Round Pond Recreation Area

 
4.0 (49)
88329 0 19 0 28

User reviews

18 reviews with 5 stars
49 reviews
 
39%
 
35%
 
22%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.5(49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.1(49)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.9(49)
Value
 
3.7(49)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 18
Ordering
April 23-24 2019
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great place to get off the road and really relax, clean, secure, and very easy to access. We pull a 35 foot travel trailer, and there are a few of the back area sites where it gets a bit tight... main access road, and route to dump station is no problem at all. Stop here multiple times a year ... love and enjoy the area. Base facilities (commissary, gas, etc.) just a few minutes away. Have a good time!! * I must agree with the comments on the entrance road... a very steep drive up, then down into campground (basically driving up and over a ridge)...so keep in low gear, and take your time ... not too big of a deal :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 1 - 11, 2019
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great place to spend some time and unwind. The road in is paved and not scary like stated in other reviews. I was in a 38 foot class a pulling a Jeep and had no problems, nothing hit my rig. Location is great for city or the back country. Showers bathroom and laundry were clean and all usable. People that work here are very helpful and polite.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Jul 3 - 6, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice park. Sites are on the rough side, we had to use a lot of blocks to get our rig level and there is no sewer hook up. However, the dump station is very convenient. We had no WiFi or cell phone coverage so you get to enjoy unspoiled nature. Didn't use the lake or facilities so can't comment on them. We were in a 28' Class A motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21-27 June 2016
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in Site C11. It requires backing in from the access road, and we had no problem with our 39f t 5th wheel. We had access to our Dish Satellite (portable), but Verizon MIFI was iffy. The park is wooded and well maintained. Restrooms were clean until 3 large family groups (lots of kids) arrived at the beach, then TP and hand towels on the floor. The commissary and PX were 10 minutes away. It's longer if you want to go to a Wal-Mart or Homedepot (you have to return to US6/I-87). We toured the Post and Museum, and just missed the warrior games. We took the train to NYC from the Peekskill Station (Take a roll of quarters, parking is metered and it's $0.75 per hour, 12 hour max) to Grand Central Terminal, then subway down to the 9-11 memorial and wall street. Also took the Sloop cruise around the Harbor - well worth the cost. Boating, Fishing and Swimming beach made this a very comfortable "down week" during our swing into New England. TRAVEL NOTE: There are two Bridges less than 13 ft high that do not show up on AllStays low clearance on 9W and County road 9 northbound. DO NOT TAKE YOUR RV ON THIS ROUTE. Back track to 6/17/I-87 to leave the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 16-20, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Facility is well run.  Bathhouse was clean and seemed well maintained. Spent 4 days. Convenient to commissary and PX. Staff was very helpful.  Electrical connection need work but, it is early in the season and am sure this will improve.  Wish we had WIFI connection but, was relaxing without it. Got good connection at the PX for our requirements. Over all a great place to stay.
AG
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6-8 Oct 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I was apprehensive about the road into the facility after reading other reviews. People stating it was steep with a couple of switchbacks. They were right. I looked at the satellite view of goggle maps and determined it to be doable with our 43' 5th wheel. Thankfully we did not encounter any on-coming traffic. The camp has a very nice wooded setting which we enjoyed very much. We took advantage of the Leisure Travel office on Post and signed up for a trip into NYC Theater District. "John" was very informative during the 1hr+ ride into town. Dropped us off at the "Discount Ticket Booth" in Times Square, then picked us up after the performance later that night. Getting to NYC by train is the way to go. It is a bit of a drive to get to the train station and parking can be an issue. We opted for the Croton-Harmon Station as it had more parking available. We would have liked to stay longer however, Army was playing Duke that weekend and the park was sold out. Things got a bit noisy as the weekend approached. One of the other sites became "Party Central" and the music was a little loud, but not too bad. We were in site C13 right at the RV dump which was very convenient upon departure. Access to sites 10-11-12 can be a bit tricky if 9 and 13 are occupied. A great place to stay and would do so again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
11-13 Aug 15
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've never been to this part of the country before. This site was in a great location to see both the academy and the local area. We found it a bit tedious to have to go around the lake each time we came and went but it wasn't a real issue. Good hook ups. Convenient to the base and BX/commissary facilities. The facilities were a bit old but were functional. I agree with the comment about having to go around the lake to use the dump station as we left but it only added a few minutes to the trip out. Overall we really enjoyed this area and will return if in the vicinity.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 27 - 30, /2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful setting great staff loved the experience I found the price to be affordable my wife and step-children first time and my own kids came and they also enjoy very much and I myself it's been about 25yrs since I been camping, no cell reception and life jacket could get replace for new ones, and a pool would have been great for Round Pond to have. Above all the amenities they have such as Canoes and paddle, motor boat, basketball court, volleyball court. Great place will recommend to other.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
30 June - 1 July, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wonderful setting and great amenities for those with kids wanting activity. Good playground, paddle boats, canoes, etc. The swimming area needs attention since it is becoming overgrown with water plants and the swim platform needs attention. Our granddaughter was asked to take a swim test consisting of swimming out to the platform and climb up on the platform..no ladder or handholds to use to get yourself up (I was told that the ladder had fallen off and hadn't been replaced)..then jump in, tread water, and swim back...The only reason for the markdown in Cleanliness/Hospitality was the seeming indifference of the staff that I dealt with on the weekend. Great accessibility to New York and there are tours from West Point.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
6-11 June 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Sizzors' review sums it up. Great place. we were in a 35' MH, towing. Others will question my 5's. It means it exceeded my expectations and more (e.g., I knew there was not sewer or wifi). Staff was excellent. Beautiful surroundings. Easy access to NYC via the train. More washers would be nice but we had no trouble getting in and the park was probably at 80%. Don't fret the climb in. It's a wide paved road. I had 3 bar 4G Verizon at the site. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 11-15, 2012
