fort Fisher is directly across the street from the public access to the beach, walking across the street (crosswalk) from Fort Fisher there is a great beach shower to rinse off. I stayed in RV site 18 (15$) a night. I added a pic of the location. It was directly across from the Military Museum and right outside is military equipment, tanks, trucks and helicopters. Hint use the showers in the REC center they are cleaner and in better condition. The pool wasn't opened yet for the season but it was cute and looks like fun for the kiddos. We went to the Aquarium and the Ferry, those are a must do if your going there. The rec center offered some great activities and had equipment to rent such as bikes and kayaks. there are lot of bugs so bring your coils and bug spray. there is no open flame allowed and there is not BBQs at every site so either bring your own or you could rent one. There is a byway between Wilmington and Fort Fisher that helps you avoid the town traffic so take a look at using it when you don't want to take the scenic route. Lastly this a great Military and Historic area! It always surprises me when I read reviews and people complain about bathroom and shower facilities, I expect rustic conditions its camping...... Bring soap and TP :-). 
A
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here last year. It’s great people are kind and put you first. The facilities are well taken care of. My wife keeps telling me to stop telling people about it because she wants to go every year. It is the best kept secret the Air Force has.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
22 May - 29 May 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful place. New cottages and up dated RV park over the years I have been coming here. Excellent staff. Never had any issues staying here since 2011. But...With all the updates, the Wi-Fi is terrible. This is 2020...Time to fix this one bad issue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
June 2018
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Let's put it this way. We visited in 2018, when my son was 16. He's now 18 and still talks about the great time we had at Fort Fisher. You have an 18 year old, getting ready to go to college, and the one place he wants to revisit is Fort Fisher. The location is amazing. The beach right across the road had low crowds, great waves and a very chill vibe. The trip into Carolina beach for dinner was short with tons of options available. The trip down the road to historic Fort Fisher State Park was a nice quiet walk around a historic Civil War fort. All in all, the location had everything we needed. The cleanliness was spot-on. The buildings were well maintained and easy to keep clean. Although some of the facilities had some age on them, the whole place was very family friendly and reminiscent of my early years in the military. The ONLY knock we had was the wifi/cell reception in the cabins. The hurricane construction made wifi VERY spotty and cell reception non-existent. While I don't spend much time on a device while in a place like Fort Fisher, two of us had online course work that we were keeping up with and this problem made things difficult. Overall experience: Amazing visit, great location, great people...Fort Fisher will always be on our "visit again" list.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
June 4, 2019
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
First off, if I could give no stars or negative stars I would.....STAY AWAY from this supposed military facility. I should have heeded previous reviews and never attempted to stay here. Backstory; we are full-timers and I needed surgery on my wrist. Surgery scheduled for 6/3 and stayed at KOA (fabulous) near surgicenter 2 nights day before/after surgery. When I made reservation here was only able to get a few days but was told we may be able to accommodate you, wait for a phone call. About a week later I was called with good news, you can stay during recovery period in one spot, water/electric only (no problem for us). Two days before surgery I received a phone call that we would have to move twice!! 3 sites in 6 days, unacceptable! I told them to hold reservation but I probably would make other plans, which I did (thank you again Wilmington KOA for being accommodating) left a message to cancel & asked to have a supervisor call back. The MOST rude woman called back, called me a liar and laughed at me when I asked if she had seen previous reviews of their facility and that we would be contacting chain of command about their lack of competency & rude behavior. They had no professionalism, customer service or compassion. We have been full-timing 12 years and this, by far, THE worst experience ever....stay away!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 11 9
Oct. 1, 2020
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed for 14 days, area is beautiful with awesome views and great fishing. The RV full hookup side has no WIFI. It has been down for a while now, However, the overflow area does have WIFI and it's $10 cheaper because you only get 15amp electric. Overall we will be back. They need to update the booking system to online booking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
14-18 April 2016
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
