Elizabeth City Lodging

 
4.1 (49)
86010 0 18 0 44

User reviews

26 reviews with 4 stars
49 reviews
 
33%
 
55%
 
8%
 
2%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.2(49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(49)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.5(49)
Value
 
4.3(49)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
27 Dec 2019 - 2 Jan 2020
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very small, very easy to back in. No immediate bathrooms have to use the gym which is pretty old school but cool. My site’s water did not work. Family friendly. 12 or so sites and three were held by long termers. Would definitely stay again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 7 - 9, 2018
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Beautiful little campground, paved sites easy in and out. Right on the water. Down side, can't swim. Some kind of bacteria in the water and swimming not recommended. There were not many instructions or directions when you check in you are kind of left on your own. We make sure to check and that there are shower and laundry facilities everywhere we stop as we travel in a 15' travel trailer. When we arrived I did not see laundry or bathrooms and there was no map of the park. I saw that one reviewer said there wasn't any facilities, there actually are. The laundry is in the area where the mobile homes are in a small white building and the bath house is on the other side of the beach (it is your basic beach bathroom, clean but not fancy). Just had to do some exploring to find everything. It was a lovely place to stay and we would stay there again. My dog and I took some beautiful sunrise walks. It would be nice if dogs were not banned from everything. They are cleaner than most people especially when they have their people trained well. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
30 Mar 2015
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice sites, back in only. Retirees are good to eat at the Chow Hall. There is a gym, a beach, small CG Exchange and mini-mart. C-130s go in and out and do touch and go's, but that's OK. Utilities were there, no wifi or cable though. Nice and quiet spot!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 28 - May 4, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a beautiful, small park with a river view and a nice, sandy beach within walking distance. Rhonda, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The sites are concrete, back-in only but the back-in angle makes it pretty easy--even for a big rig. The hook ups were very good and there is a small PX and gym within walking distance. The park is directly beside the airfield, so there is some daytime noise, but it is tolerable. We believe that our television surround sound system may have been picking up some interference from radar equipment, because we had a high-pitch background noise that disappeared once we left the park. Elizabeth City does not have much to offer to make a long-term stay at the park worthwhile (i.e. a month or more), but our bottom line was: nice park, nice location, good price, and we would definitely visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
20 SEP TO 14 OCT
(Updated: October 18, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
THE CAMPGROUND HAD VERY GOOD UTILITIES, EASY ACCESS CEMENT PADS AND EXCELLENT VIEW OF THE RIVER. WHILE THERE IS NO CABLE TV WE HAD ACCESS TO 7-8 CHANNELS INCLUDING ALL THE MAJOR ONES. WIFI IS AVAILABLE BUT ONLY AT THE MWR OFFICE IN HANGER 7. RONDHA (MWR OFFICE) WAS MOST HELPFUL IN GIVING US INFO. THE OBX WAS ONLY 45 MINUTES AWAY. THERE WAS A SMALL CG BX,CLASS VI AND SHOPETTE WITH GAS STATION. SEVERAL FOOD STORES AND RESTAURANTS WERE WITHIN A SHORT DISTANCE OF THE FACILITY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 24 & 25, 2011
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice large sites close to river, boat ramp and beach. Easy to find CGS and CG. Would stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 22-31,2011
(Updated: May 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Small Base and small park, but relaxing and close enough to the beach that those quirks aren't bothersome. Right on the water with a small beach within walking distance. The big plus is the base is close to the outer banks and Va Beach. No wifi but good hookups. Laundry located near the club and cottages but didn't use it. We were here from May 22-31. Base is small, just a small exchange, gas station. No commissary here but Wal-Mart close by. Relaxing stay would recommend it and would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 7 thru 10, 2011
(Updated: April 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We hadn't been here in about 4 years, but needing a place to rest and relax, basically, just to chill, we decided to visit. Easy reservations for our 3 night stay.....Most campers look like they are finishing up "wintering" here as there wasn't much movement of folks moving in or out......Didn't use the laundry this time, but have been told it's still in the same place. We do have a negative to report though....As pet owners we are always observant of campground/RV Park rules pertaining to leash and clean-up rules, hence, our pet is always on leash and we clean up after him every time. While walking our dog, we saw quite a few "doggy gifts" left for someone to step in (there is a bag station in the park, but is empty.) Also, observed a couple small dogs allowed to run "free" without a leash...good thing the owner had some voice control over them and our dog was on short leash or it could have been ugly. We did not report this because the office is closed on the weekend, so had no recourse other than going the other direction when walking our dog...I do know that the staff reads this so hopefully the issue will be addressed. The new CG Exchange is very nice....with the new gas pumps projected to be completed within the next few weeks.....Hanger 7 and the whole MWR Staff are friendly and helpful. John Welcome, Manager, can be proud.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2010
(Updated: February 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As other have commented the sites in the new section are very nice and well maintained. The (2) stars for facilities are due to no showers and PX/NEX. The new exchange opening in Nov will increase it to (3) stars, but the showers need to be built. It is a small Coast Guard sea/air rescue base so I don't expect them to be built. You can shower at the gym. No cable/wifi. Nice waterfront seafood restaurants in town. Very pretty views of the tidal basin inlets from the campground. A pretty base and RV park(new section). PS: Watch out for bee nests in the grass. Call RV manager and they will get maintenance out there to spray.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