(Updated: October 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in one of the teeny log cabins and were delighted! The two-room cabin had just the basic amenities but served us well. There is only a full-sized bed with a 4-inch foam pad but believe it or not, we slept well! Go figure. There is a set of bunkbeds built in and our two grandchildren slept over one night and loved the experience. Our cabin had a small heater which did the job adequately. The shower house was not too far and was super warm. Took a bit for the warm water to kick in but I was told by another camper that the first shower of the day usually took a while for the hot water. We loved the area, absolutely beautiful, quiet and convenient. Great job, Army! (Beat Navy!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 1 - Aug 8 2012
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Round Pond a great deal. The staff were wonderful, the facilities were first rate. If you are looking for a get a way, & a commune with nature this is the place. RVs must use I-87 to get to this MWR, all other routes are cars only & you may encounter low clearances on others. The direction given on this site are spot on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 26, 2011
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
M.T. left this review using the Directory software: Tent camping overnight. I had the tent area to myself. The staff was very courteous and professional. Outstanding stay. I enjoyed the sound of various firing ranges during the late afternoon, but don't worry, they are silent by sundown.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
July 17, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Used this little campground as a stop over spot for a Northeast camping vacation. In retrospect, I should have stayed more than a night and I will likely return. Staff was friendly, campground was immaculately maintained. The beach was very nice. There were several people camping near the bathhouse in an area that appeared to be a parking lot. I'm not sure if that is a normal camping area, but I would not have been happy if I had been parked there. As it was, I had a very nice somewhat secluded campsite that we enjoyed. Cell phone service (AT&T) was available, but spotty.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept '09
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Yes, the hill looks like it belongs in San Francisco but pulling a 6,000 lb trailer with an 8 cyl Ford Explorer (towing package) gave me no trouble going up the hill. At $25 it is not the cheapest, but commercial campgrounds in the area are outrageously expensive. It provides a convenient way to visit NYC and if you don't care to wait three hrs for a return train, cross the river. The trains run on a better schedule there. It is a pleasant, well kept campground on a small lake. Avoid football weekends if you can. nortvoods
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sept 1 - Sept 7, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the first time I've stayed here at Round Pond, even though I spend at least a week a year in this area visiting relatives. I've read the previous reviews and was leery of staying for any length of time with only water and electric, and without Internet access. Since I was only going to be here for a week this trip, I decided to give it a try. The experience was well worth it. The campground is beautiful and very well maintained. Last weekend being the Labor Day holiday, I thought it would be crowded and noisy with folks just here for the day. Maybe the high fuel costs are keeping people away, but I don't think the CG was even half full. Several cookouts and party's were in full swing at some of the pavilions, but not overly noisy or out of hand. The price was higher than at most military CG's, but is a bargain for this area. I've stayed at private CG's in this area that were not nearly as nice for twice the price. The site I stayed in (C-1) was very large, level, and heavily wooded.....nice for camping, but terrible for cell phone service and Internet...LOL. I was able to get online using my Verizon AirCard, but only intermittently....mainly early morning and late evening. Cell phone service was bad. The signal kept fading and the call would drop. All things considered however, I would recommend Round Pond to anyone visiting the area. As other reviewers have said, it is very convenient to New York City and the tour of West Point is a MUST. Oh....BTW....I was a little concerned about the steepness of the hill at the entrance based on the previous reviews, but I had no problem at all with my 29' fifth-wheel, pulled by a Dodge Ram 3500. The one switchback is a little tricky if someone is coming down the hill at the same time, but it shouldn't be a problem for most rigs under 40'. I'm going to try and post some pictures I took of the hill in the photo section as soon as I get into an area with broadband coverage, to help you judge for yourself.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
Oct. 2 - 8, 2007
(Updated: October 28, 2007)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P.R. left this review using the Directory software: Beautiful,peaceful campround near one of he greatest places on earth-The United States Military Academy. We found the park people extrememly helpful and friendly, the site okay for being in the trees and on a hill. Drive in is a little curvy but not the worst we have driven. I find this a must return and we do it evry year! Trees are in color and gorgeous. Homecoming weekend and great festivities. Beautiful area around Round Pond. There may be low water shortage but we find that everywhere! Attendants very friendly and helpful. The United States Military Academy is one of the finest places on earth to visit and see our future leaders everywhere, being polite, helpful and they are proud to be there. Any inconcenience at the campground is overlooked due to the beautiful area you are camping in. We had 2 handicapped on board and got alone just fine. We have a 38 foot Itasca motor home and tow a Jeep Liberty. We made it up and down the hill to Round Pond just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
June-July 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For over 12 years we went elsewhere, but have visited Round Pond for over 4 years now. We have returned to Round Pond for the last few years because it is convenient for day trips, offers excellent opportunities for dining and entertainment and it is quiet and restful. We have a 30 foot trailer which easily positions in the space provided and the newly paved roadway has made travel on the grounds a breeze. We cannot say enough good things about the staff. They're friendly, helpful and reasonably enforce the rules. The buildings and grounds are well maintained and if any fault be found with cleanliness it can be squarely attributed to the "Day Party Visitors" with little regard for their surroundings. The staff does a wonderful job cleaning up after them. The speeding problem is something the staff is constantly addressing, but cannot control 100% of the time, as one would expect, and once again it is the partiers who race through the grounds. We do not find the prices unreasonably high for this area and with the support facilities so close we sustain ourselves quite well within our budget.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
18 results - showing 1 - 18