First time here. I made reservations for 4 nights for full hookups, 50 amps. When we arrived, the staff in reception told us not to hook up our septic because the lift station wasn't working. We discovered later that it hadn't worked in months. Now that's not full hookups, is it? We still had to pay the full rate. They suggested we use the camp restrooms and gave us a site near the showers. They were individual rooms, a bit dated but cleaned daily (we saw the cleaning staff) and definitely old. As someone who likes showering and using the bathroom in my own rig, it was a bit inconvenient for us not to be able to connect to septic. Our site was a pull in. The electric and water were on the correct side, the septic was in the front (wrong) side. Pad was concrete. Roads were paved. Site was long and very level. No wifi so we used our jetpack. A couple sites were shady but most were open to the sky. No dog park but lots of acreage to walk the dogs. It's a small open base. No Exchange or commissary. The area is quiet, the beach is across the street. I'd stay here again but will make sure we can hook up to septic next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Mar & June, 2021
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Fort fisher is a very run down facility. The bath house is got leaking fixtures and staps are very steep. Doors hard to open. The two visits this year the grass was knee high. Take extra hoses and cords. Even the new spots are not Rv friendly. The water hookups leak and I saw a worker just put a bucket over the hook up so it would not spray on the camper made nice wet spot on ground. Fire ants are all around campground. If you complain, the worker will sprinkle an ant killer out and next a big mound 5 feet away. Tried to tell a manager name Brain they he could get an extermator and they would guarantee it for a year. He got really rude and said he runs the place not me. Now the wifi is terrible it will not load and just dump you and you have to sign in again. Very very slow. The cable TV is bad too. It buffers a lot never seen so bad of a cable service. go to office , it as if they don't care, it's just a job. It nothing to watch the workers just ride around on lawn movers and golf carts stopping and talking to each other. This was a great place 5 years ago. One worker told me that he was looking hard for new job because of the lack of supervision. This year the price almost doubled, it would be fine if it was a class A site but nothing works as they say it does so why jack up the price. I've stayed at alot of military campgrounds and this is by far the worst for the price. Location is great and could be a great vacation site with so work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 7
Jan 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Ft Fisher in early January, 2015 The sites are large and full service, although several are backwards (ie electric, water,/sewer, and/cable on wrong side), and pads are narrow. This can be overcome by pulling straight in, unhook, and pull TV through grass to back of RV. Base facilities are closed in winter, and that was ok with us. Wi-Fi is…ify. Cable required a converter (provided by MWR office) but worked fine. When we arrived it was one rig there, and we called the MWR office and they stated that we needed reservations… ok, but it is in the middle of the winter and one other camper is there. The washrooms/showers were excellent; water pressure and/hot water great. Staff was helpful in recommending restaurants (we recommend Jack Mackerel and drinks at Bud and Joes afterward). Located a few miles from Ft. Fisher and the Aquarium; excellent for bike riding and jogging and beach time during summer. The base is building new recreation villas that are looking great. We were heading south and took the Ft Fisher ferry to South Port, which was very enjoyable. DON’T PASS UP!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Location cant be beat. Lots to do in area. Some issue going on during the week I am here before memorial weekend. Pool is closed for undetermined length of time - restaurant is closed, kayak/canoe rental shop is closed as well and they are extremely short staffed. I guess they are not happy about not receiving enough funding and take it out on customers. I read where other reviews said staff was helpful- I guess that one was off today. Ive been here 3 days and asked when someone will clean the bathrooms- (trying to find nice way to tell the truth; If you don't want MRSA or Scabies or impetigo or any other fungus infections- don't use any of the bathrooms offered to campers.) I was told- "You are welcome to the job of cleaning them if you want" They double talked saying they had cleaned them- but really only restocked paper and removed trash- I was further told about being short staffed but in a very rude tone like it was my fault. I would have rather been treated more civilly with an apology and offer to clean- but I think she was avoiding that offer because she would have been the one to have to clean those nasty bathrooms. I had to go 30 min down road to another campground and pay to use there shower.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 20-28, 2021