17 Nov 2010
(Updated: November 25, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stop here annually on our way south each fall. This year I had called for a reservation about a week prior to our arrival. There were only two sites available, both in the small, old camping area. But when we arrived I asked if by any chance there was now an opening for a night in the new area, and sure enough, there was. It never hurts to ask. Being in the open, getting a satellite system set up is a breeze and there's excellent VZW EVDO cellular reception. The new Exchange is open and is just a short walk from the campground. Ted Houghton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
12-17 Sept 2010
(Updated: September 17, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground, new section has paved level sites near the river, beach, and boat launch. No bathhouse or showers at this newer section but there is a toilet at the beach, just a short walk from the campgrounds. The beach is very nice with picnic shelters and benches, and grills. There was a sewage spill at Elizabeth City while we were there so the beach and the water was off limits. The water is normally very clean and I have fished in this area many times in the past. The exchange is small but pretty well stocked and good prices. A new exchange is being built and should open later this year. Laundry room is located in the old RV section and is okay with two washers and two dryers, we didn't use it as we weren't here long enough to need it. Elizabeth City has a lot of road repair going on right now so be prepared to go around cones and some stops for construction. The city had music at the park one of the nights we were here. We walked around town a little, not a lot to see other than the waterfront. We took a couple of trips to the outer banks and enjoyed the beaches. We will stay here again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 26-29 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Need cable tv hookup & wireless internet to make a top site. No showers or bathhouse. Very clean campground (we stayed in the new area). Very nice campground, paved level sites near the river, beach, think this would be a great place in the spring or fall. If your in the area stop by, you will be glad you did.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
19-24 June 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here 19-24 June 2010. Very clean campground (we stayed in the new area). No showers or bathhouse. However the beach area is within easy walking distance. The small NEX is close and has a nice selection for being so small. My only real ordeal was the location of the sewer connection. Unlike most campgrounds we have stayed at, it was located in the front as opposed to the back of the site. Our Jayco Jay Flight has it's black water connection in the back. So, we had to make a quick trip to Wal-Mart to get some extra hose and connectors. Not a show stopper, but if your black water/sewer is near the back of your rig, make sure you have enough hose. The price was a BARGAIN at $15 a day! We took daily trips to the Outer Banks and it was beautiful! We will definitely stay here the next time we take a trip to the Outer Banks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 3-8, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground, paved level sites near the river, beach, and boat launch. About an hour to the Outer Banks. No bathhouse or showers at the newer section but there is a bathhouse at the beach, just a short distance. The beach is very nice with picnic shelters and benches, and a few chairs. There was even a life guard on the weekend. The water is very clean and safety ropes designate the swimming area. The exchange is small but well stocked and good prices. A new exchange is being built and should open late this year. Laundry room is located in the old RV section and is okay with two washers and two dryers. We will stay here again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-26 March 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This is a very nice campground as stated by others. Will stay here again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 Feb - 3 Mar 09
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great little campground, we were very happy with the sites. It is $15.00 a night, but worth the money. There is no wifi or commissary on station. Very small installation, but nice gym, chapel, and class six. There is a Food Lion 2 miles out the front gate. Just a great view from your campsite. I think this would be a great place in the spring or fall. If your in the area stop by, you will be glad you did.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
04-07 November 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Same as last visit. Excellent campground and very helpful staff. A few other campgrounds could take some lessons from this one. The campground is well landscaped and clean. Even the older sites by the gym are nice, but since they are where they are, they are not as nice as sites 5-14. On last day there talking to another camper that had been there for a while, mentioned that it would be a lot better if they had a laundry. They do. I guess they keep it hidden. It is in building 16G. Small building almost across from the entrance to the exchange. Two each of washers and dryers. $1 wash, $1 dry. Equipment very clean, but building needed a little more cleaning. Dryers run about 1 hour for the $1.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were assigned one of the few spots up by the gymnasium, MWR shop. We enjoyed the short stay we had here. We toured the outbanks, NPS Wright Brothers Memorial, Bodie Lighthouse and Hatteras Lighthouse. Also we found the downtown area of Elizabeth City to be charming and on the "comeback" with redevelopment. We paid $7 per night for that space, a terrific deal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 12 to 15, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Mostly agree with other reviews. This is a very well kept, clean campground and the Coast Guard should be very proud of it. Windy, but nice weather while I was there. As stated, very well landscaped. Would definately stay again and/or recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 - 28 October 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Being retired Coast Guard I am very proud of the base. Clean and well taken care of. The land scape work on the base is lovely. Although the base does not have a commissary, the BX is nice and the park is restful. Great view of the water and beach. We both were glad that we stayed here. The people in the office are very nice and helpful. We recommend it to all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2