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay here in two different RV sites and found this place one of the better Air Force managed facilities. Our first 3 nights were in a site with water and 30/50 amp electric away from the main RV campground. We actually liked this site a lot as it was quite private and we had a view of the water. The next 5 nights were in the main RV campground with full hookups. The main campground sites have really long concrete pads and about half have the utilities on the wrong side. You can either run your utilities under your RV or pull into the site and, if have a towable, unhook, and drive out of the site if there is room. We found it very quiet here on the weekdays and quite busy on the weekend. Maintenance wise the laundry/bathroom building is in need of some exterior TLC like paint. Lastly, we enjoyed visiting the NC Aquarium at Fort Fisher (go right out of rec area on Fort Fisher Blvd about 2 miles), ferry to Southport (on right down a ways after the aquarium), Airlie Gardens in Wilmington, and NHC Arboretum in Wilmington. For bike riders there is a bike lane on each side of Fort Fisher Blvd and it is a nice ride to the aquarium, ferry and all the way to the end of the road at Battery Buchanan.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 3
3-5 Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We had a great time here and the staff was amazing. They were full so we had to stay in the overflow area (electric only). This actually worked to our advantage because we had nobody around us and we had an awesome view of the Cape Fear River out of our front windshield. They are still rebuilding from hurricane damage a few years ago but they are almost back to 100%. They have new kennels that just arrived and looked great for those needed to board their dogs during their stay. Check in is temporarily located by the swimming pool and it is pretty tight if you are trying to get back there in anything other than a regular vehicle or small Class B or C. They recommend pulling over wherever you can find a place in the park, unhook and then drive to check in. If you already have your site assignment just go there first and then go check in. They are hoping to be back in the regular reception building by this Spring. We highly recommend this famcamp. Make your reservations early if you want to visit between Memorial Day and Labor Day.
Ft Fisher Air Force Recreation Area
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2018
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great value and great campground. Most of the new pads have been poured. The pads are exceptionally long, however, some of them are angled in the wrong direction. If you have a 5th wheel, you may struggle backing into these sites. The laundry room could use a little improvement, but not so bad as to be a deal-breaker. WiFi is non-existent. Again, not a deal-breaker. If you want to park and be left alone, this is the spot. Easy walk to very clean beaches. Nice little shoppette/PX. Can't beat the price, considering what civilians are paying 200 meters away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 28 - Jul 1, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. There is so much to see in the surrounding area. Anything you could want are need is close by. The beaches are beautiful and there are rentals of bikes kyaks at the rec center. The internet worked great and all the hook ups. We will be back. Marv & Carol Singleton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
3 October 2020
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just stayed 3 days, area extremely clean and well kept. The wifi is down and maybe few weeks before up. We had grand kids with us but had great cell phone hot spot coverage on Verizon for school work. Very quite and personnel also nice and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Mar 2016
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Coming from the south to get to Wilmington required more downtown driving (we weren’t in coastal enough to take the ferry from Southport) than when we left going north. That way was pretty much a straight shot on good roads. Coming down Rt 421 to Kure Beach, I thought the best landmark was the white pillars either side of the road. The CG entrance was about a ¼ mile past them on the right. Our high rating of this CG is the same as what drives real estate – location, location, location! So much to see in the area and all close by with easy access. We recommend a ferry trip over to Southport, a quaint seaside town with good seafood restaurants. The sites are old asphalt pads with a concrete picnic pad with easy access to hookups. They do have cable, but you have to check out a converter box to use it; boxes that have a history of problems. They also now have Wi-Fi and we had a good strong signal. The area was unkempt with the grass was about 8” high and restrooms (none had soap) and laundry were less than clean. All of the sites are back in, but the hookups can be on different sides or even mixed depending on the site. The on-site restaurant and the clubhouse/rental center were all closed for the season. They offer off-season rates for the cabins/condos, but RVers still pay full price. There are mobile home rentals in the first part of the CG with some of the RV sites in between them. These sites are small, but the others all have plenty of space. We stayed in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
92 